7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

84-hour Work Week, Low Pay: Malaysia’s Doctors

danielmckey
post Jun 14 2025, 03:27 PM

1,053 posts

Go become grab driver or panda food delivery. Why need to everyday complaining?

This post has been edited by danielmckey: Jun 14 2025, 03:28 PM
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 14 2025, 03:30 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 14 2025, 03:25 PM)
good. so doctor well paid?
good for doctor. bad for other citizen.

ai said

Medical tourism can contribute to rising local medical prices. The influx of foreign patients, often seeking lower-cost treatments, can strain local healthcare resources and potentially lead to higher prices for local residents.
Here's why:

Increased demand and resource strain:
Medical tourism increases demand for healthcare services, potentially outpacing the availability of beds, staff, and equipment, leading to higher costs for all patients.

Differential pricing:
Private hospitals, often catering to medical tourists, might charge different prices to foreign and local patients. This can create a situation where local residents face higher costs for the same services.

Focus on medical tourists:
Private hospitals may prioritize medical tourists, leading to longer wait times and less access to care for local patients.

Increased competition:
The influx of medical tourists can also increase competition among healthcare providers, potentially leading to lower prices for medical tourists but potentially higher prices for local patients as providers try to maintain their profits.

Rising costs for local consumers:
As medical tourism grows, the cost of healthcare services for local residents can rise, even if the overall costs for medical tourism are lower.

miromiro
post Jun 14 2025, 03:32 PM

560 posts

Well if you're director of own clinic
max_cavalera
post Jun 14 2025, 03:39 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jun 14 2025, 02:30 PM)
Everyone rush med degree ma, so oversupply already
This.

Doctors dont understand the basic of economics of supply and demand.

They thought once become doctor. Must auto high celery.

Well if docs too much supply until need a year or two to get housemanship placement… what does that tell ya?

max_cavalera
post Jun 14 2025, 03:43 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 14 2025, 03:20 PM)
They deserved it. They worked too damn hard. Somemore not everyone can be doctor. Must be among top students in their batch.
Yes not everyone can be doc but since gomen open the floodgates private unis and oversea unis also can do medicine… we have oversupply of docs right now.

My ex colleague last time got Mara sponsored commercial
Airline license.

Cant get into Airasia, MAS or any other airline for years. Need to bekam bank salesmen with spm basic for 3-4 years waiting only can get in…
ciwi1166
post Jun 14 2025, 03:45 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

kesian no longer glamorous profession. just like engineers.. laugh.gif
hellothere131495
post Jun 14 2025, 03:48 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Jun 14 2025, 02:00 PM)
Telling a lecturer to study until PHD, publish hundreds of research paper and tell them teach for passion not for the money and proceed to pay them 8 ringgit/ hour.

Passion doesn’t pay bills
I can 100% confirm better than doctors. And it's actually worth it (if they work in the right university, not random college).

Provided if the lecturer work in most universities in Malaysia (of course not college):

1. Do you know they don't teach everyday? They only teach 1 to 3 days. Rarely 5 days per week. And each day's lesson is just 2 hours. They spend most of the time doing nothing. Busy with research? Bullshit, their postgraduate students do for them.
2. Do you know they have flexible working hour? They can go out anytime they want (some uni got thumbprint but still they go out and lepak or back to house). Or just sit in office play game or watch youtube.
3. Do you know publication is actually easier once you have postgraduate students to help you write already. Just put your name as co author. Earn the KPI.
4. Damn their salary is NOT LOW! PhD holder can easily get RM 7k fresh graduate no experience needed. And those Associate Professors and Professors is definitely T20 people. Different uni different salary scale but some private universities are offering damn high salary.
5. Yes, they don't earn like RM50k, but based on their energy output per income amount formula, they save more energy, have lots of free time, almost no stress compared to other jobs, and earn T20 salary. You can't find such easy job with high income input in the other career. Other career that earn as much as lecturer are probably management with toxic working environment and highly stressed everyday work until midnight.
6. Lecturers got politics but you have to learn to avoid it, then you're safe.

This post has been edited by hellothere131495: Jun 14 2025, 03:49 PM
mois
post Jun 14 2025, 03:49 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 14 2025, 03:43 PM)
Yes not everyone can be doc but since gomen open the floodgates private unis and oversea unis also can do medicine… we have oversupply of docs right now.

