Budi95, I'm dumb, help me understand

TSc2lia
post Sep 30 2025, 10:24 PM, updated 2 months ago

63 posts

Just now I went to pump fuel for my kapcai at petronas. Idk if there's any difference with west MY but most here have the window counter to pay. As usual, I go to that counter, handed RM4.00 (I usually pump this amount, almost empty tank just now) and my mykad, and the cashier do his thing. Success, and he handed me the receipt and my mykad back to me. Finally I go back to my bike to pump the fuel.

I didn't look at the screen when pumping. Here's the unusual thing. When I finally look at the screen, it already shows RM4.50. I look at my tank, almost spill. So I quickly stop pumping and the screen shows RM4.61. Now, isn't the normal thing that should happen is it should auto-stop when reached RM4.00? I'm very confused I want to go back to the cashier to inquire but there's a queue there so I just left.

I look at the receipt, I'm even more confused as there's RM5.23 written there. Either the pump is broken (it won't auto-stop at RM4.00) or it's not broken (maybe it'll auto-stop at RM5.23?). I mean got people buy fuel at weird price meh? Say RM63.47 (other than filling full tank).

I've included my receipt. In case you think what's the big deal. Well I don't want it to happen again next time and the fuel over-spill onto my bike.

EDIT (added the E-Invoice and Subsidy Details from the QR code below receipt)

This post has been edited by c2lia: Sep 30 2025, 10:35 PM
incognitroll
post Sep 30 2025, 10:53 PM

148 posts

The pump can only display one price, and they chose to show the price before the subsidy. In other words, if you buy RM4 worth of petrol, the pump will stop when it reaches RM5.23 on the display. Your receipt already shows that you paid RM4, which is correct.
TSc2lia
post Sep 30 2025, 11:02 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Sep 30 2025, 10:53 PM)
The pump can only display one price, and they chose to show the price before the subsidy. In other words, if you buy RM4 worth of petrol, the pump will stop when it reaches RM5.23 on the display. Your receipt already shows that you paid RM4, which is correct.
doh.gif Aiyoo, that means I rugi either 62 cents worth of fuel (RM5.23-RM4.61) or 45 cents (RM4.00-RM3.55). This whole thing while good can be confusing. Next time I'll just remember to look at the unsubsidized price at the receipt and make sure to let the pump auto-stop until that amount.

Thanks again for answering notworthy.gif

0.0150sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:30 PM