[review]Thermalright IFX 14, king of aircooling

TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM, updated 18y ago

4,809 posts

Well, here is my second heatsink review on Lowyat.net. hope it is comprehensive enough. enjoy!

Technical Specs.

Heatsink Body
- Dimension : L146.2 x W124 x H161 mm (heatsink only)
- Weigh t: 790g (heatsink only)
- Recommended Fan : All 120mm & 140mm Fan

Back-side Heatsink
- Dimension : L134.5 x W163.5 x H112.6 mm (heatsink only)
- Weight : 130g (heatsink only)
- Recommended Fan : All 80mm & 70mm Fan

Compatibility
- INTEL: All Intel Socket LGA775 processors
- AMD: Athlon64 / FX / X2 / Opteron Socket AM2 processors

My First Impressions :

I got this HUGE brown box. it is approximately 2 -3times bigger than my Thermalright Ultima 90i box.Like i've stated before, Thermalright ship all their product in this clean and simple designed box. The beasts' home :

another nice big brown box!

Installation manual

like other Thermalright heatsinks, they are nicely seated in a thick layer of foam to prevent damage.

other accessories included

the beast

the HR-10!

Inferno designed fins

and of course the sexy heatpipes

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 09:27 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM

4,809 posts

you can clearly see the inferno design here smile.gif

here it is compared to the Ultima 90i. The size difference is massive

can you spot the Scythe Infinity? well the IFX14 is obviously bigger smile.gif

here it is in action!

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM

4,809 posts

Test Bed:

Processor: Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.2GHz @ 1.35 vcore
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Formula Special Edition
RAM Module: Team Xtreem DDR2 Special OPB Edition (Micron D9GMH)
Graphic Card: Galaxy 7300GT
Power Supply Unit : Silverstone Decathlon 850W
Hard Disk: Western Digital 36Gb Raptor
Operating System : Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2

Testhing Materials Used :
1. Artic Cooling MX-2
2. Silverstone FM 123 (120mm) at 1750 RPM
3. NMB 90mm fan at 2000 RPM

Testing Methods Used :
1. Each Heat Sink is tested twice(cool down is 5 minutes between each test), the average results is taken as the result.
2. The same amount and type of Thermal Paste used is kept constant for all Heat Sinks used
3. All Heat Sinks are tested with the same fans (excluding the Ultima 90i tested with a 90mm fan and the Water Cooling setup)
4. A Thermal Probe is placed at the edge of the CPU to retrieve the temperature. The Thermal Probe ensures accuracy in Temperature reading.
5. Load test were done by running ORTHOS Small FFT test priority 8 for 20 minutes. Ambient temp prior every test was be measured.

Installation :
This was a relatively easy process. It only took me 10 minutes to assemble everything on my motherboard. The fit was very good too smile.gif

The Results :

Conclusion:
The Thermalright IFX14 is an outrageous performer. The temperature readings that were taken when the thermalpaste did not sink in yet as to compared to the custom made watercooling.
Also, it was super easy to install in case anyone is wondering. the HR-10 backplate did make a difference for me, so its not a marketing thing.
Oh yes, the fins were NOT as sharp as the Ultima which made installation a tad bit easier.

Pros :
-Outstanding performer in its class
-Includes dual clips for 2 X 120mm fan installation
-Came in a very well packed box
-HR-10 is a definite plus to me. it made a difference
-It is able to run silent too with Low RPM fans as the temperature only differed slightly (not shown in results)

Cons:
-Might be a tad bit expensive for some
-Might not fit into all cases. it is pretty big

I award this Heatsink with an outstanding 9/10

A special thanks to InterAsia for providing me with this one of a kind HSF.

A special thanks to Shawty for the MX-2 Thermalpaste

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 09:44 PM
bryanyeo87
post Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

where to purchase this sink in KL?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:50 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM)
where to purchase this sink in KL?
bulk orders have them
LYp too smile.gif
gengstapo
post Nov 12 2007, 09:52 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

its nice HSf, but damn large for my case..

btw, does the fRee thermal interface doin' good job?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 10:09 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 12 2007, 09:52 PM)
its nice HSf, but damn large for my case..

btw, does the fRee thermal interface doin' good job?
haha i regret to say i did not use it sad.gif
i shall do one soon specially for you k? biggrin.gif

btw, it cudnt fit in the Lian Li PC A05 either

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 10:09 PM
gengstapo
post Nov 12 2007, 10:14 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 12 2007, 10:09 PM)
haha i regret to say i did not use it sad.gif
i shall do one soon specially for you k? biggrin.gif

btw, it cudnt fit in the Lian Li PC A05 either
what u mean there? isnt this unit been given to u or just doin' some review?

hmm i doubt i can fit into any case if the back plate IFX(smaller HSf there) fix together
sHawTY
post Nov 12 2007, 11:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM)
A special thanks to Shawty for the MX-2 Thermalpaste
Ehehehe.
Thanks for mentioning my name mate. laugh.gif

seanl
post Nov 13 2007, 10:02 AM

734 posts

i'm surprised at how effective the HR-10 is, good job mate.

so the ifx does fit the Maximus Formula....
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 13 2007, 12:23 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 12 2007, 10:14 PM)
what u mean there? isnt this unit been given to u or just doin' some review?

hmm i doubt i can fit into any case if the back plate IFX(smaller HSf there) fix together
no im saying that i didnt use the thermal paste provided smile.gif
LExus65
post Nov 14 2007, 02:35 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

this make me wander should i go for water cooling or stick to this ifx14....... but this sink really incredibly well made when i have a good touch of it at interasia show room......

TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 14 2007, 05:10 PM

4,809 posts

honestly, i would say go for this
but then again i think my WC kit is kinda dirty. maybe a fresh new one will give me better yields
intothefantasy
post Nov 14 2007, 06:46 PM

1,561 posts

this better or ultra extreme 120 better leh?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 15 2007, 11:31 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 14 2007, 06:46 PM)
this better or ultra extreme 120 better leh?
going to get one soon to compare.
but based on what i've seen hands on, i d think its better. that this is a comparison with the Ultra 120, not the Ultra 120 Extreme
intothefantasy
post Nov 15 2007, 03:10 PM

1,561 posts

i saw a review on web abt this IFX 14 says that the below part is not rata....cant make full contact on proc...

http://www.xsreviews.co.uk/reviews/cpu-coo...right-ifx-14/4/
E-J@1
post Nov 15 2007, 03:59 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 15 2007, 03:10 PM)
i saw a review on web abt this IFX 14 says that the below part is not rata....cant make full contact on proc...

LOL, every cooler in the world --> their base is not 'rata'

that's the TIM are for
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 15 2007, 09:19 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 15 2007, 03:10 PM)

thats for sure. but then again remember the IHS on ur proc isnt flat either smile.gif
blackshirt
post Nov 15 2007, 10:03 PM

Goodwell Car Detailer
1,313 posts

Great job bro, still lots of thing to go brows.gif
intothefantasy
post Nov 15 2007, 10:12 PM

1,561 posts

yea...btw i just wan to know either this better or extreme 120 better

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top