Soundcard Shootout June 2004, FAQ updated 9th June 2004

lawrencelyl
post Jun 3 2004, 02:36 PM

196 posts

QUOTE (lifeless_creature @ Jun 3 2004, 02:31 PM)
hmm...just put a tweeter in front of it ? do u hav the front view? thankssss lawrence

i "hide" the tweeter behind the sat grill so that the tweeter is not visible from front...
lifeless_creature
post Jun 3 2004, 02:53 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE (lawrencelyl @ Jun 3 2004, 02:36 PM)
i "hide" the tweeter behind the sat grill so that the tweeter is not visible from front...

wah...then connect the tweeter to the wire connector at the back there? deep deep.... notworthy.gif
jarofclay
post Jun 3 2004, 04:48 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

QUOTE (ADJ @ Jun 3 2004, 03:00 PM)
yea, connected in parallel

Any tweater will do? or do I have to adhere to wattage or amperage?
daijoubu
post Jun 3 2004, 05:03 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

lawrence, may i ask. if your tweeter is connected parallel, where is the crossover? built in? cause im doing the same with my R501 but with a pair or sat with both mids and tweets (removed the mids). thinking of changing it to something small like yours (if it has built in crossovers)
lawrencelyl
post Jun 3 2004, 05:10 PM

196 posts

QUOTE (jarofclay @ Jun 3 2004, 04:48 PM)
Any tweater will do? or do I have to adhere to wattage or amperage?

fyi, i'm using super dome tweeter (200W peak) which actually for car audio purpose...so, the impedance will be 4 ohms only. Anyway, it's better to use 8 ohms tweeter to match the impedance but it's hard to find 8 ohms tweeter for that kind of size (i want small size). For the wattage, you need to see your amplifier wattage. Just make sure your tweeter wattage is equal or higher than your amplifier wattage to prevent your tweeter from getting fried under high volume. For the amperage, i never encounter any tweeter with amperage ratings...tongue.gif
lawrencelyl
post Jun 3 2004, 05:16 PM

196 posts

QUOTE (daijoubu @ Jun 3 2004, 05:03 PM)
lawrence, may i ask. if your tweeter is connected parallel, where is the crossover? built in? cause im doing the same with my R501 but with a pair or sat with both mids and tweets (removed the mids). thinking of changing it to something small like yours (if it has built in crossovers)

the crossover is passive and most basic filter only...consisting of a single capacitor connected in series with the tweeter (very small capacitor not visible in the pic)... a single capacitor is not a real crossover, it just help to filter out low frequency up to certain point...
a real passive or active crossover will be a lot better in this case which will make the sound "cleaner" ... since i prefer small and space saving, a single capacitor will do all the job ... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lawrencelyl: Jun 3 2004, 05:18 PM
ikanayam
post Jun 3 2004, 11:22 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE (daijoubu @ Jun 3 2004, 10:18 AM)
hahaha, yup, painless wink.gif

Painless for you to read, but that just shows that he put in a lot of good work into it.
Good job ADJ thumbup.gif
Waiting for the individual reviews...
Btw, what driver revisions did you use for each card?
And i do agree that creative's bloatware... um... i mean "user interface" is kinda sucky tongue.gif
daijoubu
post Jun 3 2004, 11:34 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE (ikanayam @ Jun 3 2004, 11:22 PM)
Painless for you to read, but that just shows that he put in a lot of good work into it.
Good job ADJ thumbup.gif
Waiting for the individual reviews...
Btw, what driver revisions did you use for each card?
And i do agree that creative's bloatware... um... i mean "user interface" is kinda sucky tongue.gif

yup thumbup.gif. the point of having a review is for the mainstream users to read and understand. thus a painless review is easy to understand, and achieves the purpose of a review...

TSADJ
post Jun 3 2004, 11:38 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

ermm...i'm a layman, so it'd be written in layman's terms, don't expect the full reviews to be anything on par with M&Ms of 3dss or the other established sites....so dun get ur hopes up sweat.gif

driver revisions, all the latest as of time of testing...even the NX was flashed with the latest firmware....
jarofclay
post Jun 4 2004, 09:29 AM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

QUOTE (lawrencelyl @ Jun 3 2004, 05:10 PM)
fyi, i'm using super dome tweeter (200W peak) which actually for car audio purpose...so, the impedance will be 4 ohms only. Anyway, it's better to use 8 ohms tweeter to match the impedance but it's hard to find 8 ohms tweeter for that kind of size (i want small size). For the wattage, you need to see your amplifier wattage. Just make sure your tweeter wattage is equal or higher than your amplifier wattage to prevent your tweeter from getting fried under high volume. For the amperage, i never encounter any tweeter with amperage ratings...tongue.gif

Great, that's great info. So, if I wanna add the tweeter to my Z560, then I just need to purchase one that can withstand 53 watts with 8Ohms impedence since the subwoofer amplifies only 53 watts to satellites?

