What grease to use, On door and gate joint?

TSbengang15
post Sep 14 2025, 02:23 PM, updated 3 months ago

419 posts

Hi guys.

Usually what lubricant to use on door and gate joint?

White lithium grease? Or singer oil?

I was told wd40 is not good.

eddievh
post Sep 14 2025, 02:36 PM

3,218 posts

Balance engine oil on your rack
metalfire
post Sep 14 2025, 02:53 PM

1,289 posts

silicon grease? white lithium grease?
TsubakiKira
post Sep 14 2025, 02:56 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 02:23 PM)
Hi guys.

Your answer is right there.
ecrl
post Sep 14 2025, 03:08 PM

36 posts

i use regular johnson baby oil.
MR_alien
post Sep 14 2025, 03:10 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

metal to metal use lithium grease

but actually normal grease is the best for every application if you don't mind it dirty and ugly
TSbengang15
post Sep 14 2025, 03:13 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Sep 14 2025, 02:56 PM)
Your answer is right there.
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 14 2025, 03:10 PM)
metal to metal use lithium grease

but actually normal grease is the best for every application if you don't mind it dirty and ugly
Tq. But it looks like ermmm. Cake icing la. LoL
taitianhin
post Sep 14 2025, 03:21 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

WD40 is the right choice.. for indoor
grease for outdoor gate if it expose to rain, becoz it would get wash off..

Just applying my common sense
COOLPINK
post Sep 14 2025, 03:30 PM

3,655 posts

Used engine oil.
Keep in a squeeze bottle.
Its free and effective.
TsubakiKira
post Sep 14 2025, 03:48 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 03:13 PM)
Tq. But it looks like ermmm. Cake icing la. LoL
I know but can't help it, use our fingers to really rub it in, haha. If it works it works.

MR_alien
post Sep 14 2025, 04:28 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 14 2025, 03:21 PM)

WD40 no matter indoor or outdoor, it will dry out by itself, it's NOT a lubricant

if you want a lubricant that can stand rain, it's real original grease
TSbengang15
post Sep 14 2025, 04:28 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 14 2025, 03:21 PM)

I really don't think wd40 is the right choice. It's good for cleaning but in the long run it will cause rusting. So I was told
TSbengang15
post Sep 14 2025, 04:29 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 14 2025, 03:30 PM)
Used engine oil.
Keep in a squeeze bottle.
Its free and effective.
Yes. But how u apply it at the hard to reach corner and edges.
TSbengang15
post Sep 14 2025, 05:07 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 14 2025, 04:28 PM)
WD40 no matter indoor or outdoor, it will dry out by itself, it's NOT a lubricant

yes. but they dont dont come in spray application. cant reach tight corner
TSbengang15
post Sep 14 2025, 05:08 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Sep 14 2025, 03:48 PM)
I know but can't help it, use our fingers to really rub it in, haha. If it works it works.
just spread some at the gate joint.

my door pulak just realize its the enclosed type...so cant spray anything.. spray some at the lock instead...
Alex9892
post Sep 14 2025, 05:13 PM

436 posts

Anything with metal i use WD40, work like a charm 👍
MR_alien
post Sep 14 2025, 05:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 05:07 PM)
for me, i use a brush
if u want to reach really tight spot, u got no choice other than lithium grease
KenM
post Sep 14 2025, 05:29 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 01:23 PM)
Hi guys.

wd40 for cleaning.. for long term, use silicone... lasts longer and minimal maintenance
COOLPINK
post Sep 14 2025, 05:32 PM

3,655 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 04:29 PM)
Yes. But how u apply it at the hard to reach corner and edges.
U just drip it into the opening of those hinges and edges.
The oil will flow by itself to those hard to reach places.

Grease do not flow, oil does thats why i use it.
Although it does not last as long as grease it less troublesome to apply it effectively.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Sep 14 2025, 05:42 PM
brkli
post Sep 14 2025, 05:42 PM

592 posts

Hi guys.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 14 2025, 04:28 PM)

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 04:28 PM)
I really don't think wd40 is the right choice. It's good for cleaning but in the long run it will cause rusting. So I was told
QUOTE(KenM @ Sep 14 2025, 05:29 PM)
wd40 for cleaning.. for long term, use silicone... lasts longer and minimal maintenance
WD40 is a brand. they have lot of range do different use case. what you are looking for this case is WD-40 Specialist Product High Performance Silicone Lubricant

This post has been edited by brkli: Sep 14 2025, 07:16 PM
MR_alien
post Sep 14 2025, 05:45 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 14 2025, 05:42 PM)
WD40 is a brand. they have lot of range do different use case. what you are looking for this case is WD-40 Specialist Product High Performance Silicone Lubricant

silicone is for rubber lubrication
lithium grease is for metal to metal

example of where to spray silicon is that rubber weather stripe outside of your car's window
brkli
post Sep 14 2025, 07:14 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 14 2025, 05:45 PM)
silicone is for rubber lubrication
lithium grease is for metal to metal

example of where to spray silicon is that rubber weather stripe outside of your car's window
silicone not just for rubber, it works on all material as it is stable compound, just the adhesion to metal is not as great as white lihium grease, but for slow moving stuff, should not be much issue. for things like door or gate hinge, pulley or trolley wheel, silicone lubrication i find it better. I usually use white lithium grease for those bicycle and motorcyle gear and other fast moving metal gear stuff. but ya, if you want, sure white lithium grease, sure.

i use this for my bike chain. find it easier to spray.

