Honor HONOR Magic V5 Snapdragon 8 Elite

kehadapan
post Aug 10 2025, 02:25 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(StarduztArc @ Aug 6 2025, 04:36 PM)
For me, major upgrade from Xperia 1 IV. Suffered from terrible Snap8 Gen 1 chip and overheating.
Now can get signal in places previously die die also can't receive lol.

Features wise still getting the hang of it, Honor AI is quite helpful, Triple tab screen is crazy lol.
MagicOS is almost like iOS, so just have to get used to it.

Was deciding between all the China phone OS for so long until realizing V5 is launching  biggrin.gif

Steep price for phone, but am really satisfied so far.
Otherwise I'd probably holding a Find X8 Pro right now lol.
definitely a major upgrade, I used Xperia 1 IV as well. random overheating despite changing a few in settings just not to make it overheat.
its a great device, but it being brought down by its chipset and expensive AF price.

steep price but it do come with good warranty coverage tho

QUOTE(etseleste @ Aug 10 2025, 12:53 PM)
Better than I had expected, otherwise I would have traded in by now. And I'm coming from pixel and Samsung. I did research from reddits and hardwarezone forum on the pros and cons of magic OS.I checked out Reddit and HardwareZone to see what people were saying—the good and the bad—about Magic OS. YouTubers review were mostly very biased. Can't expect much from paid partnership.

Hopefully more apps are optimized for foldable viewings, which is no fault of android. Lazada and shopee look so messy and horrible in foldable mode, even after changing the aspect ratio.

And I would have preferred the biometric finger print scanner to be on the screen similar to pixel, not at the side frame.
i would say if honor decide to place biometric fingerprint scanner on the screen, it wont achieve the thin ratio that we are enjoying right now.
its a compromise that user have to take.

i wish more local seller bring in accesories for the v5, but most of the seller is located in China lol
kehadapan
post Aug 10 2025, 07:28 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(GagalLand @ Aug 10 2025, 02:36 PM)
The only dissatisfaction is that why the logo is not Samsung
Ikr, imagine their os slap into this device

It will be awesome!
kehadapan
post Aug 11 2025, 02:46 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(greenzscoot @ Aug 11 2025, 09:06 AM)
morning guys.. needs some help. actually where can i find setting to enable keypad tone? tongue.gif need tone while typing  icon_rolleyes.gif
Go into GBoard settings > Preferences > Sound on keypress
kehadapan
post Aug 11 2025, 02:48 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Aug 11 2025, 10:02 AM)
not everyone need the speaker thou, i personally prefer cash rebate. the harman kardon can get in carousell with new one for rm500 now if you are lucky enough.  smile.gif
A little bit of rebate if you able to sell speaker near the rrp. But now theres alot of that speaker being listed lol, so not worth selling.

I intended to sell mine but after looking at those listing, decided to keep it myself for future home later.
kehadapan
post Aug 11 2025, 04:16 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Aug 11 2025, 02:56 PM)
ya wei, better use yourself, the price war is real.
Ya its harman kardon some more, not capalang speaker mia brand
kehadapan
post Aug 11 2025, 08:40 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(greenzscoot @ Aug 11 2025, 07:20 PM)
Guys mind your share casing for magic v5 ? I takut calar  😆
you can use the casing provided what

or you browse lazada/shopee/aliexpress

local seller only have v3 as for now
kehadapan
post Aug 14 2025, 12:58 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Aug 13 2025, 03:27 PM)
hi got one question to ask .. the phone cannot set different lock and home screens for both the inner and outer display ? been trying to figure that out ..
i dont think foldable allows that. they are essentially the same screen in android OS pov.

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Aug 14 2025, 12:28 AM)
Ouch.. So V5 still has notification delayed issue, that's one of the reason I switched to Fold 6 last time 😅

Guess they freeze the apps from background running to conserve battery
for now i didnt face any delayed notification. i get all notification just fine.

kehadapan
post Sep 3 2025, 09:21 AM

488 posts

New update is out
kehadapan
post Sep 9 2025, 11:55 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Sep 7 2025, 12:59 PM)
About to make the purchase. This will be my first foldable but my real concern is the camera bulge. Is it easyly scratched? Or damaged? And will it be top heavy? How is the distribution of the weight? Comfortable to hold for long?

Have been going to the shop a number of time but still cannot get answer to these. Appreciate answer from owner
i believe that the camera glass is not easy to scratch and damage, unless you rough the phone up. that way any sort of protection will fail.

due to camera bulge, the top is heavy. but still the phone is light on hand.

i have no problem holding it for a long time, folded or unfolded. experience may vary.

i suggest you got to honor shop to feel it yourself. dont just blindly buy, later will regret.
kehadapan
post Sep 10 2025, 10:01 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Sep 10 2025, 09:15 PM)
Thank you for the input. Yes I had tried the phone in the shop a number of time but not sure if I hold them a long time like when playing games or reading it will affect the feel.

