Astro is pointless, Almost nothing there left

TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 07:45 AM, updated 6 months ago

88 posts

Astro was already lacking content, now its trimming down even more.

Only reason we still have it is because orang tua kat rumah masih mau tengok, but honestly, I dont know what got already.

Warner TV, Food network, Animal Planet all sudah hilang. I mean it was barely anything, but at least was something la. The astro Movie channel keep putting on damn old movies. The tamil stuff all benda ambik dari youtube and put on as special show. Plus, last time at least can watch older episode on Astro go, now its only limited to the last two episodes.

Then keep on repeating old stuff again and again. Some shows were good la, but keep repeating it again for what?

Honestly, dunno why paying so much for. Potong content but still cahrging more and more. Its just becoming more of a hub for your streaming service where they are more of promoting the convience of subscribing to many services with one bill.

Sudah minta family potong sahaja tapi masih mau, but only see the drama which is also on disney plus. Burden by other peoples decision.

This post has been edited by allomicro: Jun 4 2025, 07:46 AM
killdavid
post Jun 4 2025, 07:49 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Good deal ? Broadband + cable tv
MegaCanonF
post Jun 4 2025, 07:49 AM

864 posts

sadly no alternative . There is unifi TTV but not much stuff there as well.

android box not elderly friendly. they just want to open remote n switch channel old school way

if burden let them pay not you .

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Jun 4 2025, 07:50 AM
knwong
post Jun 4 2025, 07:50 AM

3,560 posts

Android TV box kan ada

Many sellers providing the app service outside
DarkAeon
post Jun 4 2025, 07:52 AM

774 posts

astro's value proposition has been spiralling downwards for decades, so many ppl stop using it. in return, to cut cost, they had to cut expenses, lower down their value even further

it's a vicious cycle

This post has been edited by DarkAeon: Jun 4 2025, 07:52 AM
vez
post Jun 4 2025, 07:53 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 4 2025, 07:49 AM)

normal price?

49 is the astro pack itself, Unifi macam can go RM90 for 500mbps in unifi thread people mentioned
Chobits
post Jun 4 2025, 07:55 AM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

Wait u jadi old ppl, then u know why assteruk is some sort of good.
blmse92
post Jun 4 2025, 08:01 AM

603 posts

Astro best selling point now is SPORT packages.
Zot
post Jun 4 2025, 08:03 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 4 2025, 07:45 AM)

Only reason we still have it is because orang tua kat rumah masih mau tengok, but honestly, I dont know what got already.

Warner TV, Food network, Animal Planet all sudah hilang. I mean it was barely anything, but at least was something la. The astro Movie channel keep putting on damn old movies. The tamil stuff all benda ambik dari youtube and put on as special show. Plus, last time at least can watch older episode on Astro go, now its only limited to the last two episodes.

Then keep on repeating old stuff again and again. Some shows were good la, but keep repeating it again for what?

Honestly, dunno why paying so much for. Potong content but still cahrging more and more. Its just becoming more of a hub for your streaming service where they are more of promoting the convience of subscribing to many services with one bill.

Sudah minta family potong sahaja tapi masih mau, but only see the drama which is also on disney plus. Burden by other peoples decision.
It depends on what you want to watch. Most new gen just like to watch movie and Astro do not own the right to the movie, thus those on HBO, Cinemax cannot be recorded. For Asia region, usually the HBO Cinemax normally stream older movie compare to other region. This is beyond Astro control. Even if you subscribe to Netflix, the Asia region will get different movie compares to other region. If you want the video like from US region, then you need to VPN. You will see different choices of movie. This is why Astro like Astro Go only have old movie or B Grade ones that they can store in their library. Other than that I probably go for news.

The trend nowadays that those network like HBO, Cinemax and Netflix sign contract with production houses, thus you can only find certain series on specific network only. This forcrs people to sign with HBO, Netflix and Cinemax, not just one. Even Korean drama also can only be found on one network only laugh.gif This is why more and more local contents in Astro. Production houses has to compete with better contents to get slots on Astro for their drama or series. Those who are not watching local contents will find this is annoying.
shaqmunak01
post Jun 4 2025, 08:03 AM

Thos one they give very basic channel.95+ include all the free tv1,2,3 and all the radios station. No movie, no sport,not even rtm sport i think, indian and chinese channel also give basic punya.
jibpek
post Jun 4 2025, 08:06 AM

708 posts

Kuthir's monopoly, crony and brain child all dying one by one.
azbro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:08 AM

4,403 posts

If it is pointless, then it will close down due to no profits
sonypshomer
post Jun 4 2025, 08:11 AM

1,594 posts

Todi Kodi kan ada

plouffle0789
post Jun 4 2025, 08:14 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(shaqmunak01 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:03 AM)
Thos one they give very basic channel.95+ include all the free tv1,2,3 and all the radios station. No movie, no sport,not even rtm sport i think, indian and chinese channel also give basic punya.
Got some news channel

Bbc,abc,
plouffle0789
post Jun 4 2025, 08:14 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 4 2025, 08:08 AM)
If it is pointless, then it will close down due to no profits
https://www.klsescreener.com/v2/stocks/view/6399

Profit year by year drop

Shares price also
achong09
post Jun 4 2025, 08:19 AM

1,280 posts

i only have astro due to their sports content la... F1, worldcup, champs league, premier league, badminton... other than that i dont watch other channels...
achong09
post Jun 4 2025, 08:20 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 4 2025, 07:49 AM)

android box not elderly friendly. they just want to open remote n switch channel old school way

android box always buffering... very frusfrating la
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 4 2025, 08:21 AM

167 posts

Bundle With internet, Netflix, Disney+, HBO Max, sports etc total actually not bad, compared to having all the different subscriptions separately
Chrix
post Jun 4 2025, 08:23 AM

1,187 posts

lol now baru sedar? Dah >10yrs i cancelled that shit

nelson969
post Jun 4 2025, 08:24 AM

321 posts

astro only for fifa and olympic, yea pretty much the rest is pointless and shit

ever since the Netflix arrival , immediately 95% of my circle already unsub astro, only the old boomer / boomer still use
kyfong
post Jun 4 2025, 08:25 AM

