♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Whats up guys? Need some advice on engine oil for my car:
- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- very seldom use, yearly maybe 1-2k only now
- jap car
- no plan to sell (personal reasons)

Currently my oil change is based on mileage instead of duration, using semi synthetic oil. Is it better to use fully synthetic for better protection since I seldom use it? Was thinking if fully will be better in the long run, then no harm putting it in.

And any issues if i didn't change the engine oil for 2-3 years since the car hardly move.
SourLemons
post Jun 8 2025, 04:18 PM

223 posts

MINUMLAH BOLD
zerorating
post Jun 8 2025, 04:21 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

old car better goes for semi syntectic or mineral oil. mineral oil sticks longer to the engine component than full syntectic. downside is performance are not as great
y500

336 posts

Wts castrol 15w40 cheap cheap
Atrocious

97 posts

Start car once every few days to coat the engine is already good enough to protect. No need think so much.
thkent91
post Jun 8 2025, 04:22 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 8 2025, 04:15 PM)
- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

Currently my oil change is based on mileage instead of duration, using semi synthetic oil. Is it better to use fully synthetic for better protection since I seldom use it? Was thinking if fully will be better in the long run, then no harm putting it in.

And any issues if i didn't change the engine oil for 2-3 years since the car hardly move.
Must use full synthetic then. 5W40. Too thin cannot

If use minerals type sure KO
thkent91
post Jun 8 2025, 04:22 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 8 2025, 04:21 PM)
old car better goes for semi syntectic or mineral oil. mineral oil sticks longer to the engine component than full syntectic. downside is performance are not as great
Nope. Mineral oil will degrade after 6 months.
cloudwan0
post Jun 8 2025, 04:24 PM

236 posts

never own a car age > 7 years...

not able to advice...
lordgamer3
post Jun 8 2025, 04:30 PM

848 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

I always used fully syn for all my cars . When got leak gasket for my older car when change open head very clear no disgusting crud. On the internals. What this translate is less wear . For older cars standard 5w 40 is good enough but if you want better fuel then 5w 30 my opinion la. 5w 40 give better protection at higher temp and 5w 30 is lighter so engine can move freely. I might be wrong but no harm to try. Downside with 40 is worse FC but better protection and cheaper . 30 is better FC but more expensive and if very hot temp not as great as 40.

Semi synthetic from what I heard if u change frequently 10w 40 every 5k should be ok but I won't la.

This post has been edited by lordgamer3: Jun 8 2025, 04:32 PM
Avex
post Jun 8 2025, 04:32 PM

570 posts

use 5w-30, got money buy valvoline engine oil protect and restore, about rm230. good engine oil
start the car every few days
zerorating
post Jun 8 2025, 04:34 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(thkent91 @ Jun 8 2025, 04:22 PM)
doesnt mean much if the car were seldom use.
i asked mechanic before i have 4 years old engine oil, should i use it? he say yeah you should, dont waste.
i think got youtube video test old engine oil that was stored in container vs fresh one, very little different in performance
but engine oil in the engine is already exposed to air everything, but yeah still better than well used oil with high millage on it.
stanck
post Jun 8 2025, 04:37 PM

81 posts

My 20+ year old manual Kelisa on Full synthetic. Changes based on mileage (but atleast 1 time per year even my old timer mechanic say no need).

So far so good. Every year still my kawan neighbours ask me want to sell or not.
To be honest, when my everyday car masuk workshop, the kelisa really come in handy 😂
zerorating
post Jun 8 2025, 04:49 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(stanck @ Jun 8 2025, 04:37 PM)
My 20+ year old manual Kelisa on Full synthetic. Changes based on mileage (but atleast 1 time per year even my old timer mechanic say no need).

So far so good. Every year still my kawan neighbours ask me want to sell or not.
To be honest, when my everyday car masuk workshop, the kelisa really come in handy 😂
in reality most people that change oil less frequent have great used millage on the oil. last time i did oil change on my seldom use car, the mechanic literally want that oil to use on his car lel, still very yellow.

we are not sultan johor can tukar minyak every month lel. 1 year interval is totally fine for for seldom used car.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jun 8 2025, 04:51 PM
andrekua2
post Jun 8 2025, 04:51 PM

13,483 posts

The longest I had go is 18 months with fully syn oil. Mileage 3k per year. Just so drag another 6 months. Drive every week once or twice.
Balanced
post Jun 8 2025, 04:52 PM

877 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

Gunalah bold engine oil! tongue.gif

Use fully synthetic la. Because semi synthetic meaning very lax...1% fully + 99 mineral also can considered as semi synthetic.

