Hi, as the title above, I'd like to to know where I can upgrade my ram for 32gb in low Yat?
For context my laptop still in warranty.
Laptop model : https://my.shp.ee/5u5jAXp
Is there any Hp center in low Yat?
Ddr5 ram upgrade
Nov 5 2025, 06:33 AM, updated 3w ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
561 posts Joined: Aug 2017 |
Hi, as the title above, I'd like to to know where I can upgrade my ram for 32gb in low Yat?
For context my laptop still in warranty. Laptop model : https://my.shp.ee/5u5jAXp Is there any Hp center in low Yat? |
Nov 5 2025, 06:55 AM
846 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
TS, looking at your laptop specs, it has 2x 8GB ram, going for 32GB ram means you need to replace both rams. Any shop that sells ram at lowyat/section14 digital mall should be able to install for you. Khan92 liked this post
Nov 5 2025, 09:38 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
12,142 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Upgrade RAM does not void warranty, as i use HP desktop, i double confirm with shop staff
But RAM price now is very expensive This post has been edited by PJng: Nov 5 2025, 09:39 AM |
Dec 20 2025, 03:00 AM
Jan 27 2026, 01:47 AM
9 posts Joined: Jun 2025 |
QUOTE(Khan92 @ Dec 20 2025, 03:00 AM) means u just need someone's help with installing it?u could try going to ALL IT and providing ur own parts and see if they'll just charge u with the labor fee but if u are a bit more adventurous, could try searching yt for videos and diy. QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Nov 5 2025, 06:55 AM) TS, looking at your laptop specs, it has 2x 8GB ram, going for 32GB ram means you need to replace both rams. not necessarily, while it is always highly recommended to buy RAM together, it's not the end of the world to mix although ram will run at the lowest speed between the two ram.Any shop that sells ram at lowyat/section14 digital mall should be able to install for you. example, ram 1 = 4800MT/s ram 2 = 5200MT/s result = both ram will run at 4800MT/s also, ur ram might not run at full optimal dual-channel performance because different ram sizes but its ok if all u need is just extra ram buffer and you're not a very professional user with high needs. p.s. still can't believe that 32GB DDR5 price jump to RM1.8k on shopee rn. luckily, I just bought mine for RM400 a few months ago. I wonder if I could sell it second-hand for RM1-1.5k right now and return to my old ram, then buy again when the market stabilizes. |
Jan 27 2026, 08:50 AM
2,631 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
QUOTE(Dulcetia @ Jan 27 2026, 01:47 AM) You may also refer to HP's Official Service Manual for step by step instructionshttps://kaas.hpcloud.hp.com/pdf-public/pdf_...438_en-US-1.pdf |
Jan 27 2026, 09:43 AM
4,521 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
some laptops upgrading is easy, or not. or some allow upgrading ram, some dont (like they welded the ram).
it may not necessarily be as hard to install. so check youtube for your model laptop, see how they install the ram. if it's easy, save your money and do it yourself. if it looks hard, then u bring it to the shop. i recommend u ask to be present if they do it. i dont trust these shops handling my equipment. yes, they will snoop if u r not around o-O; maybe not 100% but there is a high chance. when handling ram, make sure u already electro static discharged yourself. a quick method is to hold something metali for 20 seconds or so to discharge any static on you. if you want to be profesional u can use anti static wrist wrap. then hold the ram from the sides. and when inserting into the slot, there should be a way to tell you are installing it in the correct way. So don't force it..... refer to laptop manual, for dual channel they tell u what slots to install. for laptop i dont think they have that many slots like desktop pc. but for dual channel usually its color coded so u install the 2 sticks into those slots. when ram is in slot, gently apply pressure on both ends starting from the sides, then gentle stroke the spine to apply the pressure there as well, and make ur way to cover it so it feels like it has even pressure for the whole stick. make sure there is a click for the side straps for the ram. the click would indicate it was correctly installed. but even after hearing click on both ends of the ram, you should still stroke along the spine to apply pressure to make sure it's even applied and correctly inserted. then boot up laptop, go bios (usually press F2, F8 or delete repeatedly till you enter bios) Then you have to add the profile. E.g. if ur using an amd ryzen laptop, and u r using amd expo profile ddr5 ram, then you should go in bios, specify to use profile 1 amd expo for the ram. That usually should be enough for newbs. For desktop pc i do other things, like set timing to tighest, do benchmark check if it's stable.... but for laptop maybe u no need to do those extra steps. just set the amd expo profile is more than enough. *update the video basically shows u the install ram which the other poster mentioned. i watched it already and this particular model the accessibility to the ram and ssd for install it's particularly hard. i think you can do it yourself. - get the screw driver - use a plastic wedge or something to remove the laptop cover once u removed the screws - remove the batter plug (dont be scared. just watch the video. nothing complicated) - replace or add the new ram. the ram install is different from my description previously. my previous instruction is mostly from reference from desktop pc install. for laptop their ram insert mechanism is slightly different and on the side leaning. but you can see for yourself from the video how to do it, it's not hard. but some general rules do still apply, to make sure that the ram is inserted properly with proper connection. once done, connect back your battery, close the lid, screw it up, boot up laptop, go bios, do those settings, save, restart, done. u save yourself some money and privacy worries. This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jan 27 2026, 09:50 AM |
Jan 28 2026, 05:51 AM
9 posts Joined: Jun 2025 |
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 27 2026, 09:43 AM) i recommend u ask to be present if they do it. i dont trust these shops handling my equipment. yes, they will snoop if u r not around o-O; maybe not 100% but there is a high chance. btw, if u are planning on diy-ing, if the back cover is hard to get off, don't worry, you're not doing anything wrong. trying to open the back cover of any laptop for the first time is always the hardest. and make sure the ram is "seated" correctly - basically means it's fully pressed down and the two metal clips at the side is holding onto the ram. good luck TS! Moogle Stiltzkin liked this post
