Chat 96% of Malaysians Can't Afford to Retire

TSsoul78
post Jun 4 2025, 08:36 PM, updated 7 months ago

943 posts

Wahh this few days velli hotz topic... on epf and retirement...

inb4: Here we go againz...
john123x
post Jun 4 2025, 08:41 PM

3,024 posts

the reason is inflation rate exceeded EPF return.

for example: government always bullshit us, telling us inflation is low.
1. But suddenly insurance wants to hike premium 10% per year, continuously for minimum 3 years
2. EPF suddenly release, minimum required savings. the amount increased from 20% to 50% (I cant remember exact percentage, its so damning)

Its like government got caught lying with its pants down
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 4 2025, 08:42 PM

170 posts

Pretty much world liddat
Just ready to work till die
koja6049
post Jun 4 2025, 08:45 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jun 4 2025, 08:41 PM)

1. But suddenly insurance wants to hike premium 10% per year, continuously for minimum 3 years
2. EPF suddenly release, minimum required savings. the amount increased from 20% to 50% (I cant remember exact percentage, its so damning)

1. not everyone buys insurance, it is not your standard basket of goods to calculate inflation
2. minimum required savings has only partial relation with inflation, another factor to consider is a the increasing longevity and ageing society in Malaysia. So your irrational tin-foil hat about "govt lying" is not backed up with facts whistling.gif
TSsoul78
post Jun 4 2025, 08:45 PM

943 posts

only SALVATION is STRF... 10% PA fixed...

pam muh buttcoins biatchesss...
@@@@@@@@@@
post Jun 4 2025, 08:46 PM

In 1960, everyone can afford to retire coz their life expectancy used ro be like 60 y.o.

Now some people can't afford to retire because they simply live too long.
TSsoul78
post Jun 4 2025, 08:48 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(@@@@@@@@@@ @ Jun 4 2025, 08:46 PM)
In 1960, everyone can afford to retire coz their life expectancy used ro be like 60 y.o.

nasib alot of us sulah cucuke... no?.. brows.gif
GagalLand
post Jun 4 2025, 08:49 PM

239 posts

That is why must increase the retirement age to 65

SUSBoomwick
post Jun 4 2025, 08:50 PM

1,009 posts

Means work till die la..
hellothere131495

473 posts

That is why I don't want to retire. Not even 70 years old. I mean, I don't want to rely on saving for retirement. I'm not a businessman. I'm a salary man. And I need my salary for my whole life. Please ban retirement age.
netflix2019

418 posts

Meanwhile the 4% got enough for their children to retire outright.
@@@@@@@@@@
post Jun 4 2025, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(GagalLand @ Jun 4 2025, 08:49 PM)
That is why must increase the retirement age to 65
No, must stop all the nonsense RM1 kkm. If you are old, and u need the rm1 healthcare to stay alive, you cannot afford to continue extending your life anyway.
@@@@@@@@@@
post Jun 4 2025, 08:54 PM

Old already, go to kkm rm1 to extend life, then no money to continue living, after release.
xpole
post Jun 4 2025, 08:55 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Just turn on the aircond and sleep the whole night inside car if can no longer afford to live
TSsoul78
post Jun 4 2025, 08:57 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(@@@@@@@@@@ @ Jun 4 2025, 08:51 PM)
No, must stop all the nonsense RM1 kkm. If you are old, and u need the rm1 healthcare to stay alive, you cannot afford to continue extending your life anyway.
Thats korrekk..... gomen should allow euthanasia in Merehsia...
mois
post Jun 4 2025, 08:59 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

Retirement is myth in 3rd world country general population. Only T10-T1 afford to retire.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 09:01 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:36 PM)
Wahh this few days velli hotz topic... on epf and retirement...

inb4: Here we go againz...
Can't afford to retire is one thing.