290 posts

With Astro box can also stream netflix, iQiyi, Disney+Hotstar. Up to 4 devices. Not only TV
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:32 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(kyfong @ Jun 4 2025, 08:25 AM)
With Astro box can also stream netflix, iQiyi, Disney+Hotstar. Up to 4 devices. Not only TV
Even now got more streaming services including amazon and a few indian ones as well. But can I cancel when I dont like? Biasa astro when want to cancel anything they will charge you or make it damn hard to do so. I usually switch streaming services every few months, so I just cancel and switch. I dont think it would be that easy with astro.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:34 AM

88 posts

Ya la. Last time kena con by astro and asked to take up this service. My father is the one that took it. Till now is stuck with that. Want to change to my name for tax purpose pun tak boleh. Mau tukar to others (unifi or digi), the technician itself say might not have enough port. So I end up just continue to pay lo.
Skylinestar
post Jun 4 2025, 08:36 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

only reason is it is the only not-so-bad satellite tv service. good for jungle people.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:38 AM

88 posts

Anak derhaka. Bila you kecik, bapa awak belikan untuk awak, so now its your turn.

The problem is they mostly see youtube on the tv and they know how to use streaming service. Tapi when ask to potong will start with all the sandiwara.

soul78
post Jun 4 2025, 08:40 AM

933 posts

assthrow is for boomers gen...

new gen's dont even have assthrow in their house...but got netflux, plime or dickneys

TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:41 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 4 2025, 08:03 AM)
It depends on what you want to watch. Most new gen just like to watch movie and Astro do not own the right to the movie, thus those on HBO, Cinemax cannot be recorded. For Asia region, usually the HBO Cinemax normally stream older movie compare to other region. This is beyond Astro control. Even if you subscribe to Netflix, the Asia region will get different movie compares to other region. If you want the video like from US region, then you need to VPN. You will see different choices of movie. This is why Astro like Astro Go only have old movie or B Grade ones that they can store in their library. Other than that I probably go for news.

The trend nowadays that those network like HBO, Cinemax and Netflix sign contract with production houses, thus you can only find certain series on specific network only. This forcrs people to sign with HBO, Netflix and Cinemax, not just one. Even Korean drama also can only be found on one network only  laugh.gif  This is why more and more local contents in Astro. Production houses has to compete with better contents to get slots on Astro for their drama or series. Those who are not watching local contents will find this is annoying.
I get it. lots of stuff a geo locked. Every now and then I get a relative calling me asking why some movies which came in the news that it has been released on OTT/Disney tak ada. I have to explain all the time.

The problem is now astro keep cutting stuff and repeating. At least last time ok still, got some shows that can watch, even the older channels like Hits or some AXN stuff also ok la. But now, its just repeating the same stuff. They have 3 version of FBI and keep on repeating blue blood dont know how many times already.

Probably the warner TV and stuff related to Max streaming service now.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:43 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jun 4 2025, 08:11 AM)
Todi Kodi kan ada

Eh, apa ini? boleh dapat astro ke?

Actually its just two or three channel that people at home watch. So if I can just get those and show that its easy enough to use, then maybe boleh convince to potong.

Hmm, maybe I should revisit KODI and see. Dont know much about it.
poooky
post Jun 4 2025, 08:46 AM

844 posts

Even older generation now all main henfone now. YouTube, tiktok, etc. line is still a bit slow so live streaming not so big yet.
supsupsui
post Jun 4 2025, 08:46 AM

76 posts

pay to watch badminton? stop watching badminton
iGamer
post Jun 4 2025, 08:47 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

On a box ayam can get all the anime to stream. Long time said goodbye to Xtro.
johnnyg
post Jun 4 2025, 08:49 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(kyfong @ Jun 4 2025, 08:25 AM)
Indeed. oldfolks see assthrow... me and kids see those...
Zot
post Jun 4 2025, 08:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:40 AM)
assthrow is for boomers gen...

new gen's dont even have assthrow in their house...but got netflux, plime or dickneys
Older people more into more reliable news on TV. Young people more into movies and news on social media only laugh.gif
leongsem
post Jun 4 2025, 08:53 AM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:20 AM)
and delay
Imp Bron
post Jun 4 2025, 08:54 AM

143 posts

Actually not just astro, cable tv business died all over the world. The market move to Netflix like platform with their own original series to maintain customer

Astro however good at making local movies with it's astro shaw. Last time they released tv series High Council also it was a hit but the caveat is that tv series only viral after it released on Netflix
KenM
post Jun 4 2025, 08:56 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 4 2025, 06:49 AM)

i too want to know... any users can advise...
us changing channel to channel, same as the astro remote?
or like the present smart tv, where you have to point each character until you spell out the movie you want?..
annoymous1234
post Jun 4 2025, 09:02 AM

7,617 posts

I suppose u don't watch sports coz if u do, u know that astro is so far the best for it. But that's it.

Also I think they have a lot of local in house Malay content, so Malays still watch it.
Taikor.Taikun
post Jun 4 2025, 09:03 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 4 2025, 07:50 AM)
Android TV box kan ada

Old ppl dont like these stuff. Else, Astro already no subscriptions.

Astro survive because of HD football n old gen prefer the old ways of watching tv. They dont like extra steps.
awol
post Jun 4 2025, 09:04 AM

913 posts

Todi Kodi kan ada

give up with kodi. cry.gif
backspace66
post Jun 4 2025, 09:09 AM

2,139 posts

Add fibre broadband and inludes hbo max, disney shit seems like a good deal until you realize this is like hotel california
Singh_Kalan
post Jun 4 2025, 09:10 AM

2,033 posts

Most of the program in Astro is available in Youtube la. After convincing my dad to change to youtube, he is even more happy now. No looking back.
melt
post Jun 4 2025, 09:12 AM

974 posts

Todi Kodi kan ada

but not stable... nowadays cant load anymore not sure why
mpyw
post Jun 4 2025, 09:12 AM

3,603 posts

I paid RM110 (b4 SST) for Super Pack 3 (since years ago and don't want to upgrade to current plan)

include Sports, Disney+ Hotstar, most of the Chinese channels, HBO Max, Prime Movies, Documentaries, News and some Korean Channels

Seem Ok to me as Disney and Max if subscribe outside already almost RM60, but I mainly for EPL only
Carlos_Santan
post Jun 4 2025, 09:14 AM

112 posts

for org kampung, they like astro ceria, warna etc etc because got shows that ngam with them. so astro still sellable to outside of city folks.
XxSupaNovaxX
post Jun 4 2025, 09:15 AM

107 posts

Dude
Wake up!

