Govt: Male should play part in fertility, less focus women, focus male

TSnelson969
post Jun 17 2025, 09:41 PM, updated 6 months ago

321 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...n-says-minister

GEORGE TOWN: The government’s new drive to increase fertility rates is now focussed on men, says women, family and community development minister Nancy Shukri.

Speaking after her ministry’s event in Seberang Jaya today, she said the government has begun running roadshows focused on male fertility, starting in Sabah.

“We need men to realise it is not because of women alone that the fertility rate is low,” she said, adding the government would bring in a “celebrity” doctor to help in its efforts to raise awareness.

Nancy said the government, through the National Population and Family Development Board, was also offering in vitro fertilisation and fertility services to both men and women.

She said an ageing population by 2030 was a real concern and urged both genders to reflect on their roles in raising the birth rate.

According to the 2024 ESCAP Population Data Insights, the country’s total fertility rate (TFR) rose slightly from 1.6 to 1.7 last year but remains below the replacement level of 2.1.

A TFR of 1.7 means that, on average, each woman is having fewer than two children. For a population to replace itself without relying on immigration, the TFR needs to be 2.1.

According to the statistics department’s latest numbers, Sabah’s birth rate is the lowest in the country, dropping from 5.5 children per woman in 1980 to just 1.4 in 2022, well below the replacement level of 2.1.

While Terengganu registered the highest TFR at 2.9, Penang and Kuala Lumpur recorded the lowest at 1.2.

Meanwhile, Nancy said caregiving was another key factor in deciding whether a couple would want to have a baby.

She said the government was now trying to develop a recognised professional caregiving industry and urged the public to treat carers as professionals, not servants.

She said better pay and training could encourage more youths to join the field.

“I personally experienced it with my mother. It is very difficult to get people to be caregivers,” she said.

i dont understand what she mean ? male in malaysia should be soft rice and househusband now ?

glad to see malaysia = japan = korea = sg now, all share same problem , low birth rate

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...n-says-minister

This post has been edited by nelson969: Jun 17 2025, 09:42 PM
statikinetic
post Jun 17 2025, 09:43 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Increasing fertility is easy.

Push religion. Lower education.

Instant zerg formula.
Ramjade
post Jun 17 2025, 09:45 PM

24,418 posts

Tax so much, who want to have kids. Lower cost of living and then you see people have kids.
SUSSam Loo
post Jun 17 2025, 09:45 PM

Mcdani will subsidize if I don't pull out?
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 17 2025, 09:46 PM

156 posts

ada wang, ada ahmoi

Only about 10 percent of men aged 21 to 30 with annual incomes below 2 million yen ($13,400) get married, underscoring the need for wage hikes to lift Japan’s low birthrate, the labor ministry said.

And for men aged 26 to 30 who were paid 3 million yen or more a year, the marriage rate was around 40 percent.
https://www.asahi.com/ajw/articles/15021060
SUSSam Loo
post Jun 17 2025, 09:46 PM

Be prepared for your quality of life to drop when you have a kid.

SUSipohps3
post Jun 17 2025, 09:47 PM

1,974 posts

MONEY MONEY MONEY solve most of fertility problem

no need roadshow waste taxpayer money

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jun 17 2025, 09:48 PM
DarkAeon
post Jun 17 2025, 09:47 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jun 17 2025, 09:43 PM)

Instant zerg formula.
it's kinda strange that the poorest are usually also the most virile. some say they don't have any other form of entertainment. maybe there are some truths in it
Taikor.Taikun
post Jun 17 2025, 09:48 PM

1,019 posts

High cost of living how??? Raising kids no need money?

Priority should be given to fixing the economy to create more jobs n higher paying jobs
gaeria84
post Jun 17 2025, 09:50 PM

837 posts

Thanos was right

Slowpokeking
post Jun 17 2025, 09:53 PM

19 posts

Lower the age of employment la.

If kids can start work at 12 maybe people don’t mind having more kids as they can start feed themselves earlier.

