Chat Thoughtless Gifts

TSRedshelf411
post Today, 05:21 AM, updated 17h ago

818 posts

What is the most thoughtless gift you have ever received from anyone?
What did you do to it? Did you throw it away? Or did you reject the gift up front?

I recently received a gift from an old and long time friend. She gifted me a freebie she got from a store - the kinds where if you buy item X, get item Y for free. She gifted that item Y. As soon as I got home I just threw it away. Not the first time she's done something like this or to anyone else.
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Today, 05:45 AM

89 posts

I gave something similar for a secret santa event. A christmas box of coffee beans. It originally came with a coffee cup that i wanted. So i just took the cup. Turned out a makcik cleaner got the beans. But i offered her to grind them la the next day. Since not everyone has a coffee grinder
danielcmugen
post Today, 07:08 AM

5,538 posts

I purposely bought Item X to get the Item Y, so i can gift Item Y away. Now I change my mind after reading this thread

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Today, 07:10 AM
cakoilembutgebu
post Today, 07:15 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Dec 8 2025, 05:45 AM)
I gave something similar for a secret santa event. A christmas box of coffee beans. It originally came with a coffee cup that i wanted. So i just took the cup. Turned out a makcik cleaner got the beans. But i offered her to grind them la the next day. Since not everyone has a coffee grinder
I'll be very happy to receive coffee beans. I hope u r my secret santa
Femsroot
post Today, 09:06 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Dec 8 2025, 05:21 AM)
What did you do to it? Did you throw it away? Or did you reject the gift up front?

I recently received a gift from an old and long time friend. She gifted me a freebie she got from a store - the kinds where if you buy item X, get item Y for free. She gifted that item Y. As soon as I got home I just threw it away. Not the first time she's done something like this or to anyone else.
if u gonna meet her again - keep and send her back as a gift. if she no malu u aso no need malu. if she ask u just say u no use. u can say still brand new.
kons
post Today, 09:07 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

usually this happen when they wanted u to be gone from their life. but they dont want to be so direct.
supermoto
post Today, 09:10 AM

385 posts

she poor not enuff moneu she tot of u mean she like u. u avoid her. rugi ts
poweredbydiscuz
post Today, 09:11 AM

3,833 posts

Was that a special occasion gift like birthday or christmas gift? Or it's just a random gift?
Doomsday
post Today, 09:21 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

I asked for Ikea cabinet. Gets mr diy wooden key hanger.

Throw it straight to dumpster after a year sitting at my desk drawer. Need space to put my 0.0% Heineken stock.

Owai.

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Today, 09:21 AM
bengang15
post Today, 09:37 AM

420 posts

Usually I never give a second thought on what people buy for me. If got use i take no use I give away or throw.

I dont judge them. Even if they give me foc face towel I just take.
yongkt
post Today, 09:43 AM

109 posts

is gifting a starbucks RM50 gift card considered thoughtless?
poweredbydiscuz
post Today, 09:45 AM

3,833 posts

QUOTE(yongkt @ Dec 8 2025, 09:43 AM)
If he/she boikot starbucks, then yes.

Owai
arif85124
post Today, 09:46 AM

43 posts

Gift? Lol
mushigen
post Today, 09:49 AM

4,952 posts

Received a bunch of grapes from neighbour. So touched.

My tears started flowing after I ate one because it was so fcking sour.
Silfer
post Today, 09:53 AM

1,053 posts

i once gifted shampoo to botak guy unintentionally. so the gift was gifted in random by the number they draw themselves. fresh grad that time and not much money thinking shampoo ma, everyone using it as neccessity, bought dove big ass volume.
treblecase
post Today, 10:20 AM

IHI
779 posts

Soiled undies from gf….

Owning…
Bendan[520]
post Today, 10:23 AM

Nerd
1,021 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Dec 8 2025, 09:07 AM)
usually this happen when they wanted u to be gone from their life. but they dont want to be so direct.
So bitter way of thinking.

This mindset.. doh.gif
Lucas0323
post Today, 10:36 AM

808 posts

Thoughtless is no gift at all correct me if im wrong
Rusty Nail
post Today, 10:53 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

how to consider thoughtless gift? definitely not secret santa right?
if secret santa, totally understandable for cheapo stuff
ihm11
post Today, 10:54 AM

62 posts

expired apple cider from relative

inb4 vinegar no expiry date but still thoughtless fark n i consider it a slight

jus kept quiet but will 4ever rmb
smallbug
post Today, 10:56 AM

874 posts

actually, how would the other party know it's thoughtless to you?

unless it's clearcut rubbish.
mafioso
post Today, 10:57 AM

6,155 posts

lol first time?

every year CNY also ppl gift things around they dont want to eat or keep, and its usually passed on multiple times

person A give person B
B give that item to C
C give that item to D
until the last person, then straight throw to bin
failed.hashcheck
post Today, 10:59 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,095 posts

Brands chicken essence.