Its 2025
Who the hell still use estro

xD
ketupatlazat
post Jun 4 2025, 09:23 AM

555 posts

Ppl still watch TV meh?
karazure
post Jun 4 2025, 09:28 AM

70 posts

come on la, Astro sudah lama tak relevant.
prophetjul
post Jun 4 2025, 09:30 AM

12,269 posts

Took you so long to realise this?
treblecase
post Jun 4 2025, 09:33 AM

IHI
779 posts

OK i admit I’ve fallen for the maxshit RM25/month offer for the premium suucka streaming for sports. Can stream on both mobile & TV but seconds delay from actual assteruk. I can live with this rather than paying RM99 for actual sports package & all the ding dongs installation of assteruk.
Silfer
post Jun 4 2025, 09:40 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:20 AM)
ayam use one ok jer.

QUOTE(melt @ Jun 4 2025, 09:12 AM)
but not stable... nowadays cant load anymore not sure why
use RD.

This post has been edited by Silfer: Jun 4 2025, 09:41 AM
Juan86
post Jun 4 2025, 09:43 AM

651 posts

like lowyat.net
Jasonist
post Jun 4 2025, 09:56 AM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

watch the AEC news
Zer0 c00L
post Jun 4 2025, 10:03 AM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

Paying almost 200 for assteruk to keep the folks happy, both mine and in laws and my house shares it on different platform viewing, if you look at it that way divided, it’s quite affordable

It’s a seamless experience especially for older folks and most importantly no need for tech support from me
Autocountstick
post Jun 4 2025, 10:05 AM

674 posts

if possible please dont use it
SUSMaybachS600
post Jun 4 2025, 10:09 AM

900 posts

Only Indians and Sport lovers saving Astro. If Media Prima creates a Tamil channel, Indians will shift there.
kenyang_is_full
post Jun 4 2025, 10:12 AM

51 posts

waifu still watch drama. some astro original series quite good. im on basic subscription ok lar
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 10:13 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(KenM @ Jun 4 2025, 08:56 AM)
i too want to know... any users can advise...
us changing channel to channel, same as the astro remote?
or like the present smart tv, where you have to point each character until you spell out the movie you want?..
Its actually two services, bundled as one. Astro with the box and you get internet from them also. So basicly the same as getting astro plus unifi or what ever internet service. Just you get from them is bundled and slightly cheaper la. You still use the control to change channel.

Last time it was called Astro IPTV, means hujan also can see using internet, now all astro can connect with internet.

But if you are using the new astro box its like astro go on the phone, but still can surf channels.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 10:16 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 4 2025, 09:02 AM)
I suppose u don't watch sports coz if u do, u know that astro is so far the best for it. But that's it.

Also I think they have a lot of local in house Malay content, so Malays still watch it.
Ya, I stopped watching sports quite sometime. So yes, in terms of sports, easier to use astro.

Also, indian content still got in astro, but nowdays kurang also. Their content used to be ok to good, but now way less with shows getting cancelled. This is the local content. The ones from india got audience but not everyones cup of tea. Which the reason astro still running in my house.
terriblyrawtea
post Jun 4 2025, 10:22 AM

100 posts

besides monopoly on sports channels, olmypics, what else does astro offer actually? we dont need them for old dramas anymore, especially when TVB has their own app.

When the next two generation finally dies off, so will astro
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 10:25 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(MaybachS600 @ Jun 4 2025, 10:09 AM)
Only Indians and Sport lovers saving Astro. If Media Prima creates a Tamil channel, Indians will shift there.
Dulu TV2/TV3/NTV7 got indian content, especially in the late mornings and on weekends. It was quite ok la. But after astro masuk, the indian content on these channels slowly got less and less. Now Hindi is considered Indian and you only get local stuff at odd hours like 2 am in the morning or afternoon.

The india channels also can replace with stuff streaming stuff, but the local stuff is still whats holding some of them, including my household.

Even Sun TV, which you need to pay an extra RM 20 or something for the past 20 years is now free/included in the basic pacakage. Tells you that the indian crowd might be thinning out for astro as well.

It wont be long till they tutup the indian channels, then its only sports.
peace4ever
post Jun 4 2025, 10:29 AM

57 posts

I guess Malaysia still dont care about IP ya, anything watch Astro outside Astro itself is illegal except astro box, astro mobile app and astro smartTV app. Plus all android box are illegal. You can unsubscribe astro but watch with legal way such as netflix, max, disney+ etc.

This post has been edited by peace4ever: Jun 4 2025, 10:30 AM
soulknight
post Jun 4 2025, 10:42 AM

549 posts

I just downgrade my package to the basic 50 ringgit package only plus change the broadband to astro 500mbps package. Before using superpack 1 but after a while, no mood to watch tv.
Clueless07
post Jun 4 2025, 10:48 AM

1,372 posts

i spend most my time in youtube premium.
many things to watch there.

astro is only for soccer- which not watching every match like last time.
yes- mainly maintain it as share the account with in-laws....

anyway- TVB era is gone- but they just sort of maintain the habit and traditions. and cant switch to new stream of entertainment.

how about netflix.... there are some nice show- but also not something you could watch daily right?
WongTheThief
post Jun 4 2025, 10:48 AM

216 posts

never subscribe to Astro but I heard once you get in it's difficult to get out just like hotel california

and basically shit CS
titanz
post Jun 4 2025, 02:28 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Jun 4 2025, 10:48 AM)
never subscribe to Astro but I heard once you get in it's difficult to get out just like hotel california

and basically shit CS
is true!

when you sign up, they smile and greet you

when you decide to terminate it, they will come out with 1001 reasons of fear of lost
miromiro
post Jun 4 2025, 02:31 PM

560 posts

No sign but need pay
blanket84
post Jun 4 2025, 02:31 PM

1,520 posts

Astro is pointless, but then I got free disney and max with my subscription, on top of the sports package. So, okay la..
Jag23sys
post Jun 4 2025, 02:34 PM

18 posts

Still got people using Astro?!
Hobbez
post Jun 4 2025, 02:34 PM

1,235 posts

Astro is still useful when the place has no internet connection amirite? And there are many places without internet connection or its so bad.
RiriRuruRara
post Jun 4 2025, 02:41 PM

1,011 posts

Still using Astro to watch football
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jun 4 2025, 02:43 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,755 posts

My mum still insists on keeping the Astro in my house

Every month pay RM 120... She said she wants to watch the international news and sports for my brother

For me, waste of money
macyhouse
post Jun 4 2025, 02:47 PM

273 posts

Astro for old people or retired with lots of time

since can get all packaged in one no need sub here sub there

But then again for me will be steam je when i retire
Left4Dead2
post Jun 4 2025, 02:49 PM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Jun 4 2025, 07:53 AM)
normal price?

