Is it normal for a soldering iron to turn red?
Jun 12 2025, 05:39 PM, updated 6 months ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
54 posts Joined: Feb 2017 |
Jun 12 2025, 05:45 PM
4,420 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
why didn't test it at the shop?
Jun 12 2025, 05:45 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,017 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
nope
Jun 12 2025, 05:47 PM
6,723 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
It should not turn red. But it happens because they used too thin or low quality steel that caused this problem. soul78 liked this post
Jun 12 2025, 05:48 PM
1,057 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No…..in fact first time I see this…..
TS better be cautious… |
Jun 12 2025, 05:52 PM
3,655 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
For quality soldering iron no, for this type of cheapo soldering iron yes.
Honestly i would recommend get a proper china brand soldering station than using this. You are going to have a very, very tough time getting any proper soldering done with this cheapo tool. |
Jun 12 2025, 05:52 PM
9,035 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Either low quality metal or coating.
Jun 12 2025, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(Lurker @ Jun 12 2025, 05:45 PM) I have already exchanged one with the seller, but it is still the same.When I changed to the second one, it looked fine after 6 minutes on site. I took it home and used it for 10 minutes and it turned like this. They said they can't refund the money, only exchange it, but I have already exchanged it once and it is still the same. They don't have any other brands. |
Jun 12 2025, 06:03 PM
Will there be any problems if I continue to use it? Is it dangerous? or does it have to be thrown away? Why would a large, legal company sell unusable products? Doesn't the government care?
Jun 12 2025, 06:08 PM
2,111 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
MR diy, must be china buat
Jun 12 2025, 06:43 PM
215 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
QUOTE(cyclopcom @ Jun 12 2025, 07:03 PM) Will there be any problems if I continue to use it? Is it dangerous? or does it have to be thrown away? Why would a large, legal company sell unusable products? Doesn't the government care? how about the tip, does it still works before the middle part turns red? |
Jun 12 2025, 06:57 PM
Jun 12 2025, 07:54 PM
1,879 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: The Long river ... |
Pakai je la.
Jun 12 2025, 08:02 PM
181 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(cyclopcom @ Jun 12 2025, 05:59 PM) I have already exchanged one with the seller, but it is still the same. then the problem is product cheap quality, nothing u can do.When I changed to the second one, it looked fine after 6 minutes on site. I took it home and used it for 10 minutes and it turned like this. They said they can't refund the money, only exchange it, but I have already exchanged it once and it is still the same. They don't have any other brands. |
Jun 12 2025, 08:12 PM
542 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I am presuming you don't have a voltage regulator and you just plug and play. Regular socket wall produce 60w and above. Your cheap solder is running about 35 - 40w range. W/O a regulator it's just going to keep heating until it melts.
Jun 12 2025, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 12 2025, 08:12 PM) I am presuming you don't have a voltage regulator and you just plug and play. Regular socket wall produce 60w and above. Your cheap solder is running about 35 - 40w range. W/O a regulator it's just going to keep heating until it melts. Will it really melt? But this product doesn't mention anything about voltage regulator. It says 60W 220~240V, does it really need a voltage regulator? |
Jun 12 2025, 09:12 PM
542 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(cyclopcom @ Jun 12 2025, 08:39 PM) Will it really melt? But this product doesn't mention anything about voltage regulator. It says 60W 220~240V, does it really need a voltage regulator? Oxidization happens much more often with cheap solder .... sooner or later the shape gonna bend. for better quality ones they have separate rod that act as a cooler between the inner and outer rod, the cheap one don't have. You can still use it, just that its kinda leceh ...... what you need to do is only turn on when you are ready to use and wait a bit. Make sure you have a wet sponge holder and a wet sponge use it to cool and clear the tip, like rub against it after a few solder points. Turn it off after finish use and don't leave it unattended until its safe to do so. Its like using a manual car, just make sure when its red hot the thing touch nothing .....that is when you have the solder holder to keep it in place. Idk if there is any master sifu solder expert here, for me I already have regulator that I can adjust and also a safety volt moderator for my pc after thunder fry my com last time ....... I can adjust the voltage so I can just turn it on and use whenever I want. Originally I bought one also from mr.diy and plug directly to socket and notice the heat kept getting higher. Which is why I suggest a regulator. But of course this are my personal experience so I am by no means an expert in all this. Its best if someone who has been doing this for a while share their experience here so everyone can learn. |
Jun 12 2025, 09:30 PM
17,014 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
yes, the solder iron have problem.
The thermocouple inside should sense the temperature and cutoff when reach the desired temperature. But your wan keep running till become red. That’s too high temperature. The handle will get hot and the tip will oxidise fast. |
Jun 12 2025, 10:02 PM
54 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Throw it and buy a proper one.
Shopee got |
Jun 12 2025, 11:39 PM
3,655 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 12 2025, 08:12 PM) I am presuming you don't have a voltage regulator and you just plug and play. Regular socket wall produce 60w and above. Your cheap solder is running about 35 - 40w range. W/O a regulator it's just going to keep heating until it melts. Using voltage regulator is not going to solve the problem here. |
| Change to: | 0.0162sec
5 queries
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:30 PM |