7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Buying house bypassing agent

yhtan
post Jul 10 2025, 06:00 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jul 10 2025, 02:42 PM)
Back to my orinigal question. What is your job during all these scenario that u listed? worth 40k ?
I am just asking what is the job of agent during the transaction. Can feel a lot of emotions in ur reply but u are not actually answering the question.

What did u do that justify the 2% ?

I do engage agent for properties all. For me is the safety, never know who am i dealing with and i am sure not gonna meet some stranger in empty house/shoplot. But this safety for 2% is a bit too much IMHO which is why i am asking what else did u guys do other than connecting me to potential buyer. Those paperworks which again, IMHO, is the heavy lifting in transaction which is done by lawyers.What's your role during all this?
- engage contractor to fix/repair the property damage
- advertising at online platform and find potential buyer
- advise the owner to sell at near market price, agency normally has data of last 5-10 transaction value and giving advise to owner, some owner thought their house renovated and can sell 1mil, padahal market value only 700k. Agent need to negotiate owner and reach a price agreeable by both parties.
- filtering customer, normally they can filter based on the gross income, if high DSR is not your potential customer and don't waste time on it
- Connect buyer and seller with lawyer and banker, normally different bank has different DSR ratio, buyer may fail to obtain loan from Maybank but Ambank can make it.

Basically is like a broker job, it sound easy but when u deal with it, it is quite headache especially for newbie.
mini orchard
post Jul 10 2025, 06:30 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jul 10 2025, 06:00 PM)
- engage contractor to fix/repair the property damage
- advertising at online platform and find potential buyer
- advise the owner to sell at near market price, agency normally has data of last 5-10 transaction value and giving advise to owner, some owner thought their house renovated and can sell 1mil, padahal market value only 700k. Agent need to negotiate owner and reach a price agreeable by both parties.
- filtering customer, normally they can filter based on the gross income, if high DSR is not your potential customer and don't waste time on it
- Connect buyer and seller with lawyer and banker, normally different bank has different DSR ratio, buyer may fail to obtain loan from Maybank but Ambank can make it.

Basically is like a broker job, it sound easy but when u deal with it, it is quite headache especially for newbie.
Your agents dont have to justified your commissions to sellers because the fees chargeable is transparent and governed by your Board.

If sellers think is excessive comparable to the work done, he can diy or lodge a complain to the Board.

Your agents is to close deals and get the best price for sellers but dont waste time with sellers having issues paying commission. Even if a seller wants to pay 5% commission for a poor property location and condition, musang king don't drop down straight away !

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 10 2025, 06:41 PM
Boomwick
post Jul 10 2025, 06:41 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(FappyBird @ Jul 10 2025, 11:06 AM)
This agent si the tohsuikah why I fucking hate them now, before sale say atmost 6 months can kaotim move in, now almost a year already call lawyer they said administration stuffs changed so became much longer and mafan, also told them to tell agent call me, hkc agent never called back. Before sign snp he even said if he could bring the agreement to me for signing this tohsuikah hkc
1yr also cannot kaodim?

U are ill advise? Buying a condo where strata is issued and owner did not perfect the strata, hence need double transfer.. take times lo
Cookie101
post Jul 10 2025, 06:41 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 10 2025, 08:28 AM)
And the agent is gonna do it as a free service ?
Where u get the free idea?

QUOTE(Chobits @ Jul 10 2025, 02:07 PM)
if u direct contact house owner and say u and the lawyer will kautim 100%. he will happy to the moon, becoz no need to pay agent commission.
but if u tell house owner, he need to work / do stuff for the sale, he will diu you and ask u to fly kite.
yes, agreed cause they make anthills become mountains. hantu is them, god also is them.
becoz normal ppl duno how buy / sell house works
what hantu 2 lawyers? only 1 lawyer required, if the lawyer is competent.
if the lawyer asyik nak shortcut, tak mau buat homework go find information.
then of course mau ramai2 loyar buruk to complete the job.
On a cheapskate basis, you use one lawyer who acts as the sole source just to do the transfer etc for both side.

If the terms is skewed or with added terms, u find your own lawyer. Tak pernah beli ke? This is not /k. Don’t sound your kkj like it’s a norm. One lawyer going to act in the interest of buyer or the seller? Want cheap then there’s the risk.

mini orchard
post Jul 10 2025, 07:11 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Jul 10 2025, 06:41 PM)
Where u get the free idea?
You mean paying few hundreds to get the contract out.?

No professional would want to draft a contract when he is not involved in the negotiation. In the event of a disputes, he will not be able to answer in court.

KitZhai
post Jul 10 2025, 07:15 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jul 10 2025, 03:42 PM)
Back to my orinigal question. What is your job during all these scenario that u listed? worth 40k ?
I am just asking what is the job of agent during the transaction. Can feel a lot of emotions in ur reply but u are not actually answering the question.

What did u do that justify the 2% ?