49 is the astro pack itself, Unifi macam can go RM90 for 500mbps in unifi thread people mentioned
Is a good deal even without watching much. Unifi 500mpbs is RM149 where got 90. Astro using Unifi as backbone also
thesoothsayer
post Jun 4 2025, 02:51 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 4 2025, 08:34 AM)
Ya la. Last time kena con by astro and asked to take up this service. My father is the one that took it. Till now is stuck with that. Want to change to my name for tax purpose pun tak boleh. Mau tukar to others (unifi or digi), the technician itself say might not have enough port. So I end up just continue to pay lo.
How you kena con? Internet speed is slow or got cap? I think like 139.99 is cheaper than unifi 500mbps.
Icehart
post Jun 4 2025, 02:53 PM

14,899 posts

Thing I hate about Astro is after paying subscription still need to watch ads.
MrBaba
post Jun 4 2025, 02:58 PM

2,506 posts

Kesian JB people don't need astro and that was like 20 years ago .
yvliew
post Jun 4 2025, 03:01 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

beli je ehem svi cloud or evpad. no need monthly. as long as got internet…
keyser soze
post Jun 4 2025, 04:09 PM

569 posts

Releasing its results on Tuesday, the pay-TV entertainment group reported a full-year net profit of RM129. 15 million, up from RM36. 88 million in FY2024, helped by lower finance costs and reduced amortisation of intangible assets.

But they still making profit.
BonBonvoyage
post Jun 4 2025, 04:22 PM

43 posts

only switch to astro from google tv for radio when getting ready in the morning, sometimes watch berita
kraziekd
post Jun 4 2025, 04:30 PM

117 posts

myiptv4k je
rooney723
post Jun 4 2025, 04:46 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 4 2025, 09:12 AM)
I paid RM110 (b4 SST) for Super Pack 3 (since years ago and don't want to upgrade to current plan)

include Sports, Disney+ Hotstar, most of the Chinese channels, HBO Max, Prime Movies, Documentaries, News and some Korean Channels

Seem Ok to me as Disney and Max if subscribe outside already almost RM60, but I mainly for EPL only
if u mainly watch EPL only then can consider subscribing to astro sooka sports package instead, its around rm30 a month for sports content can watch on any devices

This post has been edited by rooney723: Jun 4 2025, 04:51 PM
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 4 2025, 04:49 PM

156 posts

disney online, hk https://www.viu.com/ott/my/en/category/596/HK-Dramas
killdavid
post Jun 4 2025, 04:49 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(BonBonvoyage @ Jun 4 2025, 04:22 PM)
only switch to astro from google tv for radio when getting ready in the morning, sometimes watch berita
Actually what does google tv offers ? All i see is paid subscriptions
marfccy
post Jun 4 2025, 04:59 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

most people here macam dont understand from the Astro user POV on why are they still subscribing

its not just about how "diverse" or "variety" of the things in astro, its just because its mostly convenient and fits into their watch case. its like telling another random dude on street that "you are eating your sandwich wrongly", makes no sense

you can argue there are many TV boxes out there being "better" and i believe so too but ultimately is it as simple as using Astro for the current users?

i dont use Astro but even i can see such POV. especially in the days where every bloody streaming service wants to segregate and charge their own, in the end the bloody costs are on par or even more than Astro
Akmall540
post Jun 4 2025, 05:11 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 4 2025, 04:59 PM)
most people here macam dont understand from the Astro user POV on why are they still subscribing

its not just about how "diverse" or "variety" of the things in astro, its just because its mostly convenient and fits into their watch case. its like telling another random dude on street that "you are eating your sandwich wrongly", makes no sense

you can argue there are many TV boxes out there being "better" and i believe so too but ultimately is it as simple as using Astro for the current users?

i dont use Astro but even i can see such POV. especially in the days where every bloody streaming service wants to segregate and charge their own, in the end the bloody costs are on par or even more than Astro
this. i agree 100%. my area dont have unifi, so depends on other telco such as celcom, umobile etc to stream. u know la these telco sometime buffering till idk when.

so astro is the best solution for me. i got to watch epl, motogp, ufc even ppv in the comfort of my living room except if got heavy rain (yes, i used old ultra box).
lorrydriverrocks
post Jun 4 2025, 05:37 PM

268 posts

Got those chinese channels which the old folks like to watch so they still have loyal subscribers there
milolauda
post Jun 4 2025, 05:37 PM

41 posts

just get the rm49.90 plan for orang tua

there have most orang tua need there

what type also ngam

Schumacher
post Jun 4 2025, 05:41 PM

1,161 posts

Android TV box kan ada

On news not many seller already got arrested? Still they dare to sell?
KevProp
post Jun 4 2025, 05:52 PM

81 posts

still got wah lai toi or not ah?

long long time no touch astrok d, but it did bring back some good memories when all the family members and friends talking about the same movie or drama
knwong
post Jun 4 2025, 06:00 PM

3,560 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ Jun 4 2025, 05:41 PM)
On news not many seller already got arrested? Still they dare to sell?
Software still rampant. Just use back old TV box
GHBZDK
post Jun 4 2025, 06:06 PM

173 posts

come on, you know why they fucking failed.
h@ksam
post Jun 4 2025, 06:07 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

Android TV box kan ada

ridiculous easy to use somemore

if old folks still dunno how to use simple remote buttons better go for permanent sleep
hoonanoo
post Jun 4 2025, 06:08 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(jibpek @ Jun 4 2025, 08:06 AM)
Kuthir's monopoly, crony and brain child all dying one by one.
except him
bansheelipsx
post Jun 4 2025, 06:09 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Jun 4 2025, 06:07 PM)

if old folks still dunno how to use simple remote buttons better go for permanent sleep
char siu spotted

desmond2020
post Jun 4 2025, 06:09 PM

907 posts

that price, astro subscription is free when compare with times broadband package
Schumacher
post Jun 4 2025, 06:14 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 4 2025, 06:00 PM)
Software still rampant. Just use back old TV box
KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 3): Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd said a salesperson was fined RM20,000 by the Ampang Sessions Court on Thursday (Aug 3) for selling TV boxes pre-loaded with unauthorised Astro content.