My ex colleague last time got Mara sponsored commercial
Airline license.

Cant get into Airasia, MAS or any other airline for years. Need to bekam bank salesmen with spm basic for 3-4 years waiting only can get in…
Actually very hard to determine which degree is the future nowadays. Right now, degree in AI would be the best. But it would take 3-4 years to study. By then, who know what the future hold.

But Malaysia being Malaysia, not enough professional jobs. No choice, has to be street smart.
ryujin0x
post Jun 14 2025, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Jun 14 2025, 01:43 PM)
Say until like doctors are the on that tax healthy food on everyone. Do you even know what you’re talking haha
More sick people, less production, more drain on resources to treat more number of patients. The reason they are not being paid more is an economic reason. They will keep complaining every year that pay is not keeping up with inflation.

Plus we are also taxing precursor to medicines but we subsidize sugar/cooking oil.

The only way out is to reduce the number of patience, reduce inflation drastically (not going to happen), or Malaysia suddenly produces something great the world wants - like the next iPhone or AI etc (also think not going to happen)
MR_alien
post Jun 14 2025, 04:03 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Jun 14 2025, 03:45 PM)
kesian no longer glamorous profession. just like engineers.. laugh.gif
i think engineers more dignified
it's actually worse than fast food restaurant workers
lightislight
post Jun 14 2025, 04:22 PM

23 posts

I think I know why we always hear these complaints.
Likely these are the group of people who were told since young
"Study hard now, later become doctor, easy life d"

But then when go to the working world. None of that turns out to be true.
Work harder, need to continue study while working non-stop
Toxic environment.
Work also penat, a friend I know got into a road accident after working 36hrs, lucky no loss of life..but money fly out again

If me... I also feel kena scammed la~

ciwi1166
post Jun 14 2025, 04:23 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 14 2025, 03:48 PM)
I can 100% confirm better than doctors. And it's actually worth it (if they work in the right university, not random college).

Provided if the lecturer work in most universities in Malaysia (of course not college):

1. Do you know they don't teach everyday? They only teach 1 to 3 days. Rarely 5 days per week. And each day's lesson is just 2 hours. They spend most of the time doing nothing. Busy with research? Bullshit, their postgraduate students do for them.
2. Do you know they have flexible working hour? They can go out anytime they want (some uni got thumbprint but still they go out and lepak or back to house). Or just sit in office play game or watch youtube.
3. Do you know publication is actually easier once you have postgraduate students to help you write already. Just put your name as co author. Earn the KPI.
4. Damn their salary is NOT LOW! PhD holder can easily get RM 7k fresh graduate no experience needed. And those Associate Professors and Professors is definitely T20 people. Different uni different salary scale but some private universities are offering damn high salary.
5. Yes, they don't earn like RM50k, but based on their energy output per income amount formula, they save more energy, have lots of free time, almost no stress compared to other jobs, and earn T20 salary. You can't find such easy job with high income input in the other career. Other career that earn as much as lecturer are probably management with toxic working environment and highly stressed everyday work until midnight.
6. Lecturers got politics but you have to learn to avoid it, then you're safe.
thats why phd students almost all become lecturers. in malaysia thats the only ‘rewarding’ career path they can go.
max_cavalera
post Jun 14 2025, 04:27 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(lightislight @ Jun 14 2025, 05:22 PM)
I think I know why we always hear these complaints.
Likely these are the group of people who were told since young
"Study hard now, later become doctor, easy life d"

But then when go to the working world. None of that turns out to be true.
Work harder, need to continue study while working non-stop
Toxic environment.
Work also penat, a friend I know got into a road accident after working 36hrs, lucky no loss of life..but money fly out again

If me... I also feel kena scammed la~
Gomen doc life start going good once you are 35 and above…

I got 3 siblings doc, 1 bro in law doc. 1 pharmacist sis in law. Total 5. 2 of them specialist. 4 of them all become HoD and above edi. Quite relax oredi bekam small bos.