I do engage agent for properties all. For me is the safety, never know who am i dealing with and i am sure not gonna meet some stranger in empty house/shoplot. But this safety for 2% is a bit too much IMHO which is why i am asking what else did u guys do other than connecting me to potential buyer. Those paperworks which again, IMHO, is the heavy lifting in transaction which is done by lawyers.What's your role during all this?
The rules and regulations of estate agent is that 3% of sales transactions is the agent commission. And that the main reason of coz is connecting the seller and buyer.

But if you think that is it, then U really think this job is too damn easy. Why not U try becoming an agent?

To secure a deal, you didn't see that as an agent, we need to answer alot of questions. What the are the property market value, bank value, developer title, status of the strata, is the title granted, if no, why? Developer liquidated, what should you do, what required for bank loan, negotiating tenancy condition and term between 2 parties, understanding the property so that can answer the tenant/buyer such like what are the management fees, sinking fund, what is the size of the unit, what renovation can or cannot be do.

For commercial properties, what are the title of the land, what can it be done and what is prohibited, how many amp, how many tonnes of flooring, ceiling height, power point, etc etc.

If really that simple just post ads and go appointment and take money, you try come do.

I even provide after sales service that personally helps landlord to fix door, changing light bulb, replacement of furniture or and broken item inside the unit, assist on applying permit to move in/out. Guiding tenant how to make payment for sinking fund,TnB,water bill, other utilities.

And yeah, so many more things that has to be handled that you just don't know what we are actually doing.
ScooterBoi
post Jul 10 2025, 07:28 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Jul 10 2025, 12:56 PM)
Without an agent, definitely boleh. That's how my hubby and I bought current join with joint account.

But I would strongly urge to get the same lawyer, meaning buyer and seller uses the same lawyer, so that reduces the back and forth hassle, this is where having an agent comes handy, they take care that part of it as well.
Definitely can... especially if both parties know each other.

For others in house hunting, if going diy, get to understand the whole process first.

For both seller and buyer, get to know who you will appoint as your lawyer. Or you can elect to have the same lawyer. Ask friends/relatives for recommendations. Make a visit to the lawyer's office, get to know the lawyer and ask some questions on legal fees, what documents the seller have to submit, etc.

For buyer, get to know your financial first before house hunting and how much loan you can get. Approach a bank nearby, the loan officer may know the area and how much loan they can approve on the house/condo. You may have to do the legwork again after signing the s&p. The s&p will state the length of time to get the loan and complete the transaction. It will also state the penalties and late charges.

To make it more simple, as a seller, don't take booking fees. If the buyer is really serious, make appointment at the lawyer office to begin the process. The lawyer will draw up some documents and the buyer should straight away give 10% as 1st payment to the lawyer.

FappyBird
post Jul 10 2025, 07:29 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 10 2025, 11:23 AM)
This agent deserved a slap for over promising things but don't equate one to all. Maybe one day, you meet a good one.

Btw, no lawyer's allow outsider to handle signing snp outside their office. Even if it can be done, it will be by their staff for special clients.
that agent said he can bring to me for signing sia...deswai we fucking rejected that

ended up signing in the lolyar office. honestly overpriced, slow and unresponsive

after kaotim take key i will shame them on their google review, tohsuikai hkc lolyar and agents overpromise now waste other ppls time...snp stated clearly for extended period of time meaning next year also baru kaotim also can
ScooterBoi
post Jul 10 2025, 07:35 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jul 9 2025, 09:53 PM)
I saw this one for sale house with agent name and number at it.

If i direct contact the owner of said house and make other deal will it cause any problem for the house owner? (Since he already engage the agent to sell his house?)
How would you get the homeowner's phone number? He could be from another town or currently abroad... that's why he listed the house with agent.

He could oso be a very private/shy person and don't like meeting people, hence he hired an agent to handle the sale.

mini orchard
post Jul 11 2025, 12:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jul 10 2025, 07:28 PM)
To make it more simple, as a seller, don't take booking fees. If the buyer is really serious, make appointment at the lawyer office to begin the process. The lawyer will draw up some documents and the buyer should straight away give 10% as 1st  payment to the lawyer.
No buyer is really serious without paying a booking fee. He can always cancel the appointment if he finds a better deal.

And no seller is also really serious without a booking fee. He will sell to the next buyer with a higher offer.

To bind a person to form a formal contract, money is important consideration.

In business dealings, money talks, gentleman word sucks 😂

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jul 10 2025, 07:35 PM)
How would you get the homeowner's phone number? He could be from another town or currently abroad... that's why he listed the house with agent.

He could oso be a very private/shy person and don't like meeting people, hence he hired an agent to handle the sale.
Finding owners contact is not difficult.

But if buyer wants to contact owner, be prepared to offer better than what the agent is selling, otherwise don't bothered. No owner would want to turn away more money, no matter how busy he is ... lol.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 11 2025, 12:16 PM
adamhzm90
post Jul 11 2025, 12:44 PM

1,386 posts

I bought my subsale house without agent..

