Sri Petaling subsales
TSJszeon
Jul 13 2025, 11:50 AM, updated 6 months ago

All sifu, i just found a unit located at sri petaling. But the unit left 53 years. The SA says can convert to freehold. But another SA say its subject to approval and time consuming. I just worry that after i purchase the unit and the government is not approve on the conversion. Then i really buy it with super premium or even the government approve, i may need to top up additional premium.
Not sure whether its worth as 53 years cost me 1.2million.
icemanfx
Jul 13 2025, 12:26 PM
Only about 7000 house in Sri petaling is eligible to convert to freehold. Premium may not be cheap, many don't have cash to pay the premium.
Advised you to engage a lawyer familiar with similar case and find out premium before purchase.
Asking price is often freehold price, significantly higher than lease hold price.
This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 13 2025, 12:38 PM
SUSSihambodoh
Jul 13 2025, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(Jszeon @ Jul 13 2025, 11:50 AM) All sifu, i just found a unit located at sri petaling. But the unit left 53 years. The SA says can convert to freehold. But another SA say its subject to approval and time consuming. I just worry that after i purchase the unit and the government is not approve on the conversion. Then i really buy it with super premium or even the government approve, i may need to top up additional premium. Not sure whether its worth as 53 years cost me 1.2million. Nobody can guarantee it can be converted. Also, if the lease is not extended/converted, the state government does not owe you any compensation.
icemanfx
Jul 13 2025, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Jul 13 2025, 12:35 PM) Nobody can guarantee it can be converted. Also, if the lease is not extended/converted, the state government does not owe you any compensation. Situation in Sri petaling is unusual, leasehold was wrongly imposed by the gomen.
SUSSihambodoh
Jul 13 2025, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 13 2025, 12:37 PM) Situation in Sri petaling is unusual, leasehold was wrongly imposed by the gomen. I was replying as a general statement not specific to Sri Petaling. Too many people misunderstood the concept of leasehold and were told that they are entitled for compensation if not extended.
mini orchard
Jul 13 2025, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Jul 13 2025, 12:41 PM) I was replying as a general statement not specific to Sri Petaling. Too many people misunderstood the concept of leasehold and were told that they are entitled for compensation if not extended. If post without quoting, I agreed. 🤔 This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 13 2025, 05:08 PM
mini orchard
Jul 13 2025, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(Jszeon @ Jul 13 2025, 11:50 AM) All sifu, i just found a unit located at sri petaling. But the unit left 53 years. The SA says can convert to freehold. But another SA say its subject to approval and time consuming. I just worry that after i purchase the unit and the government is not approve on the conversion. Then i really buy it with super premium or even the government approve, i may need to top up additional premium. Not sure whether its worth as 53 years cost me 1.2million. When result is uncertain, go look elsewhere. Don't mati mati must buy SP. 1.2 million, hmm good budget. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 13 2025, 05:15 PM
rumahwip
Jul 13 2025, 08:35 PM
1.2mio is a lot of money. HG can?
thx2012
Jul 14 2025, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(Jszeon @ Jul 13 2025, 11:50 AM) All sifu, i just found a unit located at sri petaling. But the unit left 53 years. The SA says can convert to freehold. But another SA say its subject to approval and time consuming. I just worry that after i purchase the unit and the government is not approve on the conversion. Then i really buy it with super premium or even the government approve, i may need to top up additional premium. Not sure whether its worth as 53 years cost me 1.2million. No No No, dont buy. very dangerous, later cant convert you money is gone... if u have 1.2 million budget go to look for other property or new property, old house always need renovation, suggest you buy new property if u want own stay
Naruhito
Jul 14 2025, 12:58 AM
forever1979
Jul 14 2025, 04:48 PM
go to terese kok office. there is a portal lionk to land office and u key in the title particulars, then can know it can be change to freehold or not
most sri petaling can, those sri indah side cannot.
to be very sure, go look for the wilayah land office portal link and confirm. pls get from agent (later all salah agent), get from DAP or land office direct.
forever1979
Jul 14 2025, 04:49 PM
btw, rm1.2mil very steep, which zone ? renovated ?
now basic unit here asking average RM900K.
nexona88
Jul 17 2025, 06:35 PM
Rm1.2mil with balance 53years left...
Why I feels it's quite steep pricing...
I know Sri Petaling is kinda hot location.... But if indeed can get convert to FH... Then really worth....
The owners is selling future pricing ooohh
TSJszeon
Jul 18 2025, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 17 2025, 06:35 PM) Rm1.2mil with balance 53years left... Why I feels it's quite steep pricing... I know Sri Petaling is kinda hot location.... But if indeed can get convert to FH... Then really worth.... The owners is selling future pricing ooohh Yes. The SA say the owner is converting now. Seems like 100% can convert. But i checked to few sources which they all informed me that its not 100%.
TSJszeon
Jul 18 2025, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Jul 14 2025, 04:49 PM) btw, rm1.2mil very steep, which zone ? renovated ? now basic unit here asking average RM900K. Its actually very well renovated. But the remaining lease period, it really withdraw my interest already.
mini orchard
Jul 18 2025, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(Jszeon @ Jul 18 2025, 10:19 AM) Its actually very well renovated. But the remaining lease period, it really withdraw my interest already. Buying property is buying location. House condition is secondary. That location is oredi matured, so will have its pro and con. Either sell cheap with basic condition for new buyer to renew lease and reno, or Sell expensive with well reno and let new buyer renew the lease with minimal reno or just touch up. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 18 2025, 10:29 AM
nexona88
Jul 18 2025, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(Jszeon @ Jul 18 2025, 10:19 AM) Yes. The SA say the owner is converting now. Seems like 100% can convert. But i checked to few sources which they all informed me that its not 100%. Don't trust the SA 100% It's pure marketing tactics.... Do your own research.... Which already done & you found out it's not 100% success....
mini orchard
Jul 18 2025, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(Jszeon @ Jul 18 2025, 10:19 AM) Yes. The SA say the owner is converting now. Seems like 100% can convert. But i checked to few sources which they all informed me that its not 100%. The seller selling same asking price after conversion ?
mini orchard
Jul 18 2025, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 18 2025, 11:27 AM) Don't trust the SA 100% It's pure marketing tactics.... Do your own research.... Which already done & you found out it's not 100% success.... If buyer is interested, pay a deposit and put that conversion in the tnc.
nexona88
Jul 18 2025, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 18 2025, 11:57 AM) If buyer is interested, pay a deposit and put that conversion in the tnc. Don't think it's would be agreed by the selling party.... 🤔🧐