Phone Repair as hobby!

TSlovecats
post Aug 3 2025, 09:42 AM, updated 4 months ago

109 posts

Where's the best place to learn; phone repair?
Because I only can find courses that spans for few days.

Is the 3 days course sufficient?

Once I'm able to repair, I want to buy spoiled phone and repair for fun.

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ‘

mini orchard
post Aug 3 2025, 09:47 AM

14,511 posts

If you have basic electronic knowledge, then easier to learn. Otherwise, go work for 6-12 months as apprentice
darosha
post Aug 3 2025, 09:58 AM

469 posts

there's webinar all around facebook starting with free and then paid at the end of webinar basic package, semi advance package, and advance package, depending how much money accept to pay learning them. they even have face to face class. not sure still have or not, used to see their ads on my facebook
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 3 2025, 09:59 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(lovecats @ Aug 3 2025, 09:42 AM)

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ‘
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 3 2025, 09:47 AM)
If you have basic electronic knowledge, then easier to learn. Otherwise, go work for 6-12 months as apprentice
I start from almost 0 knowledge, now I can confidently repair some of the basic hp problems like changing battery, lcd, speaker, buttons, etc , all from reading manuals online and youtube

all you need is a donor's hp

I try to learn reballing ic but need proper setup

ycs
post Aug 3 2025, 11:11 AM

4,220 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 3 2025, 09:59 AM)
I start from almost 0 knowledge, now I can confidently repair some of the basic hp problems like changing battery, lcd, speaker, buttons, etc , all from reading manuals online and youtube

all you need is a donor's hp

I try to learn reballing ic but need proper setup
can you replace smd components? any tips? i need to replace an smd mosfet, capacitor, resistors
Chanwsan
post Aug 3 2025, 11:24 AM

เคธเฅ‹เคนเคฎ
1,406 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 3 2025, 11:11 AM)
can you replace smd components? any tips? i need to replace an smd mosfet, capacitor, resistors
If you must dabble in SMD, best way without spending too much is by using a good heat gun and precision tweezers. Add good amount of flux on top of solder and let the component slide to place while you heat the area up.

Of course need good control of heat otherwise risk damaging the entire thing without even knowing
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 3 2025, 12:19 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Aug 3 2025, 11:24 AM)
If you must dabble in SMD, best way without spending too much is by using a good heat gun and precision tweezers. Add good amount of flux on top of solder and let the component slide to place while you heat the area up.

Of course need good control of heat otherwise risk damaging the entire thing without even knowing
THIS

I'm afraid I dont have sufficient experience on this, sorry
netflix2019
post Aug 3 2025, 01:11 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(darosha @ Aug 3 2025, 09:58 AM)
there's webinar all around facebook starting with free and then paid at the end of webinar basic package, semi advance package, and advance package, depending how much money accept to pay learning them. they even have face to face class. not sure still have or not, used to see their ads on my facebook
Dengar macam damn high chance kena scam. Just saying..
poooky
post Aug 3 2025, 01:17 PM

824 posts

Apply for job at takumiko. They got store in Aeon Maluri and Leisure Mall. Got many tools to use and can test on customer device. Get paid to learn some more.
TSlovecats
post Aug 3 2025, 01:44 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 3 2025, 01:17 PM)
Apply for job at takumiko. They got store in Aeon Maluri and Leisure Mall. Got many tools to use and can test on customer device. Get paid to learn some more.
Already searched, need to be proficient Mandarin.

I'll take a look into this method of learning. Thanks for the suggestion
mowlous
post Aug 3 2025, 04:18 PM

542 posts

Need steady hands. If you have trouble painting miniature with a tooth pick you gonna find it hard to unsoder parts and replace them.

Testing phase usually people look for a bunch of same model phone and use ElE tester to determine which part not functioning then part swap to build a phone.

I last time use to play with buying cheap dead gameboy to fix. Its fun but not easy. Can totally learn everything free from the internet.

Price come when you hunt for specific items to replace instead of trying to rubble trough discarded stock for parts.

If you are only interested in specific electronics only consider going vocational school for deploma. Cause I don't think phone repair shop will take in hobbiest to train for work.
Chanwsan
post Aug 3 2025, 04:34 PM

เคธเฅ‹เคนเคฎ
1,406 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 3 2025, 01:17 PM)
For real they employ total newbie? Are they that charitable? If the technician total loss the device when it should be repairable, then how?
phoenixdown
post Aug 3 2025, 04:55 PM

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ‘
there's one here

https://techmurah.com/product/3-day-basic-o...-repair-course/

not sure worth the price tho. But if you're treating it as a hobby i guess it's ok? Some members of mine spent over thousands just for some mini rc cars lol
poooky
post Aug 3 2025, 05:15 PM

824 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Aug 3 2025, 04:34 PM)
For real they employ total newbie? Are they that charitable? If the technician total loss the device when it should be repairable, then how?
Don't know the specifics. But can try apply. Likely not many ppl take weekend and night shifts so that is a chance to get in.
rooney723
post Aug 3 2025, 05:53 PM

596 posts

i used to do that too and if u are not repairing iphones then u actually dont need specialised tools, android phones are pretty straightforward to repair, the only tricky part is removing the screen, others are pretty straightforward and u can just follow youtube videos to unscrew those screws to replace the parts you want

and of course u need a donor phone to play around to get familiar first because high chance u are going to screw up at the beginning

~min~
post Aug 3 2025, 06:37 PM

ย ย ย SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

Northridge fix
darosha
post Aug 3 2025, 08:10 PM

469 posts

here cheaper for basic https://qubiztech.onpay.my/
got basic 2 days rm597
semi advance 3 days rm897
advance 7 days 5 night rm3000
probably just try basic first

their facebook https://www.facebook.com/QubizTechAcademy/
looks legit

This post has been edited by darosha: Aug 3 2025, 08:12 PM
BUprop
post Aug 3 2025, 08:54 PM

67 posts

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ‘
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 3 2025, 11:42 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Aug 3 2025, 04:34 PM)

If the technician total loss the device when it should be repairable, then how?

they can always blame the motherboard fried already. not that customer know also.

summore they will charge customer also in certain circumstances cool2.gif
SUSskyblack4492
post Aug 4 2025, 12:07 AM

1,342 posts

Repair iphone damn profit huat ar

0.0174sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:53 PM