Mandatory seatbelt use for passengers of private, vehicles soon - JPJ

TSsmallbug
post Sep 12 2025, 07:05 AM, updated 3 months ago

874 posts

https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/man...afd1dab9b&ei=60

PUTRAJAYA - The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will soon enforce the mandatory use of seatbelts for all drivers and passengers in private vehicles nationwide, said its director-general, Datuk Aedy Fadly Ramli.

Without disclosing the exact date for the start of enforcement, he said JPJ's current priority is to carry out advocacy programmes on seatbelt usage, including through the 'Klik Sebelum Gerak' campaign.

He said the campaign launched today aims to enhance road safety culture and highlight the necessity of seatbelt use for all vehicle occupants, both drivers and passengers.

"In line with this campaign, we will later announce the enforcement of seatbelt use for passengers of private cars.

"We will announce it in due course. For now, we are beginning with the 'Klik Sebelum Gerak' campaign first, and later we will confirm the date for (the seatbelt) enforcement for car passengers," he said at a press conference here today.

Individuals who fail to wear seatbelts may face fines of up to RM300 under the Motor Vehicles (Seatbelt and Child Restraint System) Rules 1978 (Amendment 2019).

He said the campaign demonstrates JPJ's commitment to ensuring that every journey starts with the most fundamental safety measure, wearing a seatbelt.

According to a study conducted by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), wearing a seatbelt can reduce the risk of passenger fatalities by as much as 50 per cent in the event of an accident."In this regard, using seatbelts helps keep drivers and passengers securely seated during a crash, unlike those without seatbelts who are at a significantly higher risk of injury," he said.

"JPJ will continue to implement advocacy programmes, share information through various channels, and perform regular inspections to ensure optimal compliance.

"JPJ is highly committed to making seatbelt use a national safety norm and culture to protect the lives of all road users," he added.

Meanwhile, Aedy Fadly said enforcement of seatbelt use has already been implemented for express and tour bus drivers and passengers, effective July 1, 2025.

"We have already begun enforcement (for seatbelts), and we are issuing summonses to passengers who fail to wear them," he said.

The enforcement applies to buses manufactured after January 2020, while buses built earlier are given time to install seatbelts. - BERNAMA
DarkAeon
post Sep 12 2025, 07:07 AM

774 posts

aii.....

look into enforcement of current laws first la before introducing new ones. how about u do something about the rempit treating red light like decor first. i see it every freaking day

This post has been edited by DarkAeon: Sep 12 2025, 07:07 AM
smallcrab
post Sep 12 2025, 07:08 AM

140 posts

Jokers
Raddus
post Sep 12 2025, 07:10 AM

239 posts

Ok
Rusty Nail
post Sep 12 2025, 07:16 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

Habislah those that carry football teams in their alza
DarkNite
post Sep 12 2025, 07:24 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Sep 12 2025, 07:07 AM)
aii.....

look into enforcement of current laws first la before introducing new ones. how about u do something about the rempit treating red light like decor first. i see it every freaking day
Need to clone 20,000 Anthony to replace all that has been sack from JPJ? whistling.gif
SUSasx26365
post Sep 12 2025, 07:25 AM

27 posts

Zalim
killdavid
post Sep 12 2025, 07:29 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,636 posts

aii.....

Its true, i notice an increase of disregarding traffic lights by motor riders. Its a joke to them having to wait for their turn
DarkAeon
post Sep 12 2025, 07:32 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Sep 12 2025, 07:29 AM)
Its true, i notice an increase of disregarding traffic lights by motor riders. Its a joke to them having to wait for their turn
yest, i wait at the red light. each rempit zoom past me like it's normal
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Sep 12 2025, 07:34 AM

3,703 posts

Its basically a "kill 2 birds with 1 stone" policy.