Next they're going to make the unofficial retirement age even earlier with private companies now cutting off hiring age at 35-40yo and implementing routine retrenchment cycle every year targeting the older/senior staffs.
gundamsp01
post Jun 4 2025, 09:03 PM

gunpla procrastinator
907 posts

you try to experience your grandfather/grandmother simple lifestyle before you put in the general statement of "in the 1960, everyone can afford to retire"

ycs
post Jun 4 2025, 09:04 PM

4,239 posts

so, how to solve?
TSsoul78
post Jun 4 2025, 09:06 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jun 4 2025, 09:04 PM)
so, how to solve?
Alll in STRF in momoo??... whistling.gif
ketupatlazat
post Jun 4 2025, 09:07 PM

555 posts

Abolish excise duties pls

Ayam mau beli BYD half price
galkelly
post Jun 4 2025, 09:18 PM

752 posts

Those alone and single punya , why can't retire....
Easily achieve at 50
TSsoul78
post Jun 4 2025, 09:24 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Jun 4 2025, 09:18 PM)
Easily achieve at 50
foreveralones who wanna live with 4.4K in passive income also would need to have 1mil in EPF to earn that much...

Again come back to the point that how many people will be able to achieve 1mil according to the stats...

if you're able to survive with 2.2K a month, you would still need 500K in epf to generate that amount of passive...
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 09:25 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Jun 4 2025, 09:18 PM)
Easily achieve at 50
Must take into account inflation and monthly return.

What your grandparents think is enough to retire some 50 years ago is peanuts today. They could buy a house with just RM25k back then today the same house already worth RM500k.

Chap fan 30 years ago under RM3 can get 3 dish plus drink. Today RM10 might not be enough.
azbro
post Jun 4 2025, 09:26 PM

4,403 posts

If until 96%, something is very wrong with this country.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 09:28 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jun 4 2025, 09:03 PM)
you try to experience your grandfather/grandmother simple lifestyle before you put in the general statement of "in the 1960, everyone can afford to retire"
Don't even need to look that far.

Just 30 years ago when you're still a child. RM3 can already buy chap fan with 3 dishes and chinese tea is 10cents or free.

RM1 can already buy roti telor + roti canai.

This is how the bankers steal value out of your money instead of directly robbing the people of their money. It's regarded as the "invincible" tactic through what is called inflation.
jojolicia
post Jun 4 2025, 09:29 PM

1,924 posts

30+30 is a good number la. Already 85 ape lagi mau. You can stay healthy to spend your fruit not eroding your wealth is already a blessing

Cannot afford its because you slack the 1st 30. Priority ke longkang to begin with. Period

Inflation is new? Haha get real don’t give excuses la suck it up

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 4 2025, 09:36 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 09:31 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 4 2025, 09:26 PM)
If until 96%, something is very wrong with this country.
Wait till you see what is happening in Canada and those Commonwealth WEF nations...

Those rapeugees already given "interest free" $40k loans once they land there and become indebted almost on day one sold to be slaves.

DM52
post Jun 4 2025, 09:31 PM

406 posts

I hope I died by the time I reach 60. no point live long long time also. cost of living increase a lot each year. not happy la if age beyond 60..
seiferalmercy
post Jun 4 2025, 09:34 PM

135 posts

The sad thing is, I dont think a lot of people will survive long enough to reach retirement age.

We'll be extremely lucky if there's no nuclear armageddon in the next 30 years
gundamsp01
post Jun 4 2025, 09:36 PM

gunpla procrastinator
907 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 4 2025, 09:28 PM)
Don't even need to look that far.

Just 30 years ago when you're still a child. RM3 can already buy chap fan with 3 dishes and chinese tea is 10cents or free.

RM1 can already buy roti telor + roti canai.

