Sarawak Free Higher Edu Scheme -Bye2 UPU framework, "Direct Admission Program of Interest"

TSiSean
post Dec 11 2025, 09:08 PM, updated 4d ago

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

# Warning Google Translated Article with edits.

(Sibu, November 11) The Sarawak government's "Free Higher Education Scheme" to be launched next year will not have a first, second, or third choice. As long as the applicant meets the eligibility requirements, they will receive an admission notice.

Sarawak's Deputy Minister of Education, Innovation and Talent Development (Education and Innovation), Datuk Dr. Haji Annuar Bin Rapaee, stated that this system is extremely rare globally and is a major reform that Sarawak Prime Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari explicitly instructed to break through the framework of the University Central Unit (UPU) system, allowing students to truly choose their majors based on their interests.

"As long as you are eligible, every university you apply to will give you an offer of admission. Ultimately, it is up to you to decide which one to attend. This is completely different from UPU, which tells you what to study and where to study; but under Sarawak's free higher education program, applicants choose their courses and universities."

The free higher education program is more flexible and autonomous.

Speaking at the 2025 Education Development Plan Thanksgiving Dinner last night, Datuk Dr. Haji Annuar Bin Rapaee said that the "Free Higher Education Scheme" will bring unprecedented advantages to Sarawak students in their pursuit of higher education, and its flexibility and autonomy are even greater than the Ministry of Higher Education's UPU system.

He pointed out that the UPU system has long made it difficult for students to enter their desired majors.

“If you go to UPU, it’s almost impossible for you to get into your first choice. I can guarantee that. Our research shows that most students don’t get into their first, second, third, fourth, or fifth choice. Up to 75% of students are assigned to later options, and the employment rate for these options is generally not high.”

He explained that students were assigned to less desirable majors because they had not been admitted to other universities. This is in stark contrast to Sarawak's free higher education program.

He gave an example: if a student wants to study mechanical engineering, they only need to apply to one of the four tertiary institutions in Sarawak, namely Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak, Curtin University Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi Sarawak, or i-CATS University College, and all four institutions will provide an admission notice.

Students from low-income families receive an annual allowance of RM15,000.

“In addition, students from low-income families can receive an annual allowance of RM15,000, of which RM5,000 is specifically for accommodation. This amount will be paid directly to the accommodation management department of each Sarawak higher education institution, which will handle the relevant matters on behalf of the students. At the same time, there is also a monthly living allowance of RM1,000, which is a significant opportunity for Sarawak students.”

https://guangming.com.my/%E6%89%93%E7%A0%B4...XRkaGITs4wHtn0w

This post has been edited by iSean: Dec 11 2025, 09:09 PM

0.0152sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:09 AM