[2025] iPadOS 26 Discussion Thread

byen8888
post Sep 26 2025, 10:36 AM

50 posts

ipad 10 after update kinda sluggish for the few few days, smoother a bit after that but not close to previous OS. lets see
art6969
post Sep 26 2025, 04:11 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(byen8888 @ Sep 26 2025, 10:36 AM)
ipad 10 after update kinda sluggish for the few few days, smoother a bit after that but not close to previous OS. lets see
I agree. I believe version 18 is smoother.
byen8888
post Sep 27 2025, 12:01 AM

50 posts

if still sluggish, might save bullet for next year ipad. hopefully ipad air comes with Pro-motion high refresh rate like the entry iphone 17 getting pro feature screen.
art6969
post Sep 30 2025, 11:07 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(byen8888 @ Sep 27 2025, 12:01 AM)
if still sluggish, might save bullet for next year ipad. hopefully ipad air comes with Pro-motion high refresh rate like the entry iphone 17 getting pro feature screen.
I'm the type of person who holds onto their tech for a long time, so I'm not looking to upgrade every year. I have a feeling the iPad Pro M4 has more than enough power to last for the long haul.
TSwestlife
post Sep 30 2025, 11:37 AM

14,309 posts

QUOTE(byen8888 @ Sep 27 2025, 12:01 AM)
i hope ipad mini will come with OLED and Pro-motion eventually. tongue.gif
byen8888
post Sep 30 2025, 12:48 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Sep 30 2025, 11:07 AM)
I'm the type of person who holds onto their tech for a long time, so I'm not looking to upgrade every year. I have a feeling the iPad Pro M4 has more than enough power to last for the long haul.
likewise, my current ipad 10 is close to 3 years iinm. next round i’ll probably upgrade to air or pro just to future proof with upcoming OS updates.
byen8888
post Sep 30 2025, 12:50 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 30 2025, 11:37 AM)
i hope ipad mini will come with OLED and Pro-motion eventually.  tongue.gif
and also the M chip pleaseee. 😂
TSwestlife
post Sep 30 2025, 01:24 PM

14,309 posts

QUOTE(byen8888 @ Sep 30 2025, 12:50 PM)
and also the M chip pleaseee. 😂
M chip is good but technically i am ok with the A chip as A chip on the new iphone 17 is also quite powerful enough. As long as they give more RAM which is more critical to help to make the ipad last longer around of iOS update. tongue.gif

the display and pro motion will be an instant noticeable update.
art6969
post Sep 30 2025, 02:38 PM

1,520 posts

Looks like my speedometer on iPadOS 26 is better than 18.
dev/numb
post Sep 30 2025, 08:59 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 30 2025, 11:37 AM)
i hope ipad mini will come with OLED and Pro-motion eventually.  tongue.gif
For me ProMotion alone would be enough. OLED would be a nice bonus as long as they don’t jack up the price.
TSwestlife
post Sep 30 2025, 09:18 PM

14,309 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 30 2025, 08:59 PM)
For me ProMotion alone would be enough. OLED would be a nice bonus as long as they don’t jack up the price.
i would still think that the ultimate form of ipad mini should be ipad mini pro. tongue.gif

OLED + pro motion like ipad pro now. tongue.gif
byen8888
post Oct 1 2025, 08:01 AM

50 posts

i’ll be sold immediately if next ipad air or mini has pro motion. 😂 let’s see should be March next year for new release if in upgrading or not hahahaha
xxboxx
post Oct 2 2025, 08:12 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

iPadOS 26.0.1
Update
This update provides important bug fixes and security updates for your iPad, including fixes for the following issues:
• Floating keyboard may change positions unexpectedly

Can't be soon enough. Keyboard keeps jumping by itself bug is really annoying
dev/numb
post Oct 7 2025, 03:00 PM

691 posts

Yay, iPadOS 26.1 will bring back Slide Over!!
https://www.macrumors.com/2025/10/06/ipados...r-multitasking/

On my iPad mini, I’d gotten so used to sliding my Apple Music window in and out with previous iPadOS versions (almost like muscle memory) that the lack of it in 26 has been supremely irritating. Glad it’s coming back. smile.gif

Downside is that Slide Over on iPadOS 26 is limited to one window only, so I cannot flip between Apple Music, Mullvad, Things and Calculator like I usually did in the past. Boo sad.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Oct 7 2025, 03:02 PM
xxboxx
post Oct 7 2025, 07:42 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Oct 7 2025, 03:00 PM)
Yay, iPadOS 26.1 will bring back Slide Over!!
https://www.macrumors.com/2025/10/06/ipados...r-multitasking/

On my iPad mini, I’d gotten so used to sliding my Apple Music window in and out with previous iPadOS versions (almost like muscle memory) that the lack of it in 26 has been supremely irritating. Glad it’s coming back. smile.gif

Downside is that Slide Over on iPadOS 26 is limited to one window only, so I cannot flip between Apple Music, Mullvad, Things and Calculator like I usually did in the past. Boo sad.gif
I changed to developer beta channel and installing this right now. Need to download whole OS. Been using Stage Manager with secondary app in another group, a bit troublesome to switch between main group and secondary group.

Maybe now 1 window but maybe they'll update in future to allow more windows
iPadOS 26.1 developer beta 2 has restored Slide Over multitasking to the iPad.

And it works alongside the new windowing system.

When viewing an app’s window resize controls (inside the green traffic light option in the top-left corner), Apple has added a new ‘Enter Slide Over’ option.

This button resizes the window to a typical Slide Over size, and lets you work inside any apps in the background without hiding the Slide Over app from view.

You can also, of course, swipe the app to the right to hide it out of view, pulling it back in when you need it. And you can now resize the Slide Over window to your liking, which is a new benefit.

There does appear to be one big feature missing though, at least in beta 2: you can currently only have a single Slide Over app at a time.

https://9to5mac.com/2025/10/06/ipados-26-1-...g-back-to-ipad/
Cimo
post Dec 13 2025, 05:28 AM

326 posts

iPad OS 26.2 released
art6969
post Dec 14 2025, 07:46 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Cimo @ Dec 13 2025, 05:28 AM)
iPad OS 26.2 released
Why is this update version so large? My iPad Pro M4 has about 11GB of storage, and I’m not sure what’s so special about this 26.2GB version.
ericlaiys
post Dec 14 2025, 08:08 PM

7,589 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Dec 14 2025, 07:46 PM)
Why is this update version so large? My iPad Pro M4 has about 11GB of storage, and I’m not sure what’s so special about this 26.2GB version.
a lot of app been updated.
art6969
post Dec 15 2025, 10:00 AM

1,520 posts

Ipados 26.1 vs 26.2

I feel a lot smoother on 26.2 and faster than 26.1
jimbet1337
post Dec 15 2025, 10:03 AM

meh
2,672 posts

Agree. Same.