This post has been edited by Slowpokeking: Jun 17 2025, 09:53 PM
JohnL77
post Jun 17 2025, 09:56 PM

1,887 posts

Hire celebrity doctor to increase awareness of what? That celebrity doctor going to raise our kids? That celebrity doctor got 14 children like Yi Long Ma?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2025, 09:45 PM)
Tax so much, who want to have kids. Lower cost of living and then you see people have kids.
Election time promise lower cost of living. After election remove subsidy, increase tax.

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 17 2025, 09:47 PM)

Wow Terengganu richest state in Malaysia? hmm.gif Penang and Kuala Lumpur the poorest? hmm.gif
Ickythump
post Jun 17 2025, 09:59 PM

544 posts

melay easy can breed 2-3 no problem , gov always can help them all sort of thing

other race need to 'pack own cloths'
GOPI56
post Jun 17 2025, 10:04 PM

1,495 posts

PMX goverment is fucking rakyat from all sides, taking money away from all corners….

And they expect rakyat to have more kids…😅😅
SUSipohps3
post Jun 17 2025, 10:06 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jun 17 2025, 09:56 PM)
Wow Terengganu richest state in Malaysia?  hmm.gif Penang and Kuala Lumpur the poorest?  hmm.gif
cannot compare like that. quality of service and cost of living different in different places.

a landed in Terengganu may only need say 1k monthly repayment.

in KV maybe need 4k monthly repayment
Roman Catholic
post Jun 17 2025, 10:08 PM

3,520 posts

Nancy apa susah ? Get your DPM to bring in more Rohingyas la. Surely you guys will be happy governing them in the future right ?
jueiri
post Jun 17 2025, 10:12 PM

158 posts

She is stupid. What a stupid national population policy with a hidden aim to create more earth princes and princess.

Gomen shud first improve the raykats standards of living and disposable income.

M40s and T20s not want breed more cuz wanna save resources.

But these geng rezeki B40 keeps breeding without 2nd thought. Gomen resources keep pouring onto these b40s.
It'll form vicious cycle never ending cycle. It will eat a huge chunk into gomen coffer.

Geng rezeki gonna pump up the population numbers anyway without even these crap policies.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Jun 17 2025, 10:13 PM

1,861 posts

bull sht minister, the fact is always about money and quality of life. tax relief for self and children how many years didn't review ?

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Jun 17 2025, 10:14 PM
statikinetic
post Jun 17 2025, 10:20 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 17 2025, 09:47 PM)
it's kinda strange that the poorest are usually also the most virile. some say they don't have any other form of entertainment. maybe there are some truths in it
I would think being poor is an indicator rather than a source.
I do theorize that the impulsive and those who do things without thinking of their actions often end up poor, and have more kids than they can feed as a result.

So being poor and having more kids are a resulting effect of the type of person.
empstar2
post Jun 17 2025, 10:20 PM

193 posts

human is a ..........
xpole
post Jun 17 2025, 10:22 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

No thank u.

I can't even stand listening to crying kids and screaming kids.

Childfree for life.
JohnL77
post Jun 17 2025, 10:23 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 17 2025, 10:06 PM)
cannot compare like that. quality of service and cost of living different in different places.

a landed in Terengganu may only need say 1k monthly repayment.

in KV maybe need 4k monthly repayment
Why everybody living in KV?
adamtayy
post Jun 17 2025, 10:24 PM

1,400 posts

Easi..

Import viet / cambodia / laos female to reproduce..
sakuraboo
post Jun 17 2025, 10:24 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Oi cepat la beranak

Siapa nak bayar kwsp nnt?

Hahaha
TSnelson969
post Jun 17 2025, 10:25 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jun 17 2025, 10:24 PM)
Easi..

i think viet a lot now, the other 2 not sure
Emily Ratajkowski
post Jun 17 2025, 10:25 PM

444 posts

If you have a kid, give 5 years tax reduction to 15%. I guarantee every 5 years sure got new kid.
JohnL77
post Jun 17 2025, 10:30 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jun 17 2025, 10:08 PM)
Nancy apa susah ? Get your DPM to bring in more Rohingyas la. Surely you guys will be happy governing them in the future right ?
QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jun 17 2025, 10:24 PM)
Easi..