Based on the reviews just want to know whether the AI on photos is really bad? From the photos I took in the shop seem to be fine. What about lowlight photo? And do sound light when recording video?
this phone is definitely not for gaming, although you may want to try since it has sd 8 elite.
i personally dont game on phone unless i needed to, probably gonna try mlbb due to its screen size.
for media consumption, reading is fine.

keep in note that some apps on display might be too large when unfolded, you just need to get to used to that.

onto camera.
for the AI thingy, you can turn it off in camera settings. turning on the motion sensing in auto mode will turn on the AI temporarily back to capture movements (AI need to read movement in motion)
camera auto mode has 3 filters in it (natural, vibrant, authentic)
you can choose whichever to suit your photographic style.

for low light photo, camera have night mode, so no worries.
also theres a pro mode as well, so you can tinker the settings through.

by the way dont believe photos snapped at the shop, the environment is well lit to trick you that the photos are good.

i dont understand the part "do sound light" question

anyway go try the phone again, play around its settings and try to hold the phone according to your preferences.

i own a lot of android and iphone before, and this is my 1st foldable and i do not regret one bit of purchasing it.

you can refer the review by mrmobile as well

This post has been edited by kehadapan: Sep 11 2025, 12:30 AM
kehadapan
post Sep 11 2025, 12:05 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Sep 11 2025, 11:25 AM)
Sorry most probably auto-correct again. there are report that for recorded video the sound lag, meaning that in the video the recorded sound will lag during playback.
None of that appeared in my video recording, all work just fine.

I uploaded some of my recorded video during the 1st month using the phone.

https://imgur.com/a/XMdckEX
kehadapan
post Oct 8 2025, 12:04 AM

488 posts

where to register lol
kehadapan
post Oct 9 2025, 12:13 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(orenji @ Oct 8 2025, 08:53 PM)
U guys know if v5 play game unfold, can adjust the game to normal ratio instead of full screen? I saw china version can but not sure malaysia version
The only workaround i figured is use the display cutout option for app or game, but this only reduced screen estate a bit
kehadapan
post Nov 3 2025, 04:53 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(ryfo @ Nov 3 2025, 04:06 PM)
just bought my honor magic v5. any case without hinge protection to recommend
Look at shopee / lazada, theres several cases w/o hinges protection sold. Got local sell but clear case.
kehadapan
post Nov 4 2025, 11:46 AM

488 posts

New security patch is up
kehadapan
post Nov 4 2025, 02:22 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Nov 4 2025, 12:57 PM)
how to check/update? nothing on mine. software update - you're up to date - 9.0.1.159
idk here's mine

You might want to check out the tryout version
kehadapan
post Nov 21 2025, 10:16 PM

488 posts

Lads and gents, fly awayy

Go to tryout version

This post has been edited by kehadapan: Nov 21 2025, 10:17 PM
kehadapan
post Nov 26 2025, 09:01 PM

488 posts

theres new os update version
kehadapan
post Nov 30 2025, 12:17 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Nov 29 2025, 08:11 PM)
What's new with Magic OS 10?
from gemini

1. AI and smart features
Calling assistance: The Yoyo AI assistant can transcribe, summarize, and translate conversations in real-time. It also detects and flags fake, impersonating, or scam calls.
AI security: Features include real-time voice cloning and deepfake detection for calls and videos, along with a "whitelist" for important calls.
Magic Portal: Allows for one-handed operation, including using text or images to find relevant apps and services.
AI Screenshot: Captures content and recommends relevant actions or apps instantly.
AI writing and editing: Includes advanced text features for notes, writing assistance, and AI-powered photo editing tools like AI cutout and outpainting.
AI Screen Suggestions: Captures content from the screen to generate summaries or create new content.

2. User interface and personalization
Transparent design: Features a transparent UI with layered screens and motion-triggered interactive elements.
Customizable lock screen: Offers cinematic visuals and personalized clock styles.
Revamped Control Center: Includes a new, more customizable design with redesigned icons.
Enhanced animations: The user interface is smoother with faster app opening and closing animations.

3. Connectivity and performance
HONOR Connect: Enables seamless connection and interaction with nearby devices, including data transfer and answering calls on other devices like tablets or PCs.
Turbo X performance engine: An updated performance engine that optimizes system performance and storage.
5G support: Updated models support a wider range of 5G frequency bands for better international connectivity.

4. Other notable features
Enhanced security: Includes phantom connection detection and updated lock screen password interface.
AI Subtitles: Can generate and add subtitles to videos with adjustable settings.
Eye tracking: Available on specific models with dual camera layouts to enable features like eye-tracking.

0.0193sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:16 AM