Priority Banking, Everything about Priority Banking

MilesAndMore
post Mar 31 2017, 10:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 31 2017, 07:41 AM)
Ya they now implemented this recently. I heard that is because minimum for Citigold is US$100k (worldwide or some countries ??).
Citibank USA and Citibank IPB increased the AUM for CitiGold from USD100,000 to USD200,000 last year. Citibank Hong Kong also increased the AUM for Citibank Hong Kong CitiGold AUM to HKD1.5 million (RM855,000).

The best selling point about Citibank CitiGold Global Transfer and HSBC Premier Global Transfer is that both are fee free and it is all done in real time (on a banking day). And for HSBC Hong Kong, as a Premier customer you can order foreign currency banknotes online and collect the money at your selected branch. This service is provided free for HSBC Hong Kong Premier customers.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2017, 09:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2017, 08:27 PM)
So in the future, CB may increase Citigold limit to US$200k ? That will be interesting. biggrin.gif
I suppose RM400,000 is high enough already for the Malaysian market.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 1 2017, 11:06 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jun 1 2017, 08:12 PM)
Kwong Yik Bank lel.. hehehe... guess the only chinaman bank that still exist is PBB xD
Public Bank and Hong Leong Bank
MilesAndMore
post Jun 2 2017, 06:08 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 2 2017, 12:56 PM)
After pb chairman passed away, it will be merged with other bank.
That may or may not happen. It is the prime acquisition target over the last few years but they have been doing everything they can to fend off any hostile takeover, and not to repeat the Southern Bank mistake. They might just continue to operate as a standalone bank for decades to come even after the founder in no longer around.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 28 2017, 04:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2017, 12:34 AM)
If all else fail, tell them you want priority banking. Guaranteed boleh. biggrin.gif devil.gif

From lowest to highest
UOB - SGD100k
OCBC & Standard Chartered - SGD200k
DBS - SGD350k
UOB Singapore Privilege Banking starts from SGD350k, not SGD100k. And UOB Singapore allows remote account opening.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 28 2017, 07:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 28 2017, 05:58 PM)
That's something like for our RM50k level entry.
The is UOB Singapore Wealth Banking, which is not a Priority Banking account. UOB Wealth Banking is like Maybank Aspire or CIMB Prime Banking. For foreigners who can't show employment pass or do not have a psysical address in Singapore but wish to start a banking relationship with UOB Bank Singapore, they will ask you to open a UOB Privilege Account which require a minimum deposit of SGD350k.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 2 2018, 08:29 PM

9,301 posts

Any idea which bank is still issuing pre-approved credit card to its Priority/Premier Banking customers these days ? As far as I know HSBC now no longer does so. How about other banks such as Standard Chartered Priority Banking, RHB Premier, Citibank Citigold etc. ?
MilesAndMore
post Dec 2 2018, 02:17 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Nov 26 2018, 08:19 PM)
Uob and amb does. 1m aum with them. Still does.

Hsbc still does actually - 1m aum as well to be pre qualified.

Rhb offers as long you’re their Pb- not sure if they still practice this now.

SCB need to apply.
A friend told me HSBC Jalan Ipoh insists income document is a must even for Premier and always have been the standard practice, and there was never such thing as pre-approved Premier credit card. I personally know some people got their Premier credit card without submitting income document a few years back, so I know whatever HSBC Jalan Ipoh told my friend is absolute nonsense!

And yet another HSBC branch said a few years ago they did not require any income document, but now they do. They are however very lenient in approving a Premier credit card though and just an income of RM36k will qualify already.

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Nov 27 2018, 12:35 PM)
this month i become CIMB Preferred and no credit card preapproved. I was told to apply. CIMB KLCC branch
Which bank give the most freebies for new Priority customers ??
QUOTE(terrysoh @ Dec 1 2018, 04:21 PM)
Hi, this month I also become a new CIMB Preferred too, and they gave me the Visa Infinite pre-approved, no documents, no question asked.

Basically I went in as a normal customer to put in their promo 4.4% for 6 months for a good amount of money, and they upgraded me straight + Visa Infinite.

Just got an SMS that the card got approved, and i did not submit any documents for it.
Very likely the AUM plays a part here. And of course, inconsistency is also an issue like what a few of my friends experienced with HSBC.
MilesAndMore
post Dec 2 2018, 02:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(thkhai @ Dec 2 2018, 01:43 PM)
May i know what is the min AUM for Hong Leong Priority Banking? anyone? Thanks in advance
It is RM300,000.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 10 2019, 02:55 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Apr 11 2019, 08:40 PM)
I dont think so HSBC have this benefit, even premier customer want to get a credit card also need application with bank statement. Is bank statement not payslip.
Somemore today they have the protest at their branch, no idea whther will affect my account or not  rclxub.gif  shakehead.gif
Regarding the HSBC Premier credit card, that’s because the bank is required to comply with the RM36k annual income rule from Bank Negara which has been in effect for many years, which for your information, HSBC did not strictly follow until about 3 years ago.

