Which one is more respected and looked up by ppl?

Top student. 4.0 GPA, went to NUS or UM, end up become office job [ 23 ] ** [25.84%]
Bad student, low grade, went to sampah uni get medical degree, managed to become a doctor [ 66 ] ** [74.16%]
Total Votes: 89
Guests cannot vote 

TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 03:46 PM, updated 3w ago

I always wonder, which type of people is getting looked up more.

The one who since kid is always the Top 1 student in class. Straight A's. 4.0 CGPA. Went to high ranking university like NUS, UM, or maybe Imperial College London. But later graduated and become office job. Still a good job but it's not eye catching job.

Another dude is always a bad kid. Lazy. Get C grades, went to university that people looked down. But managed to finish his medical degree. Ends up become a doctor. Or maybe lawyer.

Maybe during student life, the first one will get the spotlight. But after grow up become adult, will the first one still receiving the spotlight? Or the second one will be respected and looked up by people more than the first one?
smsid
post Nov 27 2025, 03:48 PM

118 posts

Ktards are more looked up, 20k-40k celery, but talk kok every day in /k and jelly of b40 and their tongkat.
SUSipohps3
post Nov 27 2025, 03:52 PM

1,974 posts

why you care how people look at you?

self-contentment is most important.
TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Nov 27 2025, 03:52 PM)
why you care how people look at you?

self-contentment is most important.
im just curious.

Because i see lots of good students from popular universities working in MY as common positions.

And i also see some friends who were once the "lazy kid" suddenly end up become the top profession.

Which makes me wonder...
Saya anak Malaysia
post Nov 27 2025, 04:01 PM

50 posts

dont think so much. look at ownself and see where you can/would improve.
supermoto
post Nov 27 2025, 04:03 PM

387 posts

ppl look up upon
more alot post bout him
galkelly
post Nov 27 2025, 04:03 PM

752 posts

Dengar kata dulu lah, kalau jadi driver ambulance lebih 15 thn+ pengalaman, diserap masuk jadi doktor...
88BYD88
post Nov 27 2025, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(galkelly @ Nov 27 2025, 04:03 PM)
Dengar kata dulu lah, kalau jadi driver ambulance lebih 15 thn+ pengalaman, diserap masuk jadi doktor...
Fake news.
Knnbuccb
post Nov 27 2025, 04:07 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(trendey222 @ Nov 27 2025, 04:00 PM)
im just curious.

Because i see lots of good students from popular universities working in MY as common positions.

And i also see some friends who were once the "lazy kid" suddenly end up become the top profession.

Which makes me wonder...
what u described is quite common

because marehsia is unique, got many pathway to become loktor

those not so gud one, can go to some chapalang uni which accepts 5b in spm. then later on if work hard or good politics, can become specialist

meanwhile those who study good good but maybe people skills lacking, they cant progress in hierarchy of hospital.

so they end up become normal loktor or some dropout because cant stand the environment

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Nov 27 2025, 04:08 PM
knwong
post Nov 27 2025, 04:22 PM

3,572 posts

Both. Since both are successful

Pass success can still create a pathway for future success despite just 1 screw up

Single success once achieved will catapult the fella to more opportunity. Just don't screw up
TruboXL
post Nov 27 2025, 04:25 PM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

SG office job > MY doctor
pronester
post Nov 27 2025, 04:25 PM

61 posts

here in /k tokok sing song only
mick84
post Nov 27 2025, 04:26 PM

96 posts

Bagi contoh sampah uni get medical degree.
likefunyouare
post Nov 27 2025, 04:26 PM

82 posts

Underdog

Skylinestar
post Nov 27 2025, 04:28 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

neither. the one that manages to work in oversea wins (despite being a B40 in foreign place).

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Nov 27 2025, 04:28 PM
ameliorate
post Nov 27 2025, 04:46 PM

370 posts

I know a guy very mediocre grades in school but always want to be a doctor. Cannot get into top school so end up in some sampah uni in Russia. Years later become a doc but always complain about the patients and hospital.

I no respect for him.

hotdayum
post Nov 27 2025, 04:55 PM

195 posts

Them look up at the tall one. Or look up the one standing at higher elevation. Kapish?
Pain4UrsinZ
post Nov 27 2025, 05:04 PM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(trendey222 @ Nov 27 2025, 03:46 PM)

The one who since kid is always the Top 1 student in class. Straight A's. 4.0 CGPA. Went to high ranking university like NUS, UM, or maybe Imperial College London. But later graduated and become office job. Still a good job but it's not eye catching job.

Another dude is always a bad kid. Lazy. Get C grades, went to university that people looked down. But managed to finish his medical degree. Ends up become a doctor. Or maybe lawyer.

Maybe during student life, the first one will get the spotlight. But after grow up become adult, will the first one still receiving the spotlight? Or the second one will be respected and looked up by people more than the first one?
All sampah, I only respect bossku
say_xtr
post Nov 27 2025, 05:08 PM

205 posts

So far now all I know the lower education level you have in hand, the higher pay check they received by end of month.