This post has been edited by brkli: Sep 14 2025, 07:15 PM
MR_alien
post Sep 14 2025, 07:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 14 2025, 07:14 PM)
silicone not just for rubber, it works on all material as it is stable compound, just the adhesion to metal is not as great as white lihium grease, but for slow moving stuff, should not be much issue. for things like door or gate hinge, pulley or trolley wheel, silicone lubrication i find it better. I usually use white lithium grease for those bicycle and motorcyle gear and other fast moving metal gear stuff. but ya, if you want, sure white lithium grease, sure.

i use this for my bike chain. find it easier to spray.

white lithium grease, i don't even buy WD40, i just buy the one mr.diy sells
it's literally the same thing at a fraction of a price

for door and gate hinges i lose hope on everything i tried(although it works) and use back actual grease, they last way way longer
it's dirty and ugly but it works
brkli
post Sep 14 2025, 07:53 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 14 2025, 07:32 PM)
white lithium grease, i don't even buy WD40, i just buy the one mr.diy sells
it's literally the same thing at a fraction of a price

for door and gate hinges i lose hope on everything i tried(although it works) and use back actual grease, they last way way longer
it's dirty and ugly but it works
ya. white lithium grease is pretty cheap, u can find it anywhere. but not use it as much as silicone lubricant as I find it better general use and the smell is less awful. so i just grab one when i bought the silicone lubricant spray.
BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 14 2025, 08:10 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

Hi guys.

X'traseal white lithium grease is good enough
xperiaVuser
post Sep 14 2025, 09:05 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 14 2025, 05:42 PM)

This one outdoor metal to metal can last awhile only. The lithium grease lasts way longer.
netmatrix
post Sep 14 2025, 10:10 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

Just drip engine oil with a tooth pick, used chopsticks or used bamboo fruit spears. No need buy expensive spray lube. I used same method for padlocks, hinges, car key hole, PC chassis fan and even my table fan. I just need good quality oil to be in those area. Spray are convenient. But the oil inside just isn't as good as engine oil. I also have a drip bottle filled with engine oil ready to use anytime something needs to be lubed.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Sep 14 2025, 10:11 PM
kevinc
post Sep 14 2025, 10:38 PM

435 posts

can try wurth hhs 2000 plus spray
andyng38
post Sep 14 2025, 10:58 PM

2,398 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 14 2025, 05:07 PM)
i use toyo grease in a spraycan , u can google it. I only bought it because i couldn't find spraycans of white lithium grease any more. that toyo works almost as well.
cempedaklife
post Sep 15 2025, 01:42 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

I use singer oil
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 16 2025, 02:22 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

WD 40 or Singer oil bestest. Why TS say no good. My ceiling fan the bearing making noise, I spray WD 40 non stop inside now noiseless like brand new
TSbengang15
post Sep 16 2025, 03:17 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 16 2025, 02:22 PM)
WD 40 or Singer oil bestest. Why TS say no good. My ceiling fan the bearing making noise, I spray WD 40 non stop inside now noiseless like brand new
Singer yes. But as mentioned by some wd40 is a brand obly. Need to chose the right one.

SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 16 2025, 05:17 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 16 2025, 03:17 PM)
Singer yes. But as mentioned by some wd40 is a brand obly. Need to chose the right one.
WD40 is good laa. Who told you no good. Why need so trouble to use grease ? Spray with WD40 good enough
GamersFamilia
post Sep 16 2025, 06:03 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,739 posts

Im using wd40
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 16 2025, 07:26 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 16 2025, 06:03 PM)
Im using wd40
Yes, even workshops are using WD40. Strange TS say no good really weird
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 16 2025, 07:26 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 16 2025, 06:03 PM)
Im using wd40
GamersFamilia
post Sep 16 2025, 07:34 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,739 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 16 2025, 07:26 PM)
Exactly 🙂👍
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 16 2025, 07:37 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 16 2025, 07:34 PM)
Exactly 🙂👍
There's different types of WD40 though, those selling in Mr DIY shops are copycat of the real WD40. But I think quality should be the same.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 16 2025, 07:57 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,739 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 16 2025, 07:37 PM)
There's different types of WD40 though, those selling in Mr DIY shops are copycat of the real WD40. But I think quality should be the same.
Sometimes any brands also good as long as can lubricate certain stuff
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 16 2025, 07:59 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 16 2025, 07:57 PM)
Sometimes any brands also good as long as can lubricate certain stuff
WD40 is the most common & convenient way to grease something. I was wondering why TS say no good very strange
TSbengang15
post Sep 16 2025, 08:31 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 16 2025, 07:26 PM)
What ever float your boat. I am sure it works fine for you.

This is what I found online which made me thibk twice of using wd40. Also that's what my technician told me.

SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 17 2025, 06:18 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 16 2025, 08:31 PM)
What ever float your boat. I am sure it works fine for you.

This is what I found online which made me thibk twice of using wd40. Also that's what my technician told me. 

If like this then use Singer oil good enough for your door & gate. Better don't use WD40.
CoffeeDude
post Sep 17 2025, 10:56 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 16 2025, 03:17 PM)
WD-40 stands for Water Displacement, 40th formula. That's the name straight out of the lab book used by the chemist who developed the product.

https://wd40company.com/our-company/our-history

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Sep 17 2025, 10:58 AM
kevinc
post Sep 17 2025, 01:55 PM

435 posts

wd40 specialist high performance white lithium grease
specs sheet

0.0254sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:52 PM