Just need a good lawyer
K555
post Jul 11 2025, 12:49 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(FappyBird @ Jul 9 2025, 10:12 PM)
Heed my advice bro, as u should heed the others too

Property agents are hamkachan pukimak setan whole family mati kind of pipul, u deal with them once u curse their entire 18 generations forever

Tldr, if u can dun deal with poorperty agents
wow...what happen to your bitter experience?
can share?
FappyBird
post Jul 11 2025, 01:40 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(K555 @ Jul 11 2025, 12:49 PM)
wow...what happen to your bitter experience?
can share?
Over promising before sign everything can can can very fast

After signing, never bothered to call back. Now just deal with lolyar
nihility
post Jul 11 2025, 02:16 PM

1,595 posts

Many responses come from the perspective of a one-off experience with real estate agents. And if you’re only transacting once, sure—it makes sense that you might want to save on agent fees. But remember: a real estate agent exists to protect the interests of both the buyer and seller, serving as a neutral buffer if either party decides to pull out midway through the deal.

Most people only consider the best-case scenario—how much they can save. Rarely do they plan for the worst-case: what happens when things go wrong? Who steps in to safeguard your interests then? Before deciding to proceed without an agent, go look up a few real-life property deals gone bad and ask yourself—can you handle that kind of stress if things fall apart?

Secondly, a good agent isn’t just a transactional middleman—they’re a long-term strategic leverage. It’s surprising how many people overlook this. How do you leverage them? Simple: build a win-win relationship. Let the agent earn what they deserve, and in the future, when they come across a great opportunity or kan tao, who do you think they’ll call first? The cheapskate who counted every cent—or the owner who treated them with fairness?

You already know the answer.

Anchor tenants—like banks, popular F&B chains, or currency exchange networks—are often scooped up fast. But when agents can’t place all of them, who do they call next? The owner who was easy to work with. The one they trust. And the value doesn’t stop at one deal—it continues through insider access, good tenants, and deals that don’t hit the open market.

Of course, this is just my view. If you believe handling everything without an agent benefits you more, by all means—go ahead. Just remember: there are always two sides to every decision. Make sure you're prepared to live with the risks that come with going without professional representation.

GravityFi3ld
post Jul 11 2025, 04:28 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Jul 10 2025, 09:57 AM)
Wow.. say like owner are very good.

I tell u purchaser out there, it is confirm safe to use a legal REN property agent to safe guard your own deposit, be it rent or sale

U never heard of eerie story owner take multiple deposit from purchaser and disappear with all your deposit..  because u got no stakeholder (real estate agency) to protect u in case anything happen, deposit is safe.

Deal with owner, owner ask u place deposit 3% for his house direct transfer to his name, if he do 5 times to diff fella, and disappear because he need cash, u jao lok gao ad.
Usually such case is they sell super cheap one, and tell u pay deposit to their own name
have always been curious about these cases, as the buyer that has placed/paid to the owner - can't we freeze the owner account after lodging a police report then with the bank? then the hassle will be on the owner to open other account to continue the scam, but should be blacklisted by bank one by one each time the account kena frozen? unless the owner just want to quick cash and cabut - but then the property still dangling there? sweat.gif
vaksin
post Jul 11 2025, 04:37 PM

671 posts

if agent can help buy/sell property faster, so just use agent lorr..
Boomwick
post Jul 11 2025, 04:52 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 11 2025, 04:28 PM)
have always been curious about these cases, as the buyer that has placed/paid to the owner - can't we freeze the owner account after lodging a police report then with the bank? then the hassle will be on the owner to open other account to continue the scam, but should be blacklisted by bank one by one each time the account kena frozen? unless the owner just want to quick cash and cabut - but then the property still dangling there?  sweat.gif
Usually the case is despo case..
The house also mao kena lelong ad..

So he offer cheap cheap.. then purchaser naik bait..
Sekali ambik as much as he can.

Then cash out and also ready to siam ad one la
romuluz777
post Jul 11 2025, 05:30 PM

2,206 posts

Save the 3% and go direct.
KitZhai
post Jul 12 2025, 02:52 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 11 2025, 05:28 PM)
have always been curious about these cases, as the buyer that has placed/paid to the owner - can't we freeze the owner account after lodging a police report then with the bank? then the hassle will be on the owner to open other account to continue the scam, but should be blacklisted by bank one by one each time the account kena frozen? unless the owner just want to quick cash and cabut - but then the property still dangling there?  sweat.gif
U might be overseen the fact that the person isn't the owner at the first place. This is a total scam that the person acting as the owner, collecting money and cash out by a mule account.

That is why we agent exist. Not to forget we contribute 8% SST to the government also.
taitianhin
post Jul 12 2025, 03:16 AM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 11 2025, 04:28 PM)
Direct make deal with owner is not a big idea
Engage lawyer, pay lawyer the downpayment only. nothing susah
tell him once lawyer confirm with quick search/title search that he is the owner....then pay the 3% downpayment la

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:00 PM