Dean List student last 20 years ago, now working in big company max 20K salary while the playful student 20 years ago own a company at least and not depend on monthly income.
cloud666
post Nov 27 2025, 05:09 PM

79 posts

the richer got more look up
jmas
post Nov 27 2025, 05:12 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

very subjective la, its just "look up" at those you feel better than you

single look up to couple
married look up to single
jobless look up to working class
9m2w
post Nov 27 2025, 05:26 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

TS smells like Ukeke
brkli
post Nov 27 2025, 05:42 PM

592 posts

the second one. is it the menteri air suam?
keyibukeyi
post Nov 27 2025, 05:47 PM

150 posts

those who can drive professionally
chinteck79
post Nov 27 2025, 05:50 PM

59 posts

so easy get medical degree?
dman
post Nov 27 2025, 05:54 PM

540 posts

Book smart ppl usually become a better employee to the street smart ppl who surprisingly become the boss of the company.

TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(mick84 @ Nov 27 2025, 04:26 PM)
Bagi contoh sampah uni get medical degree.
I thought in MY, anything that's not UM, USM, UPM, UKM, and UTM are considered sampah?

Except those the ang moh branch uni in MY

At least that's what I heard from straight A nerds and school teachers. Those people judge uni the most. Like it's their maruah to go which uni

But most people will think they're living in illusion. Outsiders will ask what do you do? And the moment you voice out your job title is the moment they judge which social status you belong

This post has been edited by trendey222: Nov 27 2025, 11:26 PM
B0ss_ku
post Nov 27 2025, 11:07 PM

282 posts

Now with out googling

Which uni does Dr Mahathir graduate from?

If you guess right, say guessed right, if wrong say guessed wrong.

TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(jmas @ Nov 27 2025, 05:12 PM)
very subjective la, its just "look up" at those you feel better than you

single look up to couple
married look up to single
jobless look up to working class
Then I think majority will take the profession more seriously.

People don't care where you studied. But what you do now.

And if you're from top uni and now work as executives, you might wonder that classmate who is behind you in class now is a specialist or professor.

It will feel like table turned around.
blanket84
post Nov 27 2025, 11:10 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Nov 27 2025, 04:46 PM)
I know a guy very mediocre grades in school but always want to be a doctor. Cannot get into top school so end up in some sampah uni in Russia. Years later become a doc but always complain about the patients and hospital.

I no respect for him.
You friend named Akmal? laugh.gif

Anyway I am the first option. Don’t care how people “looked” at me. I am contented with my life. Could have been “better” but at what expense?

This post has been edited by blanket84: Nov 27 2025, 11:10 PM
TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 11:12 PM

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Nov 27 2025, 11:07 PM)
Now with out googling

Which uni does Dr Mahathir graduate from?

If you guess right, say guessed right, if wrong say guessed wrong.
I don't know where he studied but I know he got MBBS.

And he damn got lots of PhDs that's not earned by himself. But freely given by University
TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Nov 27 2025, 05:47 PM)
those who can drive professionally
Yes. And this makes me wonder the third thing.. For what student study so hard? The journey to career success is not straight A or 4.0 cgpa as requirement.

In fact, it could be a trap.

1. You sacrifice childhood for hard study
2. Your confidence is dependent on grades and praises from adults.
3. Your shining stops once you graduate.
4. The one strived professionally might not worked as hard as you

This post has been edited by trendey222: Nov 27 2025, 11:20 PM
TStrendey222
post Nov 27 2025, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(chinteck79 @ Nov 27 2025, 05:50 PM)
so easy get medical degree?
Ik it's not easy. But you don't need to be top student to get medical degree unless you aim for top uni.

Any lazy kid can still become doctor if their parents can pay the private fees. As long as they have 5Bs. And even if they don't, they still can retake spm to get 5Bs before jumping into medic school
countingcrows
post Nov 28 2025, 02:33 AM

260 posts

Respek bro 😁

TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 08:11 AM

QUOTE(countingcrows @ Nov 28 2025, 02:33 AM)
Respek bro 😁

Huh?
ornehx
post Nov 28 2025, 08:14 AM

40 posts

No cheat, no rob, no kill, no scam to survive earns my respect.
Yes even a prostitute struggling to survive via her profession earns more respect than some successful ppl via scummy ways.
KitZhai
post Nov 28 2025, 08:15 AM

385 posts

Live your life la why kepoh
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 08:34 AM

QUOTE(KitZhai @ Nov 28 2025, 08:15 AM)
Live your life la why kepoh
Because it's kopitiam here biggrin.gif
FrostLance
post Nov 28 2025, 08:35 AM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

Performance during study time (school/university) dont mean shit la.

Ive seen doctors from many unis.
U really think those from prestigious unis becomes better doctor.

NO. Not at all.
It doesnt even matter where u grad at all.

