eSim China mobile

TSsluive
post Aug 26 2025, 06:09 PM, updated 4 months ago

87 posts

Hi sifus.

Does anyone know how eSim work? Planned to get one from China Mobile for travel to China soon.

I know esim has got no sim card but is there need to remove current sim card?
Would it cause a clash with Whatsap, cos whatsap will need a valid phone number.

Thanks very much.
Autocountstick
post Aug 26 2025, 06:17 PM

676 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xL4a0Mh-XM0
jiaen0509
post Aug 26 2025, 07:21 PM

3,307 posts

Make sure your device compatible.

If using iPhone that supports esim. Max 2 sim is allowed at the same time.
SUSifourtos
post Aug 26 2025, 07:34 PM

2,256 posts

1. If ur phone dual sim, need deactivate 1 sim to enable esim

2. Only premium model support esim, and some midtier Xiaomi

3. U really need to make sure ur sim not active overseas. Ur bill will kill u if u don't setting property

4. Treat esim like wifi, does ur Whatsapp got problem using wifi?

5. Not all esim auto vpn

6. Ur Whatsapp may still not working due to china firewall

7. Android can bypass By setting private DNS.

8. If ur sim not working in china. Mostly can say bye bye using ewallet with ur bank card

9.get cash in ur tng is easiest way, but I would not do this myself, as alipy via tng in china only give u 40% access

10. U need fully activated, verified WeChat pay + non sms bank otp to fully access china
TSsluive
post Aug 26 2025, 07:58 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Aug 26 2025, 07:34 PM)
1. If ur phone dual sim, need deactivate 1 sim to enable esim

2. Only premium model support esim, and some midtier Xiaomi

3. U really need to make sure ur sim not active overseas. Ur bill will kill u if u don't setting property

4. Treat esim like wifi, does ur Whatsapp got problem using wifi?

5. Not all esim auto vpn

6. Ur Whatsapp may still not working due to china  firewall

7. Android can bypass By setting private DNS.

8. If ur sim not working in china. Mostly can say bye bye using ewallet with ur bank card

9.get cash in ur tng is easiest way, but I would not do this myself, as alipy via tng in china only give u 40% access

10. U need fully activated, verified WeChat pay + non sms bank otp to fully access china
I am using Samsung S24 Ultra. The phone's spec says it can use eSim.

So can I just take out my current sim as an easy way than the troubles to deactivate it?

I'll just have to use whatsap and whatsap call which would be sufficient as a means of communication.

Just have to find a way to VPN to get whatsap to work.

Can it work?

Or would it be better to use physical sim? Just afraid it wont work with whatsap and force a new whatsap registration and wipe clean my current account.

This post has been edited by sluive: Aug 26 2025, 08:02 PM
SUSifourtos
post Aug 27 2025, 12:53 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(sluive @ Aug 26 2025, 07:58 PM)
I am using Samsung S24 Ultra. The phone's spec says it can use eSim.

So can I just take out my current sim as an easy way than the troubles to deactivate it?

I'll just have to use whatsap and whatsap call which would be sufficient as a means of communication.

Just have to find a way to VPN to get whatsap to work.

Can it work?

Or would it be better to use physical sim? Just afraid it wont work with whatsap and force a new whatsap registration and wipe clean my current account.
Just get esim that by pass china firewall

U clearly don't understand how Whatsapp work

As long as ur number didn't activate whatapps on new device
U are safe
poh880
post Aug 29 2025, 08:45 PM

529 posts

In China cannot use WhatsApp without VPN. If you use your Malaysian SIM to roam in China, your WhatsApp will works as usual. Nobody in China use WhatsApp, so don't expect you can call someone in China with WhatsApp. Use WeChat will solve everything.
ck_tonny
post Sep 1 2025, 09:36 PM

414 posts

Maxis and China Mobile International partner to launch CMLink MVNO in Malaysia.

Source: -
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/new...no-in-malaysia/

CMLink’s key features include 1CMN (one card, multiple numbers) and China-Malaysia data sharing services.

In future we may no need to purchase data roaming if we use CMLink sim card, just like what they offer in Singapore.

0.0234sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:38 PM