Change oil every 1 year or every 8k if using fully la, because oil also can oxidize if left too long even if very low mileage.

Use ori fully synthetic oil je. Cheap cheap. My bold engine oil fully only rm50 for 4L. Cheap yo.
zerorating
post Jun 8 2025, 04:55 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 8 2025, 04:51 PM)
The longest I had go is 18 months with fully syn oil. Mileage 3k per year. Just so drag another 6 months. Drive every week once or twice.
but manufacturer said, manufacturer said.
of course la manufacturer give a safe quote. a person that said he seldom use his car can clock at 10000km millage in 6 month. yes addictive in engine oil might wear off, but its the oil that do the most when it come to the protection, not the addictive.
andrekua2
post Jun 8 2025, 05:01 PM

13,483 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 8 2025, 04:55 PM)
but manufacturer said, manufacturer said.
of course la manufacturer give a safe quote. a person that said he seldom use his car can clock at 10000km millage in 6 month. yes addictive in engine oil might wear off, but its the oil that do the most when it come to the protection, not the addictive.
Yes but I dont feel any difference whether or not I had oil change. On my company car, yes, I can feel the difference after 7k or so mileage but on my wife car, cant feel any difference with just 3k mileage.
zerorating
post Jun 8 2025, 05:05 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 8 2025, 05:01 PM)
Yes but I dont feel any difference whether or not I had oil change. On my company car, yes, I  can feel the difference after 7k or so mileage but on my wife car, cant feel any difference with just 3k mileage.
simple, dirty oil have sludges and sendiments that change the engine oil properties. making its lubricant capabilities less effective over time.
MR_alien
post Jun 8 2025, 05:05 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

60k KM is nothing lah, low mileage
use back the same grade of oil only
any seal that's broken, just change those instead
rtk73
post Jun 8 2025, 05:47 PM

219 posts

Using 20 year old plotong
Meant to use 20w-50 mineral

Currently using cheapest fully syn 5w40 (bold atas)
No leaks cos replaced rear main seals/valve cover etc etc

Oil change every 8k km/6 months

SUSeds2
post Jun 8 2025, 05:52 PM

101 posts

EV
sadukarzz
post Jun 8 2025, 05:58 PM

783 posts

While the tered is loading, I expected someone to say Bold

Didn't disappoint

I also can recommend Bold due to their pricing, go for their 5w-40 when got promo at Shopee/Lazada, then just change every 6 months regardless of how much mileage you run in as long as not above 7k.
Chanwsan
post Jun 8 2025, 06:36 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

I put Motion Ester PAO 5W-30 into Wajunk maCampro Cincai Pasang Saja

Point is if you DIY you can do whatever you want because material is cheap as heck compared to go workshop, provided you don't buy fake shits
JoeK
post Jun 8 2025, 06:38 PM

1,099 posts

Check in daily car tered
pokchik
post Jun 8 2025, 06:44 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

use fully synthetic.
linkinstreet
post Jun 8 2025, 06:48 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 8 2025, 04:49 PM)
in reality most people that change oil less frequent have great used millage on the oil. last time i did oil change on my seldom use car, the mechanic literally want that oil to use on his car lel, still very yellow.

we are not sultan johor can  tukar minyak every month lel. 1 year interval is totally fine for for seldom used car.
Yeah. I have an Inspira that I only use for long distance driving. I asked workshop owner that I always go to service do I need to change every 6 months if rarely use. He said no need. 1 year is still okay
DM3
post Jun 8 2025, 06:55 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 8 2025, 06:48 PM)
Yeah. I have an Inspira that I only use for long distance driving. I asked workshop owner that I always go to service do I need to change every 6 months if rarely use. He said no need. 1 year is still okay
Better at least every 6-8mths once as hardly used,oil dries , moisture built up causes heavier wear in internal engine parts.
boonwuilow
post Jun 8 2025, 07:07 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

When u no drive the car, drain out the oil and put it in the fridge, want to use then pour it back into the engine.
ycs
post Jun 8 2025, 07:24 PM

