Baba & Nyonya says Type C must rent house to M & I

andyng38
post Nov 24 2025, 05:04 PM

2,398 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Nov 24 2025, 02:56 PM)
Guys,

Peranakan is descended from Malay women and Chinese men...

how about the other way round.... Chinese women and Malay men .... is there a specific label given for them?
Mixed ethnicity is not necessarily so.

Peranakan Chinese = Straits-born Chinese.

https://www.britannica.com/topic/Peranakan
In Singapore and Malaysia the term Peranakan refers primarily to Straits-born Chinese—that is, to those born in the former Straits Settlements (specifically, Singapore, Penang, and Melaka) or in the former British Malaya (now Peninsular Malaysia) and their descendants. Straits-born Chinese men are commonly called Baba, whereas the women are called Nyonya. The Hokkien-Malay creole characteristic of the Singaporean and Malaysian Peranakan population is known as Baba Malay; since the mid-20th century, however, the language has largely been replaced by local forms of English.

andyng38
post Nov 24 2025, 08:42 PM

2,398 posts

QUOTE(ceras @ Nov 24 2025, 08:37 PM)
so liddat all Chinese in Msia are Baba and Nyonya?
it pays to read properly.
andyng38
post Today, 08:43 AM

2,398 posts

trojandude and rooney723

Both of you are correct, and I'm not trying to be conciliatory.

Am writing this as one who has Fujian ancestors of Chinese-Persian ethnicity who migrated to British Malaya along with their womenfolk (not as impoverished coolies) by way of sailing ship, and fell into the Peranakan way of life. Chinese-Malay lineage is not a prerequisite.

And I'm related by way of marriage to the late Prof Emeritus Khoo (not that it counts for anything). On the Bornean Hokkien side of the family, not one considers themselves to be "Peranakan"; I prefer to simplify matters and am quite content to be termed "Malaysian" or BolehLandian tongue.gif

Maybe this quip from the Singkie gahmen could further clarify matters:
https://www.nhb.gov.sg/peranakanmuseum/lear...-the-peranakans

And now i must put on a PH baseball cap and tend to matters...a state election looms!!
Moving along now....

0.0124sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:13 PM