QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 10:56 AM)
Raising retirement age has been discussed since Najib time lah
Najib was the one who raise it to 60
We need to revisit this issue today because it's genuinely a problem which we must tackle
I don't know why there are people who against it
If you want to retire early, no one is forcing you to retire at 65
This option is for those who still need to work as they can't afford to retire early
As for EPF, if people rely only on EPF as their only source of fundings after retirement, it means that you really should retire at 65
As for not allowing people to withdraw everything, just look at Singapore and the reason why they are doing it lah
Why need to raise to 65. Najib was the one who raise it to 60
We need to revisit this issue today because it's genuinely a problem which we must tackle
I don't know why there are people who against it
If you want to retire early, no one is forcing you to retire at 65
This option is for those who still need to work as they can't afford to retire early
As for EPF, if people rely only on EPF as their only source of fundings after retirement, it means that you really should retire at 65
As for not allowing people to withdraw everything, just look at Singapore and the reason why they are doing it lah
Because there is problem with wealth generation down the economy.
Raising retirement age doesnt mean will solve "afford to retire"
the pool of wealth fund in EPF is dwindling very fast and the feed to the system is low.
even increases retirement age, doesnt mean it will contribute towards replacing funds that is departing.
Catch 22 problem.
Jun 5 2025, 11:59 AM

0.0152sec