Do guys need a nice car?

TSWholecats
post Yesterday, 07:10 PM, updated 5h ago

I’m a single mid-30s guy in KL. Upper middle income, not rich. I still drive a 10 year old Proton that I got from my fresh grad job. Still drives and looks ok.

I own and stay at a nice condo but drive a cheap car. I probably have the cheapest car in terms of residual value of the entire condo car park.

Got out of a 3y+ relationship. Been single the past 1 year. I used to take pride in being prudent but recently I’ve been dating around (nothing stuck so far) and I do get self-conscious when my date sees me driving an old Proton.

Should I buy a new car so it reflects my current financial level (no longer fresh-grad salary)? I’m thinking of getting an EV actually. There’s still time before the tax incentives expire this year.
Femsroot
post Yesterday, 07:15 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(Wholecats @ Dec 8 2025, 07:10 PM)
I’m a single mid-30s guy in KL. Upper middle income, not rich. I still drive a 10 year old Proton that I got from my fresh grad job. Still drives and looks ok.

I own and stay at a nice condo but drive a cheap car. I probably have the cheapest car in terms of residual value of the entire condo car park.

Got out of a 3y+ relationship. Been single the past 1 year. I used to take pride in being prudent but recently I’ve been dating around (nothing stuck so far) and I do get self-conscious when my date sees me driving an old Proton.

Should I buy a new car so it reflects my current financial level (no longer fresh-grad salary)? I’m thinking of getting an EV actually. There’s still time before the tax incentives expire this year.
u only need to save enough for 6mths of emergency. any extra u r just wasting ur time on earth. u live everyday and die once. u shud spend a little to upgrade living status. u be surprise u got new circles and find new level. some ppl say no debt is the best la this la but imagine u die tomorow all not ur problem aso. dont stop ur self from dreaming big but dream with a plan. always say this kenot tat kenot until when can? then when reach 40 ask y fren can drive merz stay bungalow u still stagnant there
Ramjade
post Yesterday, 07:35 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Wholecats @ Dec 8 2025, 07:10 PM)

Please no. If a girl is impress with your car, I would run away. If it's me I want the girl to like me not because of my car.

That's why I tell girls that I meet, I don't spend, I don't do overseas travelling or weekly makan , I got old car, my phone is like 4 years l old, my laptop is like 10 years old. Most walk away. Totally fine with me. That's the type of girls I want to filter out.

Don't get me wrong. I can buy a honda city, a Tesla with cash but nope. Not going to do that as my car is still functioning very well. Rarely spoil.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Yesterday, 07:36 PM
tomato people
post Yesterday, 08:01 PM

Tomato fan
1,732 posts

Your 10 year old car still road worthy or not?

Dont buy car to impressed others,buy for own sake.

Girls?...you need to go out and experienced more..mat rempit ride motor also can get girls
VeeJay
post Yesterday, 08:34 PM

3,848 posts

As long its not a beat-up car with peeling paint and dents, you should not be judged by the car you are driving
c2tony
post Yesterday, 08:50 PM

85 posts

The right person won’t care what you drive
they’ll care how you drive your life

0.0128sec    0.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:10 AM