This is how the bankers steal value out of your money instead of directly robbing the people of their money. It's regarded as the "invincible" tactic through what is called inflation.
and you forgot 1 point, 30 years ago, i can't afford kfc because my father only earning like 1k+ per month. Today, i can eat kfc everyday without breaking a sweat. That is also called inflation for salary.
machomama
post Jun 4 2025, 09:40 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:57 PM)
Thats korrekk..... gomen should allow euthanasia in Merehsia...
with life getting harder day by day

if allowed
painlessly.....
how many will subscribe?
smallcrab
post Jun 4 2025, 09:43 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:50 PM)
That is why I don't want to retire. Not even 70 years old. I mean, I don't want to rely on saving for retirement. I'm not a businessman. I'm a salary man. And I need my salary for my whole life. Please ban retirement age.
KSM
Kerja sampai mati
nelson969
post Jun 4 2025, 09:45 PM

323 posts

yes spread more doctrine of epf investment

also malaysia already same level with sg korea japan , work until die culture , bali bali culture
SUSM4A1
post Jun 4 2025, 09:46 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jun 4 2025, 08:41 PM)

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 20 2025, 05:13 PM)
Ringgit turun? Our inflation has been tempered by bank negara the past years. If it's so bad tell me how shopping mall and hotel reits are doing alright to car sales numbers also going up. Don't because on case straight say economy merosot.
yed
post Jun 4 2025, 09:47 PM

375 posts

Epf expected giving lower return next year..because need to support govt instructions to buy local bursa shares since foreign investors already running away due to non confidence with current govt
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 09:48 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jun 4 2025, 09:36 PM)
and you forgot 1 point, 30 years ago, i can't afford kfc because my father only earning like 1k+ per month. Today, i can eat kfc everyday without breaking a sweat. That is also called inflation for salary.
30k years ago if a house only costs RM35-40k landed, and your father earned 1k+ per month he should have no problem paying it off by the age of 50.

Can your RM4k salary pay off your 500k house on loan by the time you reach 50yo?

Not just that you think you can keep your job until your 50 today and not become the next retrenched worker to make way for the annual release of new grads?
gundamsp01
post Jun 4 2025, 09:54 PM

gunpla procrastinator
907 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 4 2025, 09:48 PM)
30k years ago if a house only costs RM35-40k landed, and your father earned 1k+ per month he should have no problem paying it off by the age of 50.

Can your RM4k salary pay off your 500k house on loan by the time you reach 50yo?

Not just that you think you can keep your job until your 50 today and not become the next retrenched worker to make way for the annual release of new grads?
yo, 30 years ago assuming 50k landed with 1k+ per month able to settle it by age 50.
if it is increase by 10 times, 500k, corresponding salary should 10k+ per month. But realistically speaking, i already settled my house of 500k before i reach 40 brows.gif
keyser soze
post Jun 4 2025, 09:58 PM

570 posts

The percentage shoot up after mydin allow withdrawal.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 09:59 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jun 4 2025, 09:54 PM)
yo, 30 years ago assuming 50k landed with 1k+ per month able to settle it by age 50.
if it is increase by 10 times, 500k, corresponding salary should 10k+ per month. But realistically speaking, i already settled my house of 500k before i reach 40  brows.gif
We're talking about the average Malaysians, you father back then with RM1k+ salary got as educated as you a not with degree?

He can settle landed home even before retire and still have enough savings to fund your studies and retire comfortably.

Try that with today's new job seekers.
gundamsp01
post Jun 4 2025, 10:00 PM

gunpla procrastinator
907 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 4 2025, 09:59 PM)
We're talking about the average Malaysians, you father back then with RM1k+ salary got as educated as you a not with degree?

He can settle landed home even before retire and still  have enough savings to fund your studies and retire comfortably.

Try that with today's new job seekers.
he didn't have enough to fund my studies, it was just ptptn, and he didn't retire comfortably, his comfortability came from my monthly giving to him smile.gif

Otherwise, should be fine smile.gif if replicate the same lifestyle. But then, how many can do that, how can do away with yearly overseas travel? dine out? daily coffee?