Ove seen indonesian/russian grads wayyyy better knowledge,skill, attitude then prestigious UMgrad/top UK medschool grad.. in fact most of these top school grads does not even pass housemanship pon
silverhawk
post Nov 28 2025, 08:42 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(trendey222 @ Nov 27 2025, 03:46 PM)

Your past doesn't matter that much, its what you're doing with your life currently.

killdavid
post Nov 28 2025, 08:43 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,645 posts

Do you still subscribe to the classical definition of success ? Need to be boss, top doctor , top lawyer then only can be called success ?

The new definition of success is as long have enough for your monetary needs, have plenty free time to do the things you love and don't have to be a slave to some company with shitty boss, that is success + tranquility.
AnythingK
post Nov 28 2025, 08:45 AM

223 posts

My group of “bad kid” classmate after sec school work for father or inherit father business.
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(killdavid @ Nov 28 2025, 08:43 AM)
Do you still subscribe to the classical definition of success ? Need to be boss, top doctor , top lawyer then only can be called success ?

The new definition of success is as long have enough for your monetary needs, have plenty free time to do the things you love and don't have to be a slave to some company with shitty boss, that is success + tranquility.
Yes i'm aware of that.

But classical definition of success still carries more weight when it comes to reputation from outsiders who view you.

But i agree the new definition you mention actually carries more self satisfaction and happiness. I believe not many people can achieve that
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Nov 28 2025, 08:45 AM)
My group of “bad kid” classmate after sec school work for father or inherit father business.
that must be a very lucky person. To be born as a crown prince to inherit the empire's throne.
ameliorate
post Nov 28 2025, 11:50 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Nov 27 2025, 11:10 PM)
You friend named Akmal? laugh.gif

Anyway I am the first option. Don’t care how people “looked” at me. I am contented with my life. Could have been “better” but at what expense?
No need to be super rich. Just rich enough to be comfortable is better. More money more problems I tell you.

whphon
post Nov 28 2025, 11:54 AM

166 posts

be real on today, people only see what is your success stories, no one care about your knowledge or past.

if the stupid doctor said, vege is not good, all the patients also blinded follow
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(whphon @ Nov 28 2025, 11:54 AM)
be real on today, people only see what is your success stories, no one care about your knowledge or past.

if the stupid doctor said, vege is not good, all the patients also blinded follow
yes i might agree that.

it happened too much. student life vs adult life. Worshiped as god during student, but became loser when adult.

And those top professions might not even be the brilliant students before. They got viewed as more successful during adult

reality is harsh. unless the top student also end up in top professions. But that's rare, because top professions don't require you to be excellent student. So, there are many average students who end up become top professions.

This post has been edited by trendey222: Nov 28 2025, 12:18 PM
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 03:14 PM

up
Emily Ratajkowski
post Nov 28 2025, 03:20 PM

444 posts

i don't know what' so special about doctor profression?

why you all think doctor is special?

just because they know more about the body?
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Nov 28 2025, 03:20 PM)
i don't know what' so special about doctor profression?

why you all think doctor is special?

just because they know more about the body?
Not because they know more about the body, but because of social standard viewed by modern people.

Just like in the past, priests, senior monks, buddha, were the most prestigious and high status in society.

Now it's doctor because people respect doctor. Because since 1960's doctors are viewed as:

1. Highly educated
2. High income
3. Doing something noble, help humanity and heal sick
4. Sign of high intelligence

I'm sure modern people might not agree with some of those, but at least the previous generations have that views on doctors and the prestige gets carried on until today.

But for most, it's because since you're born you're exposed to the idea doctors are prestige because the society thinks that way

So, if you are are doctor, you automatically get that prestige and respect from majority. Your girlfriend's parents will look up on you, your family will get proud they have you, etc

This post has been edited by trendey222: Nov 28 2025, 04:01 PM
samftrmd
post Nov 28 2025, 04:02 PM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

Ada wang, ada amoi.
Wedchar2912
post Nov 28 2025, 05:35 PM

3,702 posts

What a silly comparison. May as well ask if a janitor is comparable to a fighter pilot.
TStrendey222
post Nov 28 2025, 07:39 PM

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 28 2025, 05:35 PM)
What a silly comparison. May as well ask if a janitor is comparable to a fighter pilot.
Huh? That doesn't sound relevant to the post question
Wedchar2912
post Nov 28 2025, 08:04 PM

3,702 posts

QUOTE(trendey222 @ Nov 28 2025, 07:39 PM)
Huh? That doesn't sound relevant to the post question
Go and read back your options....

Doctor or office worker.

I know for sure I will not let that doctor treat me. Respect or not.
TStrendey222
post Dec 4 2025, 03:48 PM

Up
Nanti Sekejap
post Dec 4 2025, 03:53 PM

411 posts

you are comparing the extreme case of both scenario, e.g. shit flavour chocolate nicer; or chocolate flavour shit nicer

it is a stupid question
ts1
post Dec 4 2025, 03:55 PM

3,784 posts

become a politician..all salute u

0.0463sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:35 AM