Leong Wei Xiang, 23, had pleaded guilty to the charge under Section 43AA(2) of the Copyright Act 1987, said Astro in a statement.

This year alone, Astro said it has filed five legal actions against piracy and copyright infringement where a total of 10 individuals were found guilty and fined accordingly.

The Copyright (Amendment) Act 2022 was gazetted on Feb 10, 2022. Enforcement of the law was implemented by the government on March 18, 2022.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5398125

I know many sell it from Shopee. Actually shopee still not aware of the dangerous still blur2. If arrested then shopee director also can enter lokap. Astro probably gather more proof only.

so careful if you want sell online.
fourzee
post Jun 4 2025, 06:15 PM

388 posts

This is what happens when there is no open competition ..
emburrar
post Jun 4 2025, 06:42 PM

14 posts

Sports channel assteruk easy and stable
Waiting netflix of sports lwn assteruk
BonBonvoyage
post Jun 4 2025, 06:45 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 4 2025, 04:49 PM)
Actually what does google tv offers ? All i see is paid subscriptions
it's just an android platform where u have preinstalled apps like youtube, netflix and google voice to search stuffs using ur remote
knwong
post Jun 4 2025, 07:07 PM

3,560 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ Jun 4 2025, 06:14 PM)
KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 3): Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd said a salesperson was fined RM20,000 by the Ampang Sessions Court on Thursday (Aug 3) for selling TV boxes pre-loaded with unauthorised Astro content.

Leong Wei Xiang, 23, had pleaded guilty to the charge under Section 43AA(2) of the Copyright Act 1987, said Astro in a statement.

This year alone, Astro said it has filed five legal actions against piracy and copyright infringement where a total of 10 individuals were found guilty and fined accordingly.

The Copyright (Amendment) Act 2022 was gazetted on Feb 10, 2022. Enforcement of the law was implemented by the government on March 18, 2022.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5398125

I know many sell it from Shopee. Actually shopee still not aware of the dangerous still blur2. If arrested then shopee director also can enter lokap. Astro probably gather more proof only.

so careful if you want sell online.
Buyer won’t kena la
Lada Putih
post Jun 4 2025, 07:11 PM

214 posts

netflix is better and cheaper :I
Pain4UrsinZ
post Jun 4 2025, 07:15 PM

1,860 posts

Buy astro and pay DJ SIX FIGURE MONTHLY SALARY
Schumacher
post Jun 4 2025, 07:20 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Jun 4 2025, 07:15 PM)
Buy astro and pay DJ SIX FIGURE MONTHLY SALARY
If people won't listen after change DJ only worth to pay them that salaries. Or else its wastage.
zenix
post Jun 4 2025, 07:28 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

unfortunately there is no easy idiot box for old people.
took me a while to get my folks used to apple tv.
they ain't used to on demand and ask why no live tv.
rooney723
post Jun 4 2025, 08:01 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Jun 4 2025, 06:07 PM)

even my mum who last time only can use astro, now she also use tv box already after learning how to use it, just a few more clicks than astro, just need some time to get used to it

and the changing channels is actually pretty similar to astro's
anakkk
post Jun 4 2025, 08:03 PM

2,115 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 4 2025, 07:28 PM)
unfortunately there is no easy idiot box for old people.
took me a while to get my folks used to apple tv.
they ain't used to on demand and ask why no live tv.
apple tv on smart tv? I find it sometimes the app a bit bad, cannot remember where I stop watching

zenix
post Jun 4 2025, 08:06 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Jun 4 2025, 08:03 PM)
apple tv on smart tv? I find it sometimes the app a bit bad, cannot remember where I stop watching
i am using the apple tv device
i have apple one so content is free
old timers love apple music with old songs karaoke feature to sing along
i also have netflix
so they usually bounce between netflix, apple tv, youtube and free digital tv channels
Justin.Loong
post Jun 9 2025, 04:29 PM

8,363 posts

I was at my auntie's house during the Hari Raya Haji holidays and you're absolutely correct. In the "700" channels, so many programmes have been discontinued. mad.gif vmad.gif ranting.gif bangwall.gif

Saw this in r/malaysia. lol... laugh.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
TSallomicro
post Jun 10 2025, 02:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jun 9 2025, 04:29 PM)
I was at my auntie's house during the Hari Raya Haji holidays and you're absolutely correct. In the "700" channels, so many programmes have been discontinued.    mad.gif  vmad.gif  ranting.gif  bangwall.gif
Saw this in r/malaysia. lol...  laugh.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Thats why, i also got shocked. I mean the programmes were just mediacore with a one or two stuff that is ok la, but now itu pun sudah potong. Usually they would replace with something, but nothing this time. And we are still paying the same amount.
k!nex
post Jun 10 2025, 02:38 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jun 4 2025, 02:49 PM)
Is a good deal even without watching much. Unifi 500mpbs is RM149 where got 90. Astro using Unifi as backbone also
Really ???
This is 90 bucks for 500mbps Unifi with 1 yr free Disney+ Basic.
deathTh3Cannon
post Jun 10 2025, 02:39 PM