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Jun 4 2025, 10:05 PM
killdavid
post Jun 4 2025, 10:41 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,645 posts

Buy ipong, netflix subscription, buy ps5 , rtx4090 , yearly instagram vacations then cry you are very cham. This if the folly of modern people.
PJng
post Jun 4 2025, 10:47 PM

12,061 posts

can we retire early? 65 too old to work, avg malaysia age just 70+
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 4 2025, 10:49 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 4 2025, 10:47 PM)
Japanese still got senior citizens over 80yo still working.
PJng
post Jun 4 2025, 10:50 PM

12,061 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 4 2025, 10:49 PM)
Japanese still got senior citizens over 80yo still working.
https://open.dosm.gov.my/dashboard/life-expectancy

i just say about this data by gov, avg age
jojolicia
post Jun 4 2025, 10:52 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(yed @ Jun 4 2025, 09:47 PM)
Epf expected giving lower return next year..because need to support govt instructions to buy local bursa shares since foreign investors already running away due to non confidence with current govt
Local bursa, how long can epf prop, unwise move. Not sustainable

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 4 2025, 10:55 PM
gundamsp01
post Jun 4 2025, 11:00 PM

gunpla procrastinator
907 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 4 2025, 10:47 PM)
everyone has their own judgement if they can retire early or not. In terms of longetivity, look at your family line history rather than average malaysians lifespan.
You have to judge your own situation for yourself.
focusrite
post Jun 4 2025, 11:02 PM

409 posts

The concept of retirement is outdated

we now work till we die
icemanfx
post Jun 5 2025, 04:35 AM

21,458 posts

Reality is often hard to accept.

galkelly
post Jun 5 2025, 08:31 AM

752 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 4 2025, 09:24 PM)
foreveralones who wanna live with 4.4K in passive income also would need to have 1mil in EPF to earn that much...

Again come back to the point that how many people will be able to achieve 1mil according to the stats...

if you're able to survive with 2.2K a month, you would still need 500K in epf to generate that amount of passive...
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 4 2025, 09:25 PM)
Must take into account inflation and monthly return.

What your grandparents think is enough to retire some 50 years ago is peanuts today. They could buy a house with just RM25k back then today the same house already worth RM500k.

Chap fan 30 years ago under RM3 can get 3 dish plus drink. Today RM10 might not be enough.
By 50 your pama already paid off the house u live in with them
Your pama EPF also they ll pass down to you
Jeweleries cash investment also pass to you
You yourself also work n got epf
If you no gamble it off , 50 retirement should be attainable
sadlyfalways
post Jun 5 2025, 08:39 AM

1,185 posts

inflation is just mad, dont know how they calculate.

i still remember few years back cheapest 3 series with 3 cylinder engine was barely 200k

now 3 series, c class, volvo s60 all became 5 series, e class price from 2019???

and this is with reduced technology too

new e class got reflector headlights in the big 25

what even is happening
blmse92
post Jun 5 2025, 08:43 AM

603 posts

Actually i don't understand why people always said not enough to retire, when you get old your lifestyle and spending will be lower and lower, when you 60+ you don't eat as much as when you 30+..so yes inflation kicked in but you eat lesser so price will be lower.

For lifestyle, i think some people want to maintain that 'lifestyle' at 60+.. That's why not enough. For 60+ uncles go cheong once a month cukup la and also go kopitiam instead of hispter cafe. spending sure go down.

FYI, this is my pov only. i not yet 60+... long way to go..correct me if im wrong
Viper236
post Jun 5 2025, 08:44 AM

Well all thanks to certain imperialist money printing machine and export their inflation around the world. Amdk sure will not have any issues with inflation
pinamorita
post Jun 5 2025, 08:50 AM

load of bulls
all these 'gurus' sure kept saying the same thing, no amount of money is enough

they just want you all to invest in their schemes

giftfre
post Jun 5 2025, 08:51 AM

Control Macho
687 posts

Perlis & Kelantan welcoming all retiree.
karazure
post Jun 5 2025, 08:54 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(DogeGamingPRO @ Jun 4 2025, 08:42 PM)
Pretty much world liddat
Just ready to work till die
or die early, all prob settle.
TSsoul78
post Jun 5 2025, 08:54 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jun 5 2025, 08:43 AM)
Actually i don't understand why people always said not enough to retire, when you get old your lifestyle and spending will be lower and lower, when you 60+ you don't eat as much as when you 30+..so yes inflation kicked in but you eat lesser so price will be lower.

