Best Lozenges For Cough and Phlegm or Sore Throat
TSryder_78
Nov 8 2025, 09:36 AM, updated 3w ago
Would like to seek experiences on which is the best lozenges to help with temporary relief for cough partly caused by phlegm sticking to the throat. I've tried the common ones which include Fisherman's Friend and Strepsils, so far prefer Fisherman's Friend. If there are any other better or more effective lozenges please recommend.
I usually don't take cough syrup and would avoid it as it will cause drowsiness. There are tablets for phlegm but it does not help with cough, and lozenges are the best solution.
Baconateer
Nov 8 2025, 09:49 AM
i always go for strepsils
SUSlurkingaround
Nov 8 2025, 09:58 AM
. Dequadin. .
linkinstreet
Nov 8 2025, 10:01 AM
Red Bull Addict
QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Nov 8 2025, 09:36 AM) Would like to seek experiences on which is the best lozenges to help with temporary relief for cough partly caused by phlegm sticking to the throat. I've tried the common ones which include Fisherman's Friend and Strepsils, so far prefer Fisherman's Friend. If there are any other better or more effective lozenges please recommend. I usually don't take cough syrup and would avoid it as it will cause drowsiness. There are tablets for phlegm but it does not help with cough, and lozenges are the best solution. +1 on FF FF always give me the best relief. Dunno what magic they put in that small tablet This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Nov 8 2025, 10:01 AM
netmatrix
Nov 8 2025, 10:10 AM
For cough I recommend Prospan. Kind of expensive.
General cough fisherman's friend is probably the best. I have tasted all flavours and effectiveness. The blue stripe is the best at controlling cough and cold. The white pack cinnamon is the second best.
MrWrath
Nov 8 2025, 10:11 AM

I used to carry Strepsils everyday in my sling bag for cough, a friend suggested Hudson Jujubes and i never looked back. It is miles better and each times i bought around 6 metal tins. I dunno for phlegm but works for cough.
stanck
Nov 8 2025, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 8 2025, 10:10 AM) For cough I recommend Prospan. Kind of expensive. General cough fisherman's friend is probably the best. I have tasted all flavours and effectiveness. The blue stripe is the best at controlling cough and cold. The white pack cinnamon is the second best. Bro, Prospan is mild cough mixture... Usually pregnant woman advise to take cause not too powerful. It taste nice as well 😂. Usually on the onset of coughing or sore throat, if u take it 1st usually help. But if jadi teruk, usually Prospan doesn't help. For me phlegm without cough, I go for Flumicil. This is expensive but usually a pill dissolve in water, it works wonder. There is other generic one as well (50% cheaper vs Flumicil), sometime work, sometimes don't for me. So I end up just going with Flumicil
kevinc
Nov 8 2025, 10:25 AM
yep for phlegm can try fluimucil 600mg
netmatrix
Nov 8 2025, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(stanck @ Nov 8 2025, 10:21 AM) Bro, Prospan is mild cough mixture... Usually pregnant woman advise to take cause not too powerful. It taste nice as well 😂. Usually on the onset of coughing or sore throat, if u take it 1st usually help. But if jadi teruk, usually Prospan doesn't help. For me phlegm without cough, I go for Flumicil. This is expensive but usually a pill dissolve in water, it works wonder. There is other generic one as well (50% cheaper vs Flumicil), sometime work, sometimes don't for me. So I end up just going with Flumicil That's the thing. Prospan is good enough that it is not strong like most cough meds. It is slow acting. But is is generally safest option if people are not liking the effects of cough meds. It is also recommend for old people.
TSryder_78
Nov 8 2025, 10:27 AM
I just recovered from cough and flu earlier this week. I suppose there are 2 types of cough. One is dry cough presumably caused by some infection, the other cough is caused by phelgm sticking to the throat which may cause a non-stop cough, and as you cough the sound of the phelgm that is stuck to the throat can be heard. In my case it's the phlegm that's causing the cough and it's bad as I was coughing non-stop almost the whole day and i had to take medical leave.
As I usually don't take cough syrup, I took the tablets the doctor gave to control phelgm, but unfortunately after taking the tablets 3 times a day it doesn't really work as I was still coughing and there was still phelgm in my throat. Fortunately Fisherman's Friend lozenges does help provide some relief and helped stop the coughing. Next time I'll be getting more packs of Fisherman's friends just in case I develop the same symptoms. I'll try the other recommendations mentioned here too.
This post has been edited by ryder_78: Nov 8 2025, 10:29 AM
kopiride
Nov 8 2025, 11:33 AM
Just cough it out. Eating all those useless. Take lemon honey in hot water
Atrocious
Nov 8 2025, 11:36 AM

