How much your insurance cover critical illness?

Clueless07
post May 27 2025, 10:49 AM

1,372 posts

How old are you?

60k definately not enough.... People is aiming for 500k, 1 mill or so.
Premium like 300-400 per month, depending on your age.
Clueless07
post May 27 2025, 11:30 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ May 27 2025, 10:54 AM)
500k CI coverage?

premium will choke die you once you pass 50 years old, when CI coverage really matter
well...yes perspective is age.
me heading to 50 already. purchase it when i was in my mid 20, and add another one in my early 30. So pay around Rm 500 for these ( include life insurance, and bundle with some investment)
Last time is like tat la, always mix with investment- promise decent return and such. but looking back- the return is really crap- 2% or so. that is where insurance company make their money.

Eh- the premium does not goes up as you aged. basically the younger you start buying- the cheaper it is per month ( but it add up over the years la, coz longer duration paying). Yes- we know they can increase the price with bank negara approval- but so far under control.

Anyway- moving forward- realized hospitalization is more important- with medical fees keep going up - so added an insurance coverage for medical 2 years back.
it was suppose to be Rm 400 or so for 1 million cap per year until 85 years old. - but based on medical report got some minor issue with my liver > end up need to pay around Rm 600 or so.

in short= i pay monthly Rm 1k+ per month. For a peace of mind.

how much and what to buy... really depends on your age and economy condition. Dont over stretch it.

Clueless07
post May 27 2025, 11:58 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ May 27 2025, 11:35 AM)
if you purchase it early, ayam would suggest you check back the insurance's sustainability since fund performance is garbage grade. I wonder if they hire monkey as their fund manager. need to keep a eye on the cash values of your policy, if run into negative, your policy will lapse

ayam would chop that CI and purchase more on life / accident combo
well... have to balance a little ba.
i would have enough savings to pass down to family if i die now, or die later... > so life insurance isnt that important from my perspective.

CI- is like kena the unfortunate lottery of the 36, will get some consolation.... but how much is this 300/500k?

my worry is fall sick, then need large sum for treatment/operations/recovery. so i put more focus on medical fees.

Also - i wrong perceptions that my company got this term life/medical insurance for me.... that was true when i was younger and got less to worry.
now seems that it is not enough anymore, and what if - kena MSS or going pencen. those insurance will be gone- and will be expensive to purchase in the 50s.
Clueless07
post May 27 2025, 12:02 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ May 27 2025, 11:53 AM)
Mine lapsed because I could not afford.
I thought I had Medical Card but turned out to be ILP
RM464 after hike.CI only RM50000

I feel scammed.
yes- many insurance agent will like to "mis-informed". ILP is where most their bonus and profit come from.

they are not stupid fund manager.... just that they take a big cut on the return on investment.

i recall compare to the table they give- on the return after 10 years. ( worst case- normal- best case).... the actual return is lower than worse case. when i bring this up to my agent ( which is a friend)... he was acting like confused forget what he sells

0.0147sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:30 PM