Msians who worked in SG need to submit BE form?, Do you submit BE form every year?
TScustomer2
May 27 2025, 11:35 PM, updated 7 months ago
As per title, do you submit BE form and declare income as 0 every year from year 1 till xxxx? I started working in sg since end of 2022 and I didnt submit 2023 BE form nor 2024 BE form. I have submitted 2022 BE form and paid the tax in March 2023, that is all.
Today, I received a letter from lhdn, ask me to pay 2023 income tax that was calculated automatically (2022 total income + 10%) and another penalty fee for not submitting and declare tax.
From Reddit: you need to inform LDHN/submit a form that you are working overseas so don't have file BE form every year and declare 0 income. Is it true ?
This post has been edited by customer2: May 28 2025, 07:58 AM
Mr.Robert
May 28 2025, 07:50 AM

This year tax is based on your last year earning income
calodin
May 28 2025, 08:07 AM

If you never open account with LHDN (for those that started their career working overseas) then its ok, but since you have been declaring your income tax, you have to submit your income tax as 0, because you dont even have EA form from an employee mar.
if you don't then you will get into this trouble lor, now you have to go to LHDN and give them official documents to proof that you are now working in Singapore and no longer a tax resident in Malaysia. As Singapore and Malaysia has signed the double taxation treaty, then you pay income tax in Singapore already, no need to pay income tax in Malaysia.
One of the good things about this is that,,,,if govt give out any money (example BR1M or some Madani thingy) when you declare 0 income, you entitled to get the money also, how I know...because last time i declared 0 income cos I was working in China,,,,i got BR1M also.
TScustomer2
May 28 2025, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ May 28 2025, 07:50 AM) This year tax is based on your last year earning income I have 0 income in Malaysia in 2023. I paid SG tax and reside in SG. I didnt submit 2023 BE form so lhdn help me calculate as 2022 income +10% for 2023 tax.
kswee
May 28 2025, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(customer2 @ May 28 2025, 09:11 AM) I have 0 income in Malaysia in 2023. I paid SG tax and reside in SG. I didnt submit 2023 BE form so lhdn help me calculate as 2022 income +10% for 2023 tax. But did you transfer the money to Malaysia? 1 January 2022, the blanket exemption on FSI has been removed. Consequently, FSI received in Malaysia by a tax resident from outside Malaysia is now taxable in Malaysia, unless the specific conditions for exemptions are met.
TScustomer2
May 28 2025, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(kswee @ May 28 2025, 08:30 AM) But did you transfer the money to Malaysia? 1 January 2022, the blanket exemption on FSI has been removed. Consequently, FSI received in Malaysia by a tax resident from outside Malaysia is now taxable in Malaysia, unless the specific conditions for exemptions are met. I never go to money changer counter even once, but I do wire transaction from sg bank to msia bank randomly, for example 1K sgd, how they know. So, is that considered as a foreign source income? I am a tax resident of Singapore. This post has been edited by customer2: May 28 2025, 08:41 AM
TScustomer2
May 28 2025, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(customer2 @ May 28 2025, 08:34 AM) This post has been edited by customer2: May 28 2025, 08:40 AM
bottomfrag
May 28 2025, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(customer2 @ May 27 2025, 11:35 PM) As per title, do you submit BE form and declare income as 0 every year from year 1 till xxxx? I started working in sg since end of 2022 and I didnt submit 2023 BE form nor 2024 BE form. I have submitted 2022 BE form and paid the tax in March 2023, that is all. Today, I received a letter from lhdn, ask me to pay 2023 income tax that was calculated automatically (2022 total income + 10%) and another penalty fee for not submitting and declare tax. From Reddit: you need to inform LDHN/submit a form that you are working overseas so don't have file BE form every year and declare 0 income. Is it true ? You needed to inform your previous HR that you were leaving M'sia when you resigned. They would've then filled up a form (sort of like an estimate EA form) and submit to LHDN. LHDN would then do a mini audit to make sure your past taxes are in order and instruct you to file BE normally the next year. After that, don't need to do anymore. Curious, do you stay in SG or JB?
TScustomer2
May 28 2025, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(bottomfrag @ May 28 2025, 08:45 AM) You needed to inform your previous HR that you were leaving M'sia when you resigned. They would've then filled up a form (sort of like an estimate EA form) and submit to LHDN. LHDN would then do a mini audit to make sure your past taxes are in order and instruct you to file BE normally the next year. After that, don't need to do anymore. Curious, do you stay in SG or JB? My whole house kena 2023 tax and penalty letter. We are a pair of husband and wife working and residing in SG since end of 2022. My wife and I were based in Penang and they are based in JB. We never submitted 2023 e-BE form.
