Warlock tips wanted, combos? suggestions and UI?

TSGoatee
post Nov 14 2007, 12:16 AM, updated 19y ago

14 posts

Hi, just started playing lock for the 1st time.

Any pro would like to give me suggestion on how to deal with pvp n mob? Combo skills and so on.

Which spec is the best for PVP, i am now currently affliction. Would like to go to pvp spec in the future if affliction is not the most suitable one.

Searched addons using UI Central, but seems like warlock doesnt need much addons in game.

look forward to hearling from you. thanks
SUS[^-^]fumoffu
post Nov 14 2007, 12:51 AM

QUOTE(Goatee @ Nov 14 2007, 12:16 AM)
Hi, just started playing lock for the 1st time.

Any pro would like to give me suggestion on how to deal with pvp n mob? Combo skills and so on.

Which spec is the best for PVP, i am now currently affliction. Would like to go to pvp spec in the future if affliction is not the most suitable one.

Searched addons using UI Central, but seems like warlock doesnt need much addons in game.

look forward to hearling from you. thanks
im no pro but try to look up for drakedog's video. all EIGHT of them =D
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2007, 01:25 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE([^-^]fumoffu @ Nov 14 2007, 12:51 AM)
im no pro but try to look up for drakedog's video. all EIGHT of them =D
1) destro freak
2) his rating sux
3) lol destro just cant do et.
4) killin a buncha scrubs really take a whole lot of skill

now now, dont get me wrong, his videos are great, but they arent exactly quality learning materials. however, they make excellent entertainment videos, music, and editing are pretty damn top notch.
SUS[^-^]fumoffu
post Nov 14 2007, 02:14 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 14 2007, 01:25 AM)
1) destro freak
2) his rating sux
3) lol destro just cant do et.
4) killin a buncha scrubs really take a whole lot of skill

now now, dont get me wrong, his videos are great, but they arent exactly quality learning materials. however, they make excellent entertainment videos, music, and editing are pretty damn top notch.
eyy dun put down drakedogg dude

hes the man for all u lock wannabes.... if u r fighting trinket-less opponents that is haha

the only reason i promoted it is becoz its very hard to find other references easily

when i asked the peeps in warcraftmovies.com they always gonna reply:

"why the hell do u need other vids. u got drakedogg's havent u? all EIGHT of them"

haha tongue.gif

most of time u just dot dot dot(buang taik as they call it) and go run around a tree/pillar or something like that. and wait for the guy to daiiii

soul link(SL) with a felhunter is must a though for Arenas, can buang taik longer biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by [^-^]fumoffu: Nov 14 2007, 02:15 AM
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2007, 03:07 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE([^-^]fumoffu @ Nov 14 2007, 02:14 AM)

hes the man for all u lock wannabes.... if u r fighting trinket-less opponents that is haha

the only reason i promoted it is becoz its very hard to find other references easily

"why the hell do u need other vids. u got drakedogg's havent u? all EIGHT of them"

haha  tongue.gif

most of time u just dot dot dot(buang taik as they call it) and go run around a tree/pillar or something like that. and wait for the guy to daiiii

soul link(SL) with a felhunter is must a though for Arenas, can buang taik longer biggrin.gif
check out azael's new vid then heh, showcased some top names which is always good when it comes to 'skill measurement'

and he is a 2.7k rating lock afterall tongue.gif
Jas2davir
post Nov 14 2007, 03:53 AM

461 posts

QUOTE([^-^]fumoffu @ Nov 14 2007, 02:14 AM)

haha  tongue.gif

no offene but only stupid warlocks do that..

Added on November 14, 2007, 3:55 amoh and ts i wrote a nice "guide" for you here just now complete with macros and stuffs but my freaking internet explorer stoped working....so tommorow ill write you a new one..

This post has been edited by Jas2davir: Nov 14 2007, 03:55 AM
TSGoatee
post Nov 14 2007, 08:38 AM

14 posts

Haha, currently I do DOT DOT DOT on the allies but I didn't hide behind the tree but fight with them using drain life and drain soul + sb when night fall. Need da spec for killing soon, I did some researches that affliction is very great and good flexibility for raid but not pvp. destruction has very strong critical and spell damage which often can kill opponent with just 1 or 2 blow.