4,234 posts

is it bad to change from mineral to semi oil?
Ayambetul
post Jun 8 2025, 07:55 PM

336 posts

Pakai olive oil
DValentine
post Jun 8 2025, 07:56 PM

773 posts

bold mana bold
voscar
post Jun 8 2025, 08:01 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(rtk73 @ Jun 8 2025, 05:47 PM)
Using 20 year old plotong
Meant to use 20w-50 mineral

Currently using cheapest fully syn 5w40 (bold atas)
No leaks cos replaced rear main seals/valve cover etc etc

Oil change every 8k km/6 months
I'm also using 5w30 cheap fully synthetic oil for my Proton Gen2, this month reached 13th month, I think mileage still below 10k so haven't change yet
TSry8128
post Jun 8 2025, 08:09 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Mine is 60k mileage only, even if it's almost 20 years, should be considered new I think?

QUOTE(Atrocious @ Jun 8 2025, 04:21 PM)
Start car once every few days to coat the engine is already good enough to protect. No need think so much.
I memang start every 1 or 2 weeks, else can't start, lol.

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ Jun 8 2025, 04:30 PM)
I always used fully syn for all my cars . When got leak gasket for my older car when change open head very clear no disgusting crud. On the internals. What this translate is less wear . For older cars standard 5w 40 is good enough but if you want better fuel then 5w 30 my opinion la.  5w 40 give better protection at higher temp and 5w 30 is lighter so engine can move freely. I might be wrong but no harm to try. Downside with 40 is worse FC but better protection and cheaper . 30 is better FC but more expensive and if very hot temp not as great as 40.

Semi synthetic from what I heard if u change frequently 10w 40 every 5k should be ok but I won't la.
My plan is to use back the same viscosity, but only change from semi to fully. Any idea?

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 8 2025, 04:32 PM)
use 5w-30, got money buy valvoline engine oil protect and restore, about rm230. good engine oil
start the car every few days
Yup, I memang start once every 1 or 2 weeks max.

QUOTE(stanck @ Jun 8 2025, 04:37 PM)

Can I know what is your kelisa mileage? And what brand of fully u use and the viscosity?
TSry8128
post Jun 8 2025, 08:13 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 8 2025, 05:05 PM)
60k KM is nothing lah, low mileage
use back the same grade of oil only
any seal that's broken, just change those instead
Memang plan to use same viscosity of oil, but just change from semi to fully. I don't dare deviate from the recommended viscosity in the user manual. So fully will be better in this case? But change duration will be longer as it is 10k vs 7k.

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Jun 8 2025, 05:58 PM)
While the tered is loading, I expected someone to say Bold

Didn't disappoint

I also can recommend Bold due to their pricing, go for their 5w-40 when got promo at Shopee/Lazada, then just change every 6 months regardless of how much mileage you run in as long as not above 7k.
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jun 8 2025, 06:36 PM)

Point is if you DIY you can do whatever you want because material is cheap as heck compared to go workshop, provided you don't buy fake shits
Kasi chan la guys, I know Bold is quite cheap. But the time wasted and the inconvenience quite troublesome, so plan to stick to mileage.

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 8 2025, 06:48 PM)
Meaning 1 year must change already regardless reach mileage or not? Did he mentioned what happen if exceed 1 year?
nelienuxe_sara
post Jun 8 2025, 08:21 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

xpe dia guna 1-2k per year then can change every 6/12 month
Balanced
post Jun 8 2025, 08:22 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 8 2025, 08:13 PM)
Memang plan to use same viscosity of oil, but just change from semi to fully. I don't dare deviate from the recommended viscosity in the user manual. So fully will be better in this case? But change duration will be longer as it is 10k vs 7k.
Kasi chan la guys, I know Bold is quite cheap. But the time wasted and the inconvenience quite troublesome, so plan to stick to mileage.
Meaning 1 year must change already regardless reach mileage or not? Did he mentioned what happen if exceed 1 year?
Go bold la. Bold fully. Change every one year if mileage low. Since it passed testing and not fake oil, shld be no problem.
Be bold. tongue.gif

nelienuxe_sara
post Jun 8 2025, 08:22 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(thkent91 @ Jun 8 2025, 04:22 PM)
ok what change every 6 month
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 8 2025, 08:23 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

use fully syn.

engine condition how? got eat engine oil or not?
rtk73
post Jun 8 2025, 08:25 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 8 2025, 08:01 PM)
I'm also using 5w30 cheap fully synthetic oil for my Proton Gen2, this month reached 13th month, I think mileage still below 10k so haven't change yet
It's so cheap.... Just change
I don't think too much about it

Only use it once a week + monthly 1k km trip

thkent91
post Jun 8 2025, 08:28 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jun 8 2025, 08:22 PM)
ok what change every 6 month
Mineral will oxidize, start to have impurities in engine

Fully synthetic, no minerals inside. Change every 3 years so no issue. But that provided you use very less like 1000km per year only.