Now the police can either saman you due to not buckling up, or see if you are over the limit of passengers....
samftrmd
post Sep 12 2025, 07:36 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

I though it was law to wear seat belt like, forever.
fongsk
post Sep 12 2025, 07:37 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 12 2025, 07:24 AM)
Need to clone 20,000 Anthony to replace all that has been sack from JPJ? whistling.gif
The JPJ can rename to JTNP - Jabatan Tender Nombor Plet.
Their client charter is now everyone can tender!
Their KPI is 5 tenders/employee/week!
😎
kurangak
post Sep 12 2025, 07:38 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

Hah? So before not mandatory? So last time i kena saman coz my sister not wearing seatbelt for what?
touristking
post Sep 12 2025, 07:39 AM

5,830 posts

I remember they once say old car of certain vintage are exempted.

party
post Sep 12 2025, 07:40 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Sep 12 2025, 07:16 AM)
Habislah those that carry football teams in their alza
Jpj x compassion
Bangsa sendiri x tlg bangsa sendiri
Mana lebih penting? Law ke compassion?
Anak aku baik orangnya
fongsk
post Sep 12 2025, 07:41 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Sep 12 2025, 07:36 AM)
I though it was law to wear seat belt like, forever.
Yes, for passengers as well. Maybe this new applies to those MPV like Alza, aruz type. Anyway, they have not even fully enforce the old ruling and now wants to come up with new ruling…. Like a lot of people once said ‘more rules means more chance to songlap’. Maybe this holds true.
Mattrock
post Sep 12 2025, 07:41 AM

394 posts

But let's continue allowing pillion riding on motorcycles who stay alive by hanging on with the edge of their butts.
kuntilanak
post Sep 12 2025, 07:44 AM

976 posts

isn't it the 1st thing we were taught during driving lessons???

ini pun kena enforce???

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
kuntilanak
post Sep 12 2025, 07:44 AM

976 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Sep 12 2025, 07:41 AM)
But let's continue allowing pillion riding on motorcycles who stay alive by hanging on with the edge of their butts.
jgn tanya soalan susah...

owa-- laugh.gif
DarkNite
post Sep 12 2025, 07:49 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Sep 12 2025, 07:38 AM)
Hah? So before not mandatory? So last time i kena saman coz my sister not wearing seatbelt for what?
Ya. I also thot mandatory last time.

January 1, 2009: The regulation for mandatory rear seat belt use was enforced.
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 12 2025, 07:50 AM

3,833 posts

I won't be surprised if tmr they say moto mandatory to wear helmet.

This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Sep 12 2025, 07:51 AM
Mattrock
post Sep 12 2025, 08:02 AM

394 posts

Anyone know if they even enforcing the baby/child seat law which started in 2020?
MR_alien
post Sep 12 2025, 08:06 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Sep 12 2025, 07:34 AM)
Its basically a "kill 2 birds with 1 stone" policy.

Now the police can either saman you due to not buckling up, or see if you are over the limit of passengers....
this isn't enforcement, this is common sense problem

guess what happened to those that didn't buckle up?....they already died laugh.gif
you don't need the gov to tell you to buckle up, you died not doing it laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Sep 12 2025, 08:07 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Sep 12 2025, 08:02 AM)
Anyone know if they even enforcing the baby/child seat law which started in 2020?
same as motobodo lah....karma will take it's course
since 2020, guess what happen to those that didn't do so?...the baby flew out the window/windscreen during accident

even went to the news laugh.gif
moiskyrie
post Sep 12 2025, 08:15 AM

3,217 posts

aii.....

Also those that zip zat like snake....
Or speeding when do lane splitting....
This few day saw the increase of moto bodo keep doing those action...
Like they are the king of the road ...
And still dare stare back.....
Also no wear helmet .......
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 08:18 AM

7,938 posts

New car will make noise just like driver seat if not fastening seat belt. Annoying.
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 08:19 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Sep 12 2025, 08:15 AM)
Also those that zip zat like snake....
Or speeding when do lane splitting....
This few day saw the increase of moto bodo keep doing those action...
Like they are the king of the road  ...
And still dare stare back.....
Also no wear helmet .......
Because no action taken, the number grows fast. sad.gif
moiskyrie
post Sep 12 2025, 08:21 AM

