Chat Kena accident, lesson learnt, Settle can sometimes be better

karazure
post Dec 5 2025, 01:08 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(p1p @ Dec 5 2025, 12:31 PM)
I recently got into an accident, the driver behind me knock my backside.

At the time, I chose to report polis. Both of us reported and he was fined RM 300.

Later I found out that settle might have been better. The repair bill was RM 450 but if I go and wait for the insurance people to do their thing, it would take over 1 month.

Lesson learnt: IF it is a minor knock, then just ask to settle. Not sure of the consequences if the other offending party decides to report and you don't. I guess it's a trust and gentlemanly agreement issue.

Summary: Not my mistake, but have to pay RM 450 out of my pocket so I get the car quickly. My insurance is AIG.
Yes if minor just go make police report and settle.

Only serious case need to invovle Insurance.

But, must go report to protect urself no matter what.

karazure
post Dec 5 2025, 01:14 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(p1p @ Dec 5 2025, 12:44 PM)
I open my mouth and say claim insurance from the start.

The offender not wanting to pay anymore after that RM 300 saman, claiming I am now protected by insurance.

Lucky him lah, I pay myself and don't claim his NCB.
btw, let unker teach u trick.

Just ask the inspector involved if got recommend workshop.

Normally they do, if you go where they recommend for sure they fix fast and insurance also they will settle.

100% u no need mafan, sometime got courtesy car to drive too.

go search wat is "Own Damage Knock-for-Knock" (OD KFK)

#dontaskhowunkernoe

This post has been edited by karazure: Dec 5 2025, 01:15 PM

0.0159sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:40 PM