zstan
May 28 2025, 09:04 AM
no income also just submit lor so that you don't get with things like this.
Porkycorgi5588
May 28 2025, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(customer2 @ May 27 2025, 11:35 PM) As per title, do you submit BE form and declare income as 0 every year from year 1 till xxxx? I started working in sg since end of 2022 and I didnt submit 2023 BE form nor 2024 BE form. I have submitted 2022 BE form and paid the tax in March 2023, that is all. Today, I received a letter from lhdn, ask me to pay 2023 income tax that was calculated automatically (2022 total income + 10%) and another penalty fee for not submitting and declare tax. From Reddit: you need to inform LDHN/submit a form that you are working overseas so don't have file BE form every year and declare 0 income. Is it true ? submit income 0 every year if not stay in Malaysia as you are still Malaysian citizen. unless you stay in malaysia exceeding 6 months, you dont have to pay income tax. unless you bring the cash back, you dont have to pay tax. of kos....u curi curi bring back few k every month and dont make crazy purchases....no one will know
bottomfrag
May 28 2025, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(customer2 @ May 28 2025, 09:00 AM) My whole house kena 2023 tax and penalty letter. We are a pair of husband and wife working and residing in SG since end of 2022. My wife and I were based in Penang and they are based in JB. We never submitted 2023 e-BE form. I guess you'll need to appeal with supporting docs that you've left the country then. Best seek professional advice on what to expect. Hope you did your taxes properly and kept your receipts.
ahchun
May 28 2025, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(customer2 @ May 27 2025, 11:35 PM) From Reddit: you need to inform LDHN/submit a form that you are working overseas so don't have file BE form every year and declare 0 income. Is it true ? this is true
TScustomer2
May 28 2025, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(bottomfrag @ May 28 2025, 09:59 AM) I guess you'll need to appeal with supporting docs that you've left the country then. Best seek professional advice on what to expect. Hope you did your taxes properly and kept your receipts. The letterhead is April but only received the letter in May, only left few weeks notice to pay, after due date increased by 10%. So, my wife panicked and paid ldhn auto calculated 2023 tax and penalty fee. Hope that we can at least get back our money and just pay the penalty fee to government. This post has been edited by customer2: May 28 2025, 10:07 AM
jojolicia
May 28 2025, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(customer2 @ May 28 2025, 10:06 AM) The letterhead is April but only received the letter in May, only left few weeks notice to pay, after due date increased by 10%. So, my wife panicked and paid ldhn auto calculated 2023 tax and penalty fee. Hope that we can at least get back our money and just pay the penalty fee to government. You need to pay your home lhdn office a visit. Bring the notice and your IRAS NOA with you. This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 28 2025, 10:19 AM
xswatch
May 28 2025, 10:20 AM
need to bro.. I was slapped with rm30k tax for the year of 2022 alone. received the letter only in 2024. lol.
last month I fill in the LHDN appeal form with my iras tax documents. until now no news yet. lol
DoomCognition
May 28 2025, 11:15 AM
LHDN is the most celaka department. If you want to move overseas, best to go to LHDN to close your tax account and inform them that you are going to stop working here. And also get a response from them, best to be written or some form of acknowledgement.
Otherwise they will just slap whatever penalty they like. This is what happened to you now. This is speaking from experience.
year2020
May 28 2025, 12:36 PM

Just happened to see this thread and login to my LHDN account and voila i saw mine as well.
Also started working towards end of 2022 in SG so i did declare and paid for Year 2022. However from 2023 and 2024 i declare in SG and only pay SG tax.
This post has been edited by year2020: May 28 2025, 12:37 PM
Chinoz
May 28 2025, 12:49 PM
Also need to work out if you’re still Msian tax resident (BE) or non-resident (M).
Rates are different.
Thebestscammer
May 28 2025, 01:44 PM
u need to consult a tax specialist for this country tax you based on ur tax residency if u stay more than 6 months in msia in a year, you are a malaysian tax resident but since u live in jb and work in sg, u commute everyday is it? this is where im blur blur as well, coz technically ur a tax resident of malaysia so u should be paying msian tax i dont think sg even tax u at all since u cant contribute to their cpf unless pr right?