I have installed Arch Linux on my Thinkpad T430s

AbbyCom
post Dec 6 2025, 10:20 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Dec 6 2025, 01:36 PM)
I got my old x230 and T530, now running Ubuntu server and Linux mint xfce. Not bad, I plan to get T420 for the keyboard
I kept my t430 until about a year ago, mostly usable running Win 10, even the battery can last 2 hours +.

Dunno why people want to go back to the T420 keyboard though.

The only issue is I encounter more and more videos that I cannot playback because of no HEVC support. I also do some transcoding. Have migrated to 6th gen CPUs for minimal HEVC support. X260 and E41. I just spilled some plain water on the X260 keyboard 2 days ago, now a few keys not working, they don't make it like they used to.....
AbbyCom
post Dec 6 2025, 10:24 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Dec 6 2025, 10:18 PM)
I prefer x series because its small enough to bring around
This I agree, though up to x270, the battery bulges out and the flat battery is quite rare. And it has the powerbridge to run 2 batteries. I haven't found a machine with the internal battery though.
AbbyCom
post Dec 6 2025, 10:33 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Dec 6 2025, 10:26 PM)
Only issue I have now is the battery is dying lol. Those shoppe all is own, dono how long to going to last. Got my doc though for future desktop replacement
That's the reason I don't buy the shopee batteries, they don't last that long, difficult to find used original batteries still in good condition.

But I really like the Lenovos for their upgradability since a few generations (or even different models) will usually share common parts. The X260 battery I harvested from a dead T460.
AbbyCom
post Dec 7 2025, 07:08 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 7 2025, 08:53 AM)
VLC crashes 2x while watching MKV videos.  doh.gif

Apparently Arch Linux is too high tech for ancient Thinkpads.  laugh.gif

My Intel HD4000 beh tahan liao.
Are those MKVs encoded in HEVC/H.265?

0.0137sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled