Is property investment still worth it?

thx2012
post Jul 6 2025, 03:41 AM

877 posts

for my 2 cent, depend the location. if good location just keep it and renting it out.

for renovation cost u can just do simple renovation and rent it out budget dont over 20k.

for agent fee u can try to save, u just subscrbe Iproperty or property guru,find tenant by yiou self, every year if tenant renew, u just do by youself, of course if something Rosak u need help tenant repair.

After 30 years this house is belong to you, still worth it
thx2012
post Jul 7 2025, 07:06 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(Haiwelcome @ Jul 7 2025, 11:57 AM)
Low budget renovation cost means having basic lighting (mostly under lit), from my experience as landlord and tenant, unit for rent with minimal and basic lightings very hard to attract good tenant. Imagine you as a tenant u pay monthly rental but only given basic minimal lighting sometimes not enough illumination. Why tenant dont deserve proper lighting is it? Tenant also pay what. Low budget renovation would attract low quality tenant e.g. foreign workers, single new workforce and such etc. If you renovate with proper ligthing, fans, aircond and most importantly proper kitchen cabinet, you defenitely will attract better tenant. Some of unit for rent gives only basic lighting and kitchen cabinet that seems only suitable for banglas and nepals willing to rent.

Self handling tenancy is easier said than done. Unless you are full time in property investment and have time and effort to spend on this.

Renting for 30 years can lah. By reaching retirement age, the unit is fully-settled loan bank. But have to endure and face all this renting issues for 30 years.
Renovation 20k++ not mean u are not design you own house, why must spend 40k 60k only can get nice look you condo? you can DIY buying Yellow Light, put Wall Paper or nice Colour Painting with Low Cost, go for Shopee or DIY buying the stuff to design you own house, just make u house look like hotel feel enough already.

for the Furniture can buy with Cheap price at Shopee or AEON, Mydin, not ask you everythihng buy Branded

for Lighting can install 3 Colour Light with little diamond, normally the new condo already have Kitchen Cabinet, Digital lock, Aircond, Water heater, so install Light, Fan, buy Sofa, Bed, Wardrobe, Table, Dining Set is not expensive, can get the cheap one.

Think youself how to make it Classic Feel but with low cost

For Tenant issue, that why you must select the location is good and look for good tenant, not people ask u rent to Bangladesh, Nepal, u can rent to Uni Student, Working Adult, Family etc.
thx2012
post Nov 28 2025, 02:01 AM

877 posts

Only Certain area worth to invest

for example
Desa Park City can rent to Own Stay Foreigner,
Sunway can rent to Student,
Bangsar can rent to Foreigner Working Adult,
Velocity can rent to Local Working Adult