Feasible to pull LAN cable 1st floor to Gnd floor?

TSSkylinestar
post Nov 17 2025, 01:07 PM, updated 2w ago

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

is it feasible to pull LAN cable from 1st floor to ground floor, by inserting the cable into the power cable conduit? I'm worried about not able to push the LAN cable through conduit bends.
has anyone done that before?

I haven't bought LAN cable yet. but don't want to buy and end up not able to do it.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Nov 17 2025, 01:08 PM
sin88
post Nov 17 2025, 01:19 PM

41 posts

For normal cat 6 ok ,if your house really have conduit but as industry std not recommended as the electrical cable may interfere with the network cable although it was shielded.
xerodice
post Nov 17 2025, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 17 2025, 01:07 PM)
is it feasible to pull LAN cable from 1st floor to ground floor, by inserting the cable into the power cable conduit? I'm worried about not able to push the LAN cable through conduit bends.

I haven't bought LAN cable yet. but don't want to buy and end up not able to do it.
Big No No.
Separate conduit ok.
metalfire
post Nov 17 2025, 01:34 PM

1,289 posts

big NO. You don't mix network cable with electrical cable.

You can cross them at some point but not run along with them.

Why don't run mesh since is only one floor difference? Mesh nowadays quite powerful already.
knight_hawk
post Nov 17 2025, 01:48 PM

190 posts

I use tplink powerline adapter, works very easy, almost plug and play.been using a few years, somerime need to switch on/off, maybe 2 or 3 times a year. But very stable, good speed for noemal use. Latency high so not good for gaming.
acbc
post Nov 17 2025, 02:36 PM

9,035 posts

I did 2 cables DIY.

Pull first and hold with double sided tape. After that, fix the casing with VHB (very high bond) double-sided tape. This tape only can get from 3M. So strong that pulling out the casing will also pull the paint out.
xCryptik
post Nov 17 2025, 02:39 PM

584 posts

My contractor pulled fiber + converter at both side in those electric cable conduit. No issue for few years already.
blacktubi
post Nov 17 2025, 04:07 PM

-
8,388 posts

By right you should NOT have high voltage and low voltage in the same conduit due to performance and safety reasons

But it is doable if you insist
tcwan
post Nov 18 2025, 11:13 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(xCryptik @ Nov 17 2025, 02:39 PM)
My contractor pulled fiber + converter at both side in those electric cable conduit. No issue for few years already.
Fiber is non-conducting (electrically) so that is still ok. But copper runs the risk of interference as well as any damage to cable(s) leading to current leakage onto the network cable, which is both dangerous as well as destroying your equipment.

This post has been edited by tcwan: Nov 18 2025, 11:14 AM
jayko
post Nov 18 2025, 12:19 PM

528 posts

lay fiber instead man! thumbup.gif
teckyuan
post Nov 19 2025, 11:52 PM

137 posts

early this year ask tm contractor help me to lay cat6 cable from l1 to l2.
i regret i didnt request developer to lay the cable for me at the beginning.my cable doesnt have any conduit pun..hopefully it will last la. contractor help me to drill wall and clip the cable nicely one the wall.

This post has been edited by teckyuan: Nov 19 2025, 11:52 PM

0.0119sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:06 PM