3,217 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2025, 08:19 AM)
Because no action taken, the number grows fast.  sad.gif
Some time go out from lorong I also not dare fast fast go out...
The main road car giv way but I don't when will have a cb motobodo keep speeding and ram into me when I go out from lorong...
loserguy
post Sep 12 2025, 08:23 AM

500 posts

another projek hangat tahi ayam like stickers on motorcycle helmets.

just another opportunity to issue saman.

while heavy vehicles remain untouchable.
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 08:24 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Sep 12 2025, 08:21 AM)
Some time go out from lorong I also not dare fast fast go out...
The main road car giv way but I don't when will have a cb motobodo keep speeding and ram into me when I go out from lorong...
Yes, change lane has to be done inch by inch because suddenly there is motobodo out of nowhere and stare at you. They never think that they are still alive for so long because other vehicle took care of them. smile.gif
dogbert_chew
post Sep 12 2025, 08:28 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Sep 12 2025, 07:41 AM)
Just saw 2 parents and 2 kids on a kapchai this morning
SUSRorschach85
post Sep 12 2025, 08:30 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 12 2025, 08:50 AM)
For those who used to work in industrial plants nothing new, full PPE masuk van, buckle up lagi. lol
Jedi3815
post Sep 12 2025, 08:31 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Sep 12 2025, 07:05 AM)
https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/man...afd1dab9b&ei=60

PUTRAJAYA - The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will soon enforce the mandatory use of seatbelts for all drivers and passengers in private vehicles nationwide, said its director-general, Datuk Aedy Fadly Ramli.

Without disclosing the exact date for the start of enforcement, he said JPJ's current priority is to carry out advocacy programmes on seatbelt usage, including through the 'Klik Sebelum Gerak' campaign.

He said the campaign launched today aims to enhance road safety culture and highlight the necessity of seatbelt use for all vehicle occupants, both drivers and passengers.

"In line with this campaign, we will later announce the enforcement of seatbelt use for passengers of private cars.

"We will announce it in due course. For now, we are beginning with the 'Klik Sebelum Gerak' campaign first, and later we will confirm the date for (the seatbelt) enforcement for car passengers," he said at a press conference here today.

Individuals who fail to wear seatbelts may face fines of up to RM300 under the Motor Vehicles (Seatbelt and Child Restraint System) Rules 1978 (Amendment 2019).

He said the campaign demonstrates JPJ's commitment to ensuring that every journey starts with the most fundamental safety measure, wearing a seatbelt.

According to a study conducted by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), wearing a seatbelt can reduce the risk of passenger fatalities by as much as 50 per cent in the event of an accident."In this regard, using seatbelts helps keep drivers and passengers securely seated during a crash, unlike those without seatbelts who are at a significantly higher risk of injury," he said.

"JPJ will continue to implement advocacy programmes, share information through various channels, and perform regular inspections to ensure optimal compliance.

"JPJ is highly committed to making seatbelt use a national safety norm and culture to protect the lives of all road users," he added.

Meanwhile, Aedy Fadly said enforcement of seatbelt use has already been implemented for express and tour bus drivers and passengers, effective July 1, 2025.

"We have already begun enforcement (for seatbelts), and we are issuing summonses to passengers who fail to wear them," he said.

The enforcement applies to buses manufactured after January 2020, while buses built earlier are given time to install seatbelts. - BERNAMA
As i mentioned multiple times across all socmed that im in, my opinion still remains the same (on this issue).