Start every 3 days and run 5km per trip is recommended to maintain your car health. Especially to protect your car battery, spark plug, radiator fan, brake system and alternator

But for tires don't ever skip. Change every 4 years.

This post has been edited by thkent91: Jun 8 2025, 08:29 PM
pandah
post Jun 8 2025, 08:33 PM

719 posts

just use whatever the book said.

i have a 18 years old toyota with 65k mileage, just use whatever the sc give so far ok.
kswee
post Jun 8 2025, 08:35 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jun 8 2025, 07:36 PM)

Waa PAO oil is not cheap.. yamalube and motion also buy their oil from petronas

This post has been edited by kswee: Jun 8 2025, 08:36 PM
k!nex
post Jun 8 2025, 08:44 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

Use fully synthetic anyhow. Semi is just not worth it.
You dunno how many % fully synth mixed with mineral oil. Usually at best 17% only.

If your mileage so low. Just do oil change once a year. Do not stretch it to 2~3 years. You wouldn't know whether the engine oil will become too acidic and corrosive or not when soaking many types of metal in your crankcase. There might be chemical reaction.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 8 2025, 08:46 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 8 2025, 08:56 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 8 2025, 08:13 PM)
actually fully vs semi for me no difference

since your car is low mileage car, just use semi...more economical that way
haturaya
post Jun 8 2025, 09:19 PM

2,556 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

Any oil grade as recommended in car manual. Nothing fancy needed. thumbup.gif

post Jun 8 2025, 09:20 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

lagenda110
post Jun 8 2025, 09:52 PM

148 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

Hi. My honest advice for engine oil please visit local stesen minyak for 100% original... Never ever purchase them in shopee/lazada unless it is from Mall...and never buy in local spare part shop also
TSry8128
post Jun 8 2025, 10:22 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 8 2025, 08:22 PM)
Go bold la. Bold fully. Change every one year if mileage low. Since it passed testing and not fake oil, shld be no problem.
Be bold. tongue.gif
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 8 2025, 09:20 PM)
Dont want bold. Not dare to use such brands biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 8 2025, 08:23 PM)
use fully syn.

engine condition how? got eat engine oil or not?
Engine perfect, very very good condition and quiet. No eat engine oil. Everytime go service, the workshop praise the condition of engine and ask me want sell or not.

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 8 2025, 08:44 PM)
You dunno how many % fully synth mixed with mineral oil. Usually at best 17% only.

If your mileage so low. Just do oil change once a year. Do not stretch it to 2~3 years. You wouldn't know whether the engine oil will become too acidic and corrosive or not when soaking many types of metal in your crankcase. There might be chemical reaction.
Thanks for the info. Seems like makes sense.

QUOTE(lagenda110 @ Jun 8 2025, 09:52 PM)
Hi. My honest advice for engine oil please visit local stesen minyak for 100% original... Never ever purchase them in shopee/lazada unless it is from Mall...and never buy in local spare part shop also
My oil i buy online, either from mall or from other trusted sellers. There are few trusted sellers (besides mall) that are selling genuine oil online.
TSry8128
post Jun 8 2025, 10:23 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jun 8 2025, 06:36 PM)

The motion pao ori? Confirm got pao and ester? Many brands declare got such thing but when check in detail the oil component, no such pao/ester in it.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 8 2025, 10:39 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 8 2025, 10:22 PM)
Engine perfect, very very good condition and quiet. No eat engine oil. Everytime go service, the workshop praise the condition of engine and ask me want sell or not.
then use fully syn with viscosity as recommended in manual book.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 8 2025, 10:47 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 8 2025, 10:23 PM)
The motion pao ori? Confirm got pao and ester? Many brands declare got such thing but when check in detail the oil component, no such pao/ester in it.
do not use ester based if u not change engine oil frequently.

i remember got ktard mentioned before, ester based oil absorb more moisture, so it's good for those who change engine oil on time.