248 posts

animax still ada?
TSallomicro
post Jun 10 2025, 02:51 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(deathTh3Cannon @ Jun 10 2025, 02:39 PM)
animax still ada?
Tak ada, now animax on tonton.
WinkyJr
post Jun 10 2025, 03:02 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 10 2025, 02:38 PM)
Really ???
This is 90 bucks for 500mbps Unifi with 1 yr free Disney+ Basic.
only for selected customer?
can't find such price on their web page
k!nex
post Jun 10 2025, 03:11 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Jun 10 2025, 03:02 PM)
only for selected customer?
can't find such price on their web page
For existing customer that finished their contract.
Not in the web page because it is a customer retention deal. Every ISP also got such hidden deal to retain customer from jumping ship to another company
homicidal85
post Jun 10 2025, 03:28 PM

295 posts

Todi Kodi kan ada

how to get this bro?
homicidal85
post Jun 10 2025, 03:29 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 10 2025, 03:11 PM)
For existing customer that finished their contract.
Not in the web page because it is a customer retention deal. Every ISP also got such hidden deal to retain customer from jumping ship to another company
need to add 2 years contract?
after 2nd year, price go back up to 1xx per month?
k!nex
post Jun 10 2025, 04:08 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 10 2025, 03:29 PM)
need to add 2 years contract?
after 2nd year, price go back up to 1xx per month?
24 months contract. Price remains
siaoand1
post Jun 10 2025, 05:35 PM

210 posts

rindu zaman TVB, wah lai toi, cartoon network, cinemax, HBO, AXN, celestial movies in the 2000's

Justin.Loong
post Jun 12 2025, 03:25 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 10 2025, 02:14 PM)
Thats why, i also got shocked. I mean the programmes were just mediacore with a one or two stuff that is ok la, but now itu pun sudah potong. Usually they would replace with something, but nothing this time. And we are still paying the same amount.
I pity my auntie and her family watching reruns of The Waltons, CSI, The Incredible Hulk, ALF, Frasier, etc...
If there's an Astro staffer reading this post, please do something la... icon_question.gif
vez
post Jun 16 2025, 04:08 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jun 4 2025, 02:49 PM)
refer unifi thread bro, where got is you dont know does not mean not exists
hakimix
post Jun 16 2025, 05:05 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(deathTh3Cannon @ Jun 10 2025, 02:39 PM)
animax still ada?
unifitv got animax and nhk for you weebs
CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 16 2025, 05:09 PM

3,864 posts

Still got old people watch Astro??...most should be RIP by now. I am also old already now. Potong over 10 years when my late mother RIP.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jun 16 2025, 05:11 PM
ayamxxx
post Jun 16 2025, 05:10 PM

4,057 posts

2013 already terminated my Astro account.
lorrydriverrocks
post Jun 16 2025, 05:27 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 16 2025, 05:09 PM)
Still got old people watch Astro??...most should be RIP by now. I am also old already now. Potong over 10 years when my late mother RIP.
Of course still got
milolauda
post Jun 16 2025, 05:37 PM

41 posts

Now astro only rm49.90/mth

good for old ppl at home

lots of channels to keep them alive & watch & take care of kids & cook for the family

they will have a purpose in Life when got astro at home
CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 18 2025, 06:04 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(milolauda @ Jun 16 2025, 05:37 PM)
Now astro only rm49.90/mth

good for old ppl at home

lots of channels to keep them alive & watch & take care of kids & cook for the family

they will have a purpose in Life when got astro at home
Just get an SVI Cloud TV...no fees forever.
MR_alien
post Jun 18 2025, 07:43 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

astro just increased their price starting this month
might consider cancelling it...depending on my mom
nigerian prince
post Jun 18 2025, 08:01 AM

26 posts

tf still use astro?

everyone now only wathing netflix
xpole
post Jun 18 2025, 08:06 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

As someone that only watch english contents 100% in my entire life, I can survive without Astro.

I just can't understand with Malaysian that still watch local contents.

Especially those shows at Astro Ria, Prima, Warna. 97% of the dranas/movies/shows there are really rubbish.

I don't like football, that's the another reason why i can survive without any sports content.
MR_alien
post Jun 18 2025, 08:59 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(nigerian prince @ Jun 18 2025, 08:01 AM)
tf still use astro?

everyone now only wathing netflix
most don't
only left the older generation who still did

but there will be a point where the price is too much that they also will unsubscribe
contagiouseddie
post Jun 18 2025, 09:04 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:01 AM)
Astro best selling point now is SPORT packages.
I subscribe to the Sooka to watch football through Maxis app, so it's around RM15.90 only per month. And you can stop anytime you want. So, when football season is off, I just don't subscribe. Or when ngam ngam got 2 weeks of stupid country football, I also don't subscribe. Last time was better, 1 match at RM7.90. So you only pay when you watch but that option no longer available.
TSallomicro
post Jun 18 2025, 02:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 18 2025, 07:43 AM)
astro just increased their price starting this month
might consider cancelling it...depending on my mom
Betul ke ada price increase? Who will be affected (which package)? Where did you hear this?
TSallomicro
post Jun 18 2025, 02:22 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Jun 18 2025, 08:06 AM)
As someone that only watch english contents 100% in my entire life, I can survive without Astro.

I just can't understand with Malaysian that still watch local contents.

Especially those shows at Astro Ria, Prima, Warna. 97% of  the dranas/movies/shows there are really rubbish.

I don't like football, that's the another reason why i can survive without any sports content.
To be fair, if you have VPN, then you can acess free stuff from the US and UK, sometimes even new stuff. Some programmes that are being played on Astro are actually free to air (limited time, but still free) on online platforms like Tubi and stuff. Even BBC/Channel 4 is free, but the former needs you to have a postcode and acknowledge you have a TV license (which you do not need to produce or verify).

As for local content, well I can only tell you that its not just quality but quantity has been going down in recent times (at least from the Indian channel perpesctive). There used to be locally produced talk shows and dramas which were ok and was the main argument point why i backed down from cancelling, but even that is gone.

I thinks its also a something some people are used to. Back then, you did not have to choose what to watch, when the show comes on tv, you watch it. And most likely the show only comes once a week, so no binge watching. Nowdays, with all streaming services there is such as thing as "Paradox of Choice", where we can get tired of just thinking what to watch. Sure there will be one or two shows that we want to watch, but after that is can be mindless scrolling. Old format TV like Astro removes this problem. I am not saying its good or bad, its just what it is.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 18 2025, 02:30 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 18 2025, 02:22 PM)
To be fair, if you have VPN, then you can acess free stuff from the US and UK, sometimes even new stuff. Some programmes that are being played on Astro are actually free to air (limited time, but still free) on online platforms like Tubi and stuff. Even BBC/Channel 4 is free, but the former needs you to have a postcode and acknowledge you have a TV license (which you do not need to produce or verify).

