Laptop wont turn on

TSzex90
post Jul 3 2025, 09:58 PM, updated 6 months ago

40 posts

Hi
My laptop (Dell Inspiron 5410/5418) wont turn on.

There are no power light indicator when used both original power adapter and usb-c.
Already tried hard power reset, disconnecting battery, disconnecting cmos, reseating/removing ram, even changing the ssd
Nothing working.

Anyone got any other solution for me to try?

Baconateer
post Jul 3 2025, 10:07 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Thn the motherboard could be dead.
taitianhin
post Jul 3 2025, 10:11 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 3 2025, 10:07 PM)
Thn the motherboard could be dead.
Ya. That no power light indicator probably tell all d
PaperClip224
post Jul 3 2025, 11:23 PM

198 posts

Dont mind i chip in .. i kena before, on my g3 .. cannot power on .. i plug in my power, the light (g3 plug got blue glowing rim) turn off

Press all the buttons for reset / hard reset i can find on the web, no solution .. so i open up n have a look (since no warranty d) .. found a very small dead lipas on the mobo

That fella is causing a short

After cleaning it - then ok d ... lesson learned, dont eat while working/playing on a laptop

(Disclaimer - i no expert in repairing laptop - watch youtube videos on how to remove d case etc and use eyes to check to see anything out of place)

This post has been edited by PaperClip224: Jul 3 2025, 11:26 PM
dcheah
post Jul 11 2025, 04:34 PM

OldSkool
1,462 posts

QUOTE(zex90 @ Jul 3 2025, 09:58 PM)
Hi

There are no power light indicator when used both original power adapter and usb-c.
Already tried hard power reset, disconnecting battery, disconnecting cmos, reseating/removing ram, even changing the ssd
Nothing working.

Since you are able to disconnect the CMOS battery... did you dismantle the entire mainboard for cleaning ?

Sometimes a small dust or food residues maybe the root cause, use Isopropyl alcohol to clean it.
And you might want to refresh the CPU thermal paste too.

Hope this helps... cool2.gif

Intrigue
post Jul 28 2025, 08:53 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

Try remove the RAM and see if there is any beeping sounds or disconnect the LVDS cable for the LCD
netmatrix
post Jul 28 2025, 09:26 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,735 posts

If you tried everything listed there, then the board is confirmed fried. But it could be repaired though.
Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28
post Jul 29 2025, 05:05 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(zex90 @ Jul 3 2025, 09:58 PM)
Hi

Nothing working.

There is nothing more you could do anymore. Motherboard needs to be sent for repair. Plaza Imbi shop can do it.
Paul13579
post Aug 1 2025, 07:05 AM

24 posts

If there are no lights at all, not even a blink from the charging LED, it’s likely a motherboard issue. Since you’ve already ruled out RAM, SSD, battery, CMOS, and power sources, there’s not much left to test without specialized tools. You could try disconnecting everything except for the power button and motherboard to see if you get any response. If nothing, time to consider a motherboard replacement or professional diagnostic
jimkayle
post Sep 25 2025, 02:31 AM

23 posts

Since there’s no power light at all and you’ve tested both USB-C and barrel charger, the fault is likely before the boot process even starts. Common causes on that Dell model are a failed power delivery board or a blown fuse on the motherboard. If you’re comfortable, a technician can check for voltage at the charging port, otherwise it’s best to send it in.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 26 2025, 08:37 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,906 posts

QUOTE(Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28 @ Jul 29 2025, 05:05 PM)
There is nothing more you could do anymore. Motherboard needs to be sent for repair. Plaza Imbi shop can do it.
Was it expensive to repair motherboard? 🐝🐝🐝
Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28
post Oct 27 2025, 10:27 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 26 2025, 08:37 PM)
Was it expensive to repair motherboard? 🐝🐝🐝
For power issues, the usual repair costs range around RM150 or more/less. Price may vary depends on the extent of the damage.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 11:08 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,906 posts

QUOTE(Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28 @ Oct 27 2025, 10:27 AM)
For power issues, the usual repair costs range around RM150 or more/less. Price may vary depends on the extent of the damage.
Noted, thank you 🙂👍🐝
acbc
post Oct 27 2025, 11:13 AM

9,052 posts

Power MOSFETs fried.

Need to change. Easily over 150-250 at Digital Mall.

0.0138sec    1.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:44 PM