Breaking news - Towering inferno HK

yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 11:09 AM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 28 2025, 10:21 AM)
I just recalled PRC got drones designed to be used for fire fighting. Just realised these drones were no where to be seen in this historical HK tragedy. Either those drones were never adopted by HK firefighters or those drones never made it into practical field usage? hmm.gif
i doubt drone can steadily hold the position based on the strong wind and fire
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 11:33 AM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(fongsk @ Nov 27 2025, 06:22 AM)
Well, we have quite a lot of mini HKs style condos here!  If this can happen in HK, then it can happen in Mesia…..matter of time, I suppose.
Very low chance it will happen here lah, we using metal/aluminium scaffolding, normally high rise building exterior maintenance involving in painting or water proofing only
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 11:46 AM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Nov 28 2025, 11:38 AM)
We also don't do all blocks at the same time. Usually it's block by block
because scaffolding is mahal, impossible can pull all in one shot, so block to block is more economical for contractor

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 28 2025, 11:39 AM)
I still see YT videos and comments where Hongkies kept defending bamboo scaffolding.

Yes the tragedy started by corruption, failed regulatory monitoring, none fire retardant netting and window seals. But they had use metal scaffolding, this fire probably wouldn’t engulf 7 towers.

The bamboos on fire become like firecrackers, they burst with many debris and sparks. One resident witness said the bamboos on fire were like rockets.  sweat.gif
Dried Bamboo still combustible, compare that with metal or aluminium
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 12:03 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(LazadaGot @ Nov 28 2025, 11:47 AM)
heres the longer version of video,

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1210216587645437

3mins hard to run, even from top floor running to stair case pun mau 5-10mins sweat.gif sweat.gif
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 12:15 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(fongsk @ Nov 28 2025, 12:08 PM)
Agree but what is the fire is caused by gas tanks or ciggi smokes or fireworks ?  Does Bomba has the facilities to douse or control fire in such highly dense and tall buildings?  Just hope it will not be like the movie towering inferno…
ciggy butt fire up the netting or styrofoam

Malaysia high rise building hardly will spread to next door one lah, it has fireproof wall or clay brick wall which able to withstand fire for up to 2 hours
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 12:18 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 28 2025, 12:14 PM)
There’s one family that ran down but had to return back to their unit because the exit already engulfed in flame. The family member subsequently unable to get in contact there after.  sad.gif

This is very sad and ridiculous, why is there no firefighters at main exit at ground floor in this scenario. While I praise the front line firefighters for risking their life, I think the higher rank firefighters doing coordination and giving orders may not have done a solid job.
Damn that is sad, the way i see really no way to run, run to rooftop also cannot escape.

Can't blame firefighters on this matter, they are worry fire debris dropping down and hurt them, with 3-5 mins i doubt fire fighters can reach on time. Whether they got floorplan is another story.
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 12:59 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 28 2025, 12:17 PM)
latest development even for the residential title development, the unit is fitted with smoke detector in all room and connected to control room. while the main door is fire rated for one hour

brows.gif
If follow old guideline, residential macam no need oh, only require to place fire extinguisher
yhtan
post Nov 28 2025, 02:19 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(ekoh @ Nov 28 2025, 01:12 PM)
Now many HKger said blaming on bamboo scaffolding is a conspiracy from China to replace it with metal, they want to preserve it.
at this moment still mau blame China pulak, otak really masuk air sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

0.0131sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:43 PM