Demon i heard that they said this is just like undead, hard to take you down, even with a good gear.

maybe the only way for me is to use affliction but with spell critical gear so that i could go raid easily and with great damages?
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2007, 09:33 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Goatee @ Nov 14 2007, 08:38 AM)
Haha, currently I do DOT DOT DOT on the allies but I didn't hide behind the tree but fight with them using drain life and drain soul + sb when night fall. Need da spec for killing soon, I did some researches that affliction is very great and good flexibility for raid but not pvp. destruction has very strong critical and spell damage which often can kill opponent with just 1 or 2 blow.

Demon i heard that they said this is just like undead, hard to take you down, even with a good gear.

maybe the only way for me is to use affliction but with spell critical gear so that i could go raid easily and with great damages?
then you should do your researches further. as destruction is a horrible spec to pvp. as a matter of fact they are better off being raiders, but then again, shadow spells and dots scale far better than destruction, and thus, sm/ruin or affliction builds or even variation of demo builds far surpasses destro builds.

http://www.geekboys.org/arena/index/5/all/warlock

just look at their specs.
sets84
post Nov 14 2007, 10:01 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Nov 14 2007, 03:53 AM)

Added on November 14, 2007, 3:55 amoh and ts i wrote a nice "guide" for you here just now complete with macros and stuffs but my freaking internet explorer stoped working....so tommorow ill write you a new one..
and I guess every other warlock who arenas well is stupid aren't they... please do us all a favour and stop breathing now seriously.

OH wait... do post that guide first, I'd certainly like to have some laughing material at work now
saingau
post Nov 14 2007, 10:47 AM

nice.. popcorn time... tongue.gif

TSGoatee
post Nov 14 2007, 11:33 AM

14 posts

Thanks for that i will check out the site.

Anyway i cant find drakedogg's movie in warcraftmovie.com haha.

mind to send me the link in pm? thanks
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2007, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

drakedog not drakedogg
Jas2davir
post Nov 14 2007, 12:26 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(sets84 @ Nov 14 2007, 10:01 AM)
and I guess every other warlock who arenas well is stupid aren't they... please do us all a favour and stop breathing now seriously.

OH wait... do post that guide first, I'd certainly like to have some laughing material at work now
not gonna feed you.

any where if u wanna go dot dot dot and run its a good idea if ur life is low but if ur gonna dot dot dot dot and run in circles then please go roll sumthing else.... at arena it's a whole new story i made this large so i dont get pew pew pewed by quaza i never went to arena but based on my 2 years of warlock playing expirence you dont need to run like a girl.....you can rape a mage even with out being well geared...so any where i lost the "guide" ill give u my macros smile.gif

(spell related)*curse and stuff's*
Amped Coa
/cast Amplify Curse
/stopcasting
/cast Curse Of Agony

Immolate / Conflagrate
/castsequence reset=combat/target/15 Immolate, Conflagrate

Bloodfury'd, ZHC'd, Amped, CoA
/cast Blood Fury; (for orc's, ignore it if ur not one)
/use Zandalarian Hero Charm(please put your trinket that increases spell dmg as it is written in game)*this was mine back then*
/cast Amplify Curse
/stopcasting
/cast Curse Of Agony

The dotter (u might like this one ts)
/castsequence reset=Target/Combat Corruption, Siphon Life, Curse of Agony, Unstable Affliction

Corruption rank 1 spamming
/targetenemy 1
/cast Corruption (Rank 1)

Siphon life spamming
/targetenemy 1
/cast Siphon Life

Banish if banishable, otherwise fear (good elements fights)
/cast [harm] Banish
/cast [harm] Fear

Drain life, doesn't cast drain life when already channeling it
/cast [nochanneling:Drain Life] Drain Life

Drain mana, doesn't recast
/cast [nochanneling:Drain Mana] Drain Mana

Drain soul, doesn't recast
/cast [nochanneling:Drain Soul] Drain Soul

(pet related)*good for pvp or survival*
Void bubble recast
/castsequence [pet:Voidwalker] Sacrifice, Fel Domination, Summon Voidwalker

