Marriage between Malaysian and Japanese, Question

If you are a Malaysian married to a Japanese, should you learn Japanese? Why?

Yes. [ 33 ] ** [86.84%]
No. [ 5 ] ** [13.16%]
Total Votes: 38
Guests cannot vote 

SUSHoka Nobasho
post Jun 30 2025, 09:27 AM, updated 5 months ago

875 posts

If you are a Malaysian married to a Japanese, should you learn Japanese? Why, or why not?

A sample answer from a Japanese person:

If a couple is living in Japan or plan to do so, then I think they must be able to speak at very least to the level where it's comfortable enough to take care of one's living independently without relying on any other language or machine translators. More so if their spouse's family can't speaking their language, and even more so when they're having kids.

But in my case, while all of the above applies, it's a struggle so far, so much so that it's one of my biggest concern, despite we both share the view above even before marriage. In fact, she hates this situation more than I do because of her first-hand experience as a typical second-gen immigrant who's being put in the situation where she perpetually needs to supported her own parent and all the mess it creates further down, on paper works of all kinds and medical situation, etc etc. It sounds very messy and concerening to say at least. However, I add more anxiety, pressure and discouragement onto her learning journy, so that is NOT helping her. I pick up on every mistake she makes, and also there'a a fact that I have experienced acquiring English, so I naturally get frustrated when she's not trying as hard as I did in exactly the same way I did despite the situational differences, and acknowledgement that each people learns language differenlty. (My fluent foreign freinds tells me I'm too harsh.) I also hate and do not believe in negative enforcement on any learning activity. Welp, it isn't the life-death situation so I'm trying to change perspective on that though.

TBH I'm more concerned rn about me being unable to converse with her parents without her as a translator. Maybe I should concentrate on what I can controll and just have a faith in my wife, you know. She's a great teacher for me so that also helps.

Edit: part in capital letters, and elaboration

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Jun 30 2025, 09:31 AM
Baconateer
post Jun 30 2025, 09:33 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

That depends on where you are living?

in Japan? Compulsory.

in Malaysia. Nope, but encouraged.
kcchong2000
post Jun 30 2025, 11:10 AM

189 posts

There no disadvantage to learn a language that you will be using when u balik inlaws kampung.

So why not?
mini orchard
post Jun 30 2025, 11:47 AM

14,511 posts

Is auto learning and not yes or no. Similar to the spouse to be.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 30 2025, 11:48 AM
netflix2019
post Jun 30 2025, 12:03 PM

413 posts

i more salute those that refuse to learn other language. The language your other half punya family use.

You wont be able to achieve this unless u are actively discourage yourself from learning it.

Another golden rule. If your spouse or families tried to nitpick your language skill, tell them to fuck off. It's a passive aggressive way to get submission from u. They drag u to unfamiliar ground and then beat u up with experience, that's exactly what it is. Bullies with low self esteem always do shit like that.
galkelly
post Jun 30 2025, 12:17 PM

751 posts

Learn new thing ...why not
mowlous
post Jun 30 2025, 12:21 PM

542 posts

I'm already learning japanese for work, if I get japanese moi moi my only concern is if parents can accept or not, because of history some parents even though family tree aren't part of what happen in ww2 will still be kinda against a jap waifu simply because of history.

Its also very easy to detect, just look at sushi restaurant, you rarely see the ww2 gen lepak those place or like sushi. But the 80's and 90's gen LOVE japanese culture and food.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Jun 30 2025, 01:09 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 30 2025, 12:21 PM)
I'm already learning japanese for work, if I get japanese moi moi my only concern is if parents can accept or not, because of history some parents even though family tree aren't part of what happen in ww2 will still be kinda against a jap waifu simply because of history.

Its also very easy to detect, just look at sushi restaurant, you rarely see the ww2 gen lepak those place or like sushi. But the 80's and 90's gen LOVE japanese culture and food.
what is "ww2 gen"?
sakuraboo
post Jun 30 2025, 01:10 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Would be nice to learn

But my brain can only manage so much

So I don't really bother if can't
nelson969
post Jun 30 2025, 01:10 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Jun 30 2025, 01:09 PM)
what is "ww2 gen"?
Those are the era that time japan economy boom and dubbed world best 1 , a lot ppl idolised japan and happen to be ww2 generation
anakkk
post Jun 30 2025, 01:11 PM

2,111 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Jun 30 2025, 01:09 PM)
what is "ww2 gen"?
world war 2 :X
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Jun 30 2025, 01:13 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Jun 30 2025, 01:11 PM)
world war 2 :X
You mean ppl born before 1940? How old already wanna go walk around?
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Jun 30 2025, 01:42 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Japanese girls want Malaysia man ? Seriously? Even China Siam Viet come here doing gold diggers & fly back to their homeland ASAP
Hansel
post Jun 30 2025, 02:12 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Jun 30 2025, 01:42 PM)
Japanese girls want Malaysia man ? Seriously? Even China Siam Viet come here doing gold diggers & fly back to their homeland ASAP
Msian men are more 'gentlemanly' and considerate than their men.

Knowing Japanese allows you bigger opportunities to win her heart. biggrin.gif
anakkk
post Jun 30 2025, 02:24 PM

2,111 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Jun 30 2025, 01:13 PM)
not me but it is @mowiuos san
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Jun 30 2025, 02:24 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 30 2025, 02:12 PM)
Msian men are more 'gentlemanly' and considerate than their men.

Knowing Japanese allows you bigger opportunities to win her heart.  biggrin.gif
Careful guys, love scam many times these days
mowlous
post Jun 30 2025, 03:26 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Jun 30 2025, 01:13 PM)
The 65 - 70++ group la ..... they are the generation that is still pantang against jap for the invasion. Its also the first gen that was advice by their elders to stay away from picking japanese girls as waifu.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Jun 30 2025, 03:48 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 30 2025, 03:26 PM)
The 65 - 70++ group la ..... they are the generation that is still pantang against jap for the invasion. Its also the first gen that was advice by their elders to stay away from picking japanese girls as waifu.
Let them watch, "Ruby chan..."
Lurker
post Jun 30 2025, 08:44 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Can ask Ong Yew Sin

metalfire
post Jun 30 2025, 11:23 PM

1,289 posts

You will one day need to learn some basic Japanese and you will travel back to Japan as a family. You don't want to be left out from your wife's culture.

0.0428sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:42 AM