MacBook Pro Keyboard Grease/shinny

TSsplinter
post Oct 29 2025, 09:56 PM, updated 4w ago

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

As topic, how to prevent? my few months old keyboard, during office was connected to external keyboard but still it get oily look often. I saw my friends one all turn to shinny keys which feel puke.gif

Help and share some links how you maintain it notworthy.gif
nate_nightroad
post Oct 29 2025, 10:07 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

Use silicone cover
wei
post Oct 30 2025, 11:13 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Can try wiping, but be very careful not to use wet medium. Just soft enough and gently wipe. Ensure your hand are not greasy. But eventually they will turn shinny if heavy typing.

Keyboard protect might work but some will leave marking on your screen. Be very careful on them.
firdausbhari
post Oct 30 2025, 06:00 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Oct 29 2025, 09:56 PM)
As topic, how to prevent? my few months old keyboard, during office was connected to external keyboard but still it get oily look often. I saw my friends one all turn to shinny keys which feelĀ  puke.gif
Help and share some links how you maintain itĀ  notworthy.gif
Apple Macbooks using ABS plastic with matte finish for their keyboard.

Eventually ABS plastic will wear down overtime from friction and finger oils thus lead to shining.

To prevent is just a simple keyboard protector but somehow will have other issue with your screen if closed due to thickness.

This post has been edited by firdausbhari: Oct 30 2025, 06:01 PM
TSsplinter
post Oct 31 2025, 10:34 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Oct 30 2025, 06:00 PM)
Apple Macbooks using ABS plastic with matte finish for their keyboard.

Eventually ABS plastic will wear down overtime from friction and finger oils thus lead to shining.

To prevent is just a simple keyboard protector but somehow will have other issue with your screen if closed due to thickness.
Seem like there no way to prevent it ya. I ordered some keyboard stickers from taobao. Hope it solve sad.gif

0.0135sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:48 PM