Safe to provide TIN for e-invoice to anyone?

TSbret7
post Jul 18 2025, 09:03 PM, updated 5 months ago

117 posts

Companies like trade brokers, ISPs, credit card banks and hospitals are asking for my TIN number.
As an individual consumer (non-business), are there benefits to giving them my number?

For ISPs, I can imagine that one day, the amount paid to the ISP will be automatically visible in our e-BE later for tax relief. But still, I don't get why it is needed for this case.
Anyway, it seems to be compulsory:
In compliance with Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri (LHDN) e-Invoice initiative, gradual on boarding of Unifi customers to e-invoicing with LHDN begins on 1 July 2025.

https://biz.unifi.com.my/others/e-invoice
For credit card banks and other establishments, I don't see the point in giving the number?
Acoen
post Jul 18 2025, 09:26 PM

296 posts

They got your name and ic enuf la, they can use default TIN
zoozul
post Jul 18 2025, 09:29 PM

98 posts

Semua sudah leak. Apa lagi nak cover?
GalaxyV
post Jul 19 2025, 11:10 AM

777 posts

TIN pun takut diberi

vhs
post Jul 19 2025, 11:52 AM

90 posts

It is not compulsory. If you don't need the e-invoice, then can choose not to give. The real question you should ask is, do you really need that e-invoice?

It is only compulsory for the companies to show they have spent efforts to obtain TIN to issue specific e-invoice to customers. But on the customer's end it is voluntary so it depends on customer own need.

This post has been edited by vhs: Jul 19 2025, 11:54 AM
Chanwsan
post Jul 19 2025, 12:15 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Yes
KenM
post Jul 19 2025, 12:36 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Acoen @ Jul 18 2025, 08:26 PM)
They got your name and ic enuf la, they can use default TIN
if not mistaken with IC , they can login to get your TIN but convenient if you provide...
nowadays more companies will start asking for it...those without will have to register with LHDN...
ktek
post Jul 19 2025, 10:58 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

supplier insist i give, even just doing small biz
SuperTuhan
post Jul 19 2025, 11:19 PM

277 posts

U just give out your TIN
Let’s say some one purchase something using your TIN , your email that registered with my hasil will get notification

Login the my invois , if it’s not yours just reject the submission
Thebestscammer
post Jul 19 2025, 11:56 PM

309 posts

cimb asking me to give but i dont really want to
they macam ugut to close acc or limit it if i dont provide
so how?
Acoen
post Jul 21 2025, 04:41 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Jul 20 2025, 01:56 AM)
cimb asking me to give but i dont really want to
they macam ugut to close acc or limit it if i dont provide
so how?
Really got such thing ugut close account mia?
armati
post Jul 24 2025, 02:27 PM

535 posts

just update my TIN later easy to tract my invoice to Claim

0.0193sec    0.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:57 AM