Chat CCP Navigation App

TSriver.sand
post Sep 7 2025, 07:03 PM, updated 4 months ago

3,815 posts

A PRC living in Malaysia says in TikTok that China's AMap (高德地图)is better than Waze and Google Maps. I decided to give it a try.

My first experience with the navigation app was a disappointment. Due to confusion over lane assist (see below), I took a wrong turn. For the next one km, the app thought I was still on the right way.

Why confusion over lane assist? See the image below, the lane assist said go straight, when I was supposed to turn left in 137m

Another shortcoming is that many roads are unnamed, though I expect improvement in the near future.

One thing good about the app is the girl's voice 😁

This post has been edited by river.sand: Sep 8 2025, 07:28 AM
lj0000
post Sep 7 2025, 07:06 PM

2,200 posts

Gaode is god level in china

Here try petal map by huawei

This post has been edited by lj0000: Sep 7 2025, 07:07 PM
rtk73
post Sep 7 2025, 07:15 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 7 2025, 07:06 PM)
Gaode is god level in china
Here try petal map by huawei
Kek petal.

Tried once.
SUSMyProLife
post Sep 7 2025, 07:38 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

CCP own mapping map only good in CCP because of GFW .. will not work elsewhere
taitianhin
post Sep 7 2025, 07:44 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

Ur phone GPS got problem over the next 1 km?
acbc
post Sep 7 2025, 07:46 PM

9,048 posts

PRC crap only optimized for CCP. Nothing else.
TSriver.sand
post Sep 7 2025, 07:50 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 7 2025, 07:44 PM)
Ur phone GPS got problem over the next 1 km?
I got no problem with Waze.
SUSredic
post Sep 7 2025, 08:23 PM

330 posts

that RPC bodo ke apa
TSriver.sand
post Sep 7 2025, 08:41 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(redic @ Sep 7 2025, 08:23 PM)
that RPC bodo ke apa
not bodo, but too proud of his country
Xploit Machine
post Sep 7 2025, 08:44 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,256 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Sep 7 2025, 07:50 PM)
I got no problem with Waze.
then why u use AMap asits not meant for Malaysian routes? .. Waze is ok, but the best is Google Maps and Sygic which has more complicated routes .. doh.gif
BobThe Builder
post Sep 7 2025, 08:47 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Sep 7 2025, 07:03 PM)
A PRC living in Malaysia says in TikTok that China's AMap (高德地图)is better than Waze and Google Maps. I decided to give it a try.

My first experience with the navigation app was a disappointment. Due to confusion over lane assist (see below), I took a wrong turn. For the next one km, the app thought I was still in the right way.

Why confusion over lane assist? See the image below, the lane assist said go straight, when I was supposed to turn left in 137m

Another shortcoming is that many roads are unnamed, though I expect improvement in the near future.

One thing good about the app is the girl's voice 😁

That go straight arrow is for go straight at that Awan Hijau junction.
knwong
post Sep 7 2025, 08:58 PM

3,559 posts

PRC use Apple Maps
6942nole
post Sep 7 2025, 09:02 PM

346 posts

you need Beidou. GPS is crap in comparison.
SUSredic
post Sep 7 2025, 09:15 PM

330 posts

more and more CCP scammers coming to Marehsia

soon their maps will be upgraded
SUSMyProLife
post Sep 7 2025, 09:24 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Sep 7 2025, 09:02 PM)
Usually all modern phones already supported several satellite systems and will use all of these available eg GPS, Glonass, BDS, Galileo etc

You cannot choose which satellite system because phone GNSS subsystem working automatically to use all of these for best effort accuracy
Chanwsan
post Sep 7 2025, 09:32 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Eww CCP junk
TSriver.sand
post Sep 7 2025, 09:33 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ Sep 7 2025, 08:47 PM)
That go straight arrow is for go straight at that Awan Hijau junction.
Yes, correct.
But this is confusing for drivers who are not used to it.
MR_alien
post Sep 7 2025, 09:35 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

i'm about to try AMAP this october

but malaysia for me is still google maps
AMAPS now i can bookmark place but the app is not giving me a good impression yet in terms of smoothness
search result also meh because their search is really segregated by cities
TSriver.sand
post Sep 7 2025, 09:51 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Sep 7 2025, 09:02 PM)
QUOTE(MyProLife @ Sep 7 2025, 09:24 PM)
Usually all modern phones already supported several satellite systems and will use all of these available eg GPS, Glonass, BDS, Galileo etc

You cannot choose which satellite system because phone GNSS subsystem working automatically to use all of these for best effort accuracy
When I run this app, there is the word Beidou on the top right corner.

My phone is CCP Xiaomi. If this phone doesn't work with AMaps, many other users will face the same issue.
upcars
post Sep 7 2025, 10:20 PM

95 posts

gao de in china
gmaps elsewhere

0.0231sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:18 PM