APPLE is now 3PM.

whyamiblack
post Sep 4 2025, 02:13 PM

70 posts

Idk why people who downplay apple love to skip all apple silicon and how apple basically have total dominance in the laptop industry, especially for working professionals. All the working professionals I know who works in a company all have macbooks by their company, except one who is an accountant.

This post has been edited by whyamiblack: Sep 4 2025, 02:15 PM
whyamiblack
post Sep 4 2025, 02:23 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(thunderkingkong @ Sep 4 2025, 02:17 PM)
apart form probably can last longer , nothing special in apple products nowadays , not to mention the camera on the screen quite ugly too ! dont understand why they like to do that , people only one dot and they make it into a hotdog shape , macbook air also the same, knn, look at the screen suddenly see a moustache
Try running a local LLM on a windows laptop, you'll find out you'll need to spend at least 8-10k for something competent that you could do on a macbook air. Furthermore, apple's transition of using ARM based chip on laptop went smooth. There's no such laptop in the market for windows, let alone one at a price that makes sense. We haven't even gotten to power management and on-battery performance yet.
whyamiblack
post Sep 4 2025, 02:27 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(thunderkingkong @ Sep 4 2025, 02:26 PM)
work related ok lar, but ordinary people just buy it because feel more glamour, apple mar ,bring to starbuck also feel more lansi,  after all they use it to watch youtube tik tok only ! tongue.gif
And that's the whole point. Apple knows their audience. Bottom line, they're not going anywhere.

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 4 2025, 02:27 PM)
TOTALLY NONSENSE.
You need NPU, or AI core or GPU core to run LLM. Not the ARM arch CPU.

what makes Apple SoC has advantage is their Unified Memory.

CPU GPU Share same RAM.

and you are wrong. Apple Macbook AIR with 16GB may able to run LLM because its 16GB RAM can be consider "vram" to feet the GPU on same die.
Windows laptop cant do that. unless the Laptop has a 16GB GPU.

But the SPEED is also bullshit.
Exactfuckingly. That's the whole problem. Maybe for you the speed is bullshit but most 16b q4 models are competitive enough and not as stupid as an 7-8b models. 20-25 tps? Most people will take it. Remember, it's a frickin laptop and it ticks the entire laptop boxes. Power management, plenty of power you could even run 3d softwares, mind you, ON-BATTERY. Not some shitty windows solution of being on battery by limiting power. Oh and this is just the macbook air. People who actually need hardwares aren't given macbook airs by their company.

This post has been edited by whyamiblack: Sep 4 2025, 02:38 PM
whyamiblack
post Sep 4 2025, 03:24 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Sep 4 2025, 03:10 PM)
Ppl are not given macbook airs by their company is because Malaysia Apple dont have onsite support service for warranty claims unlike other countries like Australia. No IT team here will want to help you send your macbook to service center to claim warranty if anything goes wrong. And definitely the machine wont get fixed in 1 business day. Long downtime is the main issue for IT dept side.
And yes , even macbooks can die. Battery bloated, the bloat will break the chassis/screw mounts and break the keyboard. That is what i hv encountered many times.
That must be why the only windows laptop I've seen was on an accountant. PMs, designers of all kinds, architects, programmers all were given macbook pro.

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Sep 4 2025, 03:22 PM)
Err... total dominance?
Which industry are you in bro.

I am in semicon, automation, photovoltaic, machinery industry.
Professionals in this industry that use Apple laptop like 5%?

If you say Apple dominance in tablet, I can agree la.
Laptop? hell no~ Apple are not dominance at all.
Refer answer above.

This post has been edited by whyamiblack: Sep 4 2025, 03:25 PM
whyamiblack
post Sep 4 2025, 04:32 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 4 2025, 03:49 PM)
speaking from a die-hard PC user.

fact only.

- Apple Silicon since M1 = best SoC on planet. for each generation. Total Beast.
- But Apple Strategy dont allow Apple Silicon to dominate the market.
- You want enjoy Apple silicon u must buy apple product. If Apple open and sell ONLY their SoC.. 1st, they will dominate server market. Lowpower, fast. nothing beat that in server market.
- If Apple open to sell only SoC?? Lenovo will build Apple SoC Laptop that is cheaper, more battery, more feature than Apple itself.
- So, no matter how Good is Apple Silicon. you can only use it in thier Product within their OS.
Laptop Market Share.
- NEVER. NEVER A DAY. MacOs is dominant in PC / Laptop market.

As of mid-2025, Windows is the dominant PC operating system globally, holding approximately 70-72% of the desktop market share, followed by Apple's macOS with around 10-16%. Linux holds a smaller, but growing, share of the desktop market at around 4-5%, while ChromeOS makes up a couple of percent.
- Ok, how about Top selling Brand by counting unit sold?????
- not the top 3... Sorry

By Global Shipments (Data from IDC, January 2025)
Lenovo: 23.5% of the market
HP Inc.: 20.2% of the market
Dell Technologies: 14.9% of the market
Apple: 8.7% of the market
- I have Macbook. as a dev i need OS Coverage.
- their build quality, battery life is always Amaze me.
- but they cant be my daily driver. it has gazzilion limitation. for me as a poweruser. for average user you dont feel it.
- Macbook = PS5. Windows = PC. then you know. how much control you can do with your pS5??? only manufacturer allow operation.
- PC???? no limit.
1. Numbers will change. Watch the trend flip if windows keep on fumbling their battery management. It already started.

2. Nvidia makes great chips but their chips comes with heavy power consumption. Yeah, this is biggest benefit of windows laptop, but it's also what's holding them back when it comes to laptop. Let's be real, most people don't even own a desktop anymore. This trend has been going on for a long time.

3. Yeah, you're a poweruser but most people aren't and the most important sales figures comes from non-poweruser.

0.0182sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:05 AM