For lifestyle, i think some people want to maintain that 'lifestyle' at 60+.. That's why not enough. For 60+ uncles go cheong once a month cukup la and also go kopitiam instead of hispter cafe. spending sure go down.
FYI, this is my pov only. i not yet 60+... long way to go..correct me if im wrong
When pepolz retire, they mostly want to live a full life and not hunker down in the house tunggu ajal jer...

Say if you're already 60 now and how much you need now to survive?.
if you say you need 2K every month to survive now in today's currency...

then in 20years time when you do retire you will need 4K just to have the same purchasing power of today's 2K ).

For you to earn 4K passive in EPF about 1mil is required.
xCM
post Jun 5 2025, 08:57 AM

536 posts

That's why salah DAP
And sugar and processed foods exist for a reason
post Jun 5 2025, 08:59 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jun 5 2025, 09:43 AM)

The problem is people don't have enough savings when they retire to even afford the lower spendings

Then there are people who retire and spend all their savings in just a few years

Let's say, you got 200K savings after retirement, do you think its enough to sustain you until 75 years old when you retire at 60?

If I am not mistaken, a lot of people don't even have the EPF recommended minimum 250K when reach 55 years old
post Jun 5 2025, 09:00 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jun 5 2025, 09:39 AM)
inflation is just mad, dont know how they calculate.

i still remember few years back cheapest 3 series with 3 cylinder engine was barely 200k

now 3 series, c class, volvo s60 all became 5 series, e class price from 2019???

and this is with reduced technology too

new e class got reflector headlights in the big 25

what even is happening
You use luxury cars to calculate inflation? LOL!
TSsoul78
post Jun 5 2025, 09:00 AM

943 posts

Look at inflation from kepci point of view...

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5519597

WongTheThief
post Jun 5 2025, 09:06 AM

216 posts

when you have those sohai people take out their EPF money before retirement, of course in the future its these the same people that gonna say not enough money for retirement

killdavid
post Jun 5 2025, 11:07 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,645 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Jun 5 2025, 09:06 AM)
when you have those sohai people take out their EPF money before retirement, of course in the future its these the same people that gonna say not enough money for retirement

They don't have enough to retire.
But what i care about is do i have enough to retire. Ktards argue people can't retire, correction, only certain people. Let them work. Some of us have a chance to chill before we check out. I don't spend on useless temporary stuff
ameliorate
post Jun 5 2025, 11:12 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jun 5 2025, 08:43 AM)

Yup. Just move to some small town. RM1k/month also enough.

Those not enough usually have debts.
smallcrab
post Jun 5 2025, 11:13 AM

140 posts

Buy cars out of affordability
Rather not save the $$$

Dat's why
sadlyfalways
post Jun 5 2025, 01:49 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 09:00 AM)
You use luxury cars to calculate inflation? LOL!
look at it this way, the rich get richer, i understand, but also the poor and M40 are forced to stay in their brackets much longer.

gone are the days where you can buy a bmw with your 20k salary and still have enough to support a family.

is that not sad?

i dont know

definitely a recession indicator if you ask me
chuan88
post Jun 5 2025, 02:03 PM

40 posts

Malaysia Population : 35,944,483

96% X 35,944,483 = 34,506,704

Aged 0-14 in Malaysia is 22%

Maths failed also can teach do calculations?
cmk96
post Jun 5 2025, 02:05 PM

2,096 posts

This youtuber forgot about those with pencen...

They can live normally. They don't need EPF.

0.0228sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:04 PM