As for local content, well I can only tell you that its not just quality but quantity has been going down in recent times (at least from the Indian channel perpesctive). There used to be locally produced talk shows and dramas which were ok and was the main argument point why i backed down from cancelling, but even that is gone.

I thinks its also a something some people are used to. Back then, you did not have to choose what to watch, when the show comes on tv, you watch it. And most likely the show only comes once a week, so no binge watching. Nowdays, with all streaming services there is such as thing as "Paradox of Choice", where we can get tired of just thinking what to watch. Sure there will be one or two shows that we want to watch, but after that is can be mindless scrolling. Old format TV like Astro removes this problem. I am not saying its good or bad, its just what it is.
Pluto TV, Tubi TV, Samsung TV, The Roku Channel. Xumo TV

Use US VPN servers to access them.

Japan one is called Abema TV

Use Japanese VPN to access.

You can use your web browser to watch them.

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Jun 18 2025, 02:30 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 18 2025, 02:36 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 18 2025, 02:14 PM)
Betul ke ada price increase? Who will be affected (which package)? Where did you hear this?
the package i'm on is a minimal package(downgraded from my initial package)
i think it affects all packages

the package i'm on right now is S1 entertainment package which initially is RM97.2, this month beome RM113.40
not hear, i saw the bill myself
wyh
post Jun 18 2025, 02:47 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 18 2025, 02:22 PM)

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 18 2025, 02:30 PM)

Rekemen VPN
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 18 2025, 02:49 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jun 18 2025, 02:47 PM)
Rekemen VPN
Most popular ones with US servers will work.
TSallomicro
post Jun 18 2025, 03:05 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 18 2025, 02:30 PM)

Betul. You can even use smart TV with the VPN to see it. However, I tried doing that and showing the folks at home how to do it, but end up being told it was too complicated. Even tried on a small HTPC which I had before smart TV (they know how to use PC well enough) but even then they say astro is easier.

TSallomicro
post Jun 18 2025, 03:07 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 18 2025, 02:36 PM)
the package i'm on is a minimal package(downgraded from my initial package)
i think it affects all packages

the package i'm on right now is S1 entertainment package which initially is RM97.2, this month beome RM113.40
not hear, i saw the bill myself
Yours got netflix also? I heard that got increase last month. But the basic is RM 50 now, no? Someone I know was on superpack and wanted to downgrade and astro just gave them a discount and switch the new packages for RM 20 or 30 less.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 18 2025, 03:14 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 18 2025, 03:05 PM)
Betul. You can even use smart TV with the VPN to see it. However, I tried doing that and showing the folks at home how to do it, but end up being told it was too complicated. Even tried on a small HTPC which I had before smart TV (they know how to use PC well enough) but even then they say astro is easier.
You can force connect your router to a US VPN server centrally or you can implement Smart DNS that points to these US geolocation spoofing to make it easier for your older folks to watch TV.

MR_alien
post Jun 18 2025, 03:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 18 2025, 03:07 PM)
Yours got netflix also? I heard that got increase last month. But the basic is RM 50 now, no? Someone I know was on superpack and wanted to downgrade and astro just gave them a discount and switch the new packages for RM 20 or 30 less.
nope, no netflix
Schumacher
post Jun 18 2025, 03:20 PM

1,161 posts

Only your head la. If without illegal TV box, astro is the best choice already for drama and movies.
GravityFi3ld
post Jun 18 2025, 03:34 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ Jun 18 2025, 03:20 PM)
Only your head la. If without illegal TV box, astro is the best choice already for drama and movies.
like mega tv last time, slowly slowly dieded - same pattern astro going through now - a very slow death sweat.gif

"Faced with stiff competition from the Astro satellite television network which was launched seven months later, combined with the failures to expand its content, Mega TV ceased operations on 1 October 2001 as a result, leaving Astro as the one and only pay-TV service provider in Malaysia. Following Mega TV's shutdown, many of its subscribers have been switched to Astro.[51][52][53] This comes after its parent company, the Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad (MRCB) on the same date announced to divested itself from its media arm, namely TV3 and New Straits Times Press (NSTP) and transferring them to Profitune, which primarily focused on multimedia business before it went on to become Media Prima a year later, in 2002.[54]"
wikipeepeedia

This post has been edited by GravityFi3ld: Jun 18 2025, 03:39 PM
Schumacher
post Jun 18 2025, 04:08 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 18 2025, 03:34 PM)
like mega tv last time, slowly slowly dieded - same pattern astro going through now - a very slow death  sweat.gif

"Faced with stiff competition from the Astro satellite television network which was launched seven months later, combined with the failures to expand its content, Mega TV ceased operations on 1 October 2001 as a result, leaving Astro as the one and only pay-TV service provider in Malaysia. Following Mega TV's shutdown, many of its subscribers have been switched to Astro.[51][52][53] This comes after its parent company, the Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad (MRCB) on the same date announced to divested itself from its media arm, namely TV3 and New Straits Times Press (NSTP) and transferring them to Profitune, which primarily focused on multimedia business before it went on to become Media Prima a year later, in 2002.[54]"
wikipeepeedia
Still those tv box are stealing from Astro and other sources also. Like Chicken stall A stealing from KFC restaurant and then selling RM4 per pieces. Chicken stall A has very little contribution only just need to set up the stall and some manpower to sell only.
keyibukeyi
post Jun 18 2025, 04:10 PM