1. Seatbelts are a safety feature for the people IN the car. You would be STUPID to not wear it. Seatbelts, child seat is a MUST in my household. I am pro seatbelt (not sure how many times i have to reiterate this)
2. However, wearing seatbelt does not make you DRIVE better. So enforcing people to NOT wear seatbelt is so fucking stupid. Yes, the people in the car is already stupid for not wearing the seatbelt for their own safety, but not that when they do wear seatbelt they automatically be better drivers.
3. Another example i gave (since the law is to protect people who are inside of their car and not actually making them a better driver) is let's enforce people to stop eating HIGH CHOLESTEROL food, because that would cause them harm too. See how stupid that logic is?
4. They should instead inforce the red-green light violation, speed violations, left-right lane usage violations, heavy vehicles on the road violations etc. THOSE are more safety-based than the seatbelt rule.
5. Also, yes, same goes with helmet. You are STUPID for not wearing them, it is your last layer of protection. BUT wearing/not wearing helmets doesnt make you a better rider. You can wear 100 protective equipment, that will not make you not drive/ride like a maniac.

End of my Ted Talk.

inb4 : sohai one la this idiot.

This post has been edited by Jedi3815: Sep 12 2025, 08:32 AM
treblecase
post Sep 12 2025, 08:48 AM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2025, 08:18 AM)
New car will make noise just like driver seat if not fastening seat belt. Annoying.
This thing exist so what’s the problem?

Owai…..
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Sep 12 2025, 08:49 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Sep 12 2025, 08:02 AM)
They didn't. Because "you know who" protested.
ahchun
post Sep 12 2025, 08:50 AM

MiddleAge
1,147 posts

aii.....

law is old. introduce few years back

ben_ang
post Sep 12 2025, 08:52 AM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

i thought seat belt for rear passenger already enforced for many years? just no body bother only.
mick84
post Sep 12 2025, 08:53 AM

96 posts

I thought we have this law long time ago.. not something new right?
accordvtec
post Sep 12 2025, 08:56 AM

107 posts

aii.....

this is what they are doing laa
MegaCanonF
post Sep 12 2025, 09:03 AM

861 posts

meanwhile RxZ members doing superman = krik krik
geelim77
post Sep 12 2025, 09:06 AM

181 posts

apolanjiao.......remembered last time years ago oredi implemented need to pakai backseat seatbelt laaa......CB makan gaji buta all tis while no enforcement only.

all these........
child car seat
3rd brake light
stop after white line
tinted window
bla.....blah....bla....

farking everytime implement but no enforcement ada apolanjiao guna?

acbc
post Sep 12 2025, 09:06 AM

9,046 posts

Talk only.

Zero action.
WongTheThief
post Sep 12 2025, 09:09 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Sep 12 2025, 09:48 AM)

Owai…..
these dummy seatbelt clips will only start to ban on year end... yes, THIS year end.

bruh, they could have ban it like immediately
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 09:15 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Sep 12 2025, 08:48 AM)

Owai…..
Yes many people like to gamble their life on RM5 devices. Does putting seat belt restrict your movement. In car you just sit all the time unlike train or bus occasionally you can stand up to stretch yourself smile.gif
fongsk
post Sep 12 2025, 09:17 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(geelim77 @ Sep 12 2025, 09:06 AM)
apolanjiao.......remembered last time years ago oredi implemented need to pakai backseat seatbelt laaa......CB makan gaji buta all tis while no enforcement only.

all these........
child car seat
3rd brake light
stop after white line
tinted window
bla.....blah....bla....

Abuden? Source of alternate income, according to a lot of people.
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 09:18 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Sep 12 2025, 09:09 AM)
these dummy seatbelt clips will only start to ban on year end... yes, THIS year end.

bruh, they could have ban it like immediately
How to ban? Fine any shop that sells it? It is easier to fine those using it just like noisy exhaust on car or motor smile.gif
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 09:20 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(fongsk @ Sep 12 2025, 09:17 AM)
Abuden?  Source of alternate income, according to a lot of people.
Alternate income or not if they really enforce the rule, I bet less and less people will break those rules. biggrin.gif
geelim77
post Sep 12 2025, 09:21 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(fongsk @ Sep 12 2025, 09:17 AM)
Abuden?  Source of alternate income, according to a lot of people.
that's why some no respect our so called penguatkuasa........CB no lesen, no insurance, no road tax also can still drive on the road...... LOL
thunderkingkong
post Sep 12 2025, 09:21 AM

