Mazda MX-5, Surveying the market

TSthrowawayacclmao
post Sep 16 2025, 12:38 PM, updated 3 months ago

39 posts

Hi sifus

Currently looking at used MX-5 auto (yeah..i know lol), with budget around 150K.
I see a lot of the ones being sold on Carlist etc is recond from Japan.
Mind sharing your experience with buying used? E.g. trusted dealers, signs to look out for (avoid flooded car etc).. Thanks!
eyerule
post Sep 16 2025, 12:40 PM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,036 posts

150k is probably recon and unregistered. depending on the year though
bismaximus
post Sep 16 2025, 01:03 PM

120 posts

Ayam just booked mine last week. https://www.mudah.my/bqr-cars

Bryan very knowledgeable on MX-5, he has one too.

I think for 150k you should be able to get a low mileage 2021/2022 recon unit.

This post has been edited by bismaximus: Sep 16 2025, 01:04 PM
TSthrowawayacclmao
post Sep 16 2025, 01:14 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(bismaximus @ Sep 16 2025, 01:03 PM)
Ayam just booked mine last week. https://www.mudah.my/bqr-cars

Bryan very knowledgeable on MX-5, he has one too.

I think for 150k you should be able to get a low mileage 2021/2022 recon unit.
Nice! Which model did you get and how much was it if you dont mind sharing?
I see most of his ads is for Manual version, thanks for the link though!
bismaximus
post Sep 16 2025, 01:35 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Sep 16 2025, 01:14 PM)
Nice! Which model did you get and how much was it if you dont mind sharing?
I see most of his ads is for Manual version, thanks for the link though!
I got a 2022 1.5 Manual. Soft top for RM162k

Its actually this car https://www.mudah.my/2022-mazda-roadster-mx...m-111488462.htm
Still pending loan approval and all, so haven’t actually collected it.

Yeah, most of the remaining cars are manual. You could still hit him up, he might have contacts with other dealers. After surveying a couple of dealers and even agents, I went with him because he has the spec i was interested in, the blue on blue and also he was quite pleasant to deal with.

This post has been edited by bismaximus: Sep 16 2025, 01:36 PM
littlefire
post Sep 17 2025, 09:22 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Sep 16 2025, 01:38 PM)
Hi sifus

Currently looking at used MX-5 auto (yeah..i know lol), with budget around 150K.
I see a lot of the ones being sold on Carlist etc is recond from Japan.
Mind sharing your experience with buying used? E.g. trusted dealers, signs to look out for (avoid flooded car etc).. Thanks!
If used/recon MX-5 look for accident repairs, my mechanic just help one owner which bought a very cheap MX-5 via tender & found out it hit accident before and fixed (If fix own cannot find insurance record). A lot of MX-5 in market if very attractive price becarefull for accident, better get an experience mechanic which can help jack up the car, open bumper and side panel to inspect for any repair works.
TSthrowawayacclmao
post Sep 21 2025, 10:59 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 17 2025, 09:22 AM)
If used/recon MX-5 look for accident repairs, my mechanic just help one owner which bought a very cheap MX-5 via tender & found out it hit accident before and fixed (If fix own cannot find insurance record). A lot of MX-5 in market if very attractive price becarefull for accident, better get an experience mechanic which can help jack up the car, open bumper and side panel to inspect for any repair works.
Oh dang, thanks for the tips. This is what I am scared of when buying used cry.gif as I don't know any good mechanic around..
And here I thought buying those imported from JP would be safe as they would less likely to do these hidden stuffs
RalphRatedR
post Sep 22 2025, 12:36 AM

280 posts

OP can't consider official import units from Bermaz?
ktek
post Sep 22 2025, 10:39 AM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(RalphRatedR @ Sep 22 2025, 12:36 AM)
OP can't consider official import units from Bermaz?
pricy maa.
nebula87
post Sep 22 2025, 10:42 AM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Hnnnggghhhh MX5....I always tell my wife I am going to drive one 1 day..

but I haven't test drive one yet, some reviewers said I can't fit in..

185cm tall.. sadddddd
Pewufod
post Sep 22 2025, 11:05 AM

1,536 posts

if too cheap then chances are its too good to be true

got 1 100AE owner looking to let go but price slightly higher than your budget, can pass you contact if interested
bismaximus
post Sep 22 2025, 12:20 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Sep 22 2025, 10:42 AM)

185cm tall.. sadddddd
Can la, my elder bro is 183 CM and fits no issues.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 22 2025, 01:22 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,757 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Sep 22 2025, 10:42 AM)

185cm tall.. sadddddd
test drive first , see if you can fit and comfortable with the car
nebula87
post Sep 22 2025, 01:23 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 22 2025, 01:22 PM)
test drive first , see if you can fit and comfortable with the car
Yes, one day will go to test drive when my wallet is ready...

my concern are the headroom and also the leg room when switching brake and accelerator.
Autocountstick
post Sep 22 2025, 01:30 PM

661 posts

i watch some dealer buy auction car from direct from jepun
GamersFamilia
post Sep 22 2025, 01:35 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,757 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Sep 22 2025, 01:23 PM)
Yes, one day will go to test drive when my wallet is ready...

my concern are the headroom and also the leg room when switching brake and accelerator.
noted
GamersFamilia
post Sep 22 2025, 01:36 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,757 posts

QUOTE(Autocountstick @ Sep 22 2025, 01:30 PM)
i watch some dealer buy auction car from direct from jepun
yes some of them did bought it from the auction from japan
rcracer
post Sep 22 2025, 09:46 PM

?????
3,772 posts

2022 and 2023 unfortunately got manual gearbox issue , gear 3 and 4 synchronizer kaput can't enter gear

here also got few kena Liao, no solution except change gearbox
bismaximus
post Sep 23 2025, 12:38 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Sep 22 2025, 09:46 PM)
2022 and 2023 unfortunately got manual  gearbox issue , gear 3 and 4 synchronizer kaput can't enter gear

here also got few kena Liao, no solution except change gearbox
Oh damn. How much to replace?
rcracer
post Sep 23 2025, 03:25 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(bismaximus @ Sep 23 2025, 12:38 PM)
Oh damn. How much to replace?
not sure, not so many units but I guess is in the thousands to source a gearbox from Japan, until someone learns how to rebuild it

0.0146sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:42 PM