150 posts

As a b40, i dun have astrok in the beninbing until today, we jormally go out mamak watch free WWF wrestling.
DValentine
post Jun 18 2025, 04:10 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ Jun 18 2025, 04:08 PM)
Still those tv box are stealing from Astro and other sources also. Like Chicken stall A stealing from KFC restaurant and then selling RM4 per pieces. Chicken stall A has very little contribution only just need to set up the stall and some manpower to sell only.
exactly

those cb proudly says dont watch astro

then use those tvbox watch astro channels

ironiclly hypocrite
cms
post Jun 18 2025, 04:16 PM

763 posts

Without Astro, those illegal streaming boxes business also will drop by 90%.
Schumacher
post Jun 18 2025, 04:16 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jun 18 2025, 04:10 PM)
exactly

those cb proudly says dont watch astro

then use those tvbox watch astro channels

ironiclly hypocrite
AnythingK
post Jun 18 2025, 04:21 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Jun 18 2025, 04:10 PM)
As a b40, i dun have astrok in the beninbing until today, we jormally go out mamak watch free WWF wrestling.
Haha same. I still remember every Tuesday go to the same mamak to watch WWE Raw. Order the same food, nasi goreng ayam paprik or ayam kunyit. Good times.
khelben
post Jun 18 2025, 04:23 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Sub for my elderly parents. Also father watches badminton live.
TSallomicro
post Jun 18 2025, 10:42 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ Jun 18 2025, 03:20 PM)
Really? Do tell what content are you referring to as best choice? They keep repeating stuff again and again (dont know how many times already they repeat blue blood season 14) the movies are limited to older stuff on showcase and HBO which you can get on their streaming service, plus now they seem to be losing channels, WB, Food network and a few more in the last month, with no replacements to be announced yet. And I am still paying the same amount. Astro has also started to shift towards a platform for streaming partners, as in they become more of an easy place to view other streaming service. "Astro One also represents a shift in Astro’s role as a platform for streaming partners".

Its a matter of perpesctive I suppose. Some may be content with the content provided by astro, some may feel a dip in quality and quantity from their heydays, more particularly towards their local and in house content.
FollowMeRogerThat
post Jun 18 2025, 10:55 PM

236 posts

mainly kept it for parents for some basic channels

wonder if it's easy to change plans to basic use? had subscribed quite a few unnecessary channels over the years
bugipunch
post Jun 18 2025, 11:33 PM

172 posts

Only have astro for sports pack.
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 19 2025, 12:44 AM

5,366 posts

>2025

shift in paradigm of the entertainment industry

people want to consume the content as soon as they are released by the studio, imagine just 10-20 years ago people were okay to watch TVB series of 1 yr old on WLT

the content rights are monopolized by the studio through the means of respective streaming platforms, its getting more siloed than ever, which means its getting harder for content broadcaster to acquire contents of other people, except those lame Mediacorp shows; even Taiwanese series are distributed via HBO/Netflix as they have received fundings from those streaming giants

its not Astro's incapability, its just the shift of the era

jimliew
post Jun 19 2025, 12:26 PM

456 posts

just cut it, i did
chuan88
post Jun 19 2025, 12:41 PM

40 posts

What point to debate?

If you want it then subscribe it loh.

If you don't want then don't subscribe it loh.
rooney723
post Jun 19 2025, 01:00 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 19 2025, 12:44 AM)
>2025

shift in paradigm of the entertainment industry

people want to consume the content as soon as they are released by the studio, imagine just 10-20 years ago people were okay to watch TVB series of 1 yr old on WLT

the content rights are monopolized by the studio through the means of respective streaming platforms, its getting more siloed than ever, which means its getting harder for content broadcaster to acquire contents of other people, except those lame Mediacorp shows; even Taiwanese series are distributed via HBO/Netflix as they have received fundings from those streaming giants

its not Astro's incapability, its just the shift of the era
imagine last time want to watch 1 year old TVB dramas have to pay to have WLT, then want to watch instantly same time as hong kong then have to pay even more for AOD laugh.gif
axelrade1
post Jun 19 2025, 02:15 PM

my mom and dad dont even watch tv anymore. hari2 just watch youtube and tiktok at phone. My dad 77, my mom 67.

and yes we still have astro at home.
TSallomicro
post Jun 19 2025, 04:09 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(chuan88 @ Jun 19 2025, 12:41 PM)
What point to debate?

If you want it then subscribe it loh.

If you don't want then don't subscribe it loh.
Not so simple. One, ada contract, kalau potong kena bayar penalty. Its also tied with the internet. Two, kalau nak potong nanti kena guilt trip, nanti apa mak dan bapa nak tengok (But they watch youtube and tiktok mostly).

Terpaksa swallow the bitter pill la. But the thing that triggered me was they cutting a few channels.
KeyMochi
post Jun 19 2025, 04:28 PM

252 posts

Dont take if your network requires public ip
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 19 2025, 06:26 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 19 2025, 01:00 PM)
imagine last time want to watch 1 year old TVB dramas have to pay to have WLT, then want to watch instantly same time as hong kong then have to pay even more for AOD laugh.gif
now TVB free to let you watch you also dun wan dy whistling.gif

maybe with naked scenes ok la
Justin.Loong
post Jun 23 2025, 12:45 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 18 2025, 03:34 PM)
like mega tv last time, slowly slowly dieded - same pattern astro going through now - a very slow death  sweat.gif

wikipeepeedia

Justin.Loong
post Jun 23 2025, 01:52 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Jun 4 2025, 10:48 AM)

and basically shit CS
lol... biggrin.gif laugh.gif
Justin.Loong
post Jun 23 2025, 01:59 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 4 2025, 07:52 AM)
astro's value proposition has been spiralling downwards for decades, so many ppl stop using it. in return, to cut cost, they had to cut expenses, lower down their value even further

it's a vicious cycle
+1 nod.gif

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 4 2025, 08:03 AM)
This is why more and more local contents in Astro. Production houses has to compete with better contents to get slots on Astro for their drama or series. Those who are not watching local contents will find this is annoying.
QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jun 4 2025, 08:54 AM)
Actually not just astro, cable tv business died all over the world. The market move to Netflix like platform with their own original series to maintain customer

Astro however good at making local movies with it's astro shaw. Last time they released tv series High Council also it was a hit but the caveat is that tv series only viral after it released on Netflix

GravityFi3ld
post Jun 23 2025, 02:01 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jun 23 2025, 12:45 PM)
even their radio arm is struggling, asking us to advertise on their frequencies, those radio DJ careers hanging - any time kena karate chop sayonara sweat.gif

0.0536sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:34 AM