Issue Restoring Uber acc for overseas trip

TSterriblyrawtea
post Aug 14 2025, 03:16 PM, updated 4 months ago

100 posts

Has anyone tried using the same uber account or atleast your phone number on a new Uber account for overseas trip? Like Hong Kong for example.

I've tried two local numbers but it says "Too Many Requests" which leads me to suspect that Uber has blocked msian numbers since Grab took over.

Since I need Uber for travelling around HK, any other ways anyone knows to get this sorted? I'm not keen on getting a foreign number outside of SEA just for this.

This post has been edited by terriblyrawtea: Aug 14 2025, 03:17 PM
sadlyfalways
post Aug 14 2025, 03:22 PM

1,183 posts

UK phone number easiest to get.

i maintain second one in my phone using giffgaff for past 3 years

use it for all the apps not supported here, including onlyfans haha

is there specific reason you want your malaysian number?

roaming answer rate is about 1gbp a minute, same as maxis roaming price when answering taxi or delivery drivers

worked in norway, usa and australia no issue
TSterriblyrawtea
post Aug 14 2025, 03:26 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 14 2025, 03:22 PM)
UK phone number easiest to get.

i maintain second one in my phone using giffgaff for past 3 years

use it for all the apps not supported here, including onlyfans haha

is there specific reason you want your malaysian number?

roaming answer rate is about 1gbp a minute, same as maxis roaming price when answering taxi or delivery drivers

worked in norway, usa and australia no issue
well i used to use UBER pretty actively until Grab took over here. And i really only have msian phone numbers atm.

any services u recommend to buy virtual number?

Edit: just saw giffgaff, i'll have a look at it.

This post has been edited by terriblyrawtea: Aug 14 2025, 03:31 PM
TSterriblyrawtea
post Aug 14 2025, 03:30 PM

100 posts

also, if its true that Uber is actively blocking MY numbers, then thats incredibly short-sighted considering they operate globally.

It wud be stupid to force customers to get a seperate foreign number just to get Uber to work in a foreign land.

This post has been edited by terriblyrawtea: Aug 14 2025, 03:30 PM
scorgio
post Aug 14 2025, 03:35 PM

4,693 posts

No block lah.

Last year I login in Istanbul was ok.
TSterriblyrawtea
post Aug 14 2025, 03:42 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Aug 14 2025, 03:35 PM)
No block lah.

Last year I login in Istanbul was ok.
i tried two different numbers both same issue wor.
PaperClip224
post Aug 14 2025, 03:44 PM

196 posts

ya ... i - re-download the app before my trip to taiwan last week

uber rating automatically moved over from my grab app, i just update my card in uber app
sadlyfalways
post Aug 14 2025, 04:03 PM

1,183 posts

QUOTE(terriblyrawtea @ Aug 14 2025, 03:30 PM)
also, if its true that Uber is actively blocking MY numbers, then thats incredibly short-sighted considering they operate globally.

It wud be stupid to force customers to get a seperate foreign number just to get Uber to work in a foreign land.
actually i just tried to add my malaysian number on my uk uber eats account and it worked too!

when i tried in 2022 it just said not supported haha and it told me to download foodpanda or something, weirdly not grab who bought them off

maybe you kena rate limit or something

you should try vpn to supported countries

i still buy a lot of food and deliver to friends and family in the uk and australia, before this can browse all restaurant and menu unlimited time no issue

nowadays if i am in malaysia looking at foreign menu, after a few restaurants everything will stop loading until i switch networks or turn on vpn.
skylinelover
post Aug 17 2025, 01:01 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

Haha deng doh.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Aug 17 2025, 01:01 PM
TSterriblyrawtea
post Aug 20 2025, 11:49 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 14 2025, 04:03 PM)
actually i just tried to add my malaysian number on my uk uber eats account and it worked too!

when i tried in 2022 it just said not supported haha and it told me to download foodpanda or something, weirdly not grab who bought them off

maybe you kena rate limit or something

you should try vpn to supported countries

i still buy a lot of food and deliver to friends and family in the uk and australia, before this can browse all restaurant and menu unlimited time no issue

nowadays if i am in malaysia looking at foreign menu, after a few restaurants everything will stop loading until i switch networks or turn on vpn.
Actually I tried one time on HK wifi (i was in HK few months back), it also wasn't working at all. So i dont think its a vpn issue. Tried multiple times locally here, wifi, mobile data also cannot.

Raise two different tickets, one of them 9 days ago. 0 response, reach out to their media team also they redirect to the support page.

Really lousy support system.

This post has been edited by terriblyrawtea: Aug 20 2025, 11:51 PM

0.0152sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:18 PM