So i am in another Malaysia in multiverse all this time, i tiap tiap hari pakai seatbelt and didnt realized actually not mandatory
fongsk
post Sep 12 2025, 09:22 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2025, 09:20 AM)
Alternate income or not if they really enforce the rule, I bet less and less people will break those rules.  biggrin.gif
Usually these are enforced during the festive periods or operasi… and sometimes by police on isolated areas. Other than that, no enforcement edi.
katijar
post Sep 12 2025, 09:27 AM

2,294 posts

What ppl dont like to wear seat belt?
mushigen
post Sep 12 2025, 09:41 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 12 2025, 07:50 AM)
Kek....
mushigen
post Sep 12 2025, 09:42 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2025, 09:20 AM)
Alternate income or not if they really enforce the rule, I bet less and less people will break those rules.  biggrin.gif
I think the pushback will be f&f...kerajaan zalim lah, DAP dah kuasai kerajaan lah, ...
Mattrock
post Sep 12 2025, 10:30 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(geelim77 @ Sep 12 2025, 09:06 AM)

all these........
child car seat
3rd brake light
stop after white line
tinted window
bla.....blah....bla....

The idea is to lull oneself into believing they are in a developed nation, when in reality just pass the 3rd world mentality threshold.
jmtstan
post Sep 12 2025, 10:47 AM

77 posts

last time got enforced once, for backseat seatbelt compulsory. but then later macam no checking liao
allomicro
post Sep 12 2025, 10:51 AM

88 posts

Bukan last time already got implement ke? And they said the passanger who dont wear the seatbelt will be the one that kena the saman, not the passenger. I remember because i got people who dont like to wear seatbelt. So I will always threaten them saying you dont wear then you kena saman 300.

So why implement an existing law again? To waste money on an advertising campaign?
mushigen
post Sep 12 2025, 10:57 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2025, 09:15 AM)
Yes many people like to gamble their life on RM5 devices. Does putting seat belt restrict your movement. In car you just sit all the time unlike train or bus occasionally you can stand up to stretch yourself  smile.gif
This is also something that I don't understand. The same applies to seatbelt in aeroplanes. The moment the off sign comes on, sure got people unbuckle their belts, nvm that they're in cattle class where there's zero stretching space.
Zot
post Sep 12 2025, 11:50 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 12 2025, 09:42 AM)
I think the pushback will be f&f...kerajaan zalim lah, DAP dah kuasai kerajaan lah, ...
As usual, if not enforced complain but enforced also complain biggrin.gif

Kelefeh
post Sep 12 2025, 11:54 AM

110 posts

meanwhile rempit exempted because no seatbelt for motor
Eventhough the motor carrying 3 person and 1 child

lol
Thebestscammer
post Sep 12 2025, 11:56 AM

310 posts

so what is the punishement? the driver will kena saman and demerit on license or just the passenger that didnt wear will kena saman ?
if just passenger then i just let it since passenger only will kena
but if driver also will kena then next time go friends or colleague car that i dont like i wont wear lol
mushigen
post Sep 12 2025, 12:53 PM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2025, 11:50 AM)
As usual, if not enforced complain but enforced also complain  biggrin.gif
A perfect example is the no-rd tax Alphard kena sita case. Some commentors in FB are actually siding with the woman.
emburrar
post Sep 12 2025, 12:56 PM

14 posts

Wait for discount later
Lel
dickybird
post Sep 12 2025, 12:56 PM

2,093 posts

Too busy catching Alphard road tax mati after escort them home first.
josh5671
post Sep 12 2025, 01:06 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 12 2025, 12:53 PM)
A perfect example is the no-rd tax Alphard kena sita case. Some commentors in FB are actually siding with the woman.
dont worry, some /k side with woman too.. also they even in this exist tered lol

dawnreaver
post Sep 12 2025, 01:07 PM

660 posts

Make it a crime to be on the road without valid road tax and insurance first.