Chanwsan
post Jun 8 2025, 10:48 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 8 2025, 10:23 PM)
No idea. I just bought and use hopefully it's real only. It is hijau instead of usual engine oil colour. And they are bold enough to advertise their product liability insurance which gave me some confidence.

I started using this shit on this neglected Wajunk with 220k mileage which I started driving semi-regularly, so far 230k+ already and I haven't noticed any issue.

I think it served me well for something normally priced in range of RM120-150. I think even if there's no actual ester PAO, it wouldn't wreck your car if you maintain it yearly with this oil. If not just do their normal full syn EO which is even cheaper.

I'm not promoting this brand and not sure if I even helped in your thread. I just prefer this over the somewhat shady Bold. You do you own diligence.
TSry8128
post Jun 8 2025, 10:50 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 8 2025, 10:47 PM)

i remember got ktard mentioned before, ester based oil absorb more moisture, so it's good for those who change engine oil on time.
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jun 8 2025, 10:48 PM)
No idea. I just bought and use hopefully it's real only. It is hijau instead of usual engine oil colour. And they are bold enough to advertise their product liability insurance which gave me some confidence.

I started using this shit on this neglected Wajunk with 220k mileage which I started driving semi-regularly, so far 230k+ already and I haven't noticed any issue.

I think it served me well for something normally priced in range of RM120-150. I think even if there's no actual ester PAO, it wouldn't wreck your car if you maintain it yearly with this oil. If not just do their normal full syn EO which is even cheaper.

I'm not promoting this brand and not sure if I even helped in your thread. I just prefer this over the somewhat shady Bold. You do you own diligence.
Thanks for the info, well understood.
Balanced
post Jun 8 2025, 10:53 PM

877 posts

Dont want bold. Not dare to use such brands biggrin.gif
Thanks for the info. Seems like makes sense.
My oil i buy online, either from mall or from other trusted sellers. There are few trusted sellers (besides mall) that are selling genuine oil online.
Aiyo ok ok.
DM3
post Jun 8 2025, 10:55 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 8 2025, 10:47 PM)

So wat does ester good fr?
novblaze
post Jun 8 2025, 11:02 PM

328 posts

I just check bold engine oil from /k recommendations. Macam cheap. Planning to buy
OrientalGopi
post Jun 8 2025, 11:03 PM

20 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

shell helix high mileage
netflix2019
post Jun 8 2025, 11:19 PM

416 posts

All those brand got difference?

What brand u usijg? What car?
accordvtec
post Jun 8 2025, 11:43 PM

107 posts

no such thing. my few cars over 15 years old still using fully synthetic. never had engine leaking problem not even at rocker cover.
submergedx
post Jun 8 2025, 11:57 PM

1,132 posts

Shell 5W40 - RM150 one bottle at Shell outlet after discount
submergedx
post Jun 8 2025, 11:59 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jun 8 2025, 11:19 PM)
All those brand got difference?

What brand u usijg? What car?
Petrol outlet - authentic, authority approval, got chop, got QR code can verify
Tesco, Shopee, Lazada - say original but parallel imported from HK, TH etc unable to verify, cannot scan
submergedx
post Jun 9 2025, 12:00 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 8 2025, 08:56 PM)
actually fully vs semi for me no difference

since your car is low mileage car, just use semi...more economical that way
Just service with fully few weeks ago

Engine sangat padu, and silent when cruising at above 90kmh
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 12:03 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 8 2025, 11:57 PM)
Shell 5W40 - RM150 one bottle at Shell outlet after discount
Shell outlet meaning petrol station? How to get those discount?
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 12:26 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

I use Duckhams only

JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 12:28 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 8 2025, 11:59 PM)
Petrol outlet - authentic, authority approval, got chop, got QR code can verify
Tesco, Shopee, Lazada - say original but parallel imported from HK, TH etc unable to verify, cannot scan
ze2 remember this legendary eo? biggrin.gif

JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 12:36 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jun 8 2025, 10:48 PM)

If you guys really wanna buy original Petronas Engine Oil

can buy from official Petronas Shop in Shopee Mall account

RM168.00

PETRONAS Syntium 3000 E 0W-20 Fully Synthetic Engine Oil API SN+ (3.5L)

