Proton Saga MC3 - Premium, Asking for advice

FrogBlob
post Dec 5 2025, 10:09 AM

462 posts

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Dec 4 2025, 11:26 PM)
Going downhill not for you to speed. Cvt is correct. Actually I saw many car going downhill speeding. Not sure the reason.
no speeding downhill lah of course. my first experience with a transmission that aggressively revs up to ~3k during downhill, the sound it makes doesn't give me confidence.

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Dec 5 2025, 08:33 AM)
Yes. Nowadays most AT & CVT transmissions has downhill assist or hill descent control to automatically apply engine braking when going downhill.

I usually lift my foot of the throttle & have my foot on standby on the brake pedal when going downhill
the cars i drive arent super modern so this is the first time i experience this kind of auto-rev to 3k. closest i have is ativa i don't remember it doing that.

so i guess it's a feature, not a bug.
amscouzach57
post Dec 5 2025, 10:22 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 5 2025, 10:09 AM)
no speeding downhill lah of course. my first experience with a transmission that aggressively revs up to ~3k during downhill, the sound it makes doesn't give me confidence.
the cars i drive arent super modern so this is the first time i experience this kind of auto-rev to 3k. closest i have is ativa i don't remember it doing that.

Each of them should have some kind of similar function.

Whether it is obvious, or not so noticeable. The Proton CVT was blatantly obvious if I remember correctly. I've owned Saga FLX & the Persona in the past.

I do remember test driving Mitusbishi Xpander last year, it's 4AT doesn't have any downhill assist.

However, I was told to press O/D off button located at the gear knob to activate engine braking when going downhill.

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Dec 5 2025, 10:23 AM
Balanced
post Dec 5 2025, 03:41 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Dec 4 2025, 03:36 PM)
Thanks for all the advice, will be going for a test drive soon. Based on current data, anyone can comment whether it's suitable for occasional long drive on the highway ?
Any car is able to do long drive, just drive within speed limit for saga and u will be ok.
If kancil 660cc maybe maintain like 60-70km/h
GamersFamilia
post Dec 5 2025, 05:22 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,801 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Dec 5 2025, 03:41 PM)
Any car is able to do long drive, just drive within speed limit for saga and u will be ok.
If kancil 660cc maybe maintain like 60-70km/h
Agreed, ive been driving kancil 850ez auto, travel bandar baru bangi to muar all the way 80kmh sometimes 100kmh, so far not bad but fuel consumption not that good ⛽😐😣👍
Quazacolt
post Dec 5 2025, 06:26 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 5 2025, 10:09 AM)
the cars i drive arent super modern so this is the first time i experience this kind of auto-rev to 3k.

3k rpm is aggresive? rclxub.gif

most, if not all of Honda's current 1.5L Turbo charged engines all have up and down hill ascend/descend controls and will rev up RPM accordingly to keep the turbocharger spooled. yes, that is over 3k RPM to maintain maximum torque maximum turbo spooled.

major difference between Honda and Proton (1.6 Campro VVT, current and latest gen Persona/Iriz, can't comment on Saga MC2 CVT) , is drive train NVH (Honda much better) and not so noticeable for Honda. (both engine and CVT implementation)
also, Honda torque converter helps, while Proton is punch dry clutch CVT, the NVH is a lot noticeable.

what i would like to highlight here is, FEEL is not FACTS.
of course, it is easier for me to say it because i am an enthusiast and i tend to go beyond 6-7k RPM in my own car.
and yes, you're right. they are features for their intended purposes.
FrogBlob
post Dec 5 2025, 10:16 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 5 2025, 06:26 PM)
3k rpm is aggresive?  rclxub.gif

most, if not all of Honda's current 1.5L Turbo charged engines all have up and down hill ascend/descend controls and will rev up RPM accordingly to keep the turbocharger spooled. yes, that is over 3k RPM to maintain maximum torque maximum turbo spooled.

major difference between Honda and Proton (1.6 Campro VVT, current and latest gen Persona/Iriz, can't comment on Saga MC2 CVT) , is drive train NVH (Honda much better) and not so noticeable for Honda. (both engine and CVT implementation)
also, Honda torque converter helps, while Proton is punch dry clutch CVT, the NVH is a lot noticeable.

what i would like to highlight here is, FEEL is not FACTS.
of course, it is easier for me to say it because i am an enthusiast and i tend to go beyond 6-7k RPM in my own car.
and yes, you're right. they are features for their intended purposes.
to each their own, and yes i feel that the punch cvt is aggresive at 3k revs.

i never experience any other car with this much of engine braking before so i cant speak for them, but i can say im not really a fan of peoton implementation of this and cant really turn it off.
Betrue
post Yesterday, 01:44 PM

41 posts

Ya hard choice, the premium rm50k gives u all features but paksa u to take the punch cvt. Already test drive the exec 4at version, at low speed no jerk at all but the car won't pull forward 1 sec after release brake like the cvt version.
The cvt maybe safe fuel 5% every tank but the change cvt fluid(60k km) +filter+adaption expensive rm500+. The aisin 4at only use 1 liter atf oil can be easily change outside bengkel under rm100 (30k km).
If the car normal use drive gently, the punch cvt can lasted around >150k km. If use the car doing sales or grab better choose the torque converter 4at version more tahan lasak.
Owned persona vvt before, no I won't buy the punch cvt again. Once kena P01765 secondary pulley low pressure problem the car very scary will free gear at middle of drive. To repair must overhaul damage rm4k+.
M2020
post Yesterday, 10:32 PM

80 posts

From my observations old Proton Malaysia 1.3L CamPro with Punch CTV is poor combination, this is 10 years ago. Today Proton China 1.5L engine with refined Punch CTV is much different. I will continue my observation on the road to see how those 300k new Saga work.

0.0140sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:13 AM