Devour self
/cast [pet:Felhunter,target=player] Devour Magic

Seduce nearest enemy
/targetenemy
/cast [pet:Succubus,harm] Seduction

Seduce if succu otherwise fear, nearest
/targetenemy
/cast [pet:Succubus] Seduction; Fear

(advanced macros)*good for raid and pvp's*
Memorized fearing
/target [button:2] focus
/clearFocus
/focus [harm] target
/cast [target=focus,exists] Fear
/targetLastTarget [button:2] 2
*Note: Use mousebutton 2 to lock a player/mob to refear him/her/it when you repress the macro

Memorized banishing
/clearFocus
/focus [harm] target
/cast [target=focus,exists] Banish
*Note: Use mousebutton 2 to lock a player/mob to rebanish him/her/it when you repress the macro

Memorized seducing
/clearFocus
/focus [harm] target
/cast [target=focus,exists,pet:Succubus] Seduction
*Note: Use mousebutton 2 to lock a player/mob to reseduce him/her/it when you repress the macro

to other ppl i put this here for the ts who asked for help if this macro cannot be used any more then i am very very sorry i dont see any point in flaming each other till 4 pages or arguing over things for 4 pages.

oh ts if u want u can copy and paste this into the macro straight to make it esier for you :F
TSGoatee
post Nov 14 2007, 02:10 PM

14 posts

thanks for your macro codes, i will take some of them and use haha.

the UI in azazael's player are cool. like her casting bar and so on. do you know what are they?
Kurei
post Nov 14 2007, 02:17 PM

19 posts

i believe u dun need to use /stopcasting anymore.
Jas2davir
post Nov 14 2007, 02:46 PM

461 posts

about the stopcasting im not shure coz havent play since the start of bc but about ui's iv seen some cool ones on you tube @.@ relly want them...
TSGoatee
post Nov 14 2007, 04:15 PM

14 posts

yer, such as azazael's UI, they are all cool. really like those bars. i think she changed all the interfaces coz they are different from ours.
Jas2davir
post Nov 14 2007, 04:29 PM

461 posts

you have to dl ui's to make it like that....iv played for 2 years but still dont know how to do it...
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2007, 04:46 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

azazael aka azael is a guy, and his pic was posted before somewhere on gameriot tongue.gif
TSGoatee
post Nov 14 2007, 04:50 PM

14 posts

omg u mean we have to edit the code after installed the UI? wish there are some easy installation UI that could make such great GUI.

Oh haha. "she" is good. "undead" human warlock. so many ganked "her" but still cant make her die. And her spec is affliction means that she doesnt use the Felguard pet lo. That pet is great for pvp le.
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2007, 05:51 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

http://www.warcraftmovies.com/movieview.php?id=49813

actually a mix of different specs.
SUS[^-^]fumoffu
post Nov 14 2007, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Nov 14 2007, 03:53 AM)

no worries mate, none taken but where the hell is ur guide dude? as for the macros i think all class can copy paste from the blizz forum sticky

as for the dot dot dot and run in circles, what i meant was that for aff locks, u can dot dot dot and get behind anything; trees, pillars, walls for LOS exploit. ur opponent gonna die anyway by the time he gets to u/within line =)

for real dude. u never been owned in the ass by a lock in a fight/duel/pvp/bgs/arenas/massacres before? EVER?

they like the ONLY class that never QQ about anything despite nerfs and patches LOL biggrin.gif

monkeymafia
post Nov 14 2007, 08:43 PM

Devour self
/cast [pet:Felhunter,target=player] Devour Magic

This is the only warlock macro that you need, the rest are optional. lolz.

Jas2davir
post Nov 14 2007, 09:12 PM

461 posts

lol iv seen a warlock run from 7 allies by only using Siphon Life...but if u want demon is a good spec, with alot of stam gear u will be un beatable....
sojurn
post Nov 15 2007, 01:45 PM

286 posts

@Jas2davir: You don't have to use /stopcasts on live anymore. I have tested it, I'm so glad they finally added this in since /stopcasting macros can sometimes cause your cast to end prematurely if you receive a small spike, but Blizz's version only casts after your previous cast ends.