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jun 9 2025, 12:39 AM
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 12:39 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 9 2025, 12:36 AM)
If you guys really wanna buy original Petronas Engine Oil

can buy from official Petronas Shop in Shopee Mall account

RM168.00

PETRONAS Syntium 3000 E 0W-20 Fully Synthetic Engine Oil API SN+ (3.5L)

3.5l susah. Most cars need 4l. And it's only sn plus hmm.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 9 2025, 12:42 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 12:39 AM)
get the proton fully synthetic. it's petronas.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 12:44 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 12:39 AM)
if u dun mind paying extra a bit

MOTUL 8100 Power 5W40 100% Synthetic Ester SP Performance Engine Oil 5L

6942nole
post Jun 9 2025, 01:12 AM

346 posts

change at least once per year.
netflix2019
post Jun 9 2025, 01:32 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 9 2025, 12:44 AM)
Extra a bit...

What oil u using first.
MR_alien
post Jun 9 2025, 07:24 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 9 2025, 12:00 AM)
Just service with fully few weeks ago

Engine sangat padu, and silent when cruising at above 90kmh
that if u ask me has more to do with the brand u use instead of the type u used

semi vs fully for me no difference
but petronas synthium HX7 vs liqui moly for me big difference laugh.gif
submergedx
post Jun 9 2025, 07:57 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 12:03 AM)
Shell outlet meaning petrol station? How to get those discount?
Original price at Shell station are RM18x, there is shell app voucher discount can tolak RM30 each purchase but need to purchase with the app
ze2
post Jun 9 2025, 08:02 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 9 2025, 12:28 AM)
ze2 remember this legendary eo?  biggrin.gif

Yes, I have used this

At one point I even bought Ace engine oil from Ace hardware. Made in US. 1 quart was like less than rm10. Avoiding all the fake EO frome outside.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 08:11 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jun 9 2025, 01:32 AM)
Extra a bit...

What oil u using first.
like I said

I use Duckhams only

JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 08:12 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Jun 9 2025, 08:02 AM)
Yes, I have used this

At one point I even bought Ace engine oil from Ace hardware. Made in US. 1 quart was like less than rm10. Avoiding all the fake EO frome outside.
hahahaha my usual mechanic laugh kaw at me when I brought this EO to them last time biggrin.gif
ze2
post Jun 9 2025, 08:22 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 9 2025, 08:12 AM)
hahahaha my usual mechanic laugh kaw at me when I brought this EO to them last time  biggrin.gif
My mechanic dem chin kark, he went and sapu and sell to customers doubling the price plus labour.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 9 2025, 08:26 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Jun 9 2025, 08:22 AM)
My mechanic dem chin kark, he went and sapu and sell to customers doubling the price plus labour.
life is tough eh

0.5 x 8 customers can get 4 liters already

waiting for one waterfish then at least rm100 masuk poket for the free eo

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jun 9 2025, 08:27 AM
ze2
post Jun 9 2025, 08:38 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 9 2025, 08:26 AM)
life is tough eh

0.5 x 8 customers can get 4 liters already

waiting for one waterfish then at least rm100 masuk poket for the free eo
Then the price increased due to supply and demand.
titanz
post Jun 9 2025, 08:49 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ Jun 8 2025, 04:30 PM)
I always used fully syn for all my cars . When got leak gasket for my older car when change open head very clear no disgusting crud. On the internals. What this translate is less wear . For older cars standard 5w 40 is good enough but if you want better fuel then 5w 30 my opinion la.  5w 40 give better protection at higher temp and 5w 30 is lighter so engine can move freely. I might be wrong but no harm to try. Downside with 40 is worse FC but better protection and cheaper . 30 is better FC but more expensive and if very hot temp not as great as 40.

hi bro, just would like to ask, for older cars which you mentioned here. How old the car (age) is ? 10 years above? 20 years above

Thank you
ktek
post Jun 9 2025, 09:04 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 8 2025, 08:44 PM)

petrol fume dissolve oil. create acid. eat metal
metal itself wont acid
QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 8 2025, 10:53 PM)
Aiyo ok ok.

i jump ship to 3moly liao
QUOTE(DM3 @ Jun 8 2025, 10:55 PM)
So wat does ester good fr?
cuci sisa kasi clean. change on time must
lordgamer3
post Jun 9 2025, 09:12 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(titanz @ Jun 9 2025, 08:49 AM)
hi bro, just would like to ask, for older cars which you mentioned here. How old the car (age) is ? 10 years above? 20 years above

