Buy Property or Good Stocks or FD Interest

TSKronenZerg
post Oct 14 2025, 02:43 PM, updated 2 months ago

393 posts

Guys -
I was watching TikTok video about this Dato Vince explaining how to make passive income..
The way he describe, you can buy a house and then sub it out for rental and then use the money to buy another house again ..

So if you have $$ .. should you invest in property or put in reliable stocks like PB or CIMB?

Your thoughts .. i will be receiving $$$ from US stock trading so dunno which should be good option as inflation will take place and amount in FD will become smaller in the future.

I am not expert in stocks or even crypto .. so afraid will lose instead.

TSKronenZerg
post Oct 14 2025, 04:38 PM

393 posts

Yeah . .looking for passive income.
What doesnt make sense to me is the ..spending RM400K, but rental is merely 2K/month .. take how long to get back the ROI, except the property is mine and hopefully appreciate in the future to offset the inflation.
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 14 2025, 09:28 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(lyekit @ Oct 14 2025, 08:40 PM)
All in crypto la. YOLO
Dato Vincent Nee ... property investor .. google and see ..
He did podcast in one of local stations and he explained his students makes money from rental .. even said one of his students has 200K per month passive income.

No balls to play crypto lah ..

Yes, thinking to buy stocks that has good dividend payouts .. Public Bank, CIMB .. any other suggestion from stocks gurus?

I have the same thinking on property .. nowadays, it is hard to get back ROI and plus shitty tenants. I have friend who suggested buy a property and turn to Air BNB wor ..
Sounds interesting but it is like rental too so if unlucky, shitty customer .. koyak but chances are lower compared to long term tenants.

I am more of conservative person so i wouldnt dare to roll hard .. i know inflation will sure affect the % FD so best option is long term stocks.
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 14 2025, 10:45 PM

393 posts

sorry for the confusion .. mine is the company given stocks amd they will sell when it reaches a dateline set by them.

TSKronenZerg
post Oct 15 2025, 03:10 PM

393 posts

Thank you for everyone's feedback .. the information sharing is very good to me ..

BTW, i am not swayed from this ad or this guy but if he dares to go live podcast with local FM, i am sure he would have reputable background.

I believed splitting to bank stocks and FDI would be safe bet ..
Of cos, i am trying to learn how to trade .. using Moo Moo ..
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 15 2025, 09:35 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 15 2025, 03:52 PM)
This is dangerous. Don't learn to trade before you learn how to invest.

Trade is a gambling. Not invest.

Invest and hold long is the most profitable and safest.
i do argee that property is not right choice .. so considering bank stocks for good dividend return.
not familiar with REIT or which one to invest .. any good ones .. thanks

thank you for your advice ..i m not put the everything, just a small amount to try out.
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 16 2025, 01:45 PM

393 posts

ETF .. does it give good dividends?
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 17 2025, 11:43 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 17 2025, 09:38 AM)
1. what are your goals? financially and lifestyle
2. what is your risk appetite?
3. how much stress are you willing to handle?
4. have you read the "FIRE" thread?

the way I see it, you have a lump sum coming in
here is my suggestion, open a multi-currency account with a local bank
I recommend RHB or CIMB
receive the money in USD into the multi-currency account
keep the money using Time Deposit, that's the FD for us

meanwhile, figure things out before you put your money down

current rates: >3.7%

https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...osit/index.html
https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/help-su...it-account.html
1- Debt-free (Now still paying a house loan) and simple lifestyle, which i am not into branded stuff. Priority would be the kids future.
2- Low as i do not time to monitor.
3- Low stress so i dont want to think "shit .. why lose so much suddenly" ..
4- What or where can i read "FIRE" ..

Yes, i heard of it .. think it is called FCFD .. rate is higher than local rates except loss would be currency changes.

With regards to the Dato .. thanks .. i am just sharing and asking if it is doable or not.
I am not property expert so just asking opinions so the value would not depreciate due to inflation.

Yes, considering putting in EPF but downside is cannot take out until 55 .. then wont be able to use it ..
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 18 2025, 10:07 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 17 2025, 10:48 PM)
2. 3 then go for ETF. 4 Some one already point you to the direction. You just need to read though one by one.
Yes it's doable. You are talking to the guy for manage to have 5-6 months pay in fully passive income every year and will increase to 1y eventually. Once I hit 2y of fully passive pay, I am walking away from working.

I will you don't waste time and money with foreign FD. Why? Banks force you to convert at banks rate which means out of the gate you lose 3% already. Then forex is volatile. When you want to get your money out, you need to convert back to RM, another 3% loss.

Of course my semi passive income already exceed my 2y pay. But to get to where I am you need to do homework and don't do things conventionally. I am using my semi passive income to build up my fully passive income.
Then you get diluted lo. Simple as that. Means you received lower payment if you do not continue putting in money.

Why? Very simple. They pay you 90% of what they earn. Where to find money to buy new property and where to find money to pay off the debts that are due? So they turn to you as ATM machine.

That's is one of the reason I never hold any reits anymore. There are other reasons also.
is there any guide to buy ETF? This is something new to me and i am surprised the return is so much?
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 21 2025, 04:45 PM

393 posts

Crypto is very volatile and of cos cannot be greedy. I see Bitcoin, XRP, Solano .. like a see-saw ..

Ramjade shared a good information but i am likely to put in FCFD for timebeing, with interest of 3.99% as well as buying local bank shares, which gives a good % dividend.
TSKronenZerg
post Oct 22 2025, 10:14 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Oct 22 2025, 10:00 AM)
Property investment in Malaysia is somewhat profitable if you know what you’re getting into. It is also helped by the leverage you get of using the bank’s money. Contrary to popular belief, being a landlord requires work. No such thing as just every month get rental. If you can handle that, then by all means, go for it.

For investing in publicly traded stocks, leverage is not as safe as real estate due to the volatility and cost. However, if you can truly understand the business and have strong conviction, it can easily 10x or even 100x your investment. It is also very liquid. For those who aren’t able to understand businesses, going for ETFs that reflect an index or sector is the next best thing.

For FDs, it’s the least risky product but not recommended if you’re looking for growth. It can’t beat inflation.

In conclusion, there’s no one size fits all. Understand your needs, your abilities and risk appetite. Remember the rule, there’s no free lunch in the world. High returns always comes with high risk. When you hear the news so and so makes it so easy, remember that there are 99 more that failed. They didn’t tell you only.
Thanks .. Ramjade also advice to buy ETF as this would give a good returns. Understand investing in property would be good if one know what to look for except that i cannot understand the ROI, rental of rm1500 .. take how long to get back if the property is 600k ..

Ramjade .. what do you mean “ factor in the 3% loss upon putting the FD and another 3% loss when you withdraw the FD” .. sorry, newbie in getting this amount of money ..hahaha

0.0133sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:38 PM