As Quazacolt stated, watch Azazael's vid, he's one of the best locks I've seen in a while. Fought him in BGs before too, it was not fun. While just DoTing everyone you see can rake up kills pretty easily, I would highly recommend you learn to manage your pet well, especially if it is a felguard or felhunter. For arenas, i don't think any warlock uses a succy. While leaving spell lock and devour magic on autocast is ok when fighting bad players, it will help you a lot more if you save them for specific instances, like interrupting a heal or dispeling HoJ from yourself (as an example).

Well played warlocks are hard to come by, but those can really rip people apart. Good luck with your warlock.
Jas2davir
post Nov 15 2007, 04:21 PM

461 posts

QUOTE([^-^]fumoffu @ Nov 14 2007, 08:31 PM)
no worries mate, none taken but where the hell is ur guide dude? as for the macros i think all class can copy paste from the blizz forum sticky

as for the dot dot dot and run in circles, what i meant was that for aff locks, u can dot dot dot and get behind anything; trees, pillars, walls for LOS exploit. ur opponent gonna die anyway by the time he gets to u/within line =)

for real dude. u never been owned in the ass by a lock in a fight/duel/pvp/bgs/arenas/massacres before? EVER?

they like the ONLY class that never QQ about anything despite nerfs and patches LOL biggrin.gif
never coz i am a warlock player......my internet explorer died after giving it.....now idk where is it di......
monkeymafia
post Nov 16 2007, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(sojurn @ Nov 15 2007, 01:45 PM)
@Jas2davir: You don't have to use /stopcasts on live anymore. I have tested it, I'm so glad they finally added this in since /stopcasting macros can sometimes cause your cast to end prematurely if you receive a small spike, but Blizz's version only casts after your previous cast ends.

As Quazacolt stated, watch Azazael's vid, he's one of the best locks I've seen in a while. Fought him in BGs before too, it was not fun. While just DoTing everyone you see can rake up kills pretty easily, I would highly recommend you learn to manage your pet well, especially if it is a felguard or felhunter. For arenas, i don't think any warlock uses a succy. While leaving spell lock and devour magic on autocast is ok when fighting bad players, it will help you a lot more if you save them for specific instances, like interrupting a heal or dispeling HoJ from yourself (as an example).

Well played warlocks are hard to come by, but those can really rip people apart. Good luck with your warlock.
What he said.

One word of advice though. Never, never, NEVER put spell lock on auto-cast. If possible, keybind spell lock to a key so that you can use it to interrupt heals or spell casts that may potentially make you win or lose a fight or an arena game.

This post has been edited by monkeymafia: Nov 16 2007, 12:11 AM
Kurei
post Nov 16 2007, 08:55 AM

19 posts

i like drakedog =p
Aggroboy
post Nov 16 2007, 10:26 AM

637 posts

I think one of the best warlock video is Veex, the music is great too.

Drakedog is just for entertainment, don't copy his style! laugh.gif
sets84
post Nov 16 2007, 10:51 AM

383 posts

the best lock imo, is this guy from korea....
gnome warlock wearing some pointy red hat... his gears are crap but his skills are... entertaining.

don't ask me his name though, its in korean... i happen to chance upon it while surfing for vids. and yes i've seen most of the other warlock vids, and played a lock myself... so i must say im pretty impressed. even his talent built is very much diff, so diff that I am 80% sure that he's the only one using it...

alamort
post Nov 16 2007, 12:05 PM

Tips on how to play warlock.

Kurei
post Nov 16 2007, 12:17 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alamort @ Nov 16 2007, 01:05 PM)
Tips on how to play warlock.

hahahahaha good one.
Jas2davir
post Nov 16 2007, 12:54 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(sets84 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:51 AM)
gnome warlock wearing some pointy red hat... his gears are crap but his skills are... entertaining.

don't ask me his name though, its in korean... i happen to chance upon it while surfing for vids. and yes i've seen most of the other warlock vids, and played a lock myself... so i must say im pretty impressed. even his talent built is very much diff, so diff that I am 80% sure that he's the only one using it...
what is his spec?? mind to share abit?