Thanks, and hope you dun mind these silly questions.
lawrencelyl
post Jun 4 2004, 09:42 AM

196 posts

QUOTE (jarofclay @ Jun 4 2004, 09:29 AM)
Great, that's great info. So, if I wanna add the tweeter to my Z560, then I just need to purchase one that can withstand 53 watts with 8Ohms impedence since the subwoofer amplifies only 53 watts to satellites?

Thanks, and hope you dun mind these silly questions.

for 8 ohms tweeter, anything more than 50W will do...for 4 ohms tweeter, better to get at least 100W (this is due to the half impedance of the rated 8 ohms of the amplifier, so wattage has to be doubled)...
anyway, lower wattage tweeter also can be used without problem unless you're driving them at mad volume or playing constant high frequency sine wave at high volume tongue.gif
D_Y2k.4^
post Jun 4 2004, 03:16 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

Well, according to Czone's price, M-Audio Revolution 7.1 and Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 are priced at RM450. Lets say i wanna build an ultimate music sound system, what will you guys recommend?I was thinking of Prigy 7.1 with Klipsch Ultra Promedia 5.1.What do you guys think?
TSADJ
post Jun 5 2004, 02:33 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

this shootout is just to cover basic audio listening and gaming, for typical users...so no coverage on directwire

esca, its just a ... private casual test wink.gif
michaelpng
post Jun 6 2004, 01:55 AM

259 posts

QUOTE (D_Y2k.4^ @ Jun 4 2004, 03:16 PM)
Well, according to Czone's price, M-Audio Revolution 7.1 and Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 are priced at RM450. Lets say i wanna build an ultimate <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=music&v=56">music</a> sound system, what will you guys recommend?I was thinking of Prigy 7.1 with Klipsch Ultra Promedia 5.1.What do you guys think?

I think U get the Gigawork S750 and Revolutio 7.1 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
jarofclay
post Jun 6 2004, 02:40 AM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

QUOTE (lawrencelyl @ Jun 4 2004, 09:42 AM)
for 8 ohms tweeter, anything more than 50W will do...for 4 ohms tweeter, better to get at least 100W (this is due to the half impedance of the rated 8 ohms of the amplifier, so wattage has to be doubled)...
anyway, lower wattage tweeter also can be used without problem unless you're driving them at mad volume or playing constant high frequency sine wave at high volume tongue.gif

Thanks. It's informative. Not sure if I should try detaching my Morel car audio tweeters to test or not.

But as it is, the Z560 is quite sharp pitched already that it is hurting ears when played out loud, would adding this tweeter in sweeten the sound? Or should I be adding in a mid-range speaker instead?

Cheers.
lawrencelyl
post Jun 6 2004, 09:57 PM

196 posts

QUOTE (jarofclay @ Jun 6 2004, 02:40 AM)
Thanks. It's informative. Not sure if I should try detaching my Morel car audio tweeters to test or not.

But as it is, the Z560 is quite sharp pitched already that it is hurting ears when played out loud, would adding this tweeter in sweeten the sound? Or should I be adding in a mid-range speaker instead?

Cheers.

for me, it Z-560 doesn't sound "sharp" pitch...but rather a bit "harsh" wink.gif
i add a tweeter just to compensate on low high frequency on the satellite...
as for adding a mid-range driver, i think it'll be redundant since the Z-560's satellites are not bad in producing mid-range frequencies...
anyway, you can have a try then let me know the result... biggrin.gif
jarofclay
post Jun 6 2004, 11:13 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

QUOTE (lawrencelyl @ Jun 6 2004, 09:57 PM)
for me, it Z-560 doesn't sound "sharp" pitch...but rather a bit "harsh" wink.gif
i add a tweeter just to compensate on low high frequency on the satellite...
as for adding a mid-range driver, i think it'll be redundant since the Z-560's satellites are not bad in producing mid-range frequencies...
anyway, you can have a try then let me know the result... biggrin.gif

So for you at the moment, adding in the tweeter does indeed sound more balanced and warmer... ok, I will try once I got the stuff in.
F33L3Lik3Hom3
post Jun 6 2004, 11:26 PM

648 posts

Prodigy works like a charm and it is more bassy compared to revo.

Great for DJ wannabe's
StarNet
post Jun 7 2004, 12:10 AM

retired overclocker(tm)
3,140 posts

SoundStorm can be nice if u know how to tune it thumbup.gif
radiohead
post Jun 7 2004, 01:55 PM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

QUOTE (ADJ @ Jun 6 2004, 09:28 PM)
SFFs are no problem as they can use full height cards.

Remember full height cards are your typical cards like graphic cards. So since your IDEQ can slot in a card like a typical Radeon/Geforce, so reason why it can't slot in a soundcard. The longest soundcard, the ZS can fit most SFFs, so shorter cards like Prodigy and Revo are also of no problem.

yes my 96XT can fit into my ideq. the probl is i can see the cooler on my raddy is probably too close to audigys card if i decide to put in

so damn close. havent buy it (the audigy) though

in a limbo. wheter i stuck with ideq's soundstorm or..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0171sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:31 AM