HTC Touch Cruise, High end PDA

n20nine
post May 9 2008, 12:11 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 8 2008, 11:50 PM)
i just bought my HTC Touch Cruise lol. pimping it now.

Diamond? nah....i dun think diamond will be that successful....cuz of the battery.

Added on May 8, 2008, 11:51 pmif u check XDA noone likes diamond, lol, for the Touch 3D already got plans to port it to tytn2 and Cruise d
dont think it would be successful? hmm..i think otherwise..most people will buy it for its slim form factor and above all, its user interface...it would be a big hit...most people - unless they're power PPC users who care bout batt life, will never bother about it.

also, look at the htc touch, when it came out...it was not a powerful PDA phone, but it sold well because of its user interface and size...this one's on steroids and it should do well too.

the xda version of this diamond looks quit ugly imo. plans to port it to tytn2 and cruise? well, i cant say for sure, of course someone would port something similar, maybe minus some fancy animations and all..but this think needs a proper graphics accelerator. the msm7200 has a good gpu, but lets see if htc actually enables it.

This post has been edited by n20nine: May 9 2008, 12:12 AM
Baronic
post May 9 2008, 08:47 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

even if u arent a power user, it'll die. for one thing, like u said, Touch Cube 3d would need the graphic accelerator, and that consumes power. VGA screen. extremely power hungry. So just even switching on the display would consume battery like crazy. if u see Eten users with VGA screen and much bigger battery also, cant last long. now Diamond has a graphic accelerator! unless the battery is some new tech, its seriously screwed.

i anticipate its standby life with normal usage to last as long as i game on my Touch Cruise. which is 4-5 hours
n20nine
post May 9 2008, 01:42 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 9 2008, 08:47 AM)
even if u arent a power user, it'll die. for one thing, like u said, Touch Cube 3d would need the graphic accelerator, and that consumes power. VGA screen. extremely power hungry. So just even switching on the display would consume battery like crazy. if u see Eten users with VGA screen and much bigger battery also, cant last long. now Diamond has a graphic accelerator! unless the battery is some new tech, its seriously screwed.

i anticipate its standby life with normal usage to last as long as i game on my Touch Cruise. which is 4-5 hours
it will die? yes the touch cube 3d needs a graphics accelerator, yes it has a VGA screen. power hungry? yes...
but wm 6.1 has batt life improvements and do you know that a dedicated graphics accelerator actually improves batt life? this is because it takes processing power off the CPU and the GPU handles it. even the n96 has similar batt life to the original n95 even tough it has a bigger and better display plus the added functions - same capacity btw. i watched the q and a session with the nokia product manager and he claims the addition of dedicated dsp/gpu's will increase batt life, maybe not too significant, but hey its better than nothing.

taken from htc's site :

Standby time:

Up to 396 hours for WCDMA
Up to 285 hours for GSM

as for the TC :

1350 mAh rechargeable Lithium-ion battery
Standby time:

Up to 450 hours for UMTS
Up to 400 hours for GSM

of course we should take manufacturer's claims with a pinch of salt...but its not all that bad. 4-5 hours of batt life? come on dude. do you think htc or even other manufacturer's are stupid? how do you sell a phone that lasts only 4-5 hours? they have tested out the device and a device can only be put on the market after substantial tests, including batt life...else no one would eventually buy it. i agree the batt life aint as good as the TC, but its a matter of time till an extended battery is made and it has a respectable standby time.
teckhooi
post May 9 2008, 05:54 PM

3,135 posts

Sorry...Commercial Time...

AnyOne Interested On Cruise PDA Accessories...

Pls Visit My Bulk Order Thread.......
nocar
post May 9 2008, 09:30 PM

752 posts

Guys,

Do you have problem sync'ing your PDA with your laptop/comp? Couldn't sync since last week - now need to remember my meeting schedule.... fuh!
Baronic
post May 10 2008, 01:13 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ May 9 2008, 01:42 PM)
it will die? yes the touch cube 3d needs a graphics accelerator, yes it has a VGA screen. power hungry? yes...
but wm 6.1 has batt life improvements and do you know that a dedicated graphics accelerator actually improves batt life? this is because it takes processing power off the CPU and the GPU handles it. even the n96 has similar batt life to the original n95 even tough it has a bigger and better display plus the added functions - same capacity btw. i watched the q and a session with the nokia product manager and he claims the addition of dedicated dsp/gpu's will increase batt life, maybe not too significant, but hey its better than nothing.

taken from htc's site :

Standby time:

Up to 396 hours for WCDMA
      Up to 285 hours for GSM

as for the TC :

1350 mAh rechargeable Lithium-ion battery
Standby time:

Up to 450 hours for UMTS
      Up to 400 hours for GSM

of course we should take manufacturer's claims with a pinch of salt...but its not all that bad. 4-5 hours of batt life? come on dude. do you think htc or even other manufacturer's are stupid? how do you sell a phone that lasts only 4-5 hours? they have tested out the device and a device can only be put on the market after substantial tests, including batt life...else no one would eventually buy it. i agree the batt life aint as good as the TC, but its a matter of time till an extended battery is made and it has a respectable standby time.
erm, time will reveal all things wont it? right now we can only speculate. but as for comment "do u think HTC is that stupid?"

well no. but i think they're that cheap. look at the sorry state of our drivers, promises of a driver release since march and still nothing.

i bet this convo exists somewhere in a forum somewhere on the world wide net.

"HTC's touch cruise got qualcomm chip, sure damn powerful and geng, best device ever."
"what if no drivers leh? lol die lor"
"COME ON! DO U THINK HTC OR EVEN OTHER MANUFACTURER ARE STUPID? HOW DO U SELL A PHONE THAT HAS A QUALCOMM CHIP BUT NO DRIVERS?"

so yes, IMHO they are liable to give a low cap battery that gives poor performance. but the truth and crux of the matter will be revealed.