Thank you

10+ years. since your mileage low I'd first do a flush then go Synthetic all the way. Some mechanic will say nonsense like Synthetic easier to leak yada yada but if your seals are good should be fine because in general you really don't want the crud to build up . So first get the mech to check your seals for any leaks, do a flush then start using syn. That's what I would do.
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 10:17 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 9 2025, 07:57 AM)
Original price at Shell station are RM18x, there is shell app voucher discount can tolak RM30 each purchase but need to purchase with the app
Wow, not bad. The 150 u bought is helix ultra?
submergedx
post Jun 9 2025, 10:35 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 10:17 AM)
Wow, not bad. The 150 u bought is helix ultra?
yes 5W40
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 10:37 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 9 2025, 10:35 AM)
yes 5W40
Good price wei. Nice. If 5w30 helix ultra, any idea how much is it selling there?
submergedx
post Jun 9 2025, 10:53 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 10:37 AM)
Good price wei. Nice. If 5w30 helix ultra, any idea how much is it selling there?
Not sure if they still have the campaign on-going, should visit the shell store after your work
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 11:02 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 9 2025, 10:53 AM)
Not sure if they still have the campaign on-going, should visit the shell store after your work
Oh, so it's campaign based
speedy3210
post Jun 9 2025, 11:57 AM

518 posts

- almost 20 years car
- 60k mileage
- jap car

Just use any high quality engine oil you can buy cheaply on the market . Just make sure it is not FAKE oil.

Keywords to look for is ACEA A3/B4. If you can find genuine engine oil that complies with this standard, you should be safe and change it maybe every 2years? Even the plain vanilla API SP standard lubricant in link below was doing fine after 14months, in case you're wondering. But yeah some are of opinion that blotter spot tests are fake. In that case you can always go pay for a proper VOA at labs that offer such service.

Blotter Test Thread
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 01:51 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jun 9 2025, 11:57 AM)
Just use any high quality engine oil you can buy cheaply on the market . Just make sure it is not FAKE oil.

Keywords to look for is ACEA A3/B4. If you can find genuine engine oil that complies with this standard, you should be safe and change it maybe every 2years? Even the plain vanilla API SP standard lubricant in link below was doing fine after 14months, in case you're wondering. But yeah some are of opinion that blotter spot tests are fake. In that case you can always go pay for a proper VOA at labs that offer such service.

Blotter Test Thread
Thanks for the feedback.

From which shop you bought the helix ultra hk?
aspenco
post Jun 9 2025, 02:06 PM

13 posts

My uncle used to have a Camry for well over 30... Iirc, he told me he only used 5w30 fully synthetic at every oil change... It was his daily driver, and he would change the oil every 6 months or something... Iirc that car had more than 500k last year before he bought a new car to replace it...
laparwolf
post Jun 9 2025, 02:17 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 8 2025, 11:02 PM)
I just check bold engine oil from /k recommendations. Macam cheap. Planning to buy
Bukan Bold saja. Asalkan brand ada API certified, insuran. Semua sama je. Mizu, Motion, Trimoly, Vtag, etc. Semua rebrand source sama.

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 9 2025, 09:04 AM)
petrol fume dissolve oil. create acid. eat metal
metal itself wont acid
i jump ship to 3moly liao

cuci sisa kasi clean. change on time must
Salah...

Sebab corrosion enjin ialah selepas masa lama dalam enjin, additive minyak enjin alami pengoksidaan. Ini mengurangkan kepekatan minyak enjin. Kalau guna 5w30, selepas setahun, minyak lebih kurang jadi 0w20. Beberapa tahun dalam enjin, weight minyak macam 0w00. Terlalu cair. Kalau kereta simpan saja, kurang pandu, untuk panaskan enjin sekali sekala memang ok. Bagus sebab minyak enjin ringan dapat salut semua part kecil enjin dalam masa singkat. Tapi bila guna untuk pandu lama, minyak tiada protection untuk enjin sebab rating minyak 0w00. Ringan sangat. Minyak bila sentuh memang rasa berminyak tetapi besi enjin perlu kepekatan tinggi.