Especially for motorcycles.
Human Nature
post Sep 12 2025, 01:25 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Sep 12 2025, 07:32 AM)
yest, i wait at the red light. each rempit zoom past me like it's normal
nowadays too common. not only mat rempit, young to old, office worker, etc doing it already
Dongibab
post Sep 12 2025, 07:59 PM

51 posts

aii.....

It's not new law. It was there already. So yea they are enforcing the current law.
Dongibab
post Sep 12 2025, 08:01 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Sep 12 2025, 07:44 AM)
isn't it the 1st thing we were taught during driving lessons???

ini pun kena enforce???

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
You drive at back seat during your driving lesson ha?
Dongibab
post Sep 12 2025, 08:02 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Sep 12 2025, 10:51 AM)
Bukan last time already got implement ke?  And they said the passanger who dont wear the seatbelt will be the one that kena the saman, not the passenger. I remember because i got people who dont like to wear seatbelt. So I will always threaten them saying you dont wear then you kena saman 300.

So why implement an existing law again? To waste money on an advertising campaign?
Implement and enforce two different meaning. Implemented but no enforcement. No enforcement means like, we have law to prevent false advertising. But you still can see shop menu photo nasi goreng have 10 ekor 20cm prawn, real nasi goreng only 5 pcs 5cm. Then /k will support the false advertisement and calling someone who complain it as stupid.
Police also won't care. That is what it means by no enforcement. But the law is there already and by right police can catch. Otherwise police job is to sit inside balai terima report goyang kaki only?

This post has been edited by Dongibab: Sep 12 2025, 08:06 PM
taufoo
post Sep 12 2025, 08:08 PM

147 posts

I dont see a plan on how they gonna enforce this at all. Road block useless because I just wear la during roadblock.

Raddus
post Sep 12 2025, 08:38 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Sep 12 2025, 08:08 PM)
I dont see a plan on how they gonna enforce this at all. Road block useless because I just wear la during roadblock.
If your car crash and you fly out and survive its good time to summon you

Raddus
post Sep 12 2025, 08:38 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Sep 12 2025, 08:08 PM)
If your car crash and you fly out and survive its good time to summon you

Raddus
post Sep 12 2025, 08:40 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Sep 12 2025, 11:56 AM)
so what is the punishement? the driver will kena saman and demerit on license or just the passenger that didnt wear will kena saman ?
if just passenger then i just let it since passenger only will kena
but if driver also will kena then next time go friends or colleague car that i dont like i wont wear lol
Passenger dont wear seatbelt and involve in accident get flung out should be denied medical treatment
Raddus
post Sep 12 2025, 08:41 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Jedi3815 @ Sep 12 2025, 08:31 AM)
As i mentioned multiple times across all socmed that im in, my opinion still remains the same (on this issue).

1. Seatbelts are a safety feature for the people IN the car. You would be STUPID to not wear it. Seatbelts, child seat is a MUST in my household. I am pro seatbelt (not sure how many times i have to reiterate this)
2. However, wearing seatbelt does not make you DRIVE better. So enforcing people to NOT wear seatbelt is so fucking stupid. Yes, the people in the car is already stupid for not wearing the seatbelt for their own safety, but not that when they do wear seatbelt they automatically be better drivers.
3. Another example i gave (since the law is to protect people who are inside of their car and not actually making them a better driver) is let's enforce people to stop eating HIGH CHOLESTEROL food, because that would cause them harm too. See how stupid that logic is?
4. They should instead inforce the red-green light violation, speed violations, left-right lane usage violations, heavy vehicles on the road violations etc. THOSE are more safety-based than the seatbelt rule.
5. Also, yes, same goes with helmet. You are STUPID for not wearing them, it is your last layer of protection. BUT wearing/not wearing helmets doesnt make you a better rider. You can wear 100 protective equipment, that will not make you not drive/ride like a maniac.

End of my Ted Talk.

inb4 : sohai one la this idiot.
90% of malaysians do not wear seatbelt at the back

0.0241sec    0.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:17 AM