That shit is nothing but piala pusingan.
It's open secret that when you receive that shit, you are expected to reuse that as gift to others and so forth.
Clueless07
post Today, 11:02 AM

1,371 posts

yeah- got a friend always very thoughtful
Xmas always like to prepare gift... but those gift are normally recycled as she received from others....

cheap scented candles la, photo frame la....
really no point- not that we high class or what but these, will be left in store and put to recycle later.

and in turn, i gotto spend money to buy her something

Rusty Nail
post Today, 11:03 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Dec 8 2025, 10:59 AM)
Brands chicken essence.

It's open secret that when you receive that shit, you are expected to reuse that as gift to others and so forth.
lel, its in every CNY hamper
submergedx
post Today, 11:09 AM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Dec 8 2025, 10:57 AM)
lol first time?

every year CNY also ppl gift things around they dont want to eat or keep, and its usually passed on multiple times

person A give person B
B give that item to C
C give that item to D
until the last person, then straight throw to bin
QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Dec 8 2025, 10:59 AM)
Brands chicken essence.

hahahahahhahhaha DAMN!

My dad always prepare one or two hampers for me after CNY when i coming back to KL
he said not like he and my mom can finish everything from the hampers that they receive anyway

Eventually im the one that the last in cirlce
shaqmunak01
post Today, 11:14 AM

My friend got an iphone casing from Christmas give exchange event totally random swap. He using samsung..
United Rulez
post Today, 11:16 AM

668 posts

No because ayam not that entitled
TsubakiKira
post Today, 11:21 AM

139 posts

Actually happened recently, someone gifted a baby walker without thinking that I would never use it because baby hip development, muscle development can be severely affected. She means well (so not 100% thoughtless, but she could have asked) but I would rather she give things that I would actually use like diapers, wipes etc. Now need to find a way to make sure she doesn't know that it will be given away 😭

Someone offered a BB car seat as well but we don't need it so I can decline that, at least.

Also if your friend's character is just like that, I will close one eye lah. Not worth.
bristlebb
post Today, 11:40 AM

575 posts

so far never happened to ayam

but in ayam kampeni, a fuken MNC, got ciplak pipu put freebie as a gift where we all agreed to buy stuff within certain budget for gift exchange.
kecian that fella got freebie + useless thing
Ewww!
post Today, 01:49 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Dec 8 2025, 09:07 AM)
You're twisted. I think I like you wub.gif
Virlution
post Today, 02:01 PM

481 posts

you are worth 0 value, so poeple re-gift rubbish to you
TheOnly
post Today, 02:05 PM

87 posts

gifting bukan budayo kito

if it's good enough, it's not gonna be gifted away, just expect to get rubbish of others.

ini bukan country lain, where gifting is actually a reflection of your own status
loui
post Today, 02:06 PM

794 posts

a decorative clay chicken that people put on garden

kons
post Today, 02:11 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(Ewww! @ Dec 8 2025, 01:49 PM)
You're twisted. I think I like you wub.gif
well i have plenty of experience receiving gift.

usually we already know those gift will be crap, so we just put them into a corner for recycling without opening.
or just dump it in the dumpster.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Today, 02:15 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(yongkt @ Dec 8 2025, 09:43 AM)
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Dec 8 2025, 09:45 AM)
If he/she boikot starbucks, then yes.

Owai
You can always get it back later, since he/she dont want it.

PROFIT!
Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28
post Today, 02:21 PM

187 posts

Be grateful at least you got something inside. In the past, I have received an empty box but it does makes me lol.
failed.hashcheck
post Today, 02:23 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,095 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Dec 8 2025, 11:09 AM)
hahahahahhahhaha DAMN!

My dad always prepare one or two hampers for me after CNY when i coming back to KL
he said not like he and my mom can finish everything from the hampers that they receive anyway

Eventually im the one that the last in cirlce
Perfect gift for people you hate.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Today, 02:27 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Dec 8 2025, 10:53 AM)
how to consider thoughtless gift? definitely not secret santa right?
if secret santa, totally understandable for cheapo stuff
Wait till you receive gift cards or vouchers which are either expired, near expiry date, or require you to purchase a certain amount only can use.....
kitsunegeisha
post Today, 02:32 PM

250 posts

it's a condom..a guy gift..gheyisht i ever feel..
lopo90
post Today, 02:42 PM

695 posts

Lol obviously the gift was just a way to gain a favour. Throw je, this people don't deserve friends
knwong
post Today, 02:48 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Dec 8 2025, 09:53 AM)
i once gifted shampoo to botak guy unintentionally. so the gift was gifted in random by the number they draw themselves. fresh grad that time and not much money thinking shampoo ma, everyone using it as neccessity, bought dove big ass volume.
This one I laughed...LOL
Ewww!
post Today, 11:03 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(kitsunegeisha @ Dec 8 2025, 02:32 PM)
it's a condom..a guy gift..gheyisht i ever feel..
Used condom ke, bang?

0.0175sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:07 PM