Sebab itu kalau kereta untuk simpan sahaja, tak perlu tukar minyak enjin. Tapi ingat, bila pandu dengan minyak itu, enjin memang tiada protection. Macam guna minyak rated 0w00. Kalau nak pandu jauh tolong tukar minyak enjin.

k!nex
post Jun 9 2025, 05:34 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 9 2025, 12:44 AM)
This one also use fake advertising. The label there write Ester , but inside only got 1~2% Ester. sweat.gif Although this thing use 70~80% PAO base oil, but shouldn't put the "Ester" label on the bottle. This is also a mid-SAPS oil but still not certified for ACEA C3 standards, only API SP.
Not full SAPS oil that conform to ACEA A3/B4 standards that most older cars use. It is usually specified in the cars user manual.

If you want alot of Ester, then Redline and Ravenol VST is your best option.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 9 2025, 05:38 PM
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 05:41 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 9 2025, 05:34 PM)
This one also use fake advertising. The label there write Ester , but inside only got 1~2% Ester.  sweat.gif  Although this thing use 70~80% PAO base oil, but shouldn't put the "Ester" label on the bottle. This is also a mid-SAPS oil but still not certified for ACEA C3 standards, only API SP.
Not full SAPS oil that conform to ACEA A3/B4 standards that most older cars use. It is usually specified in the cars user manual.

If you want alot of Ester, then Redline and Ravenol VST is your best option.
If I looking for pao oil, any recommendations? Not for this car, but my main car.
k!nex
post Jun 9 2025, 06:15 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 05:41 PM)
If I looking for pao oil, any recommendations? Not for this car, but my main car.
What car ? Because it depends on what ACEA standards your car demand. I don't really look at API standards much.

My opinion is, if you don't have a small turbocharged direct injection petrol engine, then API SP oil don't really benefit you much. The main reason API SP exist is to prevent LSPI , low speed pre-ignition. So what oil manufacturers do to get API SP certifification is reduce the amount of calcium which the function is to neutralize acids that are produced during the combustion process, preventing corrosion of engine parts. That is because calcium has been shown to promote LSPI .

PAO oil got plenty out there, not cheap. Got plenty of different concentrations also.
The ones I know:
~30% PAO base oil = Syntium 7000
Similar to the Motul 8100 Power above = LiquiMoly Synthoil Energy 0W40 , Synthoil High Tech 5W40 ( If you want PAO based LiquiMoly engine oil, only buy Synthoil , no need look at other variants)
Ravenol VSI also PAO based.
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 06:28 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 9 2025, 06:15 PM)
What car ? Because it depends on what ACEA standards your car demand.  I don't really look at API standards much.

My opinion is, if you don't have a small turbocharged direct injection petrol engine, then API SP oil don't really benefit you much. The main reason API SP exist is to prevent LSPI , low speed pre-ignition. So what oil manufacturers do to get API SP certifification is reduce the amount of calcium which the function is to neutralize acids that are produced during the combustion process, preventing corrosion of engine parts. That is because calcium has been shown to promote LSPI .

PAO oil got plenty out there, not cheap. Got plenty of different concentrations also.
The ones I know:
~30% PAO base oil = Syntium 7000
Similar to the Motul 8100 Power above = LiquiMoly Synthoil Energy 0W40 , Synthoil High Tech 5W40 ( If you want PAO based LiquiMoly engine oil, only buy Synthoil , no need look at other variants)
Ravenol VSI also PAO based.
Syntium 7000 is not pao based on petronas website
k!nex
post Jun 9 2025, 07:07 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 9 2025, 06:28 PM)
Syntium 7000 is not pao based on petronas website
Maybe for other viscosity like 0w-20 but the 0w-30 has some PAO.
This is a safety data sheet to comply with EU regulations. Usually this is where the hints of PAO quantity.

Even 0W-40.also is PAO based.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 9 2025, 07:28 PM
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 08:01 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 9 2025, 07:07 PM)
This is a safety data sheet to comply with EU regulations. Usually this is where the hints of PAO quantity.

Ah, okok. Cos I was looking at 0-20. Later I check again. Thanks man.
TSry8128
post Jun 9 2025, 09:22 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 9 2025, 07:07 PM)

Where you see 0-30? I see their website don't have such viscosity.

https://my.pli-petronas.com/en-my/products/petronas-syntium

0.0280sec    1.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:10 AM