ibook G4 800mhz having problem..., HD problem?
TSJicco
Nov 13 2007, 03:03 PM, updated 19y ago
Hi all,
Lately I have problems starting up my ibook G4 (800Mhz).
When i listen closely, the HardDrive making lots of sounds, like grr.....click....click....
Usually, when i start the system up, i get stuck on the startup screen (gray color with apple and the spinning wheel). Somehow i have to tilt the ibook to stand 90degree for it to actually start.
Whenever i'm using it, things just load extremely slow...or not loading at all, which i, eventually, have to shut it off or restart the system.
Could this be a hard drive problem? If so, anywhere that i can get this fix or buy a new hard drive to be installed by someone skilled? How much would such work required for both the hard drive and workmanship?
ps. is there any shop in lowyat that can fix this? i mean ibook g4? thx
killerloop81
Nov 13 2007, 03:17 PM
can u send back to the dealer n ask for solution?coz mac laptop is hardly fix?
cktan27
Nov 13 2007, 03:39 PM

hi Jicco
Yes, this a HD failure symptom and i can say nearly 98% conform..Y..b cos i just had the same prob last week..
You better back-up all the important data while still can boot up
Remember dun use the disk utilities to fix b4 backup everything.
and time to change new HD..
gaijin_otoko
Nov 13 2007, 04:30 PM

jicco,
like what cktan said, better start backing up ur data coz like mine, ur hd is busted
mine was bcoz of heat; unable to start, freezing and so on
whether you bring the notebook to any apple store (dunno if they can help) or buy a new HD and install em urself by referring to ifixit.com. google for more info on that
xaw5126
Nov 13 2007, 04:31 PM
you can get new HDD installed at MacAsia 1U, VR Technology (Jalan Yap Kwan Seng, near KLCC) and certain other Apple resellers. I mentioned these cos I'm happy with their technical skills. if you want to backup your data... refer here
TSJicco
Nov 13 2007, 04:32 PM
cktan27, did you change it yourself or from someplace else?
Thanks for info guys. I just hope that i can get it done by someone else, as i don't think i have the patience to fix one, lol
oh, and another question, which type of HD that can be installed?
Thanks again
This post has been edited by Jicco: Nov 13 2007, 04:35 PM
cktan27
Nov 13 2007, 05:00 PM

i change it by myself..and luckily i bought a 250GB from forumer. oh.yrs is ibook..mine is Powerbook, last time i wanted to try help my friend change the HD inside her ibook, but after read the instruction from ifixit... i give up  it totaly dif. from Powerbook. try ifixit.com , i also refer to that site to change mine, very useful site. Just buy any 2.5" EIDE HD wil do, i always trust Western digital, but up to you choice any brand u like
tishaban
Nov 13 2007, 05:26 PM
I've done a HD upgrade on iBooks several times. It's not easy. I suggest you pay someone to do it, see xaw5126's recommendation.
TSJicco
Nov 13 2007, 05:37 PM
how much should i prepare for the installation frm professional technicians?
cktan27
Nov 13 2007, 06:05 PM

last time i ask was rm80 - rm120 to change HD + formatting.
make sure u check yr ibook when collect it back
last time i send mine for MB replace the so call professional broken 1 of my powerbook pin inside plus misplace inside and outside screw, until recently i change my HD then i realise..
gaijin_otoko
Nov 14 2007, 09:33 AM

i recommend seagate hd
quiet and cooler
djspinnet
Nov 14 2007, 09:59 AM
I recently upgraded my hard disk, done by the tech in VR Technology, costs RM100 to install.