Sabah 遥遥领先!

Half of Sabah’s population may be stateless by 2030, warns expert
SUSipohps3
post Jun 17 2025, 10:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jun 17 2025, 10:23 PM)
Why everybody living in KV?
go ask gov why plan all economy in that area lor. i also hope my hometown got more jobs.
lopo90
post Jun 17 2025, 10:45 PM

695 posts

This is the real problem but nobody is doing anything about it
JohnL77
post Jun 17 2025, 10:47 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 17 2025, 10:45 PM)
go ask gov why plan all economy in that area lor. i also hope my hometown got more jobs.
Me too. In other words, politicians all talk cock only la, they don't have any solutions.
ListenToTheWind
post Jun 17 2025, 10:48 PM

453 posts

Buat la policy "Kerajaan bayar loan umah u bagi setaip bayi u bikin"
danielmckey
post Jun 17 2025, 11:09 PM

1,053 posts

Kata tutup aurat. Sekarang nak ajar piap pulak.
abm
post Jun 17 2025, 11:11 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Jun 17 2025, 10:25 PM)
If you have a kid, give 5 years tax reduction to 15%. I guarantee every 5 years sure got new kid.
If a person doesn’t make much (less income tax deduction). I don’t think they are willing to have kids just for that 15% (low income means the 15% tax won’t save a lot)
If they make a lot. They will have kids with or without 15%.
There may be some people who will go for it. I don’t think many will.

This post has been edited by abm: Jun 17 2025, 11:12 PM
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 17 2025, 11:12 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 17 2025, 09:47 PM)
how hard is it to digest this

life of modern urbanized slaves earning meagre M40 wages

5.30am wake up
6.30am go out to work to avoid jam
8-5pm work
5pm-7pm OT
8pm drive to home
9pm reach home, shower, play phone see Tiktok a bit
11pm sleep

eat cheap B40 foods which is high in carbs, and poor in zinc, magnesium and protein

weekend sleep 10 hours, lazy to exercise, overeating

rinse and repeat

want to have morning wood also hard

let alone pancut quality sperm

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 17 2025, 11:13 PM
zerorating
post Jun 17 2025, 11:15 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

okay, salah lelaki dulu.
@@@@@@@@@@
post Jun 17 2025, 11:49 PM

legalize rape, sure lots of babies will be crrated.
damonlbs
post Jun 17 2025, 11:53 PM

487 posts

get rid of school and university

everyone no need to study

fertility sure shoot up
novblaze
post Jun 17 2025, 11:56 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 17 2025, 09:47 PM)

Yindia poor but the highest populasi
abc2005
post Jun 17 2025, 11:59 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

additional kids = bumi status?
Roman Catholic
post Jun 18 2025, 06:31 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jun 17 2025, 10:30 PM)
Importing cost money. Why need to spend when Rohingyas are willing to come for free !
tatmeng
post Jun 18 2025, 06:39 AM

191 posts

First step ban condom.
Chanwsan
post Jun 18 2025, 07:45 AM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Kek now salahan male pulak
s@ni
post Jun 18 2025, 08:32 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

Instant zerg formula.
No. As below:

Subsidy for raising kids
Higher income tax deduction (currently too low) bodo mia gomen

Pasni sst apa semua. Ingat murah nak jaga anak?
hoonanoo
post Jun 18 2025, 08:50 AM

1,782 posts

Instant zerg formula.
Yes.

Should push for capability to be able to support family financially and emotionally. More classes to teach how to be a better father.

nowadays a lot of useless biforti men, marry have many children, then later children abandoned, live in car, live in chicken coop, men abuse their wives, caught in CCtv beat up wife in lift, in hospital, in shopping mall.

some just marry and many children, then later send older ones to boarding school courtesy of tax payer, then produce more...hardly involve in raising them, leave them to boarding schools to take care.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Jun 18 2025, 08:51 AM
SUSBlackscreamerz
post Jun 18 2025, 09:02 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jun 17 2025, 09:53 PM)
Lower the age of employment la.

