Geng....
i plan on upgrading my xtrail T30 halogen bulbs to Led. Non projector type. Is it legal for JPJ? Roadblock kena ar?
thanks for answers f
jpj rules regd led headlamps, LED headlamps
Aug 12 2025, 12:57 PM, updated 4 months ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
335 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Geng....
i plan on upgrading my xtrail T30 halogen bulbs to Led. Non projector type. Is it legal for JPJ? Roadblock kena ar? thanks for answers f |
Aug 12 2025, 12:58 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
9,035 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
If no projector and using white bulbs, sure tahan.
Aug 12 2025, 02:34 PM
Aug 12 2025, 02:38 PM
1,230 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Erh, isn't the T30 equipped with HID??? 🤔
Aug 12 2025, 02:40 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,219 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Without the shields meant to reduce the glare from the LEDs, your lights would be very bright but very annoying to the opposite cars because of the glare. Halogen headlamps are best left with halogen bulbs.
Aug 12 2025, 03:31 PM
59 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Not only annoying to opposite cars, all the cars' rear mirror in front of TS will get glared, please do not fit LED on halogen housing.
This post has been edited by SyNtheSizeD: Aug 12 2025, 03:31 PM |
Aug 12 2025, 03:57 PM
1,879 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Medan, ID |
last I read, rule only kacau HID
This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 14 2025, 10:10 AM |
Aug 12 2025, 04:16 PM
155 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
so far there r rules on HID but no rules for the LED yet.
If ur headlamp is reflector, please DONT install LED. if it is projector, u pandai pandai lo, need to adjust the leveling so dont glaze other driver. |
Aug 12 2025, 04:20 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
If you post this means you better not use retrofit light as afraid of getting Saman. Same like me But, I found an LED that closely resemble the halogen colour shade, actually, there are a few models out there I'm using philips ultinon weather vision LED, trust me, JPJ won't even know the difference cos the colour is 3500K, similar to halogen My wife car using Avanstar 4300K colour, more whitish, more vision than halogen. But not true whites, they also got models for that. You can check with the sales person for Avanstar in Shoppee. He will usually recommends the basic one which is a huge difference from the stock halogens. chuan1961 liked this post
Aug 12 2025, 04:58 PM
4,237 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
You go custom one as long don’t blind ppl eye can already
Aug 12 2025, 05:10 PM
43 posts Joined: Dec 2022 |
Aug 13 2025, 12:41 AM
not on my car. HID was an optional upgrade and not standard.
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 12 2025, 02:38 PM) ya the Ultinon is one of the brands i was looking at.I know some of the better brands have Led that closely follows the light pattern of the original Halogen bulbs. at 3500K i suppose the JPJ wont notice lah. I was looking at the 6000K Osrams which are also ECE rated but i read that JPJ rules anything done on headlight modification is Illegal and at roadblock sure kena if they notice. It does not matter even if the Osram does not blind other drivers (as it follows light pattern of Halogen). My other choice is to go with latest Osram Night breaker H4 Halogen which is supposed to be brighter and longer throw than original halogen. Is the phillips u are using brighter than the original halogen? my other car uses a HID Xenon unit with 4300K almost pure white, but LED 6000K is still brighter. QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 12 2025, 04:20 PM) If you post this means you better not use retrofit light as afraid of getting Saman. Some of the LED Brands like Phillips n Osram are ECE certified and designed to work with reflector halogen fittings. The problem is the aftermarket cheapo brands and also poorly adjusted LED/HID lamps. Those factory fitted LED/HID cars do not cause glare to others. Same like me But, I found an LED that closely resemble the halogen colour shade, actually, there are a few models out there I'm using philips ultinon weather vision LED, trust me, JPJ won't even know the difference cos the colour is 3500K, similar to halogen My wife car using Avanstar 4300K colour, more whitish, more vision than halogen. But not true whites, they also got models for that. You can check with the sales person for Avanstar in Shoppee. He will usually recommends the basic one which is a huge difference from the stock halogens. Badly fitted LED/HID lamps are very annoying and i would high beam them with my HID/xenon lah. QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 12 2025, 02:40 PM) Without the shields meant to reduce the glare from the LEDs, your lights would be very bright but very annoying to the opposite cars because of the glare. Halogen headlamps are best left with halogen bulbs. i hvnt seen this kind before. Link plse. thanksQUOTE(HAMST3R @ Aug 12 2025, 05:10 PM) im not the type to customise car stuff lah... not a expert. Just wanna upgrade with Plug n Play lights And i read that people are getting stopped at roadblocks for modified/customised headlights. QUOTE(johnkor @ Aug 12 2025, 04:58 PM) Actually, there are now LEDs from brands like Philips and Osram that designed to follow the halogen light pattern. And properly fitted it wont blind other drivers.I have read about drivers with aftermarket LED headlamps being stopped at roadblocks. So anyone else here from the forum can tell me if they got any problems with JPJ or roadblocks with their upgraded to LED headlamps?(Led bulb in reflector) Didnt JPJ have old rule of not allowing ANY modification on headlight? If that rule exists, then all aftermarket HID/LED will kena if stopped at roadblocks!! QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Aug 12 2025, 04:16 PM) so far there r rules on HID but no rules for the LED yet. So, ECE approved bulbs for halogen reflector units are OK? Will still kena stop at roadblocks or not? Cos I'm hearing that they will fine u at roadblocks if they notice the conversion.If ur headlamp is reflector, please DONT install LED. if it is projector, u pandai pandai lo, need to adjust the leveling so dont glaze other driver. QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 12 2025, 03:57 PM) last I read, rule only kacau HID - because following UN ECE rule, HID is approved per unit, not just the bulb For Halogen bulbs, LED bulbs, they are approved on both sides - lamp and bulb unit if pasang LED, can get Osram brands, or Philips brand, they make ECE approved bulbs for Halogen to LED conversion. And then, make damn sure the shop knows how to adjust the leveling |
Aug 13 2025, 01:52 PM
HID had a problem because color temperature can be very high, up to 16k that looks like purple
people usually do 8k, which is pure white - this one many kena saman because back in those days, everybody is using 3k~4.5k only This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 14 2025, 10:10 AM |
Aug 13 2025, 04:12 PM
thanks for ur explanation.