Added on November 16, 2007, 1:05 pmoh is the spec 31/8/22 ?? coz i knew someone who used to use that build was kinda strong with crits....and is he the gnome warlock that brings out the imp all the time?

This post has been edited by Jas2davir: Nov 16 2007, 01:06 PM
Aggroboy
post Nov 16 2007, 01:20 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(sets84 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:51 AM)

That's Maerad 3. His spec was 0/17/34 feldom conflag build. Pretty much seduce-nuke style like.
sets84
post Nov 16 2007, 02:02 PM

383 posts

ahh yeah...
that's him....
maerad 3
thx for reminding me, im gona entertain myself with more of his vids later.
Aggroboy
post Nov 16 2007, 05:46 PM

637 posts

Here is the warrior version laugh.gif took me half a min to edit and upload.
King83
post Nov 16 2007, 06:21 PM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

eikan
post Nov 16 2007, 06:24 PM

326 posts

u need passion to be an artistic lock... its beautiful smile.gif..
passion indicator = you are soulbound to your lock char

have fun !!
Jas2davir
post Nov 16 2007, 09:32 PM

461 posts

errr king83 your anti warlock dosent work....some times warlocks go and fear you just to waste your trinkey or wotf.....
King83
post Nov 16 2007, 10:55 PM

5,237 posts

what's the cooldown like to fear ?
Jas2davir
post Nov 16 2007, 11:15 PM

461 posts

errr no cd.....lol....
King83
post Nov 16 2007, 11:31 PM

5,237 posts

FFS
Jas2davir
post Nov 16 2007, 11:55 PM

461 posts

@.@ what happned?? lol only gay and skillless warlocks spam fear......and ur a warrior u got skills to be immune to fear.....
King83
post Nov 16 2007, 11:58 PM

5,237 posts

DW has a 3min cd... and lasts only 30sec sweat.gif
Jas2davir
post Nov 17 2007, 12:05 AM

461 posts

30 sec more then enough to do the job!!!!!!!and summore you can pop a recklessness crit+immune!!!!!

Added on November 17, 2007, 12:25 amhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LyZUAr1zxBo&feature=related
go and watch this king...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YwAptzasU-o&feature=related
and this is part 2!!

This post has been edited by Jas2davir: Nov 17 2007, 12:25 AM
sojurn
post Nov 17 2007, 05:01 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Nov 16 2007, 11:58 PM)
DW has a 3min cd... and lasts only 30sec  sweat.gif
Death Wish, 3 min CD, lasts 30 sec.
Berserker Rage, 30 sec CD, lasts 10 sec.
Insignia/Medallion of the Horde/Alliance, breaks 1 CC/snares/roots

That's a lot more than most classes will ever get. Having said that, good locks with great gear are still difficult for warrs to kill. With 2.3 however, it should be easier.
Jas2davir
post Nov 17 2007, 07:00 PM

461 posts

recklessness 30 min cd and last for 10-15 sec
alamort
post Nov 18 2007, 09:43 AM

Having said that, good locks with great gear are still difficult for warrs to kill. With 2.3 however, it should be easier

it should be read like this.
a full pvp gear lock will kill a full pvp gear war + pali healing the war biggrin.gif
Jas2davir
post Nov 18 2007, 10:14 AM

461 posts

....how come?? shit i hope my exams finish nao i wanna play a warlock again!!!
buffa
post Nov 19 2007, 01:56 PM

458 posts

Lock was OP. Now is the time for Warrior.
Jas2davir
post Nov 19 2007, 02:23 PM

461 posts

sad.gif warrior as i recall were once so oped that so many rogues rerolled as warriors esp freaking ne warriors coz of the shadowmeld trick brows.gif .....thx god they fixed that or else other classes would be fked!!

This post has been edited by Jas2davir: Nov 19 2007, 02:26 PM
King83
post Nov 20 2007, 05:02 PM

5,237 posts

how they fixed it?
Goblinsk8er
post Nov 20 2007, 07:41 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Nov 19 2007, 01:56 PM)
Lock was OP. Now is the time for Warrior.
War is only good if you have a healer following you and you have like a "gazillion" resilience.
ataris
post Nov 22 2007, 12:40 AM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

exam is nothing compared to wow.

0.0261sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:20 AM