If kids can start work at 12 maybe people don’t mind having more kids as they can start feed themselves earlier.
send the children back to mines.

but seriously, if they want high birth rate, look at how Israel did it.
JohnL77
post Jun 18 2025, 09:10 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jun 18 2025, 06:31 AM)
Importing cost money. Why need to spend when Rohingyas are willing to come for free !
Those illegal immigrants in Sabah also came for free, right?
homicidal85
post Jun 18 2025, 09:16 AM

295 posts

Instant zerg formula.
why need to lower education?

increase religious understanding and advance education.
this is the way.
ernie ball
post Jun 18 2025, 09:19 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Jun 18 2025, 09:02 AM)
send the children back to mines.

but seriously, if they want high birth rate, look at how Israel did it.
Even better, learn from Palestine. They are breeding like rabbits. Maybe we should arm PAS and will see birth rate skyrocket to 8.
samftrmd
post Jun 18 2025, 09:21 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

Useless minister. We all know it's not because of just the women. No solution, just tin kosong.
mac_mac21
post Jun 18 2025, 09:22 AM

190 posts

Means Malaysian male have weak sperm

Even puke inside uterus also the sperm have no stamina to reach ovum , half way already pancit laugh.gif
Roman Catholic
post Jun 18 2025, 09:28 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:10 AM)
Those illegal immigrants in Sabah also came for free, right?
True also.
MishimaZ
post Jun 18 2025, 09:43 AM

269 posts

Stop empowering women to make them feel they are as capable as men, and stop giving privileges at the same time because they are weaker than men.

Then if our women could be in the kitchen to provide nutritious food for their men, probably that will help out in men's fertility instead of having to makan luar every time.
sam378
post Jun 18 2025, 10:18 AM

308 posts

high cost life sommoreee
annoymous1234
post Jun 18 2025, 10:20 AM

7,617 posts

What lanjiao. Few days ago said more young father in the rise. Before that said birth rate declining. Now say this. Apa lanjiao la
ctys2012
post Jun 18 2025, 10:22 AM

280 posts

anak kau masuk sekolah antarabangsa, anak aku masuk sekolah kebangsaan saja
Autocountstick
post Jun 18 2025, 10:23 AM

675 posts

remove SST baru bincang
statikinetic
post Jun 18 2025, 10:56 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:16 AM)
why need to lower education?

increase religious understanding and advance education.
this is the way.
Beacause broadly there is a moderate inverse collrelation between religiousity and education.
While there are exeptions in minority cases, highly religious societies then to be lower on the education aspect.

But people don't look at data to draw conclusions. They already have what they want to believe and look for data to support that.
JohnL77
post Jun 18 2025, 11:06 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 18 2025, 10:20 AM)
What lanjiao. Few days ago said more young father in the rise. Before that said birth rate declining. Now say this. Apa lanjiao la
Both can be true at the same time.

Just because a few mid 20s guys chose to become fathers doesn't mean overall birth rate trend is not going down. Just like how you see some people have football team family but that doesn't mean everyone are like that. If you compare with zaman nenek moyang, having kids in mid 20s is not considered "young parents" anyway.

Ktards so bodoh, better don't breed la.
TSnelson969
post Jun 18 2025, 11:38 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:22 AM)
Means Malaysian male have weak sperm

Even puke inside uterus also the sperm have no stamina to reach ovum , half way already pancit laugh.gif
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 18 2025, 10:20 AM)
homicidal85
post Jun 18 2025, 12:38 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jun 18 2025, 10:56 AM)
Beacause broadly there is a moderate inverse collrelation between religiousity and education.
While there are exeptions in minority cases, highly religious societies then to be lower on the education aspect.

But people don't look at data to draw conclusions. They already have what they want to believe and look for data to support that.
lol. did you google to find the data but then quickly realized there is no data to back your statement so you wrote that excuse instead?

lol. atheists think they are so smart but in reality, atheists are the stupid ones.
teehk_tee
post Jun 18 2025, 12:45 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

Tetiba je salahan males lemah sepem
cycheah
post Jun 18 2025, 01:00 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(Autocountstick @ Jun 18 2025, 10:23 AM)
remove SST baru bincang
not about SST... more like increase tax reduction for M40 group only consider la... 1 year my 5years old kiddo kindergarten fee already 10k++, but deduct RM3k only... yak jiu la. Another kid in primary school daycare 8k++ per year.... not entitle to deduct since quota full already. gov memang cari pasal gaduh only.