at this point im deciding btwn Osram or Philips - Led or Halogen ... I heard good reviews for the Osram Night Breaker halogen bulbs. If dowan headache with roadblocks I will go with Osram halogen. My other car HID xenons are 4500K warm white light. No problems with roadblocks. QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 13 2025, 02:16 PM) main issue with HID is wrong color temperature, don't mistake color temp with brightness - 8k doesn't mean brighter than 6k, it's just more 'blue' another issue with HID is CRI - meaning how accurate the color is, they are quite bad, usually around 60~70 LED CRI is easily 70, and >90 is very common just get a ECE certified bulb and install it properly, you'll be ok |
Aug 13 2025, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Aug 13 2025, 10:20 AM) Actually, there are now LEDs from brands like Philips and Osram that designed to follow the halogen light pattern. And properly fitted it wont blind other drivers. i modified a lot lights on my car. i change the small light(T10) to LED strip light; added DRL which is always turn on if i start my car; and change my projector bulb from halogen to LED bulb. been only once kena JPJ road block, tahan me asking where i live, i told him nearby and he let me go away. i assume all the lights i installed isnt causing a problemI have read about drivers with aftermarket LED headlamps being stopped at roadblocks. So anyone else here from the forum can tell me if they got any problems with JPJ or roadblocks with their upgraded to LED headlamps?(Led bulb in reflector) Didnt JPJ have old rule of not allowing ANY modification on headlight? If that rule exists, then all aftermarket HID/LED will kena if stopped at roadblocks!! i also online search the article, quite grey area, it only mentioned HID but didnt spell out LED for headlight; illegal for colorful DRL; illegal for underglow light on the road (but legal when parked) as for the reflector, it will somehow glaze regardless of wat brand of LED. that's y everyone is suggesting if reflector, dont change to LED. for the aftermarket headlamp, almost all aftermarket headlamp using LED, so it is a grey area. in short, LED isnt illegal to date. but LED on reflector is not welcome by everyone |
Aug 14 2025, 12:10 AM
ah this makes sense what u saying. Im curious what car u drive becos they let u go
I suppose if they see ur light is not blinding they give chance ya. I think most likely i will just replace my old halogen with a better performance halogen from Osram or Philips and avoid any problems at the roadblock. thanks for your input. QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Aug 13 2025, 04:24 PM) i modified a lot lights on my car. i change the small light(T10) to LED strip light; added DRL which is always turn on if i start my car; and change my projector bulb from halogen to LED bulb. been only once kena JPJ road block, tahan me asking where i live, i told him nearby and he let me go away. i assume all the lights i installed isnt causing a problem i also online search the article, quite grey area, it only mentioned HID but didnt spell out LED for headlight; illegal for colorful DRL; illegal for underglow light on the road (but legal when parked) as for the reflector, it will somehow glaze regardless of wat brand of LED. that's y everyone is suggesting if reflector, dont change to LED. for the aftermarket headlamp, almost all aftermarket headlamp using LED, so it is a grey area. in short, LED isnt illegal to date. but LED on reflector is not welcome by everyone |
Aug 14 2025, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Aug 14 2025, 12:10 AM) ah this makes sense what u saying. Im curious what car u drive becos they let u go i m driving perodua axia. I suppose if they see ur light is not blinding they give chance ya. I think most likely i will just replace my old halogen with a better performance halogen from Osram or Philips and avoid any problems at the roadblock. thanks for your input. |
Aug 14 2025, 10:09 AM
I think TS takut use LED no matter what we say
just peace of mind, stay halogen better |
Aug 14 2025, 10:16 AM
741 posts Joined: Sep 2020 |
QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Aug 12 2025, 04:16 PM) so far there r rules on HID but no rules for the LED yet. why reflector cannot install LED?If ur headlamp is reflector, please DONT install LED. if it is projector, u pandai pandai lo, need to adjust the leveling so dont glaze other driver. now new cars reflector also using LED |
Aug 14 2025, 11:03 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Aug 13 2025, 04:12 PM) thanks for ur explanation. The reason why I get Philips Ultinon Weather Vision LED is due to normal halogen like Osram Night Beaker, Philips Racing Vision GT200 usually don't last. If can last for 1 year should be happy already, most of the time in 6 months already blown.at this point im deciding btwn Osram or Philips - Led or Halogen ... I heard good reviews for the Osram Night Breaker halogen bulbs. If dowan headache with roadblocks I will go with Osram halogen. My other car HID xenons are 4500K warm white light. No problems with roadblocks. If you insist on Halogen, the Philips GT200 rocks, it is everything you ever wanted, but the life is short. but buy it only when got sale, I don't think have your size, For longevity bulbs, Philips Xtreme Vision GForce which seems to last forever or the normal Vision Plus |
Aug 14 2025, 12:21 PM
Aug 14 2025, 04:47 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Aug 14 2025, 05:14 PM
Aug 16 2025, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 14 2025, 10:09 AM) i just dont want the hassle of dealing with the cops la, even if my Leds are properly fitted. HOWEVER..... If i can get away with Leds thats below 6K and hence NOT WHITE, I will install those. Because at roadblock they wont know its LED This post has been edited by chuan1961: Aug 16 2025, 12:27 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0169sec
5 queries
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:15 PM |