Jan 28 2026, 06:01 AM
QUOTE(Dulcetia @ Jan 28 2026, 05:51 AM) yes, especially those small stores along the escalators in lowyat. Not saying that all of them are bad but I had a few frens kena before. this is not even speculative, it actually happen (not accusing you, i'm just saying out loud in general to nobody in particular)btw, if u are planning on diy-ing, if the back cover is hard to get off, don't worry, you're not doing anything wrong. trying to open the back cover of any laptop for the first time is always the hardest. and make sure the ram is "seated" correctly - basically means it's fully pressed down and the two metal clips at the side is holding onto the ram. good luck TS! so if you send to repair shop for such a easy install, don't be surprised if they do other stuff like snooping. A general rule of thumb IF you do use a computer repair shop 1. remove your hard drives and ssds. OR, at least format your hdds/ssds before you send for repair. Sometimes just a basic format isn't enough because there are recovery tools. also even if you get ur pc back with your hdd/ssd there, there is no guarantee they didn't clone it with you unaware. 2. or, you can ask to be present while they repair. if they don't allow, then walk away look for the next repair shop that is less sus. 3. if they are fixing a fresh OS pc, i recommend REFORMATING yourself. Reinstall windows, REDO bios. Don't trust just using as is. not all IT repair shop is trustworthy. This rule also applies when buying china branded routers e.g. the pfsense that came pre-installed, just format and reinstall yourself downloaded from the pfsense official source. For pcs, it's not particular hard to just pop in a usb and load some malware i got my own toolkit i can fix most issues myself then dont have to rely on these IT shops these days even repair smartphone not safe either. but if you have a samsung, they got a nifty encrypt your data for repair, then you can safely send your phone to samsung to repair. so that at least is the golden standard if you need a fix. but i digress. anyway the ram replace is simple, just follow the youtube. save yourself money and privacy concerns the only step that may trip you is in the bios settings. just installing the physical stick isn't enough. you also have to go to bios and configure there as well to use the amd expo profile for your ram. But even that though isn't particularly hard. there so many youtube explain how to do the basic setting for your ram in bios. This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jan 28 2026, 06:06 AM |
Jan 29 2026, 02:08 AM
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 28 2026, 06:01 AM) this is not even speculative, it actually happen (not accusing you, i'm just saying out loud in general to nobody in particular) Appreciate the advise and i agreed, luckily my laptop mostly used for gaming and 𝖿̶𝗎̶𝗋̶𝗋̶𝗒̶ ̶𝗉̶𝗈̶𝗋̶𝗇̶, so nothing much in SSD.so if you send to repair shop for such a easy install, don't be surprised if they do other stuff like snooping. A general rule of thumb IF you do use a computer repair shop 1. remove your hard drives and ssds. OR, at least format your hdds/ssds before you send for repair. Sometimes just a basic format isn't enough because there are recovery tools. also even if you get ur pc back with your hdd/ssd there, there is no guarantee they didn't clone it with you unaware. 2. or, you can ask to be present while they repair. if they don't allow, then walk away look for the next repair shop that is less sus. 3. if they are fixing a fresh OS pc, i recommend REFORMATING yourself. Reinstall windows, REDO bios. Don't trust just using as is. not all IT repair shop is trustworthy. This rule also applies when buying china branded routers e.g. the pfsense that came pre-installed, just format and reinstall yourself downloaded from the pfsense official source. For pcs, it's not particular hard to just pop in a usb and load some malware i got my own toolkit i can fix most issues myself then dont have to rely on these IT shops these days even repair smartphone not safe either. but if you have a samsung, they got a nifty encrypt your data for repair, then you can safely send your phone to samsung to repair. so that at least is the golden standard if you need a fix. but i digress. anyway the ram replace is simple, just follow the youtube. save yourself money and privacy concerns the only step that may trip you is in the bios settings. just installing the physical stick isn't enough. you also have to go to bios and configure there as well to use the amd expo profile for your ram. But even that though isn't particularly hard. there so many youtube explain how to do the basic setting for your ram in bios. did the upgrade at Sri Computer labour charge 25 ringgit i think, cuz i walk around low yat comparing prices, and Sri Comp are the lowest after upgrade, im not remember whether i go to bios or not, but there are restarting |
Jan 29 2026, 06:31 AM
QUOTE(Khan92 @ Jan 29 2026, 02:08 AM) Appreciate the advise and i agreed, luckily my laptop mostly used for gaming and 𝖿̶𝗎̶𝗋̶𝗋̶𝗒̶ ̶𝗉̶𝗈̶𝗋̶𝗇̶, so nothing much in SSD. even without anything to hide (side note: hassan picker got caught/exposed with furry prawn lmfao did the upgrade at Sri Computer labour charge 25 ringgit i think, cuz i walk around low yat comparing prices, and Sri Comp are the lowest after upgrade, im not remember whether i go to bios or not, but there are restarting #savekaya *backstory » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « the principle still matters though for privacy and security. i've seen irl people who installed spyware on other peoples pcs. creepy as hell even if u got nothing valueable or private on your networking equipment e.g. pcs, laptop, smartphones or whatever connected to your home network, there are such things like crypto miners. those things run on your hardware, use your electricity and your internet. and you are paying for that Malaysia's Tenaga Nasional incurs losses of more than $1 billion from crypto power theft https://www.reuters.com/sustainability/boar...eft-2025-11-19/ This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jan 29 2026, 06:46 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0141sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th February 2026 - 12:49 PM |