Getting a tax agent to audit my company, Don't know where to start or the process

TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 10:13 AM, updated 6 months ago

5,272 posts

Questions to fellow business owners, it's been bugging me as of late with the multiple policy changes on LHDN side that it's making me pause to consider getting my company accounts in order. Atm I have an outsourced accountant but I don't think she is expert in tax deductions & minimizing the taxes I pay per year. So if my company was to kena audit by lhdn, I doubt she be affective.

If i were to get a tax agent from a legit accounting company, what will they be asking and do their charge a one off audit basis or I have to engage them every month making my accountant redundant?

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jun 11 2025, 10:15 AM
thxxht
post Jun 11 2025, 10:27 AM

368 posts

Get your company secretary to recommend tax agent.
TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 10:42 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jun 11 2025, 10:27 AM)
Get your company secretary to recommend tax agent.
Mine is PLT not sdn bhd bro
idunnolol
post Jun 11 2025, 10:46 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 10:13 AM)
Questions to fellow business owners, it's been bugging me as of late with the multiple policy changes on LHDN side that it's making me pause to consider getting my company accounts in order. Atm I have an outsourced accountant but I don't think she is expert in tax deductions & minimizing the taxes I pay per year. So if my company was to kena audit by lhdn, I doubt she be affective.

If i were to get a tax agent from a legit accounting company, what will they be asking and do their charge a one off audit basis or I have to engage them every month making my accountant redundant?
my boss kena 80k for 3 years. LHDN reject a lot of expense claim

We at first kena demanded 200k . Find tax expert. Reduce to 80k. 20% downpayment. Rest on 3 year installment lmao

Tax expert say by right those expense can claim but we didnt word them properly. Our accountant accept but LHDN reject
TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 11:03 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jun 11 2025, 10:46 AM)
my boss kena 80k for 3 years. LHDN  reject a lot of expense claim

We at first kena demanded 200k . Find tax expert. Reduce to 80k. 20% downpayment. Rest on 3 year installment lmao

Tax expert say by right those expense can claim but we didnt word them properly. Our accountant accept but LHDN reject
Yeah exactly my fears because she told me to put my multiple claims in and is making me feel uncomfortable. I should find one now.
GalaxyV
post Jun 11 2025, 11:06 AM

783 posts

tax agent is not to audit your company.

For auditing, it is auditors' duties.

PLT is not required to have its financial statements audited but you can do so for compliances and internal control.

Get a qualified accountants lah. Our forum ada banyak.
TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 11:11 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Jun 11 2025, 11:06 AM)
tax agent is not to audit your company.

For auditing, it is auditors' duties.

PLT is not required to have its financial statements audited but you can do so for compliances and internal control.

Get a qualified accountants lah. Our forum ada banyak.
If i want someone to cross check my accountant I should get another accountant to check her work? Is this what you are saying?
GalaxyV
post Jun 11 2025, 11:13 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 11:11 AM)
If i want someone to cross check my accountant I should get another accountant to check her work? Is this what you are saying?
yes, or the accountant who has knowledge in auditing and taxation planning

Some accountant firm does have audit department and they do offer this service as well. It is called review work with tax consultancy as well.

but if you do this way, the current accountant will be hurt. You need to overcome to handle his/her mind/heart. rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by GalaxyV: Jun 11 2025, 11:14 AM
TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 11:20 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Jun 11 2025, 11:13 AM)
yes, or the accountant who has knowledge in auditing and taxation planning

Some accountant firm does have audit department and they do offer this service as well. It is called review work with tax consultancy as well.

but if you do this way, the current accountant will be hurt. You need to overcome to handle his/her mind/heart.  rclxs0.gif
Ah shit. This is exactly what I'm trying not to let happen. This accountant stuck with me post covid and charges 1.5k a month and never changed her pricing.
GalaxyV
post Jun 11 2025, 11:24 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 11:20 AM)
Ah shit. This is exactly what I'm trying not to let happen. This accountant stuck with me post covid and charges 1.5k a month and never changed her pricing.
he/she is part time and come once a week or twice or permanent staff?