For sore throat, Sunward's sunquadin will do, it's antiseptic. For phlegm, Rexom's bromhexine, only slight cough needed to purge phlegm..
* For antibotics, OGB's amoxcillin from Indonesia works like a charm. Superb quality. A standard 7 days course, 2 doses daily, 1 caplet every 12 hours. Complete course even when you're well is a must.
This post has been edited by Atrocious: Nov 8 2025, 11:42 AM
Selectt
Nov 8 2025, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(kopiride @ Nov 8 2025, 11:33 AM) Just cough it out. Eating all those useless. Take lemon honey in hot water traditional way takes longer time i guess. any doc here. lol i just recovered from phelgm and fever
FusionXY
Nov 8 2025, 11:50 AM
The doctor prescribe me with this lozenges. Quite effective. I always take Difflam instead of strepsils. Likewise Difflam more expensive as it is more effective. This linkus even cheaper but treats well quickly.  For phlegm, you can go to farmasi, buy this tablet. This post has been edited by FusionXY: Nov 8 2025, 11:51 AM
TruboXL
Nov 8 2025, 11:54 AM
Original FF, Cherry FF, Purple Strepsils
Atrocious
Nov 8 2025, 12:07 PM

My current hobby also includes pill splitters/cutters and medicine weekly/monthly organizers. Don't waste additional internet space, if anybody is interested to discuss about these related items, can talk here..
TSryder_78
Nov 8 2025, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(kopiride @ Nov 8 2025, 11:33 AM) Just cough it out. Eating all those useless. Take lemon honey in hot water If it's that easy I won't be posting any thread here. The cough won't stop. It's inside the throat and you can't just easily cough it all out and job done. Even the pills the doctor provided to dissolve and eliminate the phlegm can't help.
ry8128
Nov 8 2025, 12:15 PM
Difflam, those that prescribe from doctor one. Not those difflam u can buy over the counter or pharmacy
Selectt
Nov 8 2025, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(Atrocious @ Nov 8 2025, 12:07 PM) My current hobby also includes pill splitters/cutters and medicine weekly/monthly organizers. Don't waste additional internet space, if anybody is interested to discuss about these related items, can talk here.. everyone, we have resident guru here
Atrocious
Nov 8 2025, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(Selectt @ Nov 8 2025, 12:20 PM) everyone, we have resident guru here  Guru not, hobbyist yes. I buy, i tried, confirmed its quality then bulk buy. For this year, I distributed both weekly and monthly med organizers to my friends. Told every of them that they'll be needing them sooner or later. I don't give stupid mookcakes or useless stuffs.
Starbucki
Nov 8 2025, 01:12 PM
Just inhale vicks is better than all these potong kaki sweets
TsubakiKira
Nov 8 2025, 01:18 PM

