This post has been edited by wei: Jun 19 2025, 05:46 PM
Mac mini M4 Internal SSD Upgrade 256 -> 2TB
Jun 19 2025, 05:46 PM, updated 6 months ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
Be sure you backup before start. SSD have many type in the market now, mostly no brand. Aim for those came out later where they have improve the design drastically.
This post has been edited by wei: Jun 19 2025, 05:46 PM |
Jun 22 2025, 09:36 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,716 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Which SSD did you get ?
I got the JCID Mac mini SSID (1TB) with kioxia nand. Supposedly a 10 layer pcb which wouldn’t fail as fast as earlier 4 layer ssd. Seems to work well and I’ve managed to restore the OS from DFU. All that’s left is to restore it from a Time Machine. |
Jul 2 2025, 11:43 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,716 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Done restoring the Mac Mini M4 with my time machine file.
All up and running now. 1TB detected and I've already used nearly 50% of the storage 1. My Mac mini desk setup is nearly done. Via Moonlight, I can utilize Mac and Windows at pretty much the same time using the same keyboard/mouse. M4 works really well as a client (moonlight) while my windows desktop works as a host (Apollo). Now I can have the best of both worlds (productivity + a bit of gaming) ![]() 2. 1TB drive was purchased from JCID https://www.jcprogrammer.com/product/mac-mi...ptor-pcb-board/ Hope this will last. Here is the more info on the mac mini showing the 994.66GB ![]() Speed wise it's pretty good. Faster than the 256GB SSD originally in the MacMini ![]() 3. Managed to make a dual monitor (27") setup work on my 1.1meter short desk. Partly possible because of how little space the Macmini takes. Still missing some small speakers for it. Mac mini speaker leaves much to be desired. Will be getting some micro sized iloud speakers over the weekend. ![]() 4. I got the 10gbps upgrade port for the macmini too. Seems to be working fine. No matter how good wireless connection is, it certainly can't beat the speed and stability of a wired connection. ![]() This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jul 3 2025, 12:11 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0120sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:33 PM |