However, as I mentioned, it is all about complying with the RM36k annual income ruling. Many HSBC Premier customers do not seem to be aware of this, it is very likely their RM are either new and still not aware or simply did not know about this, that HSBC is actually still issuing complimentary HSBC Premier World MasterCard to eligible clients without proof of income. All you need is to put at least RM1 million in time deposit with HSBC. Time deposits in another banks don’t count as HSBC is unable to verify the authenticity of the time deposit accounts at another banks.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 10 2019, 02:56 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 4 2019, 03:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 3 2019, 07:35 PM)
AFAIK, for HSBC and SCB, you only need to maintain PB status in just one country. If you have oversea accounts with HSBC/SCB, they can be upgraded to PB status without fulfilling the minimum PB balance requirement in that particular country. For this reason, maintaining the PB status in MY is more attractive as the minimum PB requirement is usually the lowest among all jurisdictions.
QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 3 2019, 11:17 PM)
I have no experience with SC SG. But I think you should ask your RM in SG instead of asking SC MY directly.

One of my friends has PB with SC MY. His RM helped him to open account with SC in SG, HK and China. All accounts come with PB status without the local minimum balance requirement. In some cases, he still has to meet the local RM face-to-face as part of the account opening process, which requires cross-border travel.
I second the above statements. Just like HSBC Premier, one only needs to be a Standard Chartered Priority Banking customers in one jurisdiction and you will be accorded the same status in your host countries and the same applies to Standard Chartered Priority Private (minimum AUM of RM3,000,000).

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 3 2019, 07:35 PM)
For Citibank, you would have to meet the PB minimum requirement in all countries where you intend to have PB status.
Stand to be corrected if bank policy has changed.
Supposedly you only need to qualify for Citibank IPB in either SG or HK with a minimum AUM of USD200,000 and you will be accorded the same Citigold status in both countries.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 16 2020, 01:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Apr 12 2020, 11:59 PM)
afaik HSBC and SCB can. UOB and OCBC can open SGD account.

CIMB and Maybank too i think, and local this 2 i think no need priority.
Just some extra information on Standard Chartered Bank Priority Banking. Just like HSBC Premier, the status is recognised overseas but it’s not automatic like HSBC. Your RM need to write in so they can link your account manually, so you don’t have to fulfil the minimum deposit again to gain SCB Priority Banking status in another country. I found out some SCB RM do not know about this, and have been giving the wrong information to their clients that Standard Chartered do not recognise cross-border Priority Banking status, but in fact they do.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 19 2020, 12:48 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(babyscouts @ Apr 17 2020, 01:00 AM)
Oic
Yes premier recognize overseas
But bank locally incorporated
Any idea which foreign bank is not locally incorporated
HSBC SG was previously a wholly owned subsidiary of Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corp (HK office), but it was locally incorporated in Singapore a few years ago. I think all the full-fledged foreign banks providing retail service in Singapore are all locally incorporated now. But anyway, Singapore is an offshore banking centre. Non-resident clients are all under offshore banking.
MilesAndMore
post May 5 2020, 11:40 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ May 4 2020, 11:15 PM)
i got told differently. While they can write to SG, the leeway to fulfil deposit requirements is only waived for one year, and whether to accept you as a client is the SG entity call.
There goes the inconsistency of the information provided by Standard Chartered RM. The second part however is correct, that Standard Chartered SGP is to call the shot if they want to admit you as a client. The same goes to HSBC Premier, whilst automatic, it depends on the host country to allow you to open an account.
MilesAndMore
post May 30 2020, 01:03 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ May 29 2020, 03:58 PM)
I am going to consolidate my banking accounts into one account.

Which priority account have the highest interest rates without any actions (like OCBC/Stand Chart) ?

Can anyone help?
Citibank Citigold - Citibank Max Yield Account. You need to have an AUM of RM5 Million with Citibank and any balance in your Citibank Max Yield Account will earn 3% flat interest rate.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2020, 09:07 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Jul 26 2020, 10:48 AM)
To make it short and simple: It is not as easy as you think.
Used to be very easy even after the 2008 financial crisis until the 1MBD issue blew up. Nowadays you’ll be asked a lot of questions and there are a lot of paperworks too.

Someone I know took 6 months to successfully open a HSBC USA account and that was 2 years ago. 4 months before the HSBC USA account was opened, he flew to US with his son who was about to start his uni life there and both him and his son managed to open a Bank of America account almost on the spot.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 16 2020, 01:14 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(babyscouts @ Nov 13 2020, 08:28 PM)
On demand financial guidance
Dedicated personal financial consultant
Enahnced banking benefits
Preferential interest profit rates on banking products
Digital financial dashboard
Recognition for excellence

But the charges is a drawback
Affin Avance is not a Priority/Premier banking product.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0676sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:00 AM