This post has been edited by Baronic: May 10 2008, 01:16 AM
jonrwg
post May 10 2008, 09:19 AM

1,353 posts

er... commercial time...
is this pon worth buying it?
Baronic
post May 10 2008, 11:37 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I've been using this phone for awhile....and well, depends what u wanna use this phone for. if its for gaming its a no go, my old P3600i can out perform this phone in gaming. lol. but otherwise its ok
SFOD-D
post May 10 2008, 12:06 PM

757 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ May 10 2008, 09:19 AM)
er... commercial time...
is this pon worth buying it?
Worth buying?? TC is THE PHONE TO HAVE at the moment - lightweight and sleek with all the needed tech - apart from thumbpad
jonrwg
post May 10 2008, 02:56 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(SFOD-D @ May 10 2008, 12:06 PM)
Worth buying?? TC is THE PHONE TO HAVE at the moment - lightweight and sleek with all the needed tech - apart from thumbpad
just bought mine today... brows.gif
SFOD-D
post May 10 2008, 02:59 PM

757 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ May 10 2008, 02:56 PM)
just bought mine today...  brows.gif
Welcome to the club! rclxms.gif How much? Any freebies? with the HTC car package? (holder for GPS and car charger). Btw i got unused HTC original car package - still in box. PM me if interested
jonrwg
post May 10 2008, 03:01 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(SFOD-D @ May 10 2008, 02:59 PM)
Welcome to the club!  rclxms.gif  How much? Any freebies? with the HTC car package? (holder for GPS and car charger). Btw i got unused HTC original car package - still in box. PM me if interested
rm2600... freebies ar? 2g memory card and jabra bluetooth thing.. 1na sell that jabra coz i got 2 set coz b4 tis i got tytn2 den ppl steal edi.. mad.gif
car package evrything also got..
SFOD-D
post May 10 2008, 03:16 PM

757 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ May 10 2008, 03:01 PM)
rm2600... freebies ar? 2g memory card and jabra bluetooth thing.. 1na sell that jabra coz i got 2 set coz b4 tis i got tytn2 den ppl steal edi..  mad.gif
car package evrything also got..
RM2600 with all that - very good deal i must say
n20nine
post May 10 2008, 03:22 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 10 2008, 01:13 AM)
erm, time will reveal all things wont it? right now we can only speculate. but as for comment "do u think HTC is that stupid?"

well no. but i think they're that cheap. look at the sorry state of our drivers, promises of a driver release since march and still nothing.

i bet this convo exists somewhere in a forum somewhere on the world wide net.

"HTC's touch cruise got qualcomm chip, sure damn powerful and geng, best device ever."
"what if no drivers leh? lol die lor"
"COME ON! DO U THINK HTC OR EVEN OTHER MANUFACTURER ARE STUPID? HOW DO U SELL A PHONE THAT HAS A QUALCOMM CHIP BUT NO DRIVERS?"

so yes, IMHO they are liable to give a low cap battery that gives poor performance.  but the truth and crux of the matter will be revealed.
yes you are right, only time will tell.

and yes they are cheap, i have to agree with you on that, ever since the dopod days...but things will have to change in the coming years.

i dont agree with the "convo" u typed above. it kinda differs. htc never promised that they will release proper graphics drivers for their phones before they sold them. heck, they did not even tell anyone that the phones had a good graphics chipset in it. it was only discovered by users later on that they did not include proper drivers, prompting a petition that eventually brought htc to agreeing to come up with the drivers. yes, the drivers are not out yet, but i dont recall them promising a specific date for the driver release..maybe i did not read it about it.

but batt life is an essential thing, yes i agree the battery may not be that fantastic to the current offerings in terms of power, due to size limitations, but they will not put a battery that lasts 4-5 hours only.

any TC owners thought of installing SPB Shell 2? i thought it looked better than the current touchflo in the TC.

SFOD-D
post May 10 2008, 05:21 PM

757 posts

My P3650 Touch Cruise with Jabra BT-125 and Proporta Alu-Leather Case
blackaltis
post May 10 2008, 06:44 PM

HI everyone, i've been using HTC Touch Cruise for few months and lately it has been very often that the reception is really really bad, like one or 2 bar and calls sometimes cut off in the middle of the conversation!

Has any one experienced it before? I used to have this problem when i was using my previous Ipaq rw6828.

By the way i'm using 012.
jonrwg
post May 10 2008, 06:59 PM

1,353 posts

er... with my se k800i also got like tat problem... but nw using TC no problem lo... c the area la..
SFOD-D
post May 10 2008, 07:32 PM

757 posts

If ur using 3G from Maxis chances are the reception at times could be very poor. Anyhow im using 3G from Maxis and so far if im using MMS atau the net - 98 percent it would be HSPDA speed ( Klang Valley). In area like Penang airport ...i got 100 percent HSDPA reception speed..means all the time my TC would get HSDPA reception (unlike in KL only 3G). Try to insert other SIM card...maybe youll get better reception?
nocar
post May 10 2008, 09:43 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(blackaltis @ May 10 2008, 06:44 PM)
HI everyone, i've been using HTC Touch Cruise for few months and lately it has been very often that the reception is really really bad, like one or 2 bar and calls sometimes cut off in the middle of the conversation!

Has any one experienced it before? I used to have this problem when i was using my previous Ipaq rw6828.

Most of the times, it is your service provider fault - not your phone. Convert to Celcom then brows.gif
Baronic
post May 10 2008, 09:59 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(blackaltis @ May 10 2008, 06:44 PM)

try upgrading your radio rom, u may be able to achieve better radio signals

33 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:54 PM