9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Astro is pointless, Almost nothing there left

kyfong
post Jun 4 2025, 08:25 AM

290 posts

With Astro box can also stream netflix, iQiyi, Disney+Hotstar. Up to 4 devices. Not only TV
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:32 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(kyfong @ Jun 4 2025, 08:25 AM)
With Astro box can also stream netflix, iQiyi, Disney+Hotstar. Up to 4 devices. Not only TV
Even now got more streaming services including amazon and a few indian ones as well. But can I cancel when I dont like? Biasa astro when want to cancel anything they will charge you or make it damn hard to do so. I usually switch streaming services every few months, so I just cancel and switch. I dont think it would be that easy with astro.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:34 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 4 2025, 07:49 AM)

Good deal ? Broadband + cable tv
Ya la. Last time kena con by astro and asked to take up this service. My father is the one that took it. Till now is stuck with that. Want to change to my name for tax purpose pun tak boleh. Mau tukar to others (unifi or digi), the technician itself say might not have enough port. So I end up just continue to pay lo.
Skylinestar
post Jun 4 2025, 08:36 AM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Jun 4 2025, 07:45 AM)
Only reason we still have it is because orang tua kat rumah masih mau tengok, but honestly, I dont know what got already.
only reason is it is the only not-so-bad satellite tv service. good for jungle people.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:38 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 4 2025, 07:49 AM)
sadly no alternative . There is unifi TTV but not much stuff there as well.

android box not elderly friendly. they just want to open remote n switch channel old school way

if burden let them pay not you .
Anak derhaka. Bila you kecik, bapa awak belikan untuk awak, so now its your turn.

The problem is they mostly see youtube on the tv and they know how to use streaming service. Tapi when ask to potong will start with all the sandiwara.

soul78
post Jun 4 2025, 08:40 AM

933 posts

assthrow is for boomers gen...

new gen's dont even have assthrow in their house...but got netflux, plime or dickneys

TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:41 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 4 2025, 08:03 AM)
It depends on what you want to watch. Most new gen just like to watch movie and Astro do not own the right to the movie, thus those on HBO, Cinemax cannot be recorded. For Asia region, usually the HBO Cinemax normally stream older movie compare to other region. This is beyond Astro control. Even if you subscribe to Netflix, the Asia region will get different movie compares to other region. If you want the video like from US region, then you need to VPN. You will see different choices of movie. This is why Astro like Astro Go only have old movie or B Grade ones that they can store in their library. Other than that I probably go for news.

The trend nowadays that those network like HBO, Cinemax and Netflix sign contract with production houses, thus you can only find certain series on specific network only. This forcrs people to sign with HBO, Netflix and Cinemax, not just one. Even Korean drama also can only be found on one network only  laugh.gif  This is why more and more local contents in Astro. Production houses has to compete with better contents to get slots on Astro for their drama or series. Those who are not watching local contents will find this is annoying.
I get it. lots of stuff a geo locked. Every now and then I get a relative calling me asking why some movies which came in the news that it has been released on OTT/Disney tak ada. I have to explain all the time.

The problem is now astro keep cutting stuff and repeating. At least last time ok still, got some shows that can watch, even the older channels like Hits or some AXN stuff also ok la. But now, its just repeating the same stuff. They have 3 version of FBI and keep on repeating blue blood dont know how many times already.

Probably the warner TV and stuff related to Max streaming service now.
TSallomicro
post Jun 4 2025, 08:43 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jun 4 2025, 08:11 AM)
Todi Kodi kan ada

Eh, apa ini? boleh dapat astro ke?

Actually its just two or three channel that people at home watch. So if I can just get those and show that its easy enough to use, then maybe boleh convince to potong.

Hmm, maybe I should revisit KODI and see. Dont know much about it.
poooky
post Jun 4 2025, 08:46 AM

844 posts

Even older generation now all main henfone now. YouTube, tiktok, etc. line is still a bit slow so live streaming not so big yet.
supsupsui
post Jun 4 2025, 08:46 AM

76 posts

pay to watch badminton? stop watching badminton
iGamer
post Jun 4 2025, 08:47 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

On a box ayam can get all the anime to stream. Long time said goodbye to Xtro.
johnnyg
post Jun 4 2025, 08:49 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(kyfong @ Jun 4 2025, 08:25 AM)
Indeed. oldfolks see assthrow... me and kids see those...
Zot
post Jun 4 2025, 08:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:40 AM)
assthrow is for boomers gen...

new gen's dont even have assthrow in their house...but got netflux, plime or dickneys
Older people more into more reliable news on TV. Young people more into movies and news on social media only laugh.gif
leongsem
post Jun 4 2025, 08:53 AM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Jun 4 2025, 08:20 AM)
android box always buffering... very frusfrating la
and delay
Imp Bron
post Jun 4 2025, 08:54 AM

143 posts

Actually not just astro, cable tv business died all over the world. The market move to Netflix like platform with their own original series to maintain customer

Astro however good at making local movies with it's astro shaw. Last time they released tv series High Council also it was a hit but the caveat is that tv series only viral after it released on Netflix
KenM
post Jun 4 2025, 08:56 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 4 2025, 06:49 AM)

Good deal ? Broadband + cable tv
i too want to know... any users can advise...
us changing channel to channel, same as the astro remote?
or like the present smart tv, where you have to point each character until you spell out the movie you want?..
annoymous1234
post Jun 4 2025, 09:02 AM

7,617 posts

I suppose u don't watch sports coz if u do, u know that astro is so far the best for it. But that's it.

Also I think they have a lot of local in house Malay content, so Malays still watch it.
Taikor.Taikun
post Jun 4 2025, 09:03 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 4 2025, 07:50 AM)
Android TV box kan ada

Many sellers providing the app service outside
Old ppl dont like these stuff. Else, Astro already no subscriptions.

Astro survive because of HD football n old gen prefer the old ways of watching tv. They dont like extra steps.
awol
post Jun 4 2025, 09:04 AM

913 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jun 4 2025, 08:11 AM)
Todi Kodi kan ada

give up with kodi. cry.gif
backspace66
post Jun 4 2025, 09:09 AM

2,139 posts

Add fibre broadband and inludes hbo max, disney shit seems like a good deal until you realize this is like hotel california

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:20 PM