Got recommended this by another GP, it does work for phlegm. I swear by difflam though, need to get the one from doctors directly. OTC ok but macam not the best. Can always go traditional and make honey lemon drink, or ginger, or whichever. But number one for sore throat is saltwater gargle.
FusionXY
Nov 8 2025, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 8 2025, 12:15 PM) Difflam, those that prescribe from doctor one. Not those difflam u can buy over the counter or pharmacy Got pic? First time heard doctor prescribe this.
ry8128
Nov 8 2025, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 8 2025, 01:21 PM) Got pic? First time heard doctor prescribe this. No photo. I realised this when i went to pharmacy and cant find the one same with that the clinic gave me. But still buy a pack and bring back home to compare. The one doctor give has higher dosage and slightly different ingredients.
FusionXY
Nov 8 2025, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 8 2025, 01:32 PM) No photo. I realised this when i went to pharmacy and cant find the one same with that the clinic gave me. But still buy a pack and bring back home to compare. The one doctor give has higher dosage and slightly different ingredients. Is it this?
ry8128
Nov 8 2025, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 8 2025, 01:41 PM) Is it this?  I dont think so, didnt recalling seeing the word hextra there. And i got in blister pack form, not in complete box like this.
TsubakiKira
Nov 8 2025, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 8 2025, 01:48 PM) I dont think so, didnt recalling seeing the word hextra there. And i got in blister pack form, not in complete box like this.  This right? This post has been edited by TsubakiKira: Nov 8 2025, 01:53 PM
ry8128
Nov 8 2025, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Nov 8 2025, 01:52 PM)  This right? Yup, looks like this. Ayam thought u wan troll me just now, quote me but empty post, only see ur mcdonald guy
TsubakiKira
Nov 8 2025, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 8 2025, 01:55 PM) Yup, looks like this. Ayam thought u wan troll me just now, quote me but empty post, only see ur mcdonald guy  Not that mean, but forgot to upload pic 🥹 Yes, this one is the one doctors prescribe. If symptoms resolve I just stockpile them haha .
FusionXY
Nov 8 2025, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Nov 8 2025, 01:52 PM)  This right? Let me save this for future purposes.
GamersFamilia
Nov 8 2025, 02:28 PM
Strepsils for me, i wonder why im not into hacks 😌🐝
pysh
Nov 8 2025, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(stanck @ Nov 8 2025, 10:21 AM) Bro, Prospan is mild cough mixture... Usually pregnant woman advise to take cause not too powerful. It taste nice as well 😂. Usually on the onset of coughing or sore throat, if u take it 1st usually help. But if jadi teruk, usually Prospan doesn't help. For me phlegm without cough, I go for Flumicil. This is expensive but usually a pill dissolve in water, it works wonder. There is other generic one as well (50% cheaper vs Flumicil), sometime work, sometimes don't for me. So I end up just going with Flumicil prospan is actually not a cough mixture as its herbal base.. its more like a reliever that is why its sold openly anywhere, not behind the pharmacy shelves.. anyway prospan doesnt work for phlegm, its just to relieve the itchiness for cough This post has been edited by pysh: Nov 8 2025, 03:42 PM
cakoilembutgebu
Nov 8 2025, 03:48 PM

Nothing can beat slow sipping and inhaling vapour from a mug of plain hot water/tea. Just continue doing it over a long period, as many times as possible in a day. Keeping the throat and nasal passage warm and moist will cure it faster, not to mention brings relief.
Chosen one
Nov 8 2025, 04:33 PM

» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(UserU @ Nov 8 2025, 04:34 PM) I got these from the TCM store. Helps after a few days of intake. Usually 1 bottle is enough
speaking about tcm there is one spray one with powder made from watermelon and salt that one no joke dam effective heal in 1-2 days
cms
Nov 8 2025, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Nov 8 2025, 01:52 PM)  This right? This provided much relief back when i kena covid.
UserU
Nov 8 2025, 05:06 PM
CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 8 2025, 04:33 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
speaking about tcm there is one spray one with powder made from watermelon and salt that one no joke dam effective heal in 1-2 days Ah, got an image? Could look into that as well
Chosen one
Nov 8 2025, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(UserU @ Nov 8 2025, 06:06 PM) Ah, got an image? Could look into that as well
tehpoyo
Nov 8 2025, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(Atrocious @ Nov 8 2025, 07:36 AM) For sore throat, Sunward's sunquadin will do, it's antiseptic. For phlegm, Rexom's bromhexine, only slight cough needed to purge phlegm.. * For antibotics, OGB's amoxcillin from Indonesia works like a charm. Superb quality. A standard 7 days course, 2 doses daily, 1 caplet every 12 hours. Complete course even when you're well is a must. doubt it can get it here been looking at those pharmacy in klangvalley theres none and no one has hear it before
andyng38
Nov 8 2025, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 8 2025, 12:15 PM) Difflam, those that prescribe from doctor one. Not those difflam u can buy over the counter or pharmacy It's been a long time since I bought Difflam, but AFAIK there's 2 types...one costing around RM4.50 called Difflam AB available from the sweets display at the cashier, and another type which is much stronger costing RM26, and can only be sold by a pharmacist.
kcchong2000
Nov 8 2025, 07:05 PM