I believe it is part time who comes once/twice a week. But 1.5k per month is very expensive.

You should hire someone who has knowledge in everything for accounting, auditing and taxation. He/She can handle from A to Z.

ShadowR1
post Jun 11 2025, 11:31 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,880 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 11:11 AM)
That person would be an auditor.
idunnolol
post Jun 11 2025, 11:34 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 11:03 AM)
Yeah exactly my fears because she told me to put my multiple claims in and is making me feel uncomfortable. I should find one now.
Ya so for us. We go makan with customer, can only claim 50% but our accountant let us claim 100%. She suppose to cover our track by claiming staff refreshement but didnt

So 1 aspect kantoi with LHDN. Another was tinting of company car. Not allowed also as expense

But something need to be smart. Like headcount of ur clinic maybe 3 pax. u claim makan with client for 10 pax ,LHDN will straight kantoi de
TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 12:16 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jun 11 2025, 11:34 AM)
Ya so for us. We go makan with customer, can only claim 50% but our accountant let us claim 100%. She suppose to cover our track by claiming staff refreshement  but didnt

So 1 aspect kantoi with LHDN. Another was tinting of company car. Not allowed also as expense

But something need to be smart. Like headcount of ur clinic maybe 3 pax. u claim makan with client for 10 pax ,LHDN will straight kantoi de
We go makan with customer, can only claim 50% but our accountant let us claim 100%. She suppose to cover our track by claiming staff refreshement but didnt

This! I just found out myself it's not 100%. Hence why I'm losing a little sleep
yhtan
post Jun 11 2025, 12:17 PM

8,651 posts

Get a tax consultant to file for your PLT tax, then ask them advise how to minimize the tax. The fee normally charge one off for every year tax filing.

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jun 11 2025, 11:34 AM)
Ya so for us. We go makan with customer, can only claim 50% but our accountant let us claim 100%. She suppose to cover our track by claiming staff refreshement  but didnt

It depends on your business nature, hardly clinic bring customer (patient) out to makan. More reasonable to put makan with medicine/medical equipment supplier and claim 50% of it.

TSAvangelice
post Jun 11 2025, 01:10 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 11 2025, 12:17 PM)
Get a tax consultant to file for your PLT tax, then ask them advise how to minimize the tax. The fee normally charge one off for every year tax filing.
It depends on your business nature, hardly clinic bring customer (patient) out to makan. More reasonable to put makan with medicine/medical equipment supplier and claim 50% of it.
Correct. That's the industry norm
idunnolol
post Jun 11 2025, 01:25 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 12:16 PM)
We go makan with customer, can only claim 50% but our accountant let us claim 100%. She suppose to cover our track by claiming staff refreshement  but didnt

This! I just found out myself it's not 100%. Hence why I'm losing a little sleep
nothing much la, LHDN just back kira then slap 15% penalty je
GalaxyV
post Jun 11 2025, 01:27 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 11 2025, 12:16 PM)
We go makan with customer, can only claim 50% but our accountant let us claim 100%. She suppose to cover our track by claiming staff refreshement  but didnt

claiming staff refreshment - If IRB interviews your staff to verify something, you are gg.
ticke
post Jun 11 2025, 07:46 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

humanology, ex lhdn pipu. lol
nelson969
post Jun 11 2025, 09:39 PM

318 posts

Hi, there is no clear answer for your question

yes i would recommend u hire tax agent, but the asking will be depend on them and their finding, they dont do audit, it is auditor job to audit, different stuff

as for the charge, hard to tell, no one can really answer

dont think u should engage every month but it is good to have a reliable tax agent just in case policy change

u still need accountant to work for you, dont pay them peanut tho, decent enough above market industry, they are also helping auditor and tax agent too, keep proper account filing and document now is very super important thanks to e-invoice lhdn especially the consolidate e-invoice, if the lhdn think u lari tax, they will immediately ask document, now they are on the wild hunt.

hope this help.

gogocan
post Jun 12 2025, 08:20 AM

485 posts

Get a firm that offer both account and tax services.

0.0189sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:21 AM