This post has been edited by cycheah: Jun 18 2025, 01:01 PM
anakkk
post Jun 18 2025, 01:03 PM

2,119 posts

bini x kasi cucuk camner
statikinetic
post Jun 18 2025, 07:45 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 18 2025, 12:38 PM)
lol. did you google to find the data but then quickly realized there is no data to back your statement so you wrote that excuse instead?

lol. atheists think they are so smart but in reality, atheists are the stupid ones.
I didn't have to Google as the correlation is already available for conversation in the public space.

I'm not really looking to have an Internet argument in K on religious vs atheists with you. Was just answering your question as I had assumed it was coming from a curiosity to know.
vearn29
post Jun 18 2025, 07:59 PM

25 posts

male also dunwan marriage la, risk outweigh benefit
TSnelson969
post Jun 18 2025, 08:35 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(vearn29 @ Jun 18 2025, 07:59 PM)
homicidal85
post Jun 19 2025, 01:10 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jun 18 2025, 07:45 PM)
I didn't have to Google as the correlation is already available for conversation in the public space.

I'm not really looking to have an Internet argument in K on religious vs atheists with you. Was just answering your question as I had assumed it was coming from a curiosity to know.
in other words, this is what you are essentially saying:

'who cares about statistics and data? i already know everything i need to know without real information. sembang kedai kopi is the most legitimate form of information for mankind'

lol.
NicoRobinz
post Jun 19 2025, 01:27 PM

458 posts

I don't really want children too.
Khamzat Chimaev
post Jun 19 2025, 01:30 PM

50 posts

Instant zerg formula.
nah birthrate also decreasing in religious country, its all abt socio economy, a city dweller would be thinking that children are liability that incurred cost. meanwhile a simple goat herder might be thinking children as extra manpower to help around in the field as he need not to spent too much to raise then, coz his wife is a dedicated homemaker..
poooky
post Jun 19 2025, 01:33 PM

844 posts

Last time 1 income job for life can support whole family live very comfortably, buy house, but car and still accumulate millions in EPF mo issue.

Nowaday need 2 income for this life, both parents work where got time to raise also. Career also not stable, one layoff and depend on age it could be the end of career.
vaksin
post Jun 19 2025, 01:50 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Khamzat Chimaev @ Jun 19 2025, 01:30 PM)
nah birthrate also decreasing in religious country, its all abt socio economy, a city dweller would be thinking that children are liability that incurred cost. meanwhile a simple goat herder might be thinking children as extra manpower to help around in the field as he need not to spent too much to raise then, coz his wife is a dedicated homemaker..
breed goat also not easy, all can die also if unlucky.
giftfre
post Jun 19 2025, 01:54 PM

Control Macho
687 posts

Mesti laki tu dah ikat masa ambil annual leave tu.
AyamBlend
post Jun 19 2025, 03:52 PM

27 posts

people who wants to have kid will have kid
people who oppose to have kid will have tonnes of reasons too

but sooner, the thread will derail to have kids vs no kids. whistling.gif

In short, population = everything, either u import else u get an ageing society which less people culd support the future of the economy.

Yea right, we have AI now
keyibukeyi
post Jun 19 2025, 04:50 PM

150 posts

i am 1% fertile, but still succeed, Fallopian tube sumbat need to clear it, thank me later
max_cavalera
post Jun 19 2025, 05:29 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 18 2025, 12:15 AM)
okay, salah lelaki dulu.
Sarahan lelaki tara cukup humsap now…
max_cavalera
post Jun 19 2025, 05:32 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(vearn29 @ Jun 18 2025, 08:59 PM)
Male woso no moneh dun dare kejar women…

Later women found out you no moneh kasi viral and malukan you in social media kasi 1 msia tahu lol…

0.0260sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:47 PM