SUSM4A1
post Jun 14 2025, 04:27 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

on the other hand we have so many contract doctor jobless
lightislight
post Jun 14 2025, 04:30 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 14 2025, 04:27 PM)
Gomen doc life start going good once you are 35 and above…

I got 3 siblings doc, 1 bro in law doc. 1 pharmacist sis in law.  Total 5. 2 of them specialist. 4 of them all become HoD and above edi. Quite relax oredi bekam small bos.
You also say HoD and specialist.
Meaning they climbed up d
I'm pretty sure they are not in the majority and let's be honest... not everyone will achieve that

max_cavalera
post Jun 14 2025, 04:34 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(lightislight @ Jun 14 2025, 05:30 PM)
You also say HoD and specialist.
Meaning they climbed up d
I'm pretty sure they are not in the majority and let's be honest... not everyone will achieve that
At least they have job. Too many docs nowadays…

Didnt we hear stories of banglas and Bharat pipur come here work construction, cleaner job…real qualification some of them docs and pharmacies yo in their home country….

Soon maybe our docs go singki and other higher income country become cleaner and pikorja pembersihan…

Recently big famiry gathering… one of my unker got many kids, keep showering praise to my siblings and paint them like idol to his kids, asking them to study hard and bekam docs like them.

Me and wifey that know the current situation just gulpz… their time still got pension, challenging but can still rise the up…current gen time and even future gen time as docs looks murky at best with so much oversupply of docs churning out right now…. Some more no more pension scheme…

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Jun 14 2025, 04:38 PM
naTTan
post Jun 14 2025, 04:38 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Jun 14 2025, 02:19 PM)
🚨 MALAYSIAN DOCTORS NEED TO STOP CRYING. YOU’RE NOT THE ONLY ONES TIRED. 🚨
Every few weeks it’s the same story:
“I'm a doctor working 36 hours straight. No sleep. No life. Underpaid.” Boohoo.

Welcome to Malaysia — where everyone is overworked and underpaid.
You think only doctors suffer?

– Construction workers fainting under the sun for RM70/day
– Retail workers standing 12 hours to earn less than your locum
– Teachers handling 40 kids with no AC and no hazard pay

But you?
You chose medicine. You knew what it was.
You still earn more than most and flex your stethoscope on IG.

So stop pretending you're some tragic martyr. You’re tired, not tortured.
You can't dismiss the complaint by presenting other poor condition.

If there is a job that doesn't adhere to international guidelines and hours it's dangerous and wrong already.

That being said, on-call doctors are less then retail.
Do the calculations yourself.

There is a need to overhaul the medical system because it can't sustain. If you keep pushing it aside by comparing other pathway then nobody wins.
lightislight
post Jun 14 2025, 04:39 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 14 2025, 04:34 PM)

Didnt we hear stories of banglas and Bharat pipur come here work construction, cleaner job…real qualification some of them docs and pharmacies yo in their home country….

Soon maybe our docs go singki and other higher income country become cleaner and pikorja pembersihan…
Hahaha. We are still far away from that reality unfortunately.
Have you ever visited any government clinic or hospital?
See what would your waiting time will be.

So let us take a step back and see.
Doctors said they are short staffed
Government said there are too many
Only 1 can be true in this case

So if the waiting time is so long... I'm sure it is obvious which side is being truthful.

As for why not hire more then? Well next you gotta look at the budget and for that.. we know la ha
naTTan
post Jun 14 2025, 04:40 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 14 2025, 04:34 PM)

Recently big famiry gathering… one of my unker got many kids, keep showering praise to my siblings and paint them like idol to his kids, asking them to study hard and bekam docs like them.

Me and wifey that know the current situation just gulpz… their time still got pension, challenging but can still rise the up…current gen time and even future gen time as docs looks murky at best with so much oversupply of docs churning out right now…. Some more no more pension scheme…
Where la you guys get data too much doctors?

Like the government put non clinical doctors in the data despite they don't see patients?

And doctors distribution is so bad for rural area. More so with poor incentive to do the work in general also.
Lucas0323
post Jun 14 2025, 04:44 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Jun 14 2025, 01:15 PM)
Only 84 hours? I thought easily 100+ hours.
They literally eat, sleep, work and shit there.

I've never seen one happy doctor working for KKM. It feels bad paying 1 linggit and I always end up buying some fruits or food for them.
Kkm is fine on time close shop meanwhile hospital is different story.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:09 AM