Strepsils red kaler. Other kaler like sampah.
enviro
Nov 8 2025, 07:17 PM
Dequadin is the only one that works for me. The rest are candy
ry8128
Nov 8 2025, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(andyng38 @ Nov 8 2025, 06:45 PM) It's been a long time since I bought Difflam, but AFAIK there's 2 types...one costing around RM4.50 called Difflam AB available from the sweets display at the cashier, and another type which is much stronger costing RM26, and can only be sold by a pharmacist. Correct. The AB one is totally useless for me, minimal impact. The stronger one is much better, someone already posted the photos above. Can have a look for those who not sure of how it looks like.
GamersFamilia
Nov 8 2025, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Nov 8 2025, 07:05 PM) Strepsils red kaler. Other kaler like sampah. Mint the worst one 😅
StaiN^
Nov 8 2025, 10:10 PM

Surprisingly no one has stated the true best lozenge.
Himalaya Koflet Lozenges
Try it and thank me later. Phlegm, sore throat, cough magic cure
sonypshomer
Nov 8 2025, 11:00 PM
Go ask the pharmacist behind the counter for prenidsolone. It's control item not selling on the shelf. RM2 only per blister pack. Take two tablets, tomorrow cured. It's anti inflammatory steroid. Without the inflammation, body heal much faster
huislaw
Nov 8 2025, 11:52 PM
lawliet88
Nov 9 2025, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(andyng38 @ Nov 8 2025, 06:45 PM) It's been a long time since I bought Difflam, but AFAIK there's 2 types...one costing around RM4.50 called Difflam AB available from the sweets display at the cashier, and another type which is much stronger costing RM26, and can only be sold by a pharmacist. Those r controlled drugs/prescription med. Actually can buy from doctoroncall , last year i see it hav it
amysthe
Nov 9 2025, 02:25 AM
Last time got Difflam Purple Color (the one with Pholcodine), shame it got recalled. Very effective for dry cough.
Ever since covid, these lozenges all keep hiking in price. I miss the days where one blister of Difflam just costed you around RM 11~12.
Best alternative to Difflam is actually Sobenz lozenges manufactured by Duopharma. Got 2 flavors; Orange and Melon.
ornehx
Nov 9 2025, 07:29 AM
Try propoliz. They also have oral spray direct to throat
UserU
Nov 10 2025, 11:35 PM
CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 8 2025, 06:09 PM) Thanks! Will keep that in mind
machomama
Nov 11 2025, 02:57 PM

suffering from flu n cough s well past week (some ppl even badly down with flu n cough......still come to work) - can't blame em........am not 100% but still have to report for duty lots of useful info on meds this is far better than visiting any clinic / see doc my 2 cents  either take in the vapour (in container with hot water) or apply direct
jusbella
Nov 11 2025, 03:02 PM
Always boil traditional Chinese herb jer....
Invulnerability
Nov 11 2025, 04:58 PM

strepstil and fisherman not working for me eat more getting worse, not sure is too strong or what got any alternative like chinese medicine?
Capt. Marble
Nov 11 2025, 05:00 PM

Hurix
Autocountstick
Nov 11 2025, 05:06 PM
Fisherman's Friend , i like the original but always sold out speed99
Mattrock
Nov 11 2025, 08:17 